$374 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 9, 2015 Check-out: Jan 12, 2015

Honua Kai Resort

4 stars
130 Kai Malina Parkway, Lahaina, HI 96761
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
158 reviews
Always Amazing

This was our 2nd family stay at Honua Kai. Beautiful resort of condos with many of the amenities of... See full review

  • Chris
  • Dec 23, 2014
We had a great time there!

The staff is very kind and the clear highlight is the pool area. We have three kids (2-12) and they... See full review

  • Cybersm
  • Dec 6, 2014

Natural stone colors and a tranquil ambience give the Honua Kai Resort in Maui an air of luxury and intimacy. Spacious suites include gourmet kitchens filled with Bosch appliances, plus indulgent bath and body products for long hours in the tub. Head outside to enjoy the fresh air on the large veranda that overlooks the resort's private beach. On-site dining is offered at Duke's Beach House, a great venue for authentic Hawaiian cuisine prepared with fresh, local ingredients. After a day on the beach or exploring Maui, treat yourself to a thorough pampering at the Ho'ola Spa.

Key facts

  • 3 pools
  • Hot tub
  • Laundry facility: washer/dryer in each suite; dry cleaning available
  • Internet access (fees may apply)
  • Valet parking
  • Fitness center
  • 318 rooms
  • 10 floors
  • Childcare services
  • Concierge desk
  • 24-hour front desk

Neighborhood

Honua Kai is located along the world-famous Kaanapali North Beach. Snorkeling is a popular activity here and whale-watching excursions can be taken during certain times of the year. Shopping is merely five minutes away at the Whalers Village complex, an outdoor venue offering specialty stores and dining establishments like Tommy Bahama. Golf enthusiasts will discover rolling fairways and contoured greens at the neighboring Royal Kaanapali Course.

Hints and tips

For the quietest stay, opt for a room facing the courtyard; these rooms are a good distance from the highway.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Honua Kai Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Honua Kai Resort Rooms

Ohana Resort View Suite
Beautifully designed non-ocean view suite, depending on location, overlooking West Maui Mountains, pools, grounds, and ponds. Fully equipped kitchens with granite counter tops, microwave, washer & dryer.
One Bedroom Suite
Wondrous space to be together or to find time alone. Our one-bedroom suites offer an unparalleled oceanfront vacation experience - beyond any other Hawaii rental. As the newest hotel on Kaanapali North Beach, your expectations will be exceeded by the spacious floor plans offering living areas that flow onto glass railed lanais, blurring the line between indoor living and the spectacular Maui outdoors. The privacy of a separate bedroom creates a comfortable home-like setting within the contemporary, luxurious space.
Two Bedroom Suite
The two-bedroom suites are ideal for families or friends to connect in a home-like setting. The contemporary, tropical interiors blend seamlessly onto the large lanais creating an expansive indoor / outdoor space. The glass-rails create a feeling of unobstructed openness. The generous floor plan of the two bedroom rentals easily accommodates the whole family or friends, providing you with the opportunity to reconnect, relax and reinvigorate.
Three Bedroom Suites
The 3-bedroom suites are ideal for families or friends to connect in a home-like setting. All 3-bedroom suites feature 3 king beds in each bedroom, and a queen pull out sofa in the living room. The contemporary, tropical interiors blend seamlessly onto the large lanais creating an expansive indoor / outdoor space. The glass-rails create a feeling of unobstructed openness. The generous floor plan of the three bedroom rentals easily accommodates the whole family or friends, providing you with the opportunity to reconnect, relax and reinvigorate.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Duke's Beach House
Duke's Beach House provides guests an authentic Hawaiian dining experience and omage to the restaurant's namesake, legendary Hawaiian surfer and waterman Duke Kahanamoku. The restaurant serves fresh, locally sourced ingredients for breakfast, lunch dinner. The cuisine is Hawaiian influenced with a focus on fresh, sustainable seafood and premium steaks. Duke's Beach House is located oceanfront at the resort. Hours of operation: Breakfast is served from 7:30 a.m. - 10:30 a.m. Lunch and dinner are served between 11 a.m. - 9:30 p.m.
Aina Gourmet Market
n addition to providing a full range of groceries and sundries, 'Aina Gourmet Market is a charming, rustic cafe with a full coffee bar; deli case of pastries, prepared salads, and snacks; hot panini sandwiches; and "zappers" for healthy grab 'n go meals. A full range of breakfast, lunch and dinner items are available daily. Sample menu items for breakfast: muffins, bagels & lox, pastries, eggs, wraps, quiche and a full coffee bar. Sample lunch and dinner menu items include fresh fruits, organic greens, fish plates, sub sandwiches, burgers and so much more. The menu changes regularly based on availability of fresh local produce and meats. The market is based on the "100-Mile Market" concept: utilizing products from within a 100-mile radius. Maui produce is stocked first, preferably from smaller farms and island-based businesses. Located conveniently in the lobby, 'Aina Gourmet Market is open from 7 a.m. - 9 p.m. daily.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (158)

