$148 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 3, 2014 Check-out: Dec 5, 2014

BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn

3 stars
658 Wharf Street, Lahaina, HI 96761-1266
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
18 reviews
Superb location

Only thing missing was the ocean view. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay. See full review

  • Takeahike
  • Sep 6, 2014
Great

Great hotel, old world ambiance. Great price. This hotel is older but they keep it updated and... See full review

  • Dora Dora
  • May 19, 2014
Experience the stunning natural glory of Maui from our historic hotel in Lahaina, the BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn, located on the edge of Lahaina Harbor, the whaling capital of the Pacific. Few things in the world can approach the splendor of a Hawaiian sunset, and our hotel on Maui gives you the opportunity to take one in every evening. Our building, constructed in 1901, is a registered historic landmark from the plantation period. Its white columns and colorful roof contrasting with the surrounding greenery make it a sight to behold in its own right. You'll be just as impressed by what's on the inside of this front street, Eco-Friendly Maui hotel. Our 34 rooms are newly renovated and wired with Wi-Fi, with a pool that is open year-round. Our onsite restaurant, the Pioneer Inn Grill, serves up breakfast, lunch and dinner daily, while the Whalers Saloon gives you a place to order drinks without having to travel away from our Lahaina hotel. We also have meeting and event space, including an outdoor gazebo that's ideal for weddings and Snug Harbor private dining room. We have everything you could want in a hotel on Maui. You can practically roll out of bed and into the water outside of our Lahaina Hotel, where you can go snorkeling, scuba diving, sport fishing, surfing, parasailing and whale watching. We are the only harbor view hotel on Maui. There are plenty of yachting options as well, including sunset dinner cruises, or you can catch the ferries to Lanai or Molokai. We are also a popular place to stay for employees of the State of Hawaii, Maui Divers, Transmarine Navigation and the US Navy. There's much to do on land, starting with the shops, restaurants, art galleries, and museums of the Historic District within easy walking distance of our hotel on Maui. Just behind our location is Banyan Tree Park, featuring a famously massive, 16-trunked banyan tree planted almost 150 years ago. Book your stay at the BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn in Hawaii today!

Hotel Map

20.8717 -156.6782
Area served
Kula, Kapalua, Makawao, Kahului, Wailuku
Nearby airports
(OGG), 27.00, MI, NW;
Area description
Resort

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn Rooms

1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSM,LRGRM,REFRIG,WETBAR,2 LANAI BAL,FRWH
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,1QMURPHYBD,REFRIG,WETBR,LNAI,FRWHPD
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,REFRIG,LANAI BALCONY,FRWHISPD
2 SINGLE BEDS
2 SINGLE BEDS,NO SMOKE,LANAI BALCONY,FREE WIRELESS NET
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,NSMK,LNAI,FRWHPD,REFRIG,AIRCON,CEILFN

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Live entertainment
Horseback riding
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
Maid service
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Gift shop
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
RV or truck parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Electronic door locks
Ironing board
Wet bar

Dining

Cool Cats Cafe
Across the street from Cool Cats Cafe, fast food, American, open for: lunch, dinner
Whalers Saloon
Whalers Saloon, on premises, bar/lounge, American, open for: breakfast, lunch, dinner
Pioneer Inn Grill
Pioneer Inn Grill, on premises, full service, American, open for: breakfast, lunch, dinner, daily.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (18)

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
3 out of 18
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.7
Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Spunie
Business
Waikoloa, Hawaii
Nov 21, 2012

Excellent staff and superb location

The hotel is in the center of Lahaina and easy to walk around the town. Free off site parking about a block away is adequate but detracts from the value. The rooms are very clean but noisy - the next door patrons were very loud. My room was facing the Banyon Tree and the tree was full of birds which did not have a bedtime voice!! Overall - a great place to stay and 1st rate staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Happy Hour prices for drinks and hotel provided a 10% discount for the food. Fish and Chips was reasonable price and excellent.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
First visit to Hawaii
Business
Walnut Creek, California
May 19, 2012

Location Location Location

Overall a great stay at the Pioneer Inn. Great location... across the street from harbor and banyan tree. Many great restaurants and art galleries are within a 5 minute walk. Front Street can get noisy at night so an inner courtyard room was perfect. Staff was incredibly friendly, restaurant was okay... but had great live entertainment on Tuesday and Wednesday night(s). Bed was comfortable, but walls are a little thin. Will definitely stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Ate multiple meals at Aloha Mixed Plate... at the north end of Front Street. Outstanding plate lunches were my favorite meals during a one week stay in Maui.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Allyy
Business
Shanghai, China
Jan 4, 2012

Perfect location

It may be called Best Western but the hotel itself, Pioneer Inn is a historical landmark. Plus an unbelievable location, right next to the pier. Experience all the buzz around Lahaina. The room was spacious with a lovely balcony facing inwards into the pool. Which was nice and quiet. Good service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top