$161 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 16, 2015 Check-out: May 17, 2015

Aston at Papakea Resort

3 stars
View map of 3543 Lower Honoapiliani Hwy, Lahaina, HI 96761

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
264 reviews
Papakea is Great

I've stayed at Papakea 3 times, family trip and solo business trips. Each time for 1-6 months and... See full review

  • KIM C.
  • Apr 6, 2015
Great Anniversary Trip

My husband and I enjoyed the trip very much, the hotel was very clean and comfortable and budget... See full review

  • Maria A.
  • Apr 6, 2015
Beachfront paradise in Kaanapali with the luxury of condo living

Set upon 13 lush beachfront acres in west Maui's luxurious Kaanapali Beach, the Aston at Papakea Resort offers condo-style living in paradise. All units are equipped with a full kitchen, washer/dryer, private balcony and free Wi-Fi. The resort adds extra value with free guest parking, two swimming pools, two lighted tennis courts, two putting greens, barbecue areas and free yoga classes. Kids get their own brand of fun with Aston's activity club, Camp Kamaaina. Great shopping and dining are available throughout the area.

Highlights
  • Full kitchen, free parking and free in-room Wi-Fi
  • Kids activity club
  • Situated on Kaanapali Beach, one of Hawaii's best beaches and ocean views of neighboring islands and whales in winter
Location
The Aston at Papakea Resort sits oceanfront on the most fashionable stretch of Kaanapali Beach, just north of the popular snorkeling area Black Rock. Guests enjoy magnificent views of the islands of Molokai and Lanai, heavenly whale watching in winter and convenience to everything west Maui has to offer. Whalers Village is a few minutes away by car, with shopping and executive-chef restaurants such as Cane & Taro and Hula Grill.
Rooms
The Aston at Papakea Resort is a condo resort offering studios and one-, two- and three-bedroom units ranging from a spacious 454 square feet to 1,217 square feet. The three-bedroom condo accommodates up to eight people, perfect for the family or a group of friends. All units feature a private balcony, fully-equipped kitchen, air conditioning, washer/dryer, TV/VCR/DVD player and free high-speed Wi-Fi.
Dining
All Aston at Papakea Resort condos feature full kitchens, making dining in easy and affordable. Additionally, Kaanapali and its neighboring communities offer numerous cafes and restaurants.
Recreation
  • Two swimming pools
  • Two Jacuzzis
  • Two lighted tennis courts
  • Two 12-hole putting greens
  • Free yoga classes
  • Camp Kaanapali for kids
  • Golf (nearby)
Transportation
  • Kapalua West Maui Airport (1.9 mi/3.1 km)
  • Kahului Airport (28 mi/45 km)
Attractions
  • Whalers Village (2.1 mi/3.5 km)
  • Lahaina Town (5.2 mi/8.4 km)
  • Maui Ocean Center (19.8 mi/31.9 km)
Policies and fees
  • The hotel will undergo exterior renovation from 21 April to 3 November. Renovation works are from Monday to Friday, 8:30 AM to 5:00 PM. Work on Saturdays is possible but will be avoided unless necessary. No guest will be placed in the building that is being worked on.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Aston at Papakea Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Aston at Papakea Resort Rooms

One Bedroom Ocean Front Suite
One bedroom suite with queen bed and sofabed. Includes full bathroom, Complimentary High-Speed wireless access,lanai, iron/board, multiple closets, full kitchen, hair dryer, air conditioning, washer/dryer, cable TV and dataport.
Two Bedroom Ocean View Suite
Two bedroom suite with queen bed and 2 twin beds or 2 queen beds and sofabed. Includes 2 full bathrooms, Complimentary High-Speed wireless access, lanai, iron/board, multiple closets, full kitchen, hair dryer, air conditioning, washer/dryer, cable TV and dataport.
Studio Suite Garden View
Studio with queen or Murphy queen bed. Includes full bathroom, Complimentary High-Speed wireless Internet access, lanai, iron/board, kitchen, refrigerator, stove, microwave, coffee maker, hair dryer, air conditioning, washer/dryer, cable TV and dataport.
One Bedroom Ocean View Suite
One bedroom suite with queen bed and sofabed. Includes full bathroom, Complimentary High-Speed wireless access, lanai, iron/board, multiple closets, full kitchen, hair dryer, air conditioning, washer/dryer, cable TV and dataport.
Studio Suite Ocean View
Studio with queen or Murphy queen bed. Includes full bathroom, Complimentary High-Speed wireless access, lanai, iron/board, kitchen, refrigerator, stove, microwave, coffee maker, hair dryer, air conditioning, washer/dryer, cable TV and dataport.
One Bedroom Garden View Suite
One Bedroom Suite located on ground floor. Fully equipped kitchens and in-room washer/dryers for extra convenience. Private furnished lanai and spectacular garden views. Air-conditioned and complimentary WiFi. Approx 620sf.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Aston at Papakea Resort

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
168 out of 264
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.4

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston at Papakea Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jeffrey w.
Business
rancho palos
Jan 5, 2015

No complaints at all!

