$135 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 6, 2014 Check-out: Nov 9, 2014

Aston at Papakea Resort

3 stars
3543 Lower Honoapiliani Hwy, Lahaina, HI 96761
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
255 reviews
fun

Great place to stay, would stay there again.. Nice place See full review

  • hammersjeep
  • Sep 8, 2014
hawaii

very nice place clean good location grounds are beautiful staff very helpful and curtious. Will be... See full review

  • scoupe
  • May 28, 2014
Beachfront paradise in Kaanapali with the luxury of condo living

Set upon 13 lush beachfront acres in west Maui's luxurious Kaanapali Beach, the Aston at Papakea Resort offers condo-style living in paradise. All units are equipped with a full kitchen, washer/dryer, private balcony and free Wi-Fi. The resort adds extra value with free guest parking, two swimming pools, two lighted tennis courts, two putting greens, barbecue areas and free yoga classes. Kids get their own brand of fun with Aston's activity club, Camp Kamaaina. Great shopping and dining are available throughout the area.

Highlights
  • Full kitchen, free parking and free in-room Wi-Fi
  • Kids activity club
  • Situated on Kaanapali Beach, one of Hawaii's best beaches and ocean views of neighboring islands and whales in winter
Location
The Aston at Papakea Resort sits oceanfront on the most fashionable stretch of Kaanapali Beach, just north of the popular snorkeling area Black Rock. Guests enjoy magnificent views of the islands of Molokai and Lanai, heavenly whale watching in winter and convenience to everything west Maui has to offer. Whalers Village is a few minutes away by car, with shopping and executive-chef restaurants such as Cane & Taro and Hula Grill.
Rooms
The Aston at Papakea Resort is a condo resort offering studios and one-, two- and three-bedroom units ranging from a spacious 454 square feet to 1,217 square feet. The three-bedroom condo accommodates up to eight people, perfect for the family or a group of friends. All units feature a private balcony, fully-equipped kitchen, air conditioning, washer/dryer, TV/VCR/DVD player and free high-speed Wi-Fi.
Dining
All Aston at Papakea Resort condos feature full kitchens, making dining in easy and affordable. Additionally, Kaanapali and its neighboring communities offer numerous cafes and restaurants.
Recreation
  • Two swimming pools
  • Two Jacuzzis
  • Two lighted tennis courts
  • Two 12-hole putting greens
  • Free yoga classes
  • Camp Kaanapali for kids
  • Golf (nearby)
Transportation
  • Kapalua West Maui Airport (1.9 mi/3.1 km)
  • Kahului Airport (28 mi/45 km)
Attractions
  • Whalers Village (2.1 mi/3.5 km)
  • Lahaina Town (5.2 mi/8.4 km)
  • Maui Ocean Center (19.8 mi/31.9 km)
Policies and fees
  • The hotel will undergo exterior renovation from 21 April to 3 November. Renovation works are from Monday to Friday, 8:30 AM to 5:00 PM. Work on Saturdays is possible but will be avoided unless necessary. No guest will be placed in the building that is being worked on.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

20.9524 -156.6867
Area served
Lahaina-Maui, HI
Nearby airports
OGG - Kahului and JHM - Kapalua
Area description
Located oceanfront in Kaanapali with championship golf courses, shopping and dining in the area. Activities on-site include shuffleboard and tennis with snorkeling, windsurfing, volleyball and more nearby.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Aston at Papakea Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5

Aston at Papakea Resort Rooms

One Bedroom Ocean Front Suite
One bedroom suite with queen bed and sofabed. Includes full bathroom, Complimentary High-Speed wireless access,lanai, iron/board, multiple closets, full kitchen, hair dryer, air conditioning, washer/dryer, cable TV and dataport.
Two Bedroom Ocean View Suite
Two bedroom suite with queen bed and 2 twin beds or 2 queen beds and sofabed. Includes 2 full bathrooms, Complimentary High-Speed wireless access, lanai, iron/board, multiple closets, full kitchen, hair dryer, air conditioning, washer/dryer, cable TV and dataport.
Studio Suite Garden View
Studio with queen or Murphy queen bed. Includes full bathroom, Complimentary High-Speed wireless Internet access, lanai, iron/board, kitchen, refrigerator, stove, microwave, coffee maker, hair dryer, air conditioning, washer/dryer, cable TV and dataport.
One Bedroom Ocean View Suite
One bedroom suite with queen bed and sofabed. Includes full bathroom, Complimentary High-Speed wireless access, lanai, iron/board, multiple closets, full kitchen, hair dryer, air conditioning, washer/dryer, cable TV and dataport.
Studio Suite Ocean View
Studio with queen or Murphy queen bed. Includes full bathroom, Complimentary High-Speed wireless access, lanai, iron/board, kitchen, refrigerator, stove, microwave, coffee maker, hair dryer, air conditioning, washer/dryer, cable TV and dataport.
One Bedroom Garden View Suite
One Bedroom Suite located on ground floor. Fully equipped kitchens and in-room washer/dryers for extra convenience. Private furnished lanai and spectacular garden views. Air-conditioned and complimentary WiFi. Approx 620sf.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (255)

