$237 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 30, 2014 Check-out: Dec 3, 2014

Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa

4 stars
200 Nohea Kai Drive, 200 Nohea Kai Drive, Lahaina, HI 96761
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
263 reviews
Best place on earth!

I loved everything about this hotel! Perfect place for a family! See full review

  • Fioreee
  • May 29, 2014
great place

had a great experience very nice hotel and location See full review

  • D A M
  • May 12, 2014
One of over 500 Hyatt hotels around the world, the Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa looks out on the Pacific from between Hawaiian palms and tropical flora on its 40-acre beachfront estate. Families are well cared for here, with features like a fun-packed pool where little ones can ride a 150-foot lava tube waterslide. When it's the adults' turn to relax, a star-caliber facial at the Marilyn Monroe Spa will do the trick, along with a local blend at the Halona Kai coffee bar or sushi at Japengo. As the sun sets, it's time to sit back for an evening's feasting, dancing and fun, as the sound of a conch shell heralds the start of the Polynesian luau.
Key facts
  • 806 guestrooms
  • On-site reservations desk for activities
  • Honeymoon amenities
  • 4 restaurants: Swan Court Breakfast, Japengo, Umalu, Son'z Steakhouse
  • Coffee shop: Halona Kai
  • Private ocean-side dining
  • On-site shopping
  • Pool and waterslides
  • Laundry and dry cleaning services
  • Currency exchange
  • Safe deposit boxes
Neighborhood
Situated north of fishing settlement Lahaina on Maui's west coast, the Kapalua West Maui Airport (JHM) is about four miles away from the Hyatt Regency Hotel, and guests can walk to the town's Whalers Village shops in about 15 minutes. Black Rock is a good snorkeling site located nearby, especially for newbies excited to take the plunge. Maui's Ka'anapali Golf Courses are as inspiring as they are challenging, situated right on the rolling dune hills by the sea - and visitors get special rates for staying at the Hyatt Regency.
Hints and tips
If there are vegetarians in your party wishing for a menu with more-than-average veggie variety, check out Joy's Place.

Located in Kihei, Joy's is roughly a half-hour drive south from the hotel, but well worth it for the specialty food options, including vegan smoothies and the well-loved (vegetarian) burrito supreme.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

20.915 -156.6932
Area served
Maui, Kaanapali
Nearby airports
10 minutes/5 miles from Kapalua-West Maui Airport, 45 minutes/35 miles from Kahului Airport
Area description
* 40-acres of lush beachfront property* 4 miles from the old whaling town of Lahaina* 5 miles or 10 minutes from Kapalua-West Maui Airport* 35 miles or 45 minutes from Kahului Airport

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa Rooms

Guest Room
Features include TV with remote control, cable movie channels, in room pay movies, refrigerator (upon request,) telephone 2 phone lines (one is cordless)with message light, individual climate control, electronic doorlocks, balcony/lanai, full bath amenities, alarm clock, in-room safe, hairdryer and bathrobes, video checkout, irons, ironing board, coffee maker. In room minibar.* 490 king-size beds* 316 queen-double beds* 704 no smoking rooms.
Regency Club
There are 56 Regency Club rooms located on two exclusive levels. Services include a secured, keyed-off floor, continental breakfast, afternoon snacks and evening cocktails and hors d'oeuvres served daily. A concierge is also provided to provide personalized attention and service.
Obstructed View
Room overlooking the adjacent land under construction that offers a great value and the same luxury amenities. These rooms may also feature a view of the West Maui Mountains or the renowned Ka'anapali Golf course.
General Room Description
806 luxury guest rooms and suites, including exclusive Regency Club levels, all offer breathtaking views of green West Maui mountains, the Pacific Ocean and volcanically formed islands off shore.
Suites
There are 31 suites throughout this resort. These include: * 21 Ocean Suites,* 7 Deluxe Suites, .* 1 Regency Suite,* 1 Presidential Suite,* 1 Palace Suite.
Obstructed View
Located in the Napili tower of the resort, the spacious Obstructed View accommodations at Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa overlook and are within close proximity to an active construction site. Construction work, which includes noise, is limited to the hours of 7:00 AM " 6:00 PM. Guestrooms are 451 square feet and feature a sleek, contemporary Hawaiian design that is both comfortable and sophisticated. The fresh, tailored and uncluttered style, vibrant color scheme, custom artwork, and stylish furnishings result in an elegant and welcoming guestroom that feels uniquely local. Bedding includes one king bed with a full size sofa pull-out. Each hotel room also features a private lanai.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
20,800 sq.ft. Exhibit Space and 60,000 sq. ft. Function Space (Indoor/Outdoor)