Nice place, very friendly and helpful staff, good location and great bargain! Close and easy swimming and snorkeling access good atmosphere plenty good nearby restaurants and shops. Would definitely recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at Papakea Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Angie B.
Business
N/A
Dec 29, 2014

Thumbs Down!

Our room was satisfactory, but needs a new bed. It was very uncomfortable and had a broken spring. Also, I don't recommend a first floor room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at Papakea Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
VISHAL D.
Business
Bayonne
Dec 24, 2014

Awesome Family resort

This was our first trip to Hawaii. Booked a ocean view room and was amazing. From the time we arrived and throughout our stay, the staff and concierge went above and beyond to make our trip the best

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at Papakea Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
hammersjeep
Business
va
Sep 8, 2014

fun

Great place to stay, would stay there again.. Nice place

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at Papakea Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
shrimaui
Business
san jose
Sep 4, 2014

Good service, and good location

Upon arrival we were assigned ocean view 2nd floor, on request we got a 3rd floor with a better ocean view, so that was kind of cool. Also we loved watching sunset from here. Also there is a mixed plate restaurant just outside the hotel the food there is amazing. Overall a good place to live.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Mixed plate, ABC, subways at awalking distance

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at Papakea Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dellingboe
Business
Phoenix
Aug 9, 2014

No Beach

There is a wall and no beach. If you are looking for a beach don't book.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at Papakea Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
scoupe
Business
cinti ohio
May 28, 2014

hawaii

very nice place clean good location grounds are beautiful staff very helpful and curtious. Will be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at Papakea Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Suggy
Business
Bay City Michigan
May 10, 2014

No Beach or much of anything else...

Overpriced....There is a seawall but no beach at all. The elevator to our room broke twice during our stay. The hot tub was out of service for a day. There was major construction noise every day but Saturday and Sunday on other buildings on site. There were mice in our room that I could not tell my wife about because she would freak out, thankful she did not see them. The beds were made and the towels changed every day but the rooms were not cleaned. Try somewhere else if you can...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk over to Times or drive to Walmart for the best prices on groceries.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at Papakea Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sunworship
Business
ripon ca
Jan 24, 2014

great time

we go to the papakea every year and always have great service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

fish market ---excellent fish tacos and soups

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at Papakea Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Pat in the hat
Business
Lemoore, California
Nov 29, 2013

Average was what we were looking for

The Papakea was an average place to stay. I think it had potential for more but their were some downsides. For starters the beach access was nothing more than some steps that brought you to more rock than beach but it is Hawaii so a sandy beach wasn't far. One of the buildings was under construction so that made for an eye sore. Our neighbors had a screaming child that never stopped. It is hard to relax when a child is constantly screaming but what can you do? The resort was full so they couldn't move us, you can't kick the other people out, and the trip was pre-paid so we weren't leaving. The room had a courtyard view but the ocean was within sight so that was nice. The room itself was quaint but needed a place to put your bags that was a bit more accessible, the shower backed up, and the kitchenette was stocked with a hodgepodge of cutlery which was dull. The air conditioner/heater was blocked by the TV stand but the AC unit would easily be moved to the other window. Some of the staff was friendly but several times I called to ask a question and no one would answer so I had to walk to the office for a simple question. Also, the DVD rental they provided gave us the wrong movie, a broken movie, and finally one that somewhat worked so that makes a relaxing night a pain to go back and forth. The resort didn't take responsibility for it because the DVD machine is provided by an outside source. The great thing is that you are on an island so everything is close. The Papakea was clean and apart from some poor luck with the screaming kid and construction I would go back. The small inconveniences aren't big issues. We didn't use the concierge service because we already had our trip planned but one was available. My wife and I never made it to the tennis courts due to lack of time but they looked well maintained. Overall, it was an average place to stay but that is what we budgeted for so it met our needs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

There are plenty of places to rent snorkel gear nearby and there is a real great place to go about four miles north of the hotel called Kapalua Bay.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top