$232 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 1, 2014 Check-out: Sep 4, 2014

Honua Kai Resort

4 stars
130 Kai Malina Parkway, Lahaina, HI 96761
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
145 reviews
Great Place

Friendly staff, great suite with nice view. Awesome area by Kaanapali beach (One of the best... See full review

  • MauiRocks
  • Aug 27, 2014
It was a great hotel!!!

We loved this place. It was expensive but the room was great. It was spacious and clean with a nice... See full review

  • Traveler5
  • Jul 27, 2014

Natural stone colors and a tranquil ambience give the Honua Kai Resort in Maui an air of luxury and intimacy. Spacious suites include gourmet kitchens filled with Bosch appliances, plus indulgent bath and body products for long hours in the tub. Head outside to enjoy the fresh air on the large veranda that overlooks the resort's private beach. On-site dining is offered at Duke's Beach House, a great venue for authentic Hawaiian cuisine prepared with fresh, local ingredients. After a day on the beach or exploring Maui, treat yourself to a thorough pampering at the Ho'ola Spa.

Key facts

  • 3 pools
  • Hot tub
  • Laundry facility: washer/dryer in each suite; dry cleaning available
  • Internet access (fees may apply)
  • Valet parking
  • Fitness center
  • 318 rooms
  • 10 floors
  • Childcare services
  • Concierge desk
  • 24-hour front desk

Neighborhood

Honua Kai is located along the world-famous Kaanapali North Beach. Snorkeling is a popular activity here and whale-watching excursions can be taken during certain times of the year. Shopping is merely five minutes away at the Whalers Village complex, an outdoor venue offering specialty stores and dining establishments like Tommy Bahama. Golf enthusiasts will discover rolling fairways and contoured greens at the neighboring Royal Kaanapali Course.

Hints and tips

For the quietest stay, opt for a room facing the courtyard; these rooms are a good distance from the highway.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

20.9454 -156.6901
Area served
Lahaina, Kaanapali, Napili Maui, Hawaii
Nearby airports
Kahului Airport-OGG-20 miles Kapalua Airport-JHM-5 miles
Area description
Located on the West side of Maui, overlooking the beautiful white sands of North Ka'anapali Beach.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Honua Kai Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5

Honua Kai Resort Rooms

Ohana Resort View Suite
Beautifully designed non-ocean view suite, depending on location, overlooking West Maui Mountains, pools, grounds, and ponds. Fully equipped kitchens with granite counter tops, microwave, washer & dryer.
One Bedroom Suite
Wondrous space to be together or to find time alone. Our one-bedroom suites offer an unparalleled oceanfront vacation experience - beyond any other Hawaii rental. As the newest hotel on Kaanapali North Beach, your expectations will be exceeded by the spacious floor plans offering living areas that flow onto glass railed lanais, blurring the line between indoor living and the spectacular Maui outdoors. The privacy of a separate bedroom creates a comfortable home-like setting within the contemporary, luxurious space.
Two Bedroom Suite
The two-bedroom suites are ideal for families or friends to connect in a home-like setting. The contemporary, tropical interiors blend seamlessly onto the large lanais creating an expansive indoor / outdoor space. The glass-rails create a feeling of unobstructed openness. The generous floor plan of the two bedroom rentals easily accommodates the whole family or friends, providing you with the opportunity to reconnect, relax and reinvigorate.
Three Bedroom Suites
The 3-bedroom suites are ideal for families or friends to connect in a home-like setting. All 3-bedroom suites feature 3 king beds in each bedroom, and a queen pull out sofa in the living room. The contemporary, tropical interiors blend seamlessly onto the large lanais creating an expansive indoor / outdoor space. The glass-rails create a feeling of unobstructed openness. The generous floor plan of the three bedroom rentals easily accommodates the whole family or friends, providing you with the opportunity to reconnect, relax and reinvigorate.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Duke's Beach House
Duke's Beach House provides guests an authentic Hawaiian dining experience and omage to the restaurant's namesake, legendary Hawaiian surfer and waterman Duke Kahanamoku. The restaurant serves fresh, locally sourced ingredients for breakfast, lunch dinner. The cuisine is Hawaiian influenced with a focus on fresh, sustainable seafood and premium steaks. Duke's Beach House is located oceanfront at the resort. Hours of operation: Breakfast is served from 7:30 a.m. - 10:30 a.m. Lunch and dinner are served between 11 a.m. - 9:30 p.m.
Aina Gourmet Market
n addition to providing a full range of groceries and sundries, 'Aina Gourmet Market is a charming, rustic cafe with a full coffee bar; deli case of pastries, prepared salads, and snacks; hot panini sandwiches; and "zappers" for healthy grab 'n go meals. A full range of breakfast, lunch and dinner items are available daily. Sample menu items for breakfast: muffins, bagels & lox, pastries, eggs, wraps, quiche and a full coffee bar. Sample lunch and dinner menu items include fresh fruits, organic greens, fish plates, sub sandwiches, burgers and so much more. The menu changes regularly based on availability of fresh local produce and meats. The market is based on the "100-Mile Market" concept: utilizing products from within a 100-mile radius. Maui produce is stocked first, preferably from smaller farms and island-based businesses. Located conveniently in the lobby, 'Aina Gourmet Market is open from 7 a.m. - 9 p.m. daily.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (145)