Ratings and reviews for Honua Kai Resort

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
158 out of 158
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.2

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Honua Kai Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Nicolae cucu
Business
Boca Raton, FL, USA
Mar 20, 2012

“2 WEEKS TOO MUCH”

Honeymoon here was Ok. We honestly expected a lot more for what we paid for this place. Let me start by saying this place is new but everything is dirty when you look close ( seems to be the Hawaiian way) THE GOOD 1- full kitchen 2- washer & dryer 3- beautiful pool area 4- BBQ area 5-very friendly staff THE BAD 1- the front of the resort smelled like sewer for 14 days 2- THE Beach is small , eroded , full of rocks & windy 3- The entire resort anywhere you go is like a wind tunnel, blasting winds and draft felt everywhere 4- Our partial ocean view was so at from ocean all you heard was the roar of cars, motorcycles, sirens all night we could not enjoy a peaceful night. 5-The pool although is nice and all is freezing and for that reason no one was using it. 6-The BBQ area- 3 out of 4 grills did not turn on or heat up, the one that worked took about 45 min to heat up and was filthy 7-HOUSEKEEPING CLEANED THE ROOM WITH DIRTY RAGS & DIRTY MOPS LEFT DIRT STREAKS ALL OVER BATHROOM THAT YOU CAN ACTUALLY SEE WITH YOUR NAKED EYE ( so we didn't have them clean often since all they did was push the dirt around) 8-LOCATION IS FAR FAR FAR FROM ANYTHING RELATED TO MAUI AND WILL TAKE YOU MINIMAL 30-45 MIN TO GET ANYWHERE 9- BED WAS VERY UNCOMFORTABLE AND SHEETS DID NOT FIT BED. 10- no room service after 9PM ( nothing even on weekends) OVERALL I WOULD NOT VISIT MAUI OR STAY AT THIS RESORT OR REFER ANYONE HERE.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Honua Kai Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jeejay
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Oct 19, 2012

Nothing special

For the price, the place didn't do justice. The room, pool and beach all looked great. However, the place didn't have a resort like vibe. The staff was somewhat rigid, imposing a few more rules than necessary and weren't that friendly. The pool side had no food/beverage service etc. The on site restaurant (Duke's) was priced high but offered mediocre food - especially the vegetarian dishes. It's better to pay less and go to a simpler non-resort place or pay more and go to a true resort. This clearly wasn't either.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

SKIP the in hotel Duke's restaurant.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Honua Kai Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Gypsie Traveller
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Feb 11, 2014

Not a warm greeting....

