$169 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 5, 2014 Check-out: Dec 8, 2014

Aston at Papakea Resort

3 stars
3543 Lower Honoapiliani Hwy, Lahaina, HI 96761
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
255 reviews
fun

Great place to stay, would stay there again.. Nice place See full review

  • hammersjeep
  • Sep 8, 2014
hawaii

very nice place clean good location grounds are beautiful staff very helpful and curtious. Will be... See full review

  • scoupe
  • May 28, 2014
Beachfront paradise in Kaanapali with the luxury of condo living

Set upon 13 lush beachfront acres in west Maui's luxurious Kaanapali Beach, the Aston at Papakea Resort offers condo-style living in paradise. All units are equipped with a full kitchen, washer/dryer, private balcony and free Wi-Fi. The resort adds extra value with free guest parking, two swimming pools, two lighted tennis courts, two putting greens, barbecue areas and free yoga classes. Kids get their own brand of fun with Aston's activity club, Camp Kamaaina. Great shopping and dining are available throughout the area.

Highlights
  • Full kitchen, free parking and free in-room Wi-Fi
  • Kids activity club
  • Situated on Kaanapali Beach, one of Hawaii's best beaches and ocean views of neighboring islands and whales in winter
Location
The Aston at Papakea Resort sits oceanfront on the most fashionable stretch of Kaanapali Beach, just north of the popular snorkeling area Black Rock. Guests enjoy magnificent views of the islands of Molokai and Lanai, heavenly whale watching in winter and convenience to everything west Maui has to offer. Whalers Village is a few minutes away by car, with shopping and executive-chef restaurants such as Cane & Taro and Hula Grill.
Rooms
The Aston at Papakea Resort is a condo resort offering studios and one-, two- and three-bedroom units ranging from a spacious 454 square feet to 1,217 square feet. The three-bedroom condo accommodates up to eight people, perfect for the family or a group of friends. All units feature a private balcony, fully-equipped kitchen, air conditioning, washer/dryer, TV/VCR/DVD player and free high-speed Wi-Fi.
Dining
All Aston at Papakea Resort condos feature full kitchens, making dining in easy and affordable. Additionally, Kaanapali and its neighboring communities offer numerous cafes and restaurants.
Recreation
  • Two swimming pools
  • Two Jacuzzis
  • Two lighted tennis courts
  • Two 12-hole putting greens
  • Free yoga classes
  • Camp Kaanapali for kids
  • Golf (nearby)
Transportation
  • Kapalua West Maui Airport (1.9 mi/3.1 km)
  • Kahului Airport (28 mi/45 km)
Attractions
  • Whalers Village (2.1 mi/3.5 km)
  • Lahaina Town (5.2 mi/8.4 km)
  • Maui Ocean Center (19.8 mi/31.9 km)
Policies and fees
  • The hotel will undergo exterior renovation from 21 April to 3 November. Renovation works are from Monday to Friday, 8:30 AM to 5:00 PM. Work on Saturdays is possible but will be avoided unless necessary. No guest will be placed in the building that is being worked on.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

20.9524 -156.6867
Area served
Lahaina-Maui, HI
Nearby airports
OGG - Kahului and JHM - Kapalua
Area description
Located oceanfront in Kaanapali with championship golf courses, shopping and dining in the area. Activities on-site include shuffleboard and tennis with snorkeling, windsurfing, volleyball and more nearby.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Aston at Papakea Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5

Aston at Papakea Resort Rooms

One Bedroom Ocean Front Suite
One bedroom suite with queen bed and sofabed. Includes full bathroom, Complimentary High-Speed wireless access,lanai, iron/board, multiple closets, full kitchen, hair dryer, air conditioning, washer/dryer, cable TV and dataport.
Two Bedroom Ocean View Suite
Two bedroom suite with queen bed and 2 twin beds or 2 queen beds and sofabed. Includes 2 full bathrooms, Complimentary High-Speed wireless access, lanai, iron/board, multiple closets, full kitchen, hair dryer, air conditioning, washer/dryer, cable TV and dataport.
Studio Suite Garden View
Studio with queen or Murphy queen bed. Includes full bathroom, Complimentary High-Speed wireless Internet access, lanai, iron/board, kitchen, refrigerator, stove, microwave, coffee maker, hair dryer, air conditioning, washer/dryer, cable TV and dataport.
One Bedroom Ocean View Suite
One bedroom suite with queen bed and sofabed. Includes full bathroom, Complimentary High-Speed wireless access, lanai, iron/board, multiple closets, full kitchen, hair dryer, air conditioning, washer/dryer, cable TV and dataport.
Studio Suite Ocean View
Studio with queen or Murphy queen bed. Includes full bathroom, Complimentary High-Speed wireless access, lanai, iron/board, kitchen, refrigerator, stove, microwave, coffee maker, hair dryer, air conditioning, washer/dryer, cable TV and dataport.
One Bedroom Garden View Suite
One Bedroom Suite located on ground floor. Fully equipped kitchens and in-room washer/dryers for extra convenience. Private furnished lanai and spectacular garden views. Air-conditioned and complimentary WiFi. Approx 620sf.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (255)

Ratings and reviews for Aston at Papakea Resort

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
255 out of 255
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.4

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston at Papakea Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
tess s
sidney, ia
Oct 6, 2012

A great place, location and price!

