$274 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 20, 2014 Check-out: Dec 21, 2014

Honua Kai Resort

4 stars
130 Kai Malina Parkway, Lahaina, HI 96761
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
155 reviews
We had a great time there!

The staff is very kind and the clear highlight is the pool area. We have three kids (2-12) and they... See full review

  • Cybersm
  • Dec 6, 2014
Maui

Great time. Great weather. Warm water. Good waves. See full review

  • Surfin USA
  • Dec 3, 2014

Natural stone colors and a tranquil ambience give the Honua Kai Resort in Maui an air of luxury and intimacy. Spacious suites include gourmet kitchens filled with Bosch appliances, plus indulgent bath and body products for long hours in the tub. Head outside to enjoy the fresh air on the large veranda that overlooks the resort's private beach. On-site dining is offered at Duke's Beach House, a great venue for authentic Hawaiian cuisine prepared with fresh, local ingredients. After a day on the beach or exploring Maui, treat yourself to a thorough pampering at the Ho'ola Spa.

Key facts

  • 3 pools
  • Hot tub
  • Laundry facility: washer/dryer in each suite; dry cleaning available
  • Internet access (fees may apply)
  • Valet parking
  • Fitness center
  • 318 rooms
  • 10 floors
  • Childcare services
  • Concierge desk
  • 24-hour front desk

Neighborhood

Honua Kai is located along the world-famous Kaanapali North Beach. Snorkeling is a popular activity here and whale-watching excursions can be taken during certain times of the year. Shopping is merely five minutes away at the Whalers Village complex, an outdoor venue offering specialty stores and dining establishments like Tommy Bahama. Golf enthusiasts will discover rolling fairways and contoured greens at the neighboring Royal Kaanapali Course.

Hints and tips

For the quietest stay, opt for a room facing the courtyard; these rooms are a good distance from the highway.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Honua Kai Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Honua Kai Resort Rooms

Ohana Resort View Suite
Beautifully designed non-ocean view suite, depending on location, overlooking West Maui Mountains, pools, grounds, and ponds. Fully equipped kitchens with granite counter tops, microwave, washer & dryer.
One Bedroom Suite
Wondrous space to be together or to find time alone. Our one-bedroom suites offer an unparalleled oceanfront vacation experience - beyond any other Hawaii rental. As the newest hotel on Kaanapali North Beach, your expectations will be exceeded by the spacious floor plans offering living areas that flow onto glass railed lanais, blurring the line between indoor living and the spectacular Maui outdoors. The privacy of a separate bedroom creates a comfortable home-like setting within the contemporary, luxurious space.
Two Bedroom Suite
The two-bedroom suites are ideal for families or friends to connect in a home-like setting. The contemporary, tropical interiors blend seamlessly onto the large lanais creating an expansive indoor / outdoor space. The glass-rails create a feeling of unobstructed openness. The generous floor plan of the two bedroom rentals easily accommodates the whole family or friends, providing you with the opportunity to reconnect, relax and reinvigorate.
Three Bedroom Suites
The 3-bedroom suites are ideal for families or friends to connect in a home-like setting. All 3-bedroom suites feature 3 king beds in each bedroom, and a queen pull out sofa in the living room. The contemporary, tropical interiors blend seamlessly onto the large lanais creating an expansive indoor / outdoor space. The glass-rails create a feeling of unobstructed openness. The generous floor plan of the three bedroom rentals easily accommodates the whole family or friends, providing you with the opportunity to reconnect, relax and reinvigorate.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Duke's Beach House
Duke's Beach House provides guests an authentic Hawaiian dining experience and omage to the restaurant's namesake, legendary Hawaiian surfer and waterman Duke Kahanamoku. The restaurant serves fresh, locally sourced ingredients for breakfast, lunch dinner. The cuisine is Hawaiian influenced with a focus on fresh, sustainable seafood and premium steaks. Duke's Beach House is located oceanfront at the resort. Hours of operation: Breakfast is served from 7:30 a.m. - 10:30 a.m. Lunch and dinner are served between 11 a.m. - 9:30 p.m.
Aina Gourmet Market
n addition to providing a full range of groceries and sundries, 'Aina Gourmet Market is a charming, rustic cafe with a full coffee bar; deli case of pastries, prepared salads, and snacks; hot panini sandwiches; and "zappers" for healthy grab 'n go meals. A full range of breakfast, lunch and dinner items are available daily. Sample menu items for breakfast: muffins, bagels & lox, pastries, eggs, wraps, quiche and a full coffee bar. Sample lunch and dinner menu items include fresh fruits, organic greens, fish plates, sub sandwiches, burgers and so much more. The menu changes regularly based on availability of fresh local produce and meats. The market is based on the "100-Mile Market" concept: utilizing products from within a 100-mile radius. Maui produce is stocked first, preferably from smaller farms and island-based businesses. Located conveniently in the lobby, 'Aina Gourmet Market is open from 7 a.m. - 9 p.m. daily.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (155)

Ratings and reviews for Honua Kai Resort

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
155 out of 155
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.2

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Honua Kai Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
RARM
Los Angeles, CA
Oct 31, 2012

Awesome Suites

Why get two separate hotel rooms when you can stay here, and get a kitchen & living room as well? The suites are new with spacious kitchen & living space. Living area opens up to the ocean view. Family friendly. Staff was very helpful in recommending activities, and restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Pick up alcohol from Long's Drug Store.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Honua Kai Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
doug504
Business
Bend, OR
Aug 21, 2013

Awesome first time!