Checking in to this otherwise great property put a damper on our whole vacation. At 4pm in the afternoon there was not much going on at the front desk so I thought it would be a quick and enjoyable process. After waiting 20 minutes we finally were able to check in with the only front desk clerk working-Marie. Marie is what they call in the south "nasty-nice". She was rather rude but always with a smile on her face. She repeatedly corrected me and at one point put her hand up to shush me. We were not happy with our room so we were told to wait in the lobby and they would let us know if there was something else available. After 30 minutes I went back to the front desk #no guests in site# and asked Marie if we could move to another room. We were told that one other room was available with a shared balcony #this property is HUGE with multiple buildings#. Marie then got the manager on the line and gave me the phone to deal with him. No resolution and he told us to call him back tomorrow. I asked Marie why she didn't come and get us and she reply "Sir I AM VERY BUSY". After we were on our own the property was nice and the majority of the staff were very nice #nut not particularly helpful#.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a supermarket across the street and the hotel has BBQ's that you can use. There aren't many restaurants in the area and the ones that are close are generally expensive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Honua Kai Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
NCALI
Business
Walnut Creek, CA, USA
Dec 12, 2011

Disapointed with Partial Ocean

We were assigned to 2nd floor and hardly had partial ocean view. When I complained, we were offered 3rd floor but we turned down move due to inconvenience and a tree would have blocked entire view. There were lots of toddlers at all pools. Pools were only 3 feet deep!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Honua Kai Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Red tractor
Business
Nebraska
Jul 28, 2014

Rooms need carpets and furniture cleaned and some fresh paint

Rooms need refreshining, clean furniture and carpets. If you're charging resort fees those amienties should be available. Bell/valet staff excellent

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Honua Kai Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
FlexibleTraveler
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Oct 3, 2014

Average

Apparently it makes a difference how you book this resort. The unit we received had many issues...too many for the rate we paid for an oceanview 2 bedroom, 2 bath. Problems with the air conditioning, oven, dryer and freezer. Oceanview meant a sliver of ocean if you positioned yourself in one corner of the balcony. We were very disappointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Honua Kai Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Baker Boy
Business
Santa Clara, CA
May 21, 2011

Great Stay

We had a great stay, the staff was full of aloha and the hotel was beautiful. Plenty of room, inside and around the common areas. The place even smelled wonderful!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Mala restaurant at sunset was a sublime experience, in nearby Lahaina.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Honua Kai Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bright Spark
Business
Vancouver, BC
Sep 8, 2011

Family Fun in Maui

Most of the stay was very pleasant and we loved Maui despite the high cost of most things. The rooms are finished to a very high standard but I dont think I would pay the normal asking rate of $750/night for a 2 bedroom suite. The location of the hotel is fabulous being right on the beach. The wind tends to be a signifcant problem often blowing to gale force throughout the day and evening with no let up. This is not something I would expect to make the perfect vacation regardless of the location. The hotel appeared to lack any sort of atmosphere but that may be due to the lateness in the season. The staff where friendly but nothing special and the room cleaning service left a lot to be desired. On several occasions we had to call house keeping to get the trash removed and ask for replenishment of dishwasher and washing powder. The sheets were not changed until day 8 of the 10 day stay and the room was not cleaned properly when it was cleaned - again not what would expect of a high end residence. We were glad we left when we did as the childrens pool was drained and the workman moved in with compressors and drill`s which would have really annoyed most people trying to relax around the pool. The other really annoying issue was there were no courtesy rooms available. We had a late evening flight and the hotel wanted to charge $175 for an additional 5 hours in the room despite having very low occupancy in the hotel. A warning for those booking in the future - there appears to be another developement next door which has not yet started but when it does will create a lot of inconvienience, noise and dust for several years. Loved Maui but it was spolilt by the little things you dont expect from a residence of this standing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Shop at Costco for just about everyting - we saved a small fortune by purchasing food, wine and beer at the store. Dinner at the hotel will set you back at least $100 for a family of 4 for a basic meal (including 2 kid`s meals).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Honua Kai Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AJDA
Business
san jose
Oct 18, 2011

The place to be

The place is right on the beach. It has got a nice restaurant 'Duke's'.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Honua Kai Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RJKsd
Business
San Diego, CA
Oct 24, 2011

Great spot

The property was great and a perfect location close to everything. The suites were big and comfortable. The kitchen was amazing. Housekeeping was good. There were several pools and right on the beach. The snorkling just south of the resort was amazing. Saw turtles. The only knock was the screaming kids at the pools. Big family place. Would be nice if they made one of the pools adult only. The concierge Toni was really helpful with activities. Overall a very pleasant stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top