$324 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jun 12, 2015 Check-out: Jun 13, 2015

Honua Kai Resort

4 stars
View map of 130 Kai Malina Parkway, Lahaina, HI 96761

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Honua Kai Resort

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
182 out of 182
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.2

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Honua Kai Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Amorphous
Business
San Jose, CA
Jul 13, 2014

Great resort for Maui vacation

Great location; near the beach, 5 min drive to down town. Rooms are big with great balcony ( buy the ocean view).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Honua Kai Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Foodie Family
Business
Los Altos, CA
Jul 9, 2014

Idyllic location, awesome experience

This was a great place for my family of four (two kids under 10) -- three different pools to choose from each day, and a wonderful beach that is steps from the complex. The snorkeling is fantastic juts a 5 min walk south. Dukes' was one of the nicer dinner experiences we had on the island. Overall the place was just the Hawaii fantasy you'd imagine. We had just a few small issues that weren't resolved by the housekeeping: The mattress had a big hill in the middle and was rather lumpy, and the bathroom lights were too dim (low wattage) and they didn't want to fix them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Penne Pasta in Lahaina. If you're tired of shelling out $50/person for dinner for a view, come here for the excellent Italian food and low-key atmosphere. Short walk to everything in Lahaina.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Honua Kai Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JBandJA
Business
San Carlos, CA
Jun 19, 2014

Family friendly and fun

Loved having a full kitchen and W/D - we used room for some meals, naps and bedtime; the rest of the time we enjoyed the lovely pools and beach time. The resort is well landscaped. Only wish we would have had more time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Slappy Cakes - a hip, fun breakfast place across the street from the resort. You make pancakes at our table. The kids loved it!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Honua Kai Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Semaj
Business
Seattle Washington
Jun 8, 2014

Excellent place to relax

Beautiful paradise hotel with the comfort of my home. Would like to visit next year in the same Resort. I would like to acknowledged Leo with an excellent customer service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Honua Kai Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Island Fan
Business
Seattle, Washington
Jun 6, 2014

Returned Stay

We booked a resort view 1 bedroom unit on our first stay at this hotel last year. We were given a room on the sixth floor. Everything was good except the traffic noise from the highways and the heavy wind on the lanai were really bothersome. Despite the shortcomings we decided to go back this year because we loved the location, the boardwalk by the beach and the beautiful landscapes, and this time we booked a partial ocean view studio instead. We were given unit 237 upon check-in. The unit was on the 2nd floor, always in the shade (good and bad), and our ocean view was blocked by the roofs of the Duke's Restaurant. Worse off were the bugs - we got bug bites in quite a few places and had to kill a cockroach crawling on the bathroom floor. We called Housekeeping about it, but were told that the unit might not have been treated because the party staying at the unit might have refused the treatment which takes place quarterly. Upon checkout, we expressed the discontent. The agent said we should have called in advance informing the hotel we were returned guests to get a "better" unit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Duke's Restaurant has great food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Honua Kai Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
shakabra
Business
Los Angeles
May 28, 2014

Enjoyed our stay with young kids

Four adults and 2 kids stayed in a 2 bedroom for one week. The room was very nice with a large Lanai overlooking the pool and ocean. Overall we were very happy with the room and spent most of our time on the Lanai. The thing that sets this place apart from other high end resorts we've stayed at are the huge sliding doors on the lanai, we had them open for most of the trip to allow the wonderful breeze to cool our unit. The room itself was clean, but some of the furniture had stains and tears and looked a bit dated. One thing we were not impressed with was the carpet. For some reason, there were tons of little exposed nails around the edges of the carpet, a bit dangerous for my 2 year old daughter. The unit lacked bbq utensils which was kind of a bummer. Beds were comfortable, and the bathrooms were nice. Nice, but nothing extraordinary. We spent a good amount of time in the pool with the kids.. which were pretty nice, the adult pool was okay, one pool had a few waterfalls and a waterslide, and the third pool was a U-shaped river. Fun for the young kids, but nothing to write home about. No lifeguards on duty, so a bit dangerous for some of the younger kids. I ended up plucking a 3 year old kid out from the adult pool who had wandered off from her parents and nearly drowned.. if you have a kid, i would suggest attaching him/her to a floatation device. The beach out front has pretty good snorkeling, with nice reef, a bit dicey if you were just to jump in as the reef is right on shore. Bell men and valets were all very friendly and professional, but some of the front desk ladies were a bit unprofessional. While waiting in line I listened to a staffer giving another guest some major attitude. She then proceeded to complain about the guest to another staffer... not too professional. Overall the property is very nice and new, but it is a bit pricey. We had a good time and would probably come again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Just north on Lower Honokowai there are a ton of great little restaurants, not cheap, but won't break the bank. Okazuya Deli, and the fish market were two of our favorites!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Honua Kai Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
chainsaw
Business
wilsonville, oregon
May 19, 2014

In spite of the weather

Our family of six had a most enjoyable 7 nights at Honoa Kai. The weather wasn't the best but still warm enough to enjoy many hours at the pool. What beautiful manicured grounds. We spent about an hour out last morning just taking pictures. Staff at the market might be a little less condescending when asked about aresol sun lotion. Although we agree with the concept of protecting our environment, an admonishing tone from the market staff when we asked to us by surprise. We will definitely recommend Honoa Kai and hope to return again soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Honua Kai Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
oppster
Business
southern california
May 18, 2014

Honua Kai

Rooms are huge,had 2 bedroom no complaints. had a shared patio, second floor level. was surprised by that, but learned to enjoy it. never saw anyone coming over to our section, we were closet to water, so that was fine. only issure I had was house keeping, came every other day, which would have been fine if they would have cleaned. all they did was take out trash, replace towels and straighten sheets. had to call them second time to actually change bedding due to a little spill. Kids loved pool area, especially the slide.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Honua Kai Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Maui Vacationer
Business
Phillips, Wisconsin
Mar 8, 2014

Wonderfull Vacation on the Beach

This was our second stay at the Honua Kai Resort and would definitely make this another vacation location. There is a great beach walk way right on the beach that's perfect for a morning or evening walk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Beach front walk way.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Honua Kai Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
The Sutherlands
Business
Regina, SK, Canada
Mar 3, 2014

Honua Kai Resort

The staff at the resort are excellent. Especially the bellmen out front, they were very helpful with any request we had. The location is awesome, we saw whales in the ocean every day either from the beach or the lanai. Would recommend a partial ocean view at least to enjoy the full Hawaiian experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Merriman's Restaurant, exceptional food, best view of the sunset you will find.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top