The resort and room were better than expected. We enjoyed the entire resort with nice amenities and comfort. Total great experience with 4 adults and 10 year old daughter! Fun for everyone. The beach at the resort was some of the best coral, fish and sea turtles that we saw compared to other spots around the island. Dukes was on the high end side, but great environment and food was great! Totally want to come back soon!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Went to Snorkel Bob's across the way and got equipment and excursions that we wanted, when we wanted and at a better price overall with some incentives for free boogie boards / multi booked items.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Honua Kai Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
matney
Business
Wenatchee Wa
Jun 28, 2013

Treating family to a Maui vacation

It was fabulous, and a huge thank you to the manager Bonnie for letting us exchange rooms to a much friendlier situation for us and our kids and grandkids, can't wait to go back to the Honua Kai!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Honua Kai Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ron Family Dude
Business
Park CIty, Utah
Jun 21, 2013

Perfect Stay

This resort lives up to it's rating. The condo was roomy with upgrades throughout. I will be back soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Stop at Costco on the way to the hotel and stock up on breakfast and lunch foods, That way you can enjoy dinner out every night.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Honua Kai Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lara the great
Business
Mission viejo ca
Jun 8, 2013

Great place to stay

Loved the place Will definitely return there and recommend it to family and friends

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Make sure they go to Old Lua

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Honua Kai Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ezzell's
Business
Dudley, North Carolina
Jun 3, 2013

Family vacation in paradise!!!

This was the best and most relaxing vacation I've ever been on! The staff was great! They were always polite and accommodated our needs in a timely matter. The resort was beautiful and clean. There is a store across the street which was very convenient. Dukes restaurant is on site and has great food and drinks. My kids loved the pool with the slide and the waterfall. Couldn't keep them away from there. Just down the street is a place where you could rent mopeds for a small fee. My son and brother rented and enjoyed the view of Maui riding the mopeds.Planning on returning this year!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Honua Kai Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Steph1377
Business
Fremont, CA
May 29, 2013

Good, but front desk is not helpful or nice

We had a 2 bedroom and 2 bath and liked it overall, but we paid for ocean view and our room looked out onto a construction site with a tiny peak at the ocean. Hotel staff is not helpful or friendly! Definitely need a training sessions! Cute pools for kids!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Loved the luas!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Honua Kai Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SpecialKC
Business
Az
May 19, 2013

fantastic Maui

Hotel and location were great and very family friendly. The rooms were very clean and fresh. The lanais with ocean views are perfect to enjoy morning coffee or view the sunset from, however if you look straight out from the room you will see a wall of other hotel rooms and guests staring back at you. We learned a lot on our first trip to Maui. Kaanapali beach is the best beach on the island for relaxing and snorkeling. The major drawback to this hotels location is its located on the windiest/stormiest stretch of kaanapali. It can be blowing 30 mph(was the whole time we were there) in front of the hotel and be calm a half mile down the beach. Plan on heading south a bit for any beach time. The hotel pools are very nice with plenty of segregated spaces and the onsite restaurant is excellent. The nice thing about Maui is all of the beaches are public access and parking is free so it is very easy to explore other areas.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Honua Kai Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
The Lek
Business
San Dimas, CA
May 19, 2013

AWESOME PLACE TO STAY!

This was a great place to stay, not only were the rooms great but the grounds beautiful! People and staff are really nice. The best part - pictures on website are true to real life. I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Honua Kai Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gramma Preo
Business
Eugene, OR
May 18, 2013

great family getaway

3 generations in a 2bdrm condo - worked perfectly! Everything we needed, separation of space, two luxurious bathrooms, super comfy beds, gourmet kitchen and a washer/dryer. Plus huge windows to let in all that beautiful scenery and balcony w/table & chairs for dining. We loved the grounds, the pools, the not-crowded beach and the appetizers & views at Dukes. Easy access to a great supermarket. Only downside was the ridiculously strong spray in the showers-none of us could stand under them and no adjusting.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

We shopped at the Safeway in Cannery Mall in Lahaina out of habit, but then discovered Times market right across the street. Great selection, lower prices and WAY less hectic. We'll definitely stock up here next time.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Honua Kai Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ehkjfdsf
Business
Albuquerque, NM
May 7, 2013

Beautiful Resort

My husband and I recently made the trip to Maui to get married, and stayed at Honua Kai for our honeymoon. The resort is beautiful, clean, and very well kept. The location on the beach was great as well. We were disappointed to find out that the spa was not yet opened and had to book spa and salon services elsewhere. Our room was wonderful, clean and very comfortable. The only downside to this resort is the front desk staff is not exactly friendly, including the manager. We did work with the concierge a few times and each concierge was wonderful and very helpful. The housekeeping staff was also very friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top