Dining

Halona Kai
The coffee bar with Maui's best ocean view serving Starbucks and Kona blend coffees including lattes, espressos and cappuccinos. Also available are freshly baked giant cinnamon rolls, oversized muffins, fresh fruits, breakfast sandwiches and assorted juices.
Swan Court Breakfast
Breakfast in a romantic dining room featuring an extensive buffet and a la carte menu. The view is breathtaking as the water cascades down the lava rocks into a pool filled with graceful swimming swans.
Son'z at Swan Court
Son'z Maui at Swan Court presents a classic cuisine for the next generation. The best in fresh local fish, lobster, steaks and chops. An extensive selection of appetizers will be offered from "Original" Tiger Eye Sushi to Escargot to Surfing Goat Cheese Ravioli, all prepared in a timeless fashion with a contemporary flair.
Japengo
Welcome to Hyatt Regency Maui's latest, Japengo. A sophisticated dining destination, Japengo draws on Hawaii's freshest, locally-grown products coupled with exotic ingredients from Pacific Rim countries. Take a culinary adventure showcasing modern Asian-inspired flavors with Hawaiian flair. Located lobby level, guests can enjoy Japengo's indoor and outdoor patio seating overlooking the resort's waterfalls and famed Ka'anapali Beach or watch as creative sushi is rolled to order in the chic Sushi Lounge.
Umalu
This chic poolside venue showcases modern Hawaiian cuisine, available for full lunch and dinner service, or through a more casual grab-and-go option. As you dine on indigenous island flavors or sip a creative specialty cocktail, you'll enjoy stunning views of the ocean, as well as Lana'i and Molokai islands. Meaning "the shade cast by a cliff" in Hawaiian, 'malu offers guests a reprieve from the sun so they may enjoy a restful and soothing dining experience. For an added touch of local color, this new Maui bar will also feature live entertainment every evening.
Drums of the Pacific Luau
Maui's most exciting luau show! Enjoy all-you-can-eat buffet featuring Hawaiian and western specialties and an open bar. Reservations required. Casual attire.
Grotto Bar
Cool off in this swim-up bar located between the waterfalls of the pool area in a unique cave-like setting. Tropical drinks are the speciality of the house.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (263)

Ratings and reviews for Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
263 out of 263
Amenities:
4.5
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lindsay Taylor
Business
Damascus, Oregon
Oct 11, 2013

Obstructed View/Construction

When I booked our room with an "obstructed view" I spoke with a women at the front desk and she said there would be an area that was "dug up" and some dirt piles. Needless to say that was not the case. It was a full on construction site. We walked into our room and all we could hear was jack hammers, back up beepers on semi's and hammering. I was so disappointed. I felt so duped. My boyfriend went to ask if we could move and it was a hassel for the next two hours. The only option besides going to club level with two beds and paying more was to move down the hall a little ways. This was a special trip I had planned for my boyfriend's first trip and I trusted that the Hyatt was the best choice for his first trip and I feel let down. We did not receive any offers for drink tickets, dinner specials or anything. We simply had to know the construction noises were going to start around 730/8:00am and that we were not able to sleep in. I feel let down because I researched and thought Hyatt was the best pick for our money and our first vacation and only left feeling let down. Beautiful grounds and views.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Paradise grill is affordable walking distance and local restaurants in Lahaina are more affordable then resort.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
pilot2012
Business
california
Oct 5, 2013

it´s worth for what you pay

Staff is very friendly. Wi-Fi is charged to your bill but it works very well and can be used all over the facility. Concierge has an excellent customer service and offers very good prices and choices for activities. Hotel is being renovated in some public areas but very minor inconveniences affected our stay. Breakfast with the swans must be done at least once. Beach is nice, clean and long. Pool is very nice. Most Maui’s activities are far from hotel, renting a car will be very convenient. You don’t need a 4x4 even if going to Hana; a plain sedan will do.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Refer to Hyatt Concierge for activities on the island. Good price and great attention.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
FatTMoney
Business
Salt Lake City, Utah
Sep 13, 2013

