$336 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 8, 2015 Check-out: Jan 10, 2015

Honua Kai Resort

4 stars
130 Kai Malina Parkway, Lahaina, HI 96761
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
158 reviews
Always Amazing

This was our 2nd family stay at Honua Kai. Beautiful resort of condos with many of the amenities of... See full review

  • Chris
  • Dec 23, 2014
We had a great time there!

The staff is very kind and the clear highlight is the pool area. We have three kids (2-12) and they... See full review

  • Cybersm
  • Dec 6, 2014

Natural stone colors and a tranquil ambience give the Honua Kai Resort in Maui an air of luxury and intimacy. Spacious suites include gourmet kitchens filled with Bosch appliances, plus indulgent bath and body products for long hours in the tub. Head outside to enjoy the fresh air on the large veranda that overlooks the resort's private beach. On-site dining is offered at Duke's Beach House, a great venue for authentic Hawaiian cuisine prepared with fresh, local ingredients. After a day on the beach or exploring Maui, treat yourself to a thorough pampering at the Ho'ola Spa.

Key facts

  • 3 pools
  • Hot tub
  • Laundry facility: washer/dryer in each suite; dry cleaning available
  • Internet access (fees may apply)
  • Valet parking
  • Fitness center
  • 318 rooms
  • 10 floors
  • Childcare services
  • Concierge desk
  • 24-hour front desk

Neighborhood

Honua Kai is located along the world-famous Kaanapali North Beach. Snorkeling is a popular activity here and whale-watching excursions can be taken during certain times of the year. Shopping is merely five minutes away at the Whalers Village complex, an outdoor venue offering specialty stores and dining establishments like Tommy Bahama. Golf enthusiasts will discover rolling fairways and contoured greens at the neighboring Royal Kaanapali Course.

Hints and tips

For the quietest stay, opt for a room facing the courtyard; these rooms are a good distance from the highway.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Honua Kai Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Honua Kai Resort Rooms

Ohana Resort View Suite
Beautifully designed non-ocean view suite, depending on location, overlooking West Maui Mountains, pools, grounds, and ponds. Fully equipped kitchens with granite counter tops, microwave, washer & dryer.
One Bedroom Suite
Wondrous space to be together or to find time alone. Our one-bedroom suites offer an unparalleled oceanfront vacation experience - beyond any other Hawaii rental. As the newest hotel on Kaanapali North Beach, your expectations will be exceeded by the spacious floor plans offering living areas that flow onto glass railed lanais, blurring the line between indoor living and the spectacular Maui outdoors. The privacy of a separate bedroom creates a comfortable home-like setting within the contemporary, luxurious space.
Two Bedroom Suite
The two-bedroom suites are ideal for families or friends to connect in a home-like setting. The contemporary, tropical interiors blend seamlessly onto the large lanais creating an expansive indoor / outdoor space. The glass-rails create a feeling of unobstructed openness. The generous floor plan of the two bedroom rentals easily accommodates the whole family or friends, providing you with the opportunity to reconnect, relax and reinvigorate.
Three Bedroom Suites
The 3-bedroom suites are ideal for families or friends to connect in a home-like setting. All 3-bedroom suites feature 3 king beds in each bedroom, and a queen pull out sofa in the living room. The contemporary, tropical interiors blend seamlessly onto the large lanais creating an expansive indoor / outdoor space. The glass-rails create a feeling of unobstructed openness. The generous floor plan of the three bedroom rentals easily accommodates the whole family or friends, providing you with the opportunity to reconnect, relax and reinvigorate.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Duke's Beach House
Duke's Beach House provides guests an authentic Hawaiian dining experience and omage to the restaurant's namesake, legendary Hawaiian surfer and waterman Duke Kahanamoku. The restaurant serves fresh, locally sourced ingredients for breakfast, lunch dinner. The cuisine is Hawaiian influenced with a focus on fresh, sustainable seafood and premium steaks. Duke's Beach House is located oceanfront at the resort. Hours of operation: Breakfast is served from 7:30 a.m. - 10:30 a.m. Lunch and dinner are served between 11 a.m. - 9:30 p.m.
Aina Gourmet Market
n addition to providing a full range of groceries and sundries, 'Aina Gourmet Market is a charming, rustic cafe with a full coffee bar; deli case of pastries, prepared salads, and snacks; hot panini sandwiches; and "zappers" for healthy grab 'n go meals. A full range of breakfast, lunch and dinner items are available daily. Sample menu items for breakfast: muffins, bagels & lox, pastries, eggs, wraps, quiche and a full coffee bar. Sample lunch and dinner menu items include fresh fruits, organic greens, fish plates, sub sandwiches, burgers and so much more. The menu changes regularly based on availability of fresh local produce and meats. The market is based on the "100-Mile Market" concept: utilizing products from within a 100-mile radius. Maui produce is stocked first, preferably from smaller farms and island-based businesses. Located conveniently in the lobby, 'Aina Gourmet Market is open from 7 a.m. - 9 p.m. daily.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (158)

Ratings and reviews for Honua Kai Resort

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
158 out of 158
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.2

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Honua Kai Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Not Romney
Business
Los Angeles
Oct 5, 2012

Great resort

Lovely resort for families. Great secluded beach with excellent snorkeling.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Honua Kai Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Special portuguese one
Business
New jersey
Sep 30, 2012

Great getawa

Excellence in hotel hospitaliaty. Great location,service and accomadation. I highly recommended this location for a great family vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Honua Kai Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Barnett
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Sep 26, 2012

Awesome place & very new / clean!

