$161 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 28, 2015 Check-out: Apr 29, 2015

Aston at Papakea Resort

3 stars
View map of 3543 Lower Honoapiliani Hwy, Lahaina, HI 96761

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Aston at Papakea Resort

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
263 out of 263
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.4

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston at Papakea Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Holiday Finder
Almaty, Kazakhstan
Feb 11, 2013

Wonderful holiday

We had a wonderful holiday at this hotel. The feeling that you are living at home. Comfortable apartments with balconies overlooking the sea with all necessary. Fully equipped kitchen, dishwasher, washing machine, dryer. High-speed Internet access. Free parking. Quiet. Although the hotel does not have its own beach, there are excellent beaches at a distance of 1.8 kilometers to the south, or at a distance of 4 kilometers to the north. Supermarket where you can buy everything from a distance of 300 meters.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Supermarket Times

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at Papakea Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bailey26
Business
Honolulu, HI, USA
Jul 8, 2012

Surprised!

We chose an inexpensive package for 2 nites, which included airfare from O'ahu, and having never stayed at any Aston properties, was a bit skeptical. This condo is well-managed, grounds well maintained, and very well situated to allow for walking to the farmers market and various stores. The only drawback is a very rocky, narrow beach, but views are great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Avoid the places on Front Street, Lahaina, and research the hotels and restaurants in the area- there are many excellent choices.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at Papakea Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lars2112
Business
San Antonio, Texas
Jul 7, 2012

Just Average

Nothing outstanding here, just your typical seaside resortish condo experience. Each condo is privately owned and rented out through Aston so it's luck of the draw for how your suite is situated. A little weird with a pull-down queen bed. It was comfortable, nice to be able to cook in a kitchen stocked with dishes but probably cost as much as eating out after the spices and stuff you would typically have on hand. Though we didn't have a bad experience here I don't think we'll be staying again, I'd like something a little more classier when on vacation in such a great location. It's a pity because it could easily be nicer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

It's a long drive but the road to Hana is worth it! Be sure to get the audio CD as it has great insider tips for on the way. Plan a day for this. Another great excursion is the lavender farm, spectacular views and amazing experience.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at Papakea Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Napua
Business
O'ahu, HI
Jun 18, 2012

Short vacation for a family wedding

A/C did not ever seem to cool down the room and it made far too much noise. I think if this was working better, my whole rating would have been higher. Kitchen was great. Wish there was some dish soap available. The hotel grounds were lovely as was the weather. After recovering an almond from on e of the chairs, I found a magazine and a Maui newspaper from May 31st. Hmm? The staff were all very helpful and cordial.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at Papakea Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jann Maui Mom
Business
Tallahassee, Florida
Jun 5, 2012

WONDERFUL IN MAUI

It is a complex of condo's and studio apartments. The view from our balcony was over welming. We looked over a fish pond with a bridge, wonderful gardens and swimming pool and on to the ocean. The pool has BBQ grills around it with night lights so you can grill when ever. Even though the place was almost full we never heard any noise from other rooms. The staff at the front desk was more than pleasant and helpful. The bus stops in front of the complex and takes you to front street, which has everything you need for a good time. There is also a grocery store across from the complex. We would go back in a heart beat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Across the street was a grocery store and a small complex with shopping and a taco place. The bus was $1.00 and would take you to front street which is the center of all shops, eateries, fishing, snorteling and Bubba Cumps seafood. Enjoy-relax and fall in love with Maui.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at Papakea Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Retired with family
Business
Fountain Valley, CA
Mar 17, 2012

Great Place to stay

The location is great close to everything. The grounds at the Papakea are so beautiful and well taken care of. I have stayed 7 times at the Papakea and will keep coming back. It is the best value I have found.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at Papakea Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
latinochino
Business
San Diego, CA, USA
Mar 14, 2012

1st time visiting Maui or even Hawaii!

Honestly I didn't know what to expect. It was just me and my Wife on this stay. Check into the Hotel which i was expecting a ocean view which I got but not right in the front of the Ocean, which I was ok with. Also didn't expect to be staying in a duplex which was really exciting. It had a full function Kitchen, washer and dry, a second level with 2 single beds and a second bathroom. If I know this I would of had more people invited to this hotel lol. I just wanted to have a vacation and a fancy hotel wasn't on my priority list but was very pleased that I stay at this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at Papakea Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ar vacation traveler
Business
arkansas
Feb 6, 2012

day trip

suprised at $10.00 per day motel charge as we chedked out. have stayed there before and will again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at Papakea Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rose A S
Business
Mesa, Az
Feb 5, 2012

Loved the Papakea Resort

I will first list a few things that might be a draw back for some. The resort has a sea wall and no railing around it. I just felt it was a little dangerous for children. Because of the sea wall you have to go to the next door property to play in the sand and water. It does not have a fitness center. One of the pools is warmer then the other so check into that. Some people told us to go to the other pool as it was warmer. Our unit definitely could of used some TLC. The bathrooms should definitely be remodeled. The lady that cleaned our condo was definitely ambitious but the rugs looked bad, the one bathroom sink didn't drain right. I had to always go down to the office to use my computer. Now to some of the things we loved. The grounds are beautiful and are kept up so nice. The hotel is located off the Lower Honoapilliani Hwy. You can go out the gate of the parking lot and be at the ABC Store which made great fresh sandwiches and salads, Honokowai Okazuka and Deli with great take out food and the original chef owner was once a chef at Mama's Fish House, The Fish Market where you can buy fresh fish to take home and cook The Farmers Market which makes great pineapple salsa and has an outdoor farmers makket on the weekend is across the street. Also Times Super Market is right across the street. We really enjoyed it here and hopefully we will be back soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Maui taco's, Honokowai Okazuka and Deli, Sandwiches from the ABC store

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at Papakea Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Missy A
Business
Marin County, CA
Jan 28, 2012

Relaxing Family Vacation in Maui

We have been staying at Papakea on our visits to Maui over the last 30 years. The reason we keep coming back: it gives the feel that we are at home and it's a more personal stay. The "ocean view" rooms have a beautiful view of ocean & the perfectly manicured gardens - a little paradise. You can hear the ocean from your room & the frogs at night! We love to cook in our rooms or bbq by the pool, watching the ocean. We ate a lot of our meals on the nice size balcony, soaking in our view. Downside: the furniture is older, wicker furniture - decor needs to be updated. When someone slams a door from another room - you hear it. There are 3 pools on the grounds but they only heat one of them. And my husband complained about the wi-fi. We have tried a luxury hotel on Kaanapali but the stay was less personal, view of parking lot, extra $ charges for everything and a different feel among the people. Papakea is relaxed with familes and older ones. On the grounds it is so tranquil and quiet and gorgeous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

We walk from Papakea towards the Kaanapali Black Rock and have breakfast at the Castaway Cafe - beautiful view of the ocean and delicious food! Try the pancakes with pineapple, macadamia nuts, whipped cream, & coconut syrup!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at Papakea Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
loreen
Business
Campbell River, B.C.
Jan 26, 2012

Very pleasant resort

Very well run with good staff. Attentioin to any problems was delt with quickly. Very accommodating. Nicely kept grounds and pool areas. Very pleasant atmosphere and good location. The beach in front of this oceanfront resort is very rocky.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top