Ratings and reviews for Honua Kai Resort

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
145 out of 145
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.2

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Honua Kai Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Breznn
Santa Cruz, CA, USA
Apr 26, 2012

Home away from home

The Honua Kai resort is a wonderful place for couples, families, honeymooners and anyone who wants to feel comfortable like they are at a home away from home. The rooms/suites are amazing (we were in a 1 bedroom) with fully functioning state-of-the-art kitchens, washer/dryer, beautiful lanais, and Aveda bath products. I totally felt like I could live there full time!! This place will no doubt get a 5-star rating in my book once they add the "spa" part to the Honua Kai Resort and Spa name (which is a little misleading at the moment because there is NO spa...yet). Be advised that the Honua Kai does get really, REALLY windy in the afternoons and certain times of year. Other than that...it's paradise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Merriman's restaurant at Kapalua Bay was one of the best meals and dining experiences we have ever had! Well worth the price!

Review of Honua Kai Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MTB Girl
Ohio, USA
Apr 21, 2012

Great stay with couple of minor exceptions

Great location. Close to a grocery store. Couple of minor issues... Our room was not ready for check in until after 6:00 pm. Housekeeping did not show up one day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Honua Kai Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Miles From Maui
San Francisco, CA
Apr 17, 2012

Home Away From Home

Honua Kai is like the home you wish you lived in permanently...if you never had to work. We stayed in the 2BR 2BA room, ocean view. As others most likely mentioned, there's no such thing as an ocean view unless you stay in one of the specialty rooms (suites). Otherwise, the "ocean view" you pay for will be a partial view. When we checked in, the resort employee became a little defensive and hostile when I asked about all of those requests I made prior to my arrival. None of them were fulfilled. His attitude was made up by the awesome housekeeping. Mylene left us notes and made sure our room was perfect each time we came back in. The restaurant on site, Duke's, is just ok. I'm from San Francisco, so maybe my expectations are set a bit high. Duke's is over priced and average, but convenient nonetheless. The Honua Kai beach is rocky. Each one of us got cut up and/or bruised. Water shoes are a MUST. But if you walked to the right or the left , it's much easier to get in the water. Despite the difficulty, the beach is perfect for snorkeling. Beautiful coral reefs, LOTS of tropical fish! Honua Kai is a family resort. Expect kids and babies. Overall, an excellent experience!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Leoda's Kitchen & Pie Shop is a quick drive south off the main road. It is a "must do" if you love pies!

Review of Honua Kai Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Nicolae cucu
Boca Raton, FL, USA
Mar 20, 2012

“2 WEEKS TOO MUCH”

