$336 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 8, 2015 Check-out: Jan 10, 2015

Honua Kai Resort

4 stars
130 Kai Malina Parkway, Lahaina, HI 96761
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
158 reviews
Always Amazing

This was our 2nd family stay at Honua Kai. Beautiful resort of condos with many of the amenities of... See full review

  • Chris
  • Dec 23, 2014
We had a great time there!

The staff is very kind and the clear highlight is the pool area. We have three kids (2-12) and they... See full review

  • Cybersm
  • Dec 6, 2014

Natural stone colors and a tranquil ambience give the Honua Kai Resort in Maui an air of luxury and intimacy. Spacious suites include gourmet kitchens filled with Bosch appliances, plus indulgent bath and body products for long hours in the tub. Head outside to enjoy the fresh air on the large veranda that overlooks the resort's private beach. On-site dining is offered at Duke's Beach House, a great venue for authentic Hawaiian cuisine prepared with fresh, local ingredients. After a day on the beach or exploring Maui, treat yourself to a thorough pampering at the Ho'ola Spa.

Key facts

  • 3 pools
  • Hot tub
  • Laundry facility: washer/dryer in each suite; dry cleaning available
  • Internet access (fees may apply)
  • Valet parking
  • Fitness center
  • 318 rooms
  • 10 floors
  • Childcare services
  • Concierge desk
  • 24-hour front desk

Neighborhood

Honua Kai is located along the world-famous Kaanapali North Beach. Snorkeling is a popular activity here and whale-watching excursions can be taken during certain times of the year. Shopping is merely five minutes away at the Whalers Village complex, an outdoor venue offering specialty stores and dining establishments like Tommy Bahama. Golf enthusiasts will discover rolling fairways and contoured greens at the neighboring Royal Kaanapali Course.

Hints and tips

For the quietest stay, opt for a room facing the courtyard; these rooms are a good distance from the highway.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Honua Kai Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Honua Kai Resort Rooms

Ohana Resort View Suite
Beautifully designed non-ocean view suite, depending on location, overlooking West Maui Mountains, pools, grounds, and ponds. Fully equipped kitchens with granite counter tops, microwave, washer & dryer.
One Bedroom Suite
Wondrous space to be together or to find time alone. Our one-bedroom suites offer an unparalleled oceanfront vacation experience - beyond any other Hawaii rental. As the newest hotel on Kaanapali North Beach, your expectations will be exceeded by the spacious floor plans offering living areas that flow onto glass railed lanais, blurring the line between indoor living and the spectacular Maui outdoors. The privacy of a separate bedroom creates a comfortable home-like setting within the contemporary, luxurious space.
Two Bedroom Suite
The two-bedroom suites are ideal for families or friends to connect in a home-like setting. The contemporary, tropical interiors blend seamlessly onto the large lanais creating an expansive indoor / outdoor space. The glass-rails create a feeling of unobstructed openness. The generous floor plan of the two bedroom rentals easily accommodates the whole family or friends, providing you with the opportunity to reconnect, relax and reinvigorate.
Three Bedroom Suites
The 3-bedroom suites are ideal for families or friends to connect in a home-like setting. All 3-bedroom suites feature 3 king beds in each bedroom, and a queen pull out sofa in the living room. The contemporary, tropical interiors blend seamlessly onto the large lanais creating an expansive indoor / outdoor space. The glass-rails create a feeling of unobstructed openness. The generous floor plan of the three bedroom rentals easily accommodates the whole family or friends, providing you with the opportunity to reconnect, relax and reinvigorate.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Duke's Beach House
Duke's Beach House provides guests an authentic Hawaiian dining experience and omage to the restaurant's namesake, legendary Hawaiian surfer and waterman Duke Kahanamoku. The restaurant serves fresh, locally sourced ingredients for breakfast, lunch dinner. The cuisine is Hawaiian influenced with a focus on fresh, sustainable seafood and premium steaks. Duke's Beach House is located oceanfront at the resort. Hours of operation: Breakfast is served from 7:30 a.m. - 10:30 a.m. Lunch and dinner are served between 11 a.m. - 9:30 p.m.
Aina Gourmet Market
n addition to providing a full range of groceries and sundries, 'Aina Gourmet Market is a charming, rustic cafe with a full coffee bar; deli case of pastries, prepared salads, and snacks; hot panini sandwiches; and "zappers" for healthy grab 'n go meals. A full range of breakfast, lunch and dinner items are available daily. Sample menu items for breakfast: muffins, bagels & lox, pastries, eggs, wraps, quiche and a full coffee bar. Sample lunch and dinner menu items include fresh fruits, organic greens, fish plates, sub sandwiches, burgers and so much more. The menu changes regularly based on availability of fresh local produce and meats. The market is based on the "100-Mile Market" concept: utilizing products from within a 100-mile radius. Maui produce is stocked first, preferably from smaller farms and island-based businesses. Located conveniently in the lobby, 'Aina Gourmet Market is open from 7 a.m. - 9 p.m. daily.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (158)

Ratings and reviews for Honua Kai Resort

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
158 out of 158
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.2

