$324 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jun 12, 2015 Check-out: Jun 13, 2015

Honua Kai Resort

4 stars
View map of 130 Kai Malina Parkway, Lahaina, HI 96761

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Honua Kai Resort

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
183 out of 183
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.2

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Honua Kai Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
The Sutherlands
Business
Regina, SK, Canada
Mar 3, 2014

Honua Kai Resort

The staff at the resort are excellent. Especially the bellmen out front, they were very helpful with any request we had. The location is awesome, we saw whales in the ocean every day either from the beach or the lanai. Would recommend a partial ocean view at least to enjoy the full Hawaiian experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Merriman's Restaurant, exceptional food, best view of the sunset you will find.

Review of Honua Kai Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Gypsie Traveller
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Feb 11, 2014

Not a warm greeting....

Checking in to this otherwise great property put a damper on our whole vacation. At 4pm in the afternoon there was not much going on at the front desk so I thought it would be a quick and enjoyable process. After waiting 20 minutes we finally were able to check in with the only front desk clerk working-Marie. Marie is what they call in the south "nasty-nice". She was rather rude but always with a smile on her face. She repeatedly corrected me and at one point put her hand up to shush me. We were not happy with our room so we were told to wait in the lobby and they would let us know if there was something else available. After 30 minutes I went back to the front desk #no guests in site# and asked Marie if we could move to another room. We were told that one other room was available with a shared balcony #this property is HUGE with multiple buildings#. Marie then got the manager on the line and gave me the phone to deal with him. No resolution and he told us to call him back tomorrow. I asked Marie why she didn't come and get us and she reply "Sir I AM VERY BUSY". After we were on our own the property was nice and the majority of the staff were very nice #nut not particularly helpful#.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a supermarket across the street and the hotel has BBQ's that you can use. There aren't many restaurants in the area and the ones that are close are generally expensive.

Review of Honua Kai Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nick Happy Husband
Business
fremont, California
Jan 20, 2014

excellent anniversary getaway

Nice room location. Beautiful mountain, resort and beach views from the patio. Nice floor plan.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Must visit lahaina town for dinning and shopping. It's a very short drive from this place.

Review of Honua Kai Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jugg
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Jan 13, 2014

Maui Trip

Loved Honua Kai Resort! We are already planning our trip for next holiday.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Honua Kai Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kam6666
Business
Maui
Dec 20, 2013

3 Day Getaway

We reserved a 2 bedroom suite. The suite was roomy and comfortable. The suite was very clean. The entire staff was very personably, helpful and friendly. I would stay at this location again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Duke's restaurant is right on the resort property. They have amazing food, drinks and staff.

Review of Honua Kai Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Savy huff
Business
Vancouver, Canada
Dec 15, 2013

Family vacation

Honua Kai is a very clean, beautiful property. Make sure you book a pool or ocean view not the view we had from 606. It was the construction view, not what we were expecting. The hotel has a quiet, family setting. They could benefit from adding more activities. Example would be a volleyball net for outside, or pool table, ping pong or other games inside for families. This would also be good for families in the evening. There was snuba in the pool daily, but an activities person for the hotel would be an assest. The beach is great. Bring water shoes for the ocean. Snorkeling was also excellent. Overall a beautiful property.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Honua Kai Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Crazybelle
Business
Vancouver, WA
Oct 27, 2013

Amazing!

Honua Kai was the resort we stayed at and we only have positive things to say about this place. The room was immaculate, the 3 onsite pools were serene and not overly crowded, the resort staff were super friendly. It was just an amazing experience in Maui for the entire family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Since the resort have kitchens in each of the rooms and BBQs near the pools, there is a grocery store across from Honua Kai called Times to bring back food to cook. It saved us quite a bit of money each day from having to go out to eat every meal.

Review of Honua Kai Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Abby Mom
Business
Abbotsford, BC
Sep 29, 2013

Maui family getaway

Hotel was beautiful, location great, able to walk to MKV for great lunch at Castaways. 2 bedroom suite was huge with all amenities, folding glass doors to access lanai with table and chairs looking up to the mountain. However, most uncomfortable sofa bed but the actual sofa turned out to be pretty comfortable. Wood furniture very nice but almost impossible to move. Location of room was the big problem -over the delivery entrance and trash room right across from front door so pretty noisy. But, hey, it is Maui, so can't go too wrong

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

if you don't mind the drive - Kihei, Peggy Sue's was under renos so went to Coconuts next door - Best fish and chips!

Review of Honua Kai Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BallnGlove
Business
Wisconsin
Sep 28, 2013

Family Vacation

Overall very pleased. Stayed for 10 nights. Complex is very nice. Kids enjoyed the pools, including getting to try SNUBA every day. We had a two bedroom unit - very spacious for a family of 4. Full kitchen was good for making meals. Two reasons it's not 5-stars: 1) Cleaning staff was disappointing. Usually daily calls were necessary to get any type of service. 2) Depending on how the wind was blowing, you get a whiff of the sewage plant. Only noticed a couple times, but it was strong enough to have to close our lanai doors.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Honua Kai Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Zozon
Business
Seattle, WA
Sep 20, 2013

Amazing place for families

This was our first time in this resort. We loved watching sunrises over the mountain from our room. We loved having the kitchen - especially with the grocery store right across the street. The pools were awesome - our toddler had a great time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The grocery store is right across the street. You can save a lot of money by having breakfast/lunch in your room.

Back to menu Return to top