$274 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 24, 2014 Check-out: Aug 26, 2014

Honua Kai Resort

4 stars
130 Kai Malina Parkway, Lahaina, HI 96761
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
174 reviews
It was a great hotel!!!

We loved this place. It was expensive but the room was great. It was spacious and clean with a nice... See full review

  • Traveler5
  • Jul 27, 2014
family vacation

We stayed here for 6 days, it was awesome, we had no complaints! We will come back and stay here... See full review

  • msangulo
  • Jul 18, 2014

Natural stone colors and a tranquil ambience give the Honua Kai Resort in Maui an air of luxury and intimacy. Spacious suites include gourmet kitchens filled with Bosch appliances, plus indulgent bath and body products for long hours in the tub. Head outside to enjoy the fresh air on the large veranda that overlooks the resort's private beach. On-site dining is offered at Duke's Beach House, a great venue for authentic Hawaiian cuisine prepared with fresh, local ingredients. After a day on the beach or exploring Maui, treat yourself to a thorough pampering at the Ho'ola Spa.

Key facts

  • 3 pools
  • Hot tub
  • Laundry facility: washer/dryer in each suite; dry cleaning available
  • Internet access (fees may apply)
  • Valet parking
  • Fitness center
  • 318 rooms
  • 10 floors
  • Childcare services
  • Concierge desk
  • 24-hour front desk

Neighborhood

Honua Kai is located along the world-famous Kaanapali North Beach. Snorkeling is a popular activity here and whale-watching excursions can be taken during certain times of the year. Shopping is merely five minutes away at the Whalers Village complex, an outdoor venue offering specialty stores and dining establishments like Tommy Bahama. Golf enthusiasts will discover rolling fairways and contoured greens at the neighboring Royal Kaanapali Course.

Hints and tips

For the quietest stay, opt for a room facing the courtyard; these rooms are a good distance from the highway.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

20.9454 -156.6901
Area served
Lahaina, Kaanapali, Napili Maui, Hawaii
Nearby airports
Kahului Airport-OGG-20 miles Kapalua Airport-JHM-5 miles
Area description
Located on the West side of Maui, overlooking the beautiful white sands of North Ka'anapali Beach.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Honua Kai Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5

Honua Kai Resort Rooms

Ohana Resort View Suite
Beautifully designed non-ocean view suite, depending on location, overlooking West Maui Mountains, pools, grounds, and ponds. Fully equipped kitchens with granite counter tops, microwave, washer & dryer.
One Bedroom Suite
Wondrous space to be together or to find time alone. Our one-bedroom suites offer an unparalleled oceanfront vacation experience - beyond any other Hawaii rental. As the newest hotel on Kaanapali North Beach, your expectations will be exceeded by the spacious floor plans offering living areas that flow onto glass railed lanais, blurring the line between indoor living and the spectacular Maui outdoors. The privacy of a separate bedroom creates a comfortable home-like setting within the contemporary, luxurious space.
Two Bedroom Suite
The two-bedroom suites are ideal for families or friends to connect in a home-like setting. The contemporary, tropical interiors blend seamlessly onto the large lanais creating an expansive indoor / outdoor space. The glass-rails create a feeling of unobstructed openness. The generous floor plan of the two bedroom rentals easily accommodates the whole family or friends, providing you with the opportunity to reconnect, relax and reinvigorate.
Three Bedroom Suites
The 3-bedroom suites are ideal for families or friends to connect in a home-like setting. All 3-bedroom suites feature 3 king beds in each bedroom, and a queen pull out sofa in the living room. The contemporary, tropical interiors blend seamlessly onto the large lanais creating an expansive indoor / outdoor space. The glass-rails create a feeling of unobstructed openness. The generous floor plan of the three bedroom rentals easily accommodates the whole family or friends, providing you with the opportunity to reconnect, relax and reinvigorate.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Duke's Beach House
Duke's Beach House provides guests an authentic Hawaiian dining experience and omage to the restaurant's namesake, legendary Hawaiian surfer and waterman Duke Kahanamoku. The restaurant serves fresh, locally sourced ingredients for breakfast, lunch dinner. The cuisine is Hawaiian influenced with a focus on fresh, sustainable seafood and premium steaks. Duke's Beach House is located oceanfront at the resort. Hours of operation: Breakfast is served from 7:30 a.m. - 10:30 a.m. Lunch and dinner are served between 11 a.m. - 9:30 p.m.
Aina Gourmet Market
n addition to providing a full range of groceries and sundries, 'Aina Gourmet Market is a charming, rustic cafe with a full coffee bar; deli case of pastries, prepared salads, and snacks; hot panini sandwiches; and "zappers" for healthy grab 'n go meals. A full range of breakfast, lunch and dinner items are available daily. Sample menu items for breakfast: muffins, bagels & lox, pastries, eggs, wraps, quiche and a full coffee bar. Sample lunch and dinner menu items include fresh fruits, organic greens, fish plates, sub sandwiches, burgers and so much more. The menu changes regularly based on availability of fresh local produce and meats. The market is based on the "100-Mile Market" concept: utilizing products from within a 100-mile radius. Maui produce is stocked first, preferably from smaller farms and island-based businesses. Located conveniently in the lobby, 'Aina Gourmet Market is open from 7 a.m. - 9 p.m. daily.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (174)

Ratings and reviews for Honua Kai Resort

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
174 out of 174
Amenities:
4.5
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.8
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.3

98% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Honua Kai Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nano Argentina
Buenos Aires Argentina
Mar 15, 2012

Nice, many rocks on their beach

If you like to walk a little to enter the sea is the perfect place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
1
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Return back from Hana rounding the isle. Also, the road from West Maui to Kahului is perfect, driving north.(circle island, not regular roads.)