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Honua Kai Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ehkjfdsf
Business
Albuquerque, NM
May 7, 2013

Beautiful Resort

My husband and I recently made the trip to Maui to get married, and stayed at Honua Kai for our honeymoon. The resort is beautiful, clean, and very well kept. The location on the beach was great as well. We were disappointed to find out that the spa was not yet opened and had to book spa and salon services elsewhere. Our room was wonderful, clean and very comfortable. The only downside to this resort is the front desk staff is not exactly friendly, including the manager. We did work with the concierge a few times and each concierge was wonderful and very helpful. The housekeeping staff was also very friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Honua Kai Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ash2000
Business
Santa Clara, CA
Apr 29, 2013

Awesome hotel/condo

Very good hotel, good pools and service. Only thing that was not good was that the poolside bar drinks has hardly any alcohol in them and were too expensive!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Honua Kai Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mahinahina
Business
Corona, california
Apr 23, 2013

Spring break2013

Awesome resort!!!!! Dukes right there on the property, view from our room was amazing. Loved every minute!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dukes

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Honua Kai Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BobbyJ
Business
Buckeye, AZ
Apr 22, 2013

Nice and Beautiful

It felt very welcoming. When you first walk in it takes your breath awary with the view of the ocean. The room was very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Duke's Beach house grill. Nice place to eat and have a drink

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Honua Kai Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Hotter
Business
Carlsbad, NM
Apr 15, 2013

Great hotel, perfect location

Staff was a little short and not too friendly, however, they did what they needed. Apart from that the hotel (apartments) are great. Had a studio with Ocean View. Loved it. Nice restaurant, nice beach. We didn't, but you can rent snorkle gear, boogie board, paddle board etc... even chairs and beach toys for kids. I was there with a 11year old and he liked it. Fun pool slide for the younger ones. OK snorkeling. Recommended!!!! Will come back again definitely.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Rent a car and drive around and discover your own beaches. Saw more sea turtles doing that than on organized snorkling trips. Also GOOFY FOOT SURFING SCHOOL!!!! go in the morning. Highly recommend. Best of all surfing schools

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Honua Kai Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hobbit in love
Business
Reno, NV
Feb 13, 2013

Anniversary in Maui

My wife and I were celebrating our 27th wedding anniversary. The room was a lovely partial oceanview which offered us mornings of whale watching along with our breakfast from our lanai. The bed was very comfortable, the shower, however was like getting shot with precision water guns. The dishwasher tines were broken and hanging in the way of the spinner...so the dishes never really got cleaned. That fact did not stop housekeeping from putting the dishes away dirty, disturbing. I fixed it myself the next day. We took the snorkel excursion to Lanai which was a wonderful trip, except that my wife was disappointed that the only "cultural" stop we made was to the local gas station...not even kidding. I tried to arrange delivery of flowers and champange for our anniversary, the concierge stated he would have it all delivered at 5pm. I made 2 or 3 more phone calls and I never received our delivery. Very disappointed. At the Hilton Waikaloa I just mentioned our anniversay and they delivered as a gift and token of appreciation for celebrating with them champange with orchid filled flutes...classy. Everything at Honua Kai is for a price even your morning coffee. If you want more then 2 days worth you have to go to their gourmet market to purchase more. It is a lovely spot on West Maui you cannot beat the morning walks on the Ka anapali beach walk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to Costco for your groceries on way from airport. There is a Safeway that has fresh fish and all the ammenities if you want to grill on the very nice grills on the property.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Honua Kai Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
KK super dad
Business
Philadelphia
Feb 11, 2013

Awesome time with style.

It was truly a fantastic experience. We had a 3 bed room, ocean view. Loved it. Highly recommend it for family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Honua Kai Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mamatobe
Business
washington, dc
Jan 29, 2013

Awesome resort

We had a wonderful experience. The parking was included in the resort fee, so that was great. We valet'd every day and the service was excellent. Duke's (the restaurant on site) was delicious and great lunch deals. Drink prices were also good. The facility is top notch. The appliances are wonderful, top of the line. They also provide a lovely welcome box. Excellent value, excellent hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Honua Kai Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
E DeFries
Business
Capistrano Beach, California
Jan 2, 2013

Great Family Resort!

We stayed at the Honua Kai for a week at Christmas. The hotel was beautiful, staff was friendly, beach was nice, everything was great. Duke's, the restaurant at the hotel was awesome, Erin & Vic from Duke's pool service made our days at the pool perfect! Only complaints was there were not enough lounge chairs for the demand, you had to go down at 7am to reserve them and we requested a late check out and were told it would be $175 ... our flight was delayed by 4 hours and we had a sick baby. Hotel is within walking distance of a grocery store, which was nice. All in all, a great place we would visit again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Honua Kai Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MB999
Business
Tacoma WA
Dec 29, 2012

Great Resort Average Restaurant

The resort is in a beautiful location. The staff are very freindly and helpful. The only minus is the restaurant where the bar service is slow and the food merely average. That is not a huge detriment other than the fact that restaurants are packed at dinner time and it is difficult to make a reservation unless you plan ahead.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top