We had a great time staying at Honua Kia. Went Sept 19-25th - it was not crowded and parking and amenities were abundant. Some families with small children there which was a bit of a concern for us due to the noise but overall, there were places to go to get away from that for the most part. This resort is very new and clean. Pools and grounds are nice and well kept. Dukes restaurant has good food and drinks - casual or dining room dining options. Beach was nice and not crowded.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Honua Kai Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Not Romney
Business
Los Angeles
Sep 20, 2012

Great Resort

We reserved a mountain view 1 bedroom. We were given a free upgrade to a larger resort view 1 bedroom. Compared to our friend's mountain view 1 bedroom, the resort view 1 bedroom was not only larger, but better laid out with a much better bathroom. The grounds were beautifully maintained and very family friendly. The beach by the resort was secluded and beautiful. The snorkeling there was fantastic. Don't bother driving somewhere else for it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Snorkeling at the beach hotel was better than the much more crowded beach by the Ritz Carlton.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Honua Kai Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Redrockets 442
Business
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Sep 8, 2012

Great Hotel

Wonderful experience. First class property with first class accomodations, right down to the toilet seat that has a "quiet close" operation. Beautiful pools. The first class avaialbe BBQ grills are a nice touch, these even have granite counterwork around the grilling area. The ice water set up each day by the elevator each day is infused with wonderful fruit - pineapple, oranges, grapefruit, etc. Stopped to take a glass every time we passed by. Nothing to criticise. Except possibly that they made me go home when my reservation was up.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the short walk across the street to stock up on food, beer, wine and whatever else you might want or need for your stay. Each unit has a beautiful kitchen with full sized refefrigerator, stove, and counter work. Dukes is the on sight restaurant, but if you make your own meals you can save quite a bit and keep your money for other events and activities. No need to spend 15 bucks for a hamburger for lunch. Make some sandwiches and head down to the beach instead. Our party mought steaks and grilled out one night and had alot of fun.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Honua Kai Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BCKate
Business
BC Canada
Aug 29, 2012

Perfect resort

I enjoyed our stay at the Honua Kai. The pools were great. My sons enjoyed being in the water there. It never seemed to be overcrowded with people which is what I prefer. We were always able to get chairs by the pool. Our room was great. We got upgraded from a studio to a one bedroom which it was nice to have the extra room. The accomodations were great. Nice clean rooms. It is always great to have a kitchen and a washer/dryer. All staff was friendly. I would definitely come and stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Honua Kai Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bright Spark
Business
Vancouver, BC
Aug 26, 2012

2nd visit back to Honua Kai Resort

This was our second visit back to Honua Kai resort having a great vacation in 2011. This vacation we decided to stay a bit longer than our previous visit and reserved 13 nights. This time we had a 1 bed/1 BR instead of a 2 bed/2 BR overlooking the car park and mountains. the 1 bed was a little to small for a familty of 4 and would definately book a 2 bed/2 BR. The romm standards was high which we expected and the cleaning was better than our last visit. However cant help but feel this resort was built in the wrong location. Too much wind and often cloudy due to the proximity of the mountain and trade winds. Go anywhere else and the wind is much lighter - even a few yards down the beach to the next hotel! This would be a major factor in deciding weather to stay back at this resort again because you just cant relax with gale force winds which last right into the evening. Dukes was excellent and we dinned there 3 times this trip. Nothing else to really complain about apart from those strong winds. May consider another location next time mainly due to the wind and cloudy weather..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Shop at Costco - most of our flight was in the store on the first day!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Honua Kai Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LillyAnn
Business
Anaheim
Aug 19, 2012

Mahalo!!

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our accommodations at Honua Kai! The facilities were well equipped with everything we needed for a 5 night stay. The pools and gym were great! The staff were very friendly and knowledgeable! I would come back again definitely!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eat at Dukes Beach House...yum!!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Honua Kai Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
barry family
Business
buffalo new york
Jul 30, 2012

awesome family vacation

The full kitchen and laundry in the room make this the perfect family hotel. The beach was quite and perfect for the kids to snorkel on the waves were not to large. Best vacation our family has had

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Honua Kai Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Alexandria, Louisiana
Jul 26, 2012

The best ever in Hawaii just doesn't get better then this.

It was fantastic Anniversary getaway, great food, great weather with winds that kept you cool during the heat of the day. Roads traveled to the resort were very nice with views that were so beautiful. Take along a camera to remember the special scenic stops. I will always remember this trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Rent a car

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top