Honeymoon here was Ok. We honestly expected a lot more for what we paid for this place. Let me start by saying this place is new but everything is dirty when you look close ( seems to be the Hawaiian way) THE GOOD 1- full kitchen 2- washer & dryer 3- beautiful pool area 4- BBQ area 5-very friendly staff THE BAD 1- the front of the resort smelled like sewer for 14 days 2- THE Beach is small , eroded , full of rocks & windy 3- The entire resort anywhere you go is like a wind tunnel, blasting winds and draft felt everywhere 4- Our partial ocean view was so at from ocean all you heard was the roar of cars, motorcycles, sirens all night we could not enjoy a peaceful night. 5-The pool although is nice and all is freezing and for that reason no one was using it. 6-The BBQ area- 3 out of 4 grills did not turn on or heat up, the one that worked took about 45 min to heat up and was filthy 7-HOUSEKEEPING CLEANED THE ROOM WITH DIRTY RAGS & DIRTY MOPS LEFT DIRT STREAKS ALL OVER BATHROOM THAT YOU CAN ACTUALLY SEE WITH YOUR NAKED EYE ( so we didn't have them clean often since all they did was push the dirt around) 8-LOCATION IS FAR FAR FAR FROM ANYTHING RELATED TO MAUI AND WILL TAKE YOU MINIMAL 30-45 MIN TO GET ANYWHERE 9- BED WAS VERY UNCOMFORTABLE AND SHEETS DID NOT FIT BED. 10- no room service after 9PM ( nothing even on weekends) OVERALL I WOULD NOT VISIT MAUI OR STAY AT THIS RESORT OR REFER ANYONE HERE.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of Honua Kai Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nano Argentina
Buenos Aires Argentina
Mar 15, 2012

Nice, many rocks on their beach

If you like to walk a little to enter the sea is the perfect place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
1
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Return back from Hana rounding the isle. Also, the road from West Maui to Kahului is perfect, driving north.(circle island, not regular roads.)

Review of Honua Kai Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Warm
Wisconsin, USA
Mar 9, 2012

Great times

Our stay was wonderful. The room was very clean, the staff was always helpful and the location to everything was great. The pool was very nice and having the beach right there was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

There is lots of shops right down the road. You could even walk if you want right along the beach.

Review of Honua Kai Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Maui Sun lovers
Oakland, CA
Mar 8, 2012

Great family vacation resort

My husband, I and our two kids stayed five nights at the Honua Kai in February 2012 and loved it. We paid for a one bedroom partial ocean view suite and ended up getting upgraded to a two bedroom without even asking. The suite was beautiful....large clean rooms, modern amenities and a FULL kitchen. We loved having a refrigerator, microwave, stove and washer/dryer and ended up eating many meals in the room rather than dining out. The beds were large (king) and comfortable. The pools, though a little cool, were great for my young children, who especially loved the water slide.The food at Dukes was delicious and the service was friendly and efficient. The only drawback was the incessant wind! It was so windy at the pool and beach that you couldn't wear a hat. It would just blow away. The wind was pretty consistent the whole time we were there so not sure if it's just the nature of where the resort is situated on the island. The resort staff was friendly and helpful. There was also a grocery store right across the street from the hotel which came in handy. We definitely enjoyed the Honua Kai and would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: In Hotel

One morning we called Dukes for a dinner reservation and they were already booked until after 8:30 PM. We put our name on the wait list and ended up waiting about 45 minutes to be seated. Next time I would call at the beginning of our stay to make reservations for dinner several days ahead. Lunch reservations weren't required and there was never a wait.

Review of Honua Kai Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Berbman
California, USA
Feb 25, 2012

Excellent resort. Excellent price.

This was a great value. To start the room was very nice. The one bedroom ocean view studio suite has a view of the ocean even though you are tucked into the inner corner of the U-shaped building. The higher the floor the better the view would be. Also the full kitchen allowed us to save money by eating some meals in the room. There was a grocery store just down the road for supplies. The location was good as well. It took only about ten minutes to drive to downtown Lahaina. The cab ride amounted to about $20.00 each way which was reasonable for a night out without a car. Also there were plenty of nice beaches within walking or short drive distances. It is listed in the fine print but, there is an additional $25.00 resort fee charged per day added onto your bill at the end. Lastly this resort is popular with children so if you want complete quiet this may not be for you. Although we had no problems with noise while in our room during the day or night. All in all I would definitely come back here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Honua Kai Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TraveLover
Ohio
Feb 23, 2012

Beautiful Romantic Getaway

Great resort! Perfect location! Loved the pools and easy access to the beach! Excellent value!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Honua Kai Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ddslm
San Francisco, CA, USA
Jan 28, 2012

Weekday getaway

Wonderful amenities at this resort. Would definitely stay again! The resort needs clearer street signs in the front entrance area directing you to parking, Duke's restaurant etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top

Change search