Ratings and reviews for Aston at Papakea Resort

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
164 out of 255
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.4

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston at Papakea Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
hammersjeep
Business
va
Sep 8, 2014

fun

Great place to stay, would stay there again.. Nice place

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at Papakea Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
shrimaui
Business
san jose
Sep 4, 2014

Good service, and good location

Upon arrival we were assigned ocean view 2nd floor, on request we got a 3rd floor with a better ocean view, so that was kind of cool. Also we loved watching sunset from here. Also there is a mixed plate restaurant just outside the hotel the food there is amazing. Overall a good place to live.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Mixed plate, ABC, subways at awalking distance

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at Papakea Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dellingboe
Business
Phoenix
Aug 9, 2014

No Beach

There is a wall and no beach. If you are looking for a beach don't book.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at Papakea Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
scoupe
Business
cinti ohio
May 28, 2014

hawaii

very nice place clean good location grounds are beautiful staff very helpful and curtious. Will be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at Papakea Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Suggy
Business
Bay City Michigan
May 10, 2014

No Beach or much of anything else...

Overpriced....There is a seawall but no beach at all. The elevator to our room broke twice during our stay. The hot tub was out of service for a day. There was major construction noise every day but Saturday and Sunday on other buildings on site. There were mice in our room that I could not tell my wife about because she would freak out, thankful she did not see them. The beds were made and the towels changed every day but the rooms were not cleaned. Try somewhere else if you can...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk over to Times or drive to Walmart for the best prices on groceries.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at Papakea Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sunworship
Business
ripon ca
Jan 24, 2014

great time

we go to the papakea every year and always have great service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

fish market ---excellent fish tacos and soups

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at Papakea Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Pat in the hat
Business
Lemoore, California
Nov 29, 2013

Average was what we were looking for

The Papakea was an average place to stay. I think it had potential for more but their were some downsides. For starters the beach access was nothing more than some steps that brought you to more rock than beach but it is Hawaii so a sandy beach wasn't far. One of the buildings was under construction so that made for an eye sore. Our neighbors had a screaming child that never stopped. It is hard to relax when a child is constantly screaming but what can you do? The resort was full so they couldn't move us, you can't kick the other people out, and the trip was pre-paid so we weren't leaving. The room had a courtyard view but the ocean was within sight so that was nice. The room itself was quaint but needed a place to put your bags that was a bit more accessible, the shower backed up, and the kitchenette was stocked with a hodgepodge of cutlery which was dull. The air conditioner/heater was blocked by the TV stand but the AC unit would easily be moved to the other window. Some of the staff was friendly but several times I called to ask a question and no one would answer so I had to walk to the office for a simple question. Also, the DVD rental they provided gave us the wrong movie, a broken movie, and finally one that somewhat worked so that makes a relaxing night a pain to go back and forth. The resort didn't take responsibility for it because the DVD machine is provided by an outside source. The great thing is that you are on an island so everything is close. The Papakea was clean and apart from some poor luck with the screaming kid and construction I would go back. The small inconveniences aren't big issues. We didn't use the concierge service because we already had our trip planned but one was available. My wife and I never made it to the tennis courts due to lack of time but they looked well maintained. Overall, it was an average place to stay but that is what we budgeted for so it met our needs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

There are plenty of places to rent snorkel gear nearby and there is a real great place to go about four miles north of the hotel called Kapalua Bay.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at Papakea Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Da Neko
Business
Highland, UT
Nov 9, 2013

Great Place to Stay

We were looking for a relatively inexpensive place to stay while we explored Maui. The studio room we got was just perfect for the role. Washer/Drier, full kitchen with a fridge made staying for a week easy. We packed light knowing that we could wash our clothes which made it easier to pack gifts and tourist stuff home. Having a full kitchen and fridge meant not having to eat out all the time and having snacks readily available. A/C was noisy, but we didn't need it in November since the trade winds made for nice cross ventilation and kept the room cool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Check out "Da Kitchen" or "Zippys" in Kahului for some inexpensive food with a great local flavor (that's where the locals go).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at Papakea Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
The Beaver's
Business
Pueblo, CO
Sep 27, 2013

Excellent!!!!

We stood here for our honeymoon, and it was everything I ever dreamed of. The staff were friendly, nice location right on the beach next to shops and attractions. We had a wonderful time and our room was clean with everything you could think of. I was really excited to have a washer & dryer along with a full kitchen. I would recommend this place to anyone who is interested in a relaxing and luxoruis stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at Papakea Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
The Caban's
Business
Montana
Jun 9, 2013

Wonderful condo.

We had a condo with equipped with everything. It has a full kitchen, washer, dryer, blender, dishes, coffee maker, patio, etc overlooking a beautiful garden. They have many pools and hot tubs, a golf game, shuffleboard, etc. The snorkeling out the back door against the reef was better that what we saw at Molokini! Just gorgeous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Old Lahaina Luau was great! Booked months in advance but there is a cancellation list.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top