$164 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 11, 2014 Check-out: Sep 14, 2014

BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn

3 stars
658 Wharf Street, Lahaina, HI 96761-1266
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
16 reviews
Great

Great hotel, old world ambiance. Great price. This hotel is older but they keep it updated and... See full review

  • Dora Dora
  • May 19, 2014
Trip to Maui

Our one night stay at Best Western Pioneer Inn was just the perfect start of our Maui vacation. We... See full review

  • Anniversary for B and D
  • Sep 18, 2013
Experience the stunning natural glory of Maui from our historic hotel in Lahaina, the BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn, located on the edge of Lahaina Harbor, the whaling capital of the Pacific. Few things in the world can approach the splendor of a Hawaiian sunset, and our hotel on Maui gives you the opportunity to take one in every evening. Our building, constructed in 1901, is a registered historic landmark from the plantation period. Its white columns and colorful roof contrasting with the surrounding greenery make it a sight to behold in its own right. You'll be just as impressed by what's on the inside of this front street, Eco-Friendly Maui hotel. Our 34 rooms are newly renovated and wired with Wi-Fi, with a pool that is open year-round. Our onsite restaurant, the Pioneer Inn Grill, serves up breakfast, lunch and dinner daily, while the Whalers Saloon gives you a place to order drinks without having to travel away from our Lahaina hotel. We also have meeting and event space, including an outdoor gazebo that's ideal for weddings and Snug Harbor private dining room. We have everything you could want in a hotel on Maui. You can practically roll out of bed and into the water outside of our Lahaina Hotel, where you can go snorkeling, scuba diving, sport fishing, surfing, parasailing and whale watching. We are the only harbor view hotel on Maui. There are plenty of yachting options as well, including sunset dinner cruises, or you can catch the ferries to Lanai or Molokai. We are also a popular place to stay for employees of the State of Hawaii, Maui Divers, Transmarine Navigation and the US Navy. There's much to do on land, starting with the shops, restaurants, art galleries, and museums of the Historic District within easy walking distance of our hotel on Maui. Just behind our location is Banyan Tree Park, featuring a famously massive, 16-trunked banyan tree planted almost 150 years ago. Book your stay at the BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn in Hawaii today!

Hotel Map

20.8717 -156.6782
Area served
Kapalua, Kula, Kahului, Makawao, Wailuku
Nearby airports
(OGG), 27.00, MI, NW;
Area description
Resort

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn Rooms

1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSM,LRGRM,REFRIG,WETBAR,2 LANAI BAL,FRWH
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,1QMURPHYBD,REFRIG,WETBR,LNAI,FRWHPD
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,REFRIG,LANAI BALCONY,FRWHISPD
2 SINGLE BEDS
2 SINGLE BEDS,NO SMOKE,LANAI BALCONY,FREE WIRELESS NET
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,NSMK,LNAI,FRWHPD,REFRIG,AIRCON,CEILFN

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Live entertainment
Horseback riding
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
Maid service
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Gift shop
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
RV or truck parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Electronic door locks
Ironing board
Wet bar

Dining

Whalers Saloon
Whalers Saloon, on premises, bar/lounge, American, open for: breakfast, lunch, dinner
Pioneer Inn Grill
Pioneer Inn Grill, on premises, full service, American, open for: breakfast, lunch, dinner, daily.
Cool Cats Cafe
Across the street from Cool Cats Cafe, fast food, American, open for: lunch, dinner

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (16)

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
16 out of 16
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.3

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
e dream
wi
Apr 16, 2012

the good ol days

perfect how i like it: history all around dont bring your teen or child here! this is old world charm Quiet, peaceful NO fuss stay...fishing boats off your deck and amazin pancakes from the resturant below...the staff is mature but looks over worked...i get why Ms. Hepburn stayed her yesteryear

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

snork, surf swim without all the overloaded hotel families camped on the beaches up the road...just head out the best western front door and go left till you find the beach...explore!

