$148 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 29, 2014 Check-out: Sep 1, 2014

BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn

3 stars
658 Wharf Street, Lahaina, HI 96761-1266
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
16 reviews
Great

Great hotel, old world ambiance. Great price. This hotel is older but they keep it updated and... See full review

  • Dora Dora
  • May 19, 2014
Trip to Maui

Our one night stay at Best Western Pioneer Inn was just the perfect start of our Maui vacation. We... See full review

  • Anniversary for B and D
  • Sep 18, 2013
Experience the stunning natural glory of Maui from our historic hotel in Lahaina, the BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn, located on the edge of Lahaina Harbor, the whaling capital of the Pacific. Few things in the world can approach the splendor of a Hawaiian sunset, and our hotel on Maui gives you the opportunity to take one in every evening. Our building, constructed in 1901, is a registered historic landmark from the plantation period. Its white columns and colorful roof contrasting with the surrounding greenery make it a sight to behold in its own right. You'll be just as impressed by what's on the inside of this front street, Eco-Friendly Maui hotel. Our 34 rooms are newly renovated and wired with Wi-Fi, with a pool that is open year-round. Our onsite restaurant, the Pioneer Inn Grill, serves up breakfast, lunch and dinner daily, while the Whalers Saloon gives you a place to order drinks without having to travel away from our Lahaina hotel. We also have meeting and event space, including an outdoor gazebo that's ideal for weddings and Snug Harbor private dining room. We have everything you could want in a hotel on Maui. You can practically roll out of bed and into the water outside of our Lahaina Hotel, where you can go snorkeling, scuba diving, sport fishing, surfing, parasailing and whale watching. We are the only harbor view hotel on Maui. There are plenty of yachting options as well, including sunset dinner cruises, or you can catch the ferries to Lanai or Molokai. We are also a popular place to stay for employees of the State of Hawaii, Maui Divers, Transmarine Navigation and the US Navy. There's much to do on land, starting with the shops, restaurants, art galleries, and museums of the Historic District within easy walking distance of our hotel on Maui. Just behind our location is Banyan Tree Park, featuring a famously massive, 16-trunked banyan tree planted almost 150 years ago. Book your stay at the BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn in Hawaii today!

Hotel Map

20.8717 -156.6782
Area served
Kapalua, Kula, Kahului, Makawao, Wailuku
Nearby airports
(OGG), 27.00, MI, NW;
Area description
Resort

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn Rooms

1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSM,LRGRM,REFRIG,WETBAR,2 LANAI BAL,FRWH
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,1QMURPHYBD,REFRIG,WETBR,LNAI,FRWHPD
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,REFRIG,LANAI BALCONY,FRWHISPD
2 SINGLE BEDS
2 SINGLE BEDS,NO SMOKE,LANAI BALCONY,FREE WIRELESS NET
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,NSMK,LNAI,FRWHPD,REFRIG,AIRCON,CEILFN

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Live entertainment
Horseback riding
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
Maid service
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Gift shop
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
RV or truck parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Electronic door locks
Ironing board
Wet bar

Dining

Whalers Saloon
Whalers Saloon, on premises, bar/lounge, American, open for: breakfast, lunch, dinner
Pioneer Inn Grill
Pioneer Inn Grill, on premises, full service, American, open for: breakfast, lunch, dinner, daily.
Cool Cats Cafe
Across the street from Cool Cats Cafe, fast food, American, open for: lunch, dinner

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (16)

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
16 out of 16
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.3

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
e dream
wi
Apr 16, 2012

the good ol days

perfect how i like it: history all around dont bring your teen or child here! this is old world charm Quiet, peaceful NO fuss stay...fishing boats off your deck and amazin pancakes from the resturant below...the staff is mature but looks over worked...i get why Ms. Hepburn stayed her yesteryear

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

snork, surf swim without all the overloaded hotel families camped on the beaches up the road...just head out the best western front door and go left till you find the beach...explore!

Review of BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jozee
Saddle Brook, NJ, USA
Apr 6, 2012

Location, Location, Location

Friendly people, clean rooms and walking distance to everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The Whale watching tour was fun. (Seasonal)

Review of BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Allyy
Shanghai, China
Jan 4, 2012

Perfect location

It may be called Best Western but the hotel itself, Pioneer Inn is a historical landmark. Plus an unbelievable location, right next to the pier. Experience all the buzz around Lahaina. The room was spacious with a lovely balcony facing inwards into the pool. Which was nice and quiet. Good service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Boug
Sallisaw, Ok
Feb 23, 2011

Stay at Best Western Pioneer INN

great. They were friendly, courteous, and quick to fix the only problem we experienced. They offered a food coupon for 15% off of food at their restaurant which was also very good. They have an excellent location for anything you might choose to do.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

nmot only at their hotel but also a lot of very good places recommended with in walking distance

Review of BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TCiooo
Stewartsville, NJ
Oct 4, 2010

Pioneer Inn, Lahaina, Maui

Loved the hotel even tho it wasn't 5 star quality. It was a very clean, roomy and delightful room with great ambience. Right on the harbor and is THE historic hotel in town - right on the square. Nice small veranda outside your room and very friendly employees. Right in the middle of everything in Maui's most enjoyable town. Will definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Great snorkeling ALL around the island. You can see turtles and exotic fish at every beach area where there are rock outcropping extending into the ocean (which is almost everywhere). You can pay for the boat snorkeling trips if you want a nice boat ride to someplace 'special' but you can easily do it on your own around the island. I highly recommend you rent a car and circumnavigate the island or at least drive the Road to Hana (all around) for the best of Maui. Stay a night or two in Hana and don't worry about the guidebooks - there are places to stay everywhere.

Review of BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
NY
Jul 28, 2010

Pioneer Inn Lahaina

Perfect Location in the center of everything

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top

Change search