We were upgraded the day we got there from a garden view to an ocean view! The whole resort was amazing. LA short walk to the beach. Full apartment!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

K'mart had the best and most variety of souveniors

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at Papakea Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Barb of Nor Cal
Business
Northern California
Aug 5, 2012

Good family hotel

The rooms were clean, updated and very comfortable for my family's needs. The pools and grounds were very well maintained. There were a couple of registration desk employees that could use a lesson in Customer Service, but most were very friendly and helpful when we needed it. Having a beach in front of the hotel would be a plus too. The maids and maintenance staff are great and were on the spot whenever we needed anything! We would definitely come back to this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you are too tired to cook and want something fast, but still good, Ohana Tacos on Lower Honoapiilani Rd. (a little further down than the Papakea Resort) is a friendly place with good Mexican food!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at Papakea Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lynnie from Cali
Business
california
Jul 8, 2012

Loved the view

This hotel was perfect for our family . We stayed in building K on the second floor over seeing the pool and having a beautiful ocean view. We loved sitting on the balcony and having breakfast while watching the ocean. I was concerned of the sea wall but it was really no big deal the beach was a extreme short walk. It's a beautiful resort and I would stay there again and recommend it to my family and friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at Papakea Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bailey26
Business
Honolulu, HI, USA
Jul 8, 2012

Surprised!

We chose an inexpensive package for 2 nites, which included airfare from O'ahu, and having never stayed at any Aston properties, was a bit skeptical. This condo is well-managed, grounds well maintained, and very well situated to allow for walking to the farmers market and various stores. The only drawback is a very rocky, narrow beach, but views are great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Avoid the places on Front Street, Lahaina, and research the hotels and restaurants in the area- there are many excellent choices.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at Papakea Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lars2112
Business
San Antonio, Texas
Jul 7, 2012

Just Average

Nothing outstanding here, just your typical seaside resortish condo experience. Each condo is privately owned and rented out through Aston so it's luck of the draw for how your suite is situated. A little weird with a pull-down queen bed. It was comfortable, nice to be able to cook in a kitchen stocked with dishes but probably cost as much as eating out after the spices and stuff you would typically have on hand. Though we didn't have a bad experience here I don't think we'll be staying again, I'd like something a little more classier when on vacation in such a great location. It's a pity because it could easily be nicer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

It's a long drive but the road to Hana is worth it! Be sure to get the audio CD as it has great insider tips for on the way. Plan a day for this. Another great excursion is the lavender farm, spectacular views and amazing experience.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at Papakea Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Napua
Business
O'ahu, HI
Jun 18, 2012

Short vacation for a family wedding

A/C did not ever seem to cool down the room and it made far too much noise. I think if this was working better, my whole rating would have been higher. Kitchen was great. Wish there was some dish soap available. The hotel grounds were lovely as was the weather. After recovering an almond from on e of the chairs, I found a magazine and a Maui newspaper from May 31st. Hmm? The staff were all very helpful and cordial.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at Papakea Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jann Maui Mom
Business
Tallahassee, Florida
Jun 5, 2012

WONDERFUL IN MAUI

It is a complex of condo's and studio apartments. The view from our balcony was over welming. We looked over a fish pond with a bridge, wonderful gardens and swimming pool and on to the ocean. The pool has BBQ grills around it with night lights so you can grill when ever. Even though the place was almost full we never heard any noise from other rooms. The staff at the front desk was more than pleasant and helpful. The bus stops in front of the complex and takes you to front street, which has everything you need for a good time. There is also a grocery store across from the complex. We would go back in a heart beat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Across the street was a grocery store and a small complex with shopping and a taco place. The bus was $1.00 and would take you to front street which is the center of all shops, eateries, fishing, snorteling and Bubba Cumps seafood. Enjoy-relax and fall in love with Maui.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at Papakea Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Retired with family
Business
Fountain Valley, CA
Mar 17, 2012

Great Place to stay

The location is great close to everything. The grounds at the Papakea are so beautiful and well taken care of. I have stayed 7 times at the Papakea and will keep coming back. It is the best value I have found.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at Papakea Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
latinochino
Business
San Diego, CA, USA
Mar 14, 2012

1st time visiting Maui or even Hawaii!

Honestly I didn't know what to expect. It was just me and my Wife on this stay. Check into the Hotel which i was expecting a ocean view which I got but not right in the front of the Ocean, which I was ok with. Also didn't expect to be staying in a duplex which was really exciting. It had a full function Kitchen, washer and dry, a second level with 2 single beds and a second bathroom. If I know this I would of had more people invited to this hotel lol. I just wanted to have a vacation and a fancy hotel wasn't on my priority list but was very pleased that I stay at this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at Papakea Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ar vacation traveler
Business
arkansas
Feb 6, 2012

day trip

suprised at $10.00 per day motel charge as we chedked out. have stayed there before and will again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at Papakea Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rose A S
Business
Mesa, Az
Feb 5, 2012

Loved the Papakea Resort

I will first list a few things that might be a draw back for some. The resort has a sea wall and no railing around it. I just felt it was a little dangerous for children. Because of the sea wall you have to go to the next door property to play in the sand and water. It does not have a fitness center. One of the pools is warmer then the other so check into that. Some people told us to go to the other pool as it was warmer. Our unit definitely could of used some TLC. The bathrooms should definitely be remodeled. The lady that cleaned our condo was definitely ambitious but the rugs looked bad, the one bathroom sink didn't drain right. I had to always go down to the office to use my computer. Now to some of the things we loved. The grounds are beautiful and are kept up so nice. The hotel is located off the Lower Honoapilliani Hwy. You can go out the gate of the parking lot and be at the ABC Store which made great fresh sandwiches and salads, Honokowai Okazuka and Deli with great take out food and the original chef owner was once a chef at Mama's Fish House, The Fish Market where you can buy fresh fish to take home and cook The Farmers Market which makes great pineapple salsa and has an outdoor farmers makket on the weekend is across the street. Also Times Super Market is right across the street. We really enjoyed it here and hopefully we will be back soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Maui taco's, Honokowai Okazuka and Deli, Sandwiches from the ABC store

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top