Review of Honua Kai Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Warm
Wisconsin, USA
Mar 9, 2012

Great times

Our stay was wonderful. The room was very clean, the staff was always helpful and the location to everything was great. The pool was very nice and having the beach right there was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

There is lots of shops right down the road. You could even walk if you want right along the beach.

Review of Honua Kai Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Maui Sun lovers
Oakland, CA
Mar 8, 2012

Great family vacation resort

My husband, I and our two kids stayed five nights at the Honua Kai in February 2012 and loved it. We paid for a one bedroom partial ocean view suite and ended up getting upgraded to a two bedroom without even asking. The suite was beautiful....large clean rooms, modern amenities and a FULL kitchen. We loved having a refrigerator, microwave, stove and washer/dryer and ended up eating many meals in the room rather than dining out. The beds were large (king) and comfortable. The pools, though a little cool, were great for my young children, who especially loved the water slide.The food at Dukes was delicious and the service was friendly and efficient. The only drawback was the incessant wind! It was so windy at the pool and beach that you couldn't wear a hat. It would just blow away. The wind was pretty consistent the whole time we were there so not sure if it's just the nature of where the resort is situated on the island. The resort staff was friendly and helpful. There was also a grocery store right across the street from the hotel which came in handy. We definitely enjoyed the Honua Kai and would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: In Hotel

One morning we called Dukes for a dinner reservation and they were already booked until after 8:30 PM. We put our name on the wait list and ended up waiting about 45 minutes to be seated. Next time I would call at the beginning of our stay to make reservations for dinner several days ahead. Lunch reservations weren't required and there was never a wait.

Review of Honua Kai Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Berbman
California, USA
Feb 25, 2012

Excellent resort. Excellent price.

This was a great value. To start the room was very nice. The one bedroom ocean view studio suite has a view of the ocean even though you are tucked into the inner corner of the U-shaped building. The higher the floor the better the view would be. Also the full kitchen allowed us to save money by eating some meals in the room. There was a grocery store just down the road for supplies. The location was good as well. It took only about ten minutes to drive to downtown Lahaina. The cab ride amounted to about $20.00 each way which was reasonable for a night out without a car. Also there were plenty of nice beaches within walking or short drive distances. It is listed in the fine print but, there is an additional $25.00 resort fee charged per day added onto your bill at the end. Lastly this resort is popular with children so if you want complete quiet this may not be for you. Although we had no problems with noise while in our room during the day or night. All in all I would definitely come back here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Honua Kai Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TraveLover
Ohio
Feb 23, 2012

Beautiful Romantic Getaway

Great resort! Perfect location! Loved the pools and easy access to the beach! Excellent value!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Honua Kai Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ddslm
San Francisco, CA, USA
Jan 28, 2012

Weekday getaway

Wonderful amenities at this resort. Would definitely stay again! The resort needs clearer street signs in the front entrance area directing you to parking, Duke's restaurant etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Honua Kai Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Deborah Nan
Lihue,Kauai
Jan 25, 2012

excellent,all-inclusive resort!

Great location,amenities,staff...the stuff all good memories are made from!Couldn't get much better,cocktails by the pool,whales breaching in the ocean and gorgeous sunsets while eating the freshest of seafood from Duke's Beach House...Thoroughly enjoyed the updated amenties in an extremely well-appointed condotel..Only minor drawback with 3 swimming pools onsite,one should exclusively for adults!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

excellent,fully stocked (Times)super market nearby ,good selections of wines,choice meats and a nice deli!Open late!

Review of Honua Kai Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
klhorn
New York, NY, USA
Jan 21, 2012

Invigorating Comfortable Escape

Honua Kai Resort offers decent sized condos (1 bedroom) with breathtaking Lanai views. The lanai doors were our favorite part of our stay. We had a 1 bedroom mountain view condo which was perfect for us. We loved the mountain colors every morning. The sun rises over the mountain displaying the beautiful greens and browns offered from Maui's finest. Being able to open these doors really put this resorts accommodations over the top. The pools looked nice, but we are more of ocean people. The beaches are great!! We actually went down about 20 minutes to a spot that had better waves and less rocks. The beach near Honua Kai is good for snorkeling but I did get a little cut up from there being so much coral near the beach, which apparently is common, as told to us by the first aid guy on the resort. My suggestion is if you are going to swim out a little bit, to head south 15 minutes or so. It's a little safer down there. Duke's is a must. People travel from other parts of the island to eat here and it's on the resort. Great food, great drinks, and awesome bartenders!!! Aina market is in the lobby of the main building and is OUTSTANDING!! Everything comes from O'O Farms which we took a lunch tour of and we highly recommend!! This really took our trip to another level. Also, the chef of the market and farm have 2 restaurants in Lahaina. We ate at I'O and it was so good. Definitely recommend this place!! Would stay here again and hope to do so some day!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Duke's is outstanding. You will be happy this place is so close!

Review of Honua Kai Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
phaha
philadelphia
Jan 14, 2012

fantastic family getaway

This was a fantastic and beautiful resort for my three generation family except high price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Honua Kai Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kotek
Vancouver, BC, Canada
Jan 14, 2012

It was great, but....

Could not ask for anything more except one thing: The cleaning staff works unpredictable hours, our sheets were not changed during our 6 days stay and never the tables, counter tops were wiped clean of finger prints and such (everybody used a suntanning lotion which leaves greasy residue). This is the one thing wich needs to improve.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Very good grocery shop to get all your supplies if you cook for yourself.

Back to menu Return to top