$324 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 9, 2015 Check-out: May 10, 2015

Honua Kai Resort

4 stars
View map of 130 Kai Malina Parkway, Lahaina, HI 96761

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Honua Kai Resort

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
174 out of 174
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.2

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Honua Kai Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
axlton
Business
Sydney, Australia
Nov 15, 2012

Good

Great room, ocean view studio, The ocean view was more like partial ocean view. Rooms were a bit overlooked by other rooms. Pools were nice but a lot of kids. Very windy here, but that's the whole coast line along the area nothing to do with the hotel. Would recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Hire your car from dollar car rentals and they'll pick you up from the local airport (Kapalua airport) for free. They'll even drop you off at the airport when you've finished. It will save you paying for taxi or hotel transfer

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Honua Kai Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
HunkDiesel
Business
Wheeling, WV, USA
Nov 5, 2012

Anniversary Getaway

The room was amazing. We ended up getting a corner room and it was so big and comfortable. I would request this if possible. The balcony was huge! All appliances were Bosch. Everything was very high end. The pool areas were very nice and clean. The beach was also nice and good for snorkeling. Very close to the popular "Black Rock." There is a grocery store less than 1 mile away so no need to stop at the crazy packed Walmart by the airport! Staff was very nice and helpful. To respond to some of the people complaining about the smell. There is a sewage plant close by which sometimes can be smelled at the front of the hotel in the room that would be "mountain view." If you stay in an "ocean view" room this is not an issue at all. There are a good bit of people with babies and kids so if this is something that would bother you then you may not want to stay here. However, there is a pool that is considered "the quiet area" which is very nice. There is a Duke's restaurant at the hotel which is amazing! I would go back here again in an instant. I am jealous of all of you that will be booking here! Enjoy!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Grocery store in the plaza very close to the hotel. Also there are some bars and restaurants very close by.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Honua Kai Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
RARM
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Oct 31, 2012

Awesome Suites

Why get two separate hotel rooms when you can stay here, and get a kitchen & living room as well? The suites are new with spacious kitchen & living space. Living area opens up to the ocean view. Family friendly. Staff was very helpful in recommending activities, and restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Pick up alcohol from Long's Drug Store.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Honua Kai Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jeejay
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Oct 19, 2012

Nothing special

For the price, the place didn't do justice. The room, pool and beach all looked great. However, the place didn't have a resort like vibe. The staff was somewhat rigid, imposing a few more rules than necessary and weren't that friendly. The pool side had no food/beverage service etc. The on site restaurant (Duke's) was priced high but offered mediocre food - especially the vegetarian dishes. It's better to pay less and go to a simpler non-resort place or pay more and go to a true resort. This clearly wasn't either.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

SKIP the in hotel Duke's restaurant.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Honua Kai Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gill Philip
Business
San Jose Ca
Oct 13, 2012

Vacation

Beautiful Resort with every thing you need. The option to make your Lanai a wide open experience with the folding glass doors makes your stay an experience to remember. Dukes restaurant on the property has great food and fantastic views of the ocean. 5 stars Gill Philip

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dukes is a great restaurant. All selections on the menu are Ono.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Honua Kai Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dr. CAN
Business
Murrieta, California
Oct 12, 2012

Fabulous 30th anniversary experience

I'd like to start by saying the resort GM is outstanding...we had a few issues with the appliances and the TV in our room along with a wrong quote on services booked through the customer service desk. He immediately took action on all accounts. This made our stay very pleasant. Because of his swift actions the resort exceeded our expectations and our experience ended up being one of the best in Hawaii. We have traveled to Hawaii annually for almost 30 years and wanted a unique experience for our anniversary. The resort provided that. We choose this resort because it was highly recommended and Duke's eatery was on property. We were not disappointed in the dining or the resort amenities. The beach front was perfect and the water clear so that we were able to snorkel without traveling to other parts of the island. If I were to suggest a change of anything it would be the lounges around the pool. They are very low to the ground and difficult to get in and out of. We were able to rent a pool side cabana and lounges of a different type for the beach eliminating the issue for us. The location was close to golf and shopping which made it convenient for getting supplies and golfing. The grounds were so beautiful that we decided to have a professional photographer take our 30th anniversary pictures on site instead of travel to another location. They are fabulous considering we are in our sixties. The resort and beach made for a beautiful back drop.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Duke's offers an Hawaiian flare in dining that is hard to beat anywhere on the island. Its relaxed setting is perfect for cocktail hour watching the sun set over the ocean. Its staff is friendly and food is delicious!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Honua Kai Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Not Romney
Business
Los Angeles
Oct 5, 2012

Great resort

Lovely resort for families. Great secluded beach with excellent snorkeling.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Honua Kai Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Special portuguese one
Business
New jersey
Sep 30, 2012

Great getawa

Excellence in hotel hospitaliaty. Great location,service and accomadation. I highly recommended this location for a great family vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Honua Kai Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Barnett
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Sep 26, 2012

Awesome place & very new / clean!

We had a great time staying at Honua Kia. Went Sept 19-25th - it was not crowded and parking and amenities were abundant. Some families with small children there which was a bit of a concern for us due to the noise but overall, there were places to go to get away from that for the most part. This resort is very new and clean. Pools and grounds are nice and well kept. Dukes restaurant has good food and drinks - casual or dining room dining options. Beach was nice and not crowded.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Honua Kai Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Not Romney
Business
Los Angeles
Sep 20, 2012

Great Resort

We reserved a mountain view 1 bedroom. We were given a free upgrade to a larger resort view 1 bedroom. Compared to our friend's mountain view 1 bedroom, the resort view 1 bedroom was not only larger, but better laid out with a much better bathroom. The grounds were beautifully maintained and very family friendly. The beach by the resort was secluded and beautiful. The snorkeling there was fantastic. Don't bother driving somewhere else for it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Snorkeling at the beach hotel was better than the much more crowded beach by the Ritz Carlton.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top