$274 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 17, 2014 Check-out: Aug 19, 2014

Honua Kai Resort

4 stars
130 Kai Malina Parkway, Lahaina, HI 96761
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
172 reviews
family vacation

We stayed here for 6 days, it was awesome, we had no complaints! We will come back and stay here... See full review

  • msangulo
  • Jul 18, 2014
Idyllic location, awesome experience

This was a great place for my family of four (two kids under 10) -- three different pools to choose... See full review

  • Foodie Family
  • Jul 9, 2014

Natural stone colors and a tranquil ambience give the Honua Kai Resort in Maui an air of luxury and intimacy. Spacious suites include gourmet kitchens filled with Bosch appliances, plus indulgent bath and body products for long hours in the tub. Head outside to enjoy the fresh air on the large veranda that overlooks the resort's private beach. On-site dining is offered at Duke's Beach House, a great venue for authentic Hawaiian cuisine prepared with fresh, local ingredients. After a day on the beach or exploring Maui, treat yourself to a thorough pampering at the Ho'ola Spa.

Key facts

  • 3 pools
  • Hot tub
  • Laundry facility: washer/dryer in each suite; dry cleaning available
  • Internet access (fees may apply)
  • Valet parking
  • Fitness center
  • 318 rooms
  • 10 floors
  • Childcare services
  • Concierge desk
  • 24-hour front desk

Neighborhood

Honua Kai is located along the world-famous Kaanapali North Beach. Snorkeling is a popular activity here and whale-watching excursions can be taken during certain times of the year. Shopping is merely five minutes away at the Whalers Village complex, an outdoor venue offering specialty stores and dining establishments like Tommy Bahama. Golf enthusiasts will discover rolling fairways and contoured greens at the neighboring Royal Kaanapali Course.

Hints and tips

For the quietest stay, opt for a room facing the courtyard; these rooms are a good distance from the highway.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

20.9454 -156.6901
Area served
Lahaina, Kaanapali, Napili Maui, Hawaii
Nearby airports
Kahului Airport-OGG-20 miles Kapalua Airport-JHM-5 miles
Area description
Located on the West side of Maui, overlooking the beautiful white sands of North Ka'anapali Beach.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Honua Kai Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5

Honua Kai Resort Rooms

Ohana Resort View Suite
Beautifully designed non-ocean view suite, depending on location, overlooking West Maui Mountains, pools, grounds, and ponds. Fully equipped kitchens with granite counter tops, microwave, washer & dryer.
One Bedroom Suite
Wondrous space to be together or to find time alone. Our one-bedroom suites offer an unparalleled oceanfront vacation experience - beyond any other Hawaii rental. As the newest hotel on Kaanapali North Beach, your expectations will be exceeded by the spacious floor plans offering living areas that flow onto glass railed lanais, blurring the line between indoor living and the spectacular Maui outdoors. The privacy of a separate bedroom creates a comfortable home-like setting within the contemporary, luxurious space.
Two Bedroom Suite
The two-bedroom suites are ideal for families or friends to connect in a home-like setting. The contemporary, tropical interiors blend seamlessly onto the large lanais creating an expansive indoor / outdoor space. The glass-rails create a feeling of unobstructed openness. The generous floor plan of the two bedroom rentals easily accommodates the whole family or friends, providing you with the opportunity to reconnect, relax and reinvigorate.
Three Bedroom Suites
The 3-bedroom suites are ideal for families or friends to connect in a home-like setting. All 3-bedroom suites feature 3 king beds in each bedroom, and a queen pull out sofa in the living room. The contemporary, tropical interiors blend seamlessly onto the large lanais creating an expansive indoor / outdoor space. The glass-rails create a feeling of unobstructed openness. The generous floor plan of the three bedroom rentals easily accommodates the whole family or friends, providing you with the opportunity to reconnect, relax and reinvigorate.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Duke's Beach House
Duke's Beach House provides guests an authentic Hawaiian dining experience and omage to the restaurant's namesake, legendary Hawaiian surfer and waterman Duke Kahanamoku. The restaurant serves fresh, locally sourced ingredients for breakfast, lunch dinner. The cuisine is Hawaiian influenced with a focus on fresh, sustainable seafood and premium steaks. Duke's Beach House is located oceanfront at the resort. Hours of operation: Breakfast is served from 7:30 a.m. - 10:30 a.m. Lunch and dinner are served between 11 a.m. - 9:30 p.m.
Aina Gourmet Market
n addition to providing a full range of groceries and sundries, 'Aina Gourmet Market is a charming, rustic cafe with a full coffee bar; deli case of pastries, prepared salads, and snacks; hot panini sandwiches; and "zappers" for healthy grab 'n go meals. A full range of breakfast, lunch and dinner items are available daily. Sample menu items for breakfast: muffins, bagels & lox, pastries, eggs, wraps, quiche and a full coffee bar. Sample lunch and dinner menu items include fresh fruits, organic greens, fish plates, sub sandwiches, burgers and so much more. The menu changes regularly based on availability of fresh local produce and meats. The market is based on the "100-Mile Market" concept: utilizing products from within a 100-mile radius. Maui produce is stocked first, preferably from smaller farms and island-based businesses. Located conveniently in the lobby, 'Aina Gourmet Market is open from 7 a.m. - 9 p.m. daily.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (172)

Ratings and reviews for Honua Kai Resort

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
172 out of 172
Amenities:
4.5
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.8
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.3

98% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Honua Kai Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mkmkmk
las Vegas
Oct 28, 2011

birthday

Great hotel. Though when you call for a problem with an item in the room, takes more than hour to get a replacement. So order if you are not in a rush to get it right away. Happened twice.. the second time, we couldn't wait anymore and left.(The hair dryer didn't work prior to dinner reservation, and couldn't wait anymore) Watch out for the strict towel guy with the sarcastic jokes in the pool area. Lol. Would have gotten mad if i had a bad day. Other than those minor issues. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Honua Kai Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Not Romney
Los Angeles
Sep 20, 2012

Great Resort

We reserved a mountain view 1 bedroom. We were given a free upgrade to a larger resort view 1 bedroom. Compared to our friend's mountain view 1 bedroom, the resort view 1 bedroom was not only larger, but better laid out with a much better bathroom. The grounds were beautifully maintained and very family friendly. The beach by the resort was secluded and beautiful. The snorkeling there was fantastic. Don't bother driving somewhere else for it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Snorkeling at the beach hotel was better than the much more crowded beach by the Ritz Carlton.

Review of Honua Kai Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Denise P.
Maui, HA
Sep 6, 2013

Beautiful Resort

The concierge was great, gave us a lot of great ideas that didn't cost much to do. she made reservations for dinner gave us direction, really made it easy to have fun. The resort is beautiful! the rooms were spacious and clean. We really enjoyed the resort. Denise

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Talk to the concierge tell them what you are interested in and they will help you. They had great ideas and when they booked reservations for dinner they had coupons for free appetizers or desserts!

Review of Honua Kai Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Yankee1384
Lahaina,HI
May 7, 2011

Amazing Vacation!!!

The best vacation I have ever been on. This resort is class all the way. Several lagoon style pools and spas. Never had trouble finding a chair. Resort is on the beach which made boogey boarding and snorkeling easy. The room was incredible as well. Bosch appliances and quite possibly the most comfortable bed ever. 75% of the rooms have a great ocean view. The other rooms face the mountain which is also very nice. We stayed in the studio room which was still nearly 600 sq. Ft. The 1 and 2 bedroom rooms were even nicer. The balcony was 10'x7' which mader for great besakfasts and lunches. We used the onsite BBQ grills a few times for breakfast and lunch. These are no dirty beach grills. They are Viking stainless steel grills which cooked to perfection. The onsite restaurant (Dukes) was great whether it was breakfast lunch dinner or happy hour. It is also right on the beach. I could never imagine staying anywhere else in Hawaii. Finally, there is a reztUrant across the street which supplied our room for the week with food/drinks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Beach acess was amazing. Watching the sun set.

Review of Honua Kai Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Duke36
Texas
Oct 5, 2011

Fantastic for any vacation goer

The only down side was the lack of beach front restaurants. Otherwise everything was perfect. Great location, friendly accommodating staff, plenty of pools, pools for kids and adults, dukes on the beach its great, roms with full kitchens and views, location to shopping and food off site....can't say enough great things

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Honua Kai Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Hey Now
Salt Lake City UT
Oct 5, 2011

GREAT!

I absolutely loved my stay. The room was amazing, the location was amazing, the staff was amazing. I read a few reviews about the construction but I hardly noticed it, so DO NOT let that stop you from missing out on this jewl of a hotel. I almost bought a property I love it so much.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Honua Kai Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Cedar Rapids, IA
Aug 13, 2011

Great experience and location!

My wife and I spent a week here in early June. The room was great. It was fully furnished, so we were able to save some money by cooking for ourselves, though groceries were much more expensive than what we're used to. We turned off the A/C and enjoyed fresh air and perfect weather all week thanks to the screen doors on the balcony. The resort is adjacent to the less busy northern section of Kaanapali beach and we were able to take some undisturbed early morning walks along the warm oceanfront. Lahaina is a great location and there is a lot to do within a 15 minute drive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

I highly recommend the fresh tuna sandwich, cooked medium rare, at the nearby Hula Grill. We also really enjoyed visiting the Bad A-- Coffee Company; the coffee was great and the barista was very friendly and knowledgeable.

Review of Honua Kai Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Vancouver BC
Mar 31, 2011

Stay at the Honua Kai Resort

We had a great 1 bdrom suite on the main floor. The suite was very nice and the facilities were great. Nice gym, great pool and relaxing location on North Kaanapali beach. Staff were friendly and helpful We saw whales and dolphins from the beach out front and some of the best snorkeling was in teh coral at the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Kapalua Bay is 10 minutes away with calm waters, great snorkeling and a family friendly beach.

Review of Honua Kai Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Hey Now
Salt Lake City UT
Oct 5, 2011

GREAT!

I absolutely loved my stay. The room was amazing, the location was amazing, the staff was amazing. I read a few reviews about the construction but I hardly noticed it, so DO NOT let that stop you from missing out on this jewl of a hotel. I almost bought a property I love it so much.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Honua Kai Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DebbyJ
Woodland Park, CO
Oct 28, 2011

Great Place

The condo was clean and had all the amenities anyone could want. Top of the line appliances , complwtely supplied kitchen and a washer and dryer. The cdondo had 3 TV's. It was a great family place and I wish we had had our grandchildren there. Lots of pools, beach and hot tubs. The restaurannt on the facjility was excellent and not overpriced. Great experience,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top