Review of BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TCiooo
Stewartsville, NJ
Oct 4, 2010

Pioneer Inn, Lahaina, Maui

Loved the hotel even tho it wasn't 5 star quality. It was a very clean, roomy and delightful room with great ambience. Right on the harbor and is THE historic hotel in town - right on the square. Nice small veranda outside your room and very friendly employees. Right in the middle of everything in Maui's most enjoyable town. Will definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Great snorkeling ALL around the island. You can see turtles and exotic fish at every beach area where there are rock outcropping extending into the ocean (which is almost everywhere). You can pay for the boat snorkeling trips if you want a nice boat ride to someplace 'special' but you can easily do it on your own around the island. I highly recommend you rent a car and circumnavigate the island or at least drive the Road to Hana (all around) for the best of Maui. Stay a night or two in Hana and don't worry about the guidebooks - there are places to stay everywhere.

Review of BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bobbie the snorkeler
Tacoma WA
Jul 29, 2014

Location and price VERY good

First off- Katherine checked us in and helped us each day. She is so friendly and obviously enjoys her work. The location is perfect for shopping, great view of a sweet sunset over the beach and watching huge ships. Shopping galore right out the back door. On the main street. Places to eat around and a Burger King if on a tight budget. Has a nice balcony. Most important thing is that the room and building is incredibly clean.!! The room was VERY small- we had 2 twin beds so not alot of room for suitcases. Queen bed would have been better. Oh- no elevator to the 2nd floor. But it was worth it. would stay again. the pool was warm and also clean. She gave us many tips on where to go sightseeing, snorkeling, shopping, eating, etc. A friend told me to go there, and she was spot on!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Napoli Bay- fantastic snorkeling!!

Review of BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Boug
Sallisaw, Ok
Feb 23, 2011

Stay at Best Western Pioneer INN

great. They were friendly, courteous, and quick to fix the only problem we experienced. They offered a food coupon for 15% off of food at their restaurant which was also very good. They have an excellent location for anything you might choose to do.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

nmot only at their hotel but also a lot of very good places recommended with in walking distance

Review of BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Spunie
Waikoloa, Hawaii
Nov 21, 2012

Excellent staff and superb location

The hotel is in the center of Lahaina and easy to walk around the town. Free off site parking about a block away is adequate but detracts from the value. The rooms are very clean but noisy - the next door patrons were very loud. My room was facing the Banyon Tree and the tree was full of birds which did not have a bedtime voice!! Overall - a great place to stay and 1st rate staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: In Hotel

Happy Hour prices for drinks and hotel provided a 10% discount for the food. Fish and Chips was reasonable price and excellent.

Review of BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
z and s
Portland, Oregon
Jul 27, 2014

great hotel and location

The hotel is located right on snug harbor. The room was a little small, but has a very nice large deck that looks into the old banyan tree. Walking distance from all the great shops and food lahaina has to offer. Not great for beach going, but there are lots of good beaches nearby. I would definitely stay here if I went back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Oletared
Miami, FL
Sep 26, 2012

Central, charming, friendly

An old inn, nicely renovated, on the waterfront, near a beach. The hotel had old-fashioned decor with a wraparound porch. Free parking across the street was appreciated, as were the in room coffee maker, fridge, and good shower pressure. They also offered 15% off at the restaurant, but we ate elsewhere. Our clean, comfortable room faced the famous banyan tree with a glimpse of water. Some may have found it noisy, but we had no problem. The pool was being cleaned the day we were there, so we enjoyed the beach. Not a resort by any means, but certainly a nice place to stay in town. The room air conditioner was noisy, though. Our room was up a flight of stairs, and I am not sure about accessibility. The staff were hospitable, genuinely warm and helpful, thanks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

The famous Aloha Mixed Plate is closed for renovation.

Review of BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jozee
Saddle Brook, NJ, USA
Apr 6, 2012

Location, Location, Location

Friendly people, clean rooms and walking distance to everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The Whale watching tour was fun. (Seasonal)

Review of BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Are El
San Francisco, Ca
Oct 10, 2012

Hi! on Lahaina!

Centrally located yet quiet at night for sleeping. Very pleasant balcony over looking the harbor on the right, banyans tree and magpies straight ahead and to the left are shops and restaurants. Plenty of entertainment and shops within walking distance. Music, art and good food are everywhere, Lots of icecream. Several historic sites are right there including the hotel. Hotel even have a scale to weigh our luggage for the return flight. FREE PARKING !!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

apparels, gifts, accessories

Review of BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
NY
Jul 28, 2010

Pioneer Inn Lahaina

Perfect Location in the center of everything

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top

Change search