Aging and Under Construction

The Hyatt appears to be aging a bit, as is evidenced in the décor, and room amenities. Furthermore there is construction going on all over the place at the moment (Summer '13). The good news is that they're investing some $ back into the hotel. However, it appears that this reinvestment is taking the form of a new luau area, and by wedging in some timeshares next to the Napili Tower. All in all, it's still Maui, and it's hard to find fault in the Ka'anapali coastline. Yet I find myself thinking that on return I will likely try another hotel/resort. The Hyatt may no longer be worth the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Leilani's on the beach. Excellent fish tacos. Ask for a side of chili water.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nguyen superp
Business
San jose, california
Aug 24, 2013

Aloha

Great place to relax and enjoy a nice vacation without much worries.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Deb wife and secretary
Business
Boise, Idaho
Jul 23, 2013

Terrific couple's vacation

Overall experience was awesome. Only wish the upper bar/restaurant was open during the afternoon hours. We took it all in - scuba dive, pool, dinners & breakfasts, shopping. We also spent a few hours in the spa for a "couple's massage". It was great! This was a working/playing vacation and was one of the best we've ever had. This is the second time we've stayed at that Hyatt and would definitely do it again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Don't get caught on the highway from about 2:45 p.m to about 6:00 p.m. It's considered the local's "rush hour" and it's just a small 2 lane road.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Major League Jeff
Business
San Diego
Jul 20, 2013

Great time on the beach

It is so worth spending a few dollars on the twin beach chairs with the covered tops !!!! Service all day, ice water, pineapple, food and drinks when you want them, steps to the sand and the pool. It 's what a vacation is all about. Beautiful hotel and very well kept grounds, great wildlife with the swans, ducks and flamingos. best by far and will be staying here many more times.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Can't beat the food at Cool Cat Cafe on Front Street

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
leroy24
Business
Portland
Jul 16, 2013

Bad Experience

Room was not clean, mol in the shower curtains, they never vacuum the floors. We have to asked for it Bad experience with this hotel. Never staying here again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RoxieF
Business
San Francisco, CA
Jul 8, 2013

Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa

We had a wonderful time. Highly recommend the Luau. The location was perfect and our room was outstanding with a gorgeous view of the ocean. The only negative was there was a bit of construction going on while we were there. Not a big deal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Go see the show Ulalena. Fabulous!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Wedding florist
Business
Oregon
Jun 18, 2013

Stunning Hotel Gardens

The Hyatt on Kaanapali is lovely and the staff were fantastic. There is something for all ages with an adorable children's area with pool sandbox, slides, and rope bridge coupled with all the romance and privacy needed for a honeymooning couple. ..whether it is your first honeymoon or 20th. We loved the stunning tropical gardens which are filled with birds of all kinds, waterfalls, and gorgeous flowers. The beach is nice without the huge crowds of the Black Rock area and the walking path along the beach will connect you to more shopping and food options. The food was good! Sharing the breakfast buffet every morning with the pink flamingos and black swans was wonderful. The only negatives we heard about during our stay concerned the construction going on next to the hotel and that the Hyatt had painters....lots of painters outside a large section of the view rooms. Our advice, request a room that overlooks the luau until the painting is done.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Include the breakfast buffet in your package, it's first class. If you have an early snorkle or fishing trip they will allow you to fill a "to go" container.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
nikki j 123
Business
houston, tx
Jun 9, 2013

great!

We definitely chose the right place! The staff was friendly and there was even a bit of wildlife on site. Coy fish, swans, cranes, and parrots!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top