$252 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 5, 2015 Check-out: Mar 6, 2015

Aston at Papakea Resort

3 stars
View map of 3543 Lower Honoapiliani Hwy, Lahaina, HI 96761

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
259 reviews
family trip

I enjoyed my stay my overall there was excellent even though we had a few plumbing issues that... See full review

  • Lisa
  • Jan 16, 2015
Awesome Family resort

This was our first trip to Hawaii. Booked a ocean view room and was amazing. From the time we... See full review

  • VISHAL D.
  • Dec 24, 2014
Beachfront paradise in Kaanapali with the luxury of condo living

Set upon 13 lush beachfront acres in west Maui's luxurious Kaanapali Beach, the Aston at Papakea Resort offers condo-style living in paradise. All units are equipped with a full kitchen, washer/dryer, private balcony and free Wi-Fi. The resort adds extra value with free guest parking, two swimming pools, two lighted tennis courts, two putting greens, barbecue areas and free yoga classes. Kids get their own brand of fun with Aston's activity club, Camp Kamaaina. Great shopping and dining are available throughout the area.

Highlights
  • Full kitchen, free parking and free in-room Wi-Fi
  • Kids activity club
  • Situated on Kaanapali Beach, one of Hawaii's best beaches and ocean views of neighboring islands and whales in winter
Location
The Aston at Papakea Resort sits oceanfront on the most fashionable stretch of Kaanapali Beach, just north of the popular snorkeling area Black Rock. Guests enjoy magnificent views of the islands of Molokai and Lanai, heavenly whale watching in winter and convenience to everything west Maui has to offer. Whalers Village is a few minutes away by car, with shopping and executive-chef restaurants such as Cane & Taro and Hula Grill.
Rooms
The Aston at Papakea Resort is a condo resort offering studios and one-, two- and three-bedroom units ranging from a spacious 454 square feet to 1,217 square feet. The three-bedroom condo accommodates up to eight people, perfect for the family or a group of friends. All units feature a private balcony, fully-equipped kitchen, air conditioning, washer/dryer, TV/VCR/DVD player and free high-speed Wi-Fi.
Dining
All Aston at Papakea Resort condos feature full kitchens, making dining in easy and affordable. Additionally, Kaanapali and its neighboring communities offer numerous cafes and restaurants.
Recreation
  • Two swimming pools
  • Two Jacuzzis
  • Two lighted tennis courts
  • Two 12-hole putting greens
  • Free yoga classes
  • Camp Kaanapali for kids
  • Golf (nearby)
Transportation
  • Kapalua West Maui Airport (1.9 mi/3.1 km)
  • Kahului Airport (28 mi/45 km)
Attractions
  • Whalers Village (2.1 mi/3.5 km)
  • Lahaina Town (5.2 mi/8.4 km)
  • Maui Ocean Center (19.8 mi/31.9 km)
Policies and fees
  • The hotel will undergo exterior renovation from 21 April to 3 November. Renovation works are from Monday to Friday, 8:30 AM to 5:00 PM. Work on Saturdays is possible but will be avoided unless necessary. No guest will be placed in the building that is being worked on.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Aston at Papakea Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Aston at Papakea Resort Rooms

One Bedroom Ocean Front Suite
One bedroom suite with queen bed and sofabed. Includes full bathroom, Complimentary High-Speed wireless access,lanai, iron/board, multiple closets, full kitchen, hair dryer, air conditioning, washer/dryer, cable TV and dataport.
Two Bedroom Ocean View Suite
Two bedroom suite with queen bed and 2 twin beds or 2 queen beds and sofabed. Includes 2 full bathrooms, Complimentary High-Speed wireless access, lanai, iron/board, multiple closets, full kitchen, hair dryer, air conditioning, washer/dryer, cable TV and dataport.
Studio Suite Garden View
Studio with queen or Murphy queen bed. Includes full bathroom, Complimentary High-Speed wireless Internet access, lanai, iron/board, kitchen, refrigerator, stove, microwave, coffee maker, hair dryer, air conditioning, washer/dryer, cable TV and dataport.
One Bedroom Ocean View Suite
One bedroom suite with queen bed and sofabed. Includes full bathroom, Complimentary High-Speed wireless access, lanai, iron/board, multiple closets, full kitchen, hair dryer, air conditioning, washer/dryer, cable TV and dataport.
Studio Suite Ocean View
Studio with queen or Murphy queen bed. Includes full bathroom, Complimentary High-Speed wireless access, lanai, iron/board, kitchen, refrigerator, stove, microwave, coffee maker, hair dryer, air conditioning, washer/dryer, cable TV and dataport.
One Bedroom Garden View Suite
One Bedroom Suite located on ground floor. Fully equipped kitchens and in-room washer/dryers for extra convenience. Private furnished lanai and spectacular garden views. Air-conditioned and complimentary WiFi. Approx 620sf.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (259)

Ratings and reviews for Aston at Papakea Resort

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
259 out of 259
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.4

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston at Papakea Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
businesstraveler009
Business
Reston, VA
Aug 28, 2012

Good value

Location is not perfect, there is no beach, but we went to different places pretty much every day and always ended up on a new beach. All the beaches are public and renting an umbrella or buying drinks from the beach bar is not a problem even if you don't stay in a certain hotel, but bring your own chairs if you need any. Otherwise, great place if you want to be in a condo (for us it was critical, we absolutely need a full kitchen#. 2 pools, beautifully mainteained grounds, lots of parking spaces, great shopping/dining options nearby. Sometimes the housekeeping forgets to bring dishwasher detergent or to remove the garbage from one of the cans #or something else like that). Just call them, the problem will be fixed immediately and it will never happen again. We usually do not stay twice in the same hotel, but If we go to Maui again any time soon I would certainly consider this place

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at Papakea Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
baby on way
Business
San Diego, California
Aug 19, 2012

Had a great time!!

This place was close to everything. The super markets, fast food, retaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Cook your own food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at Papakea Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Extraordinary Joe
Business
Mission Viejo, CA
Aug 16, 2012

Highly underrated

We were upgraded from a garden view to a beach front, it was truly wonderful. The condo was very well maintained, extremely clean, with new appliances & cabinets. We had 30 feet of grass between our lanai and the seawall (no beach at this resort, but the resort next door has a beautiful beach & it is with the same company so you can go there anytime you want), and beyond that a beautiful view of Molokai. The only 2 things that could have been better were the murphy bed, which was very squeaky and not terribly comfortable, and the washing machine, the placement of the dryer made it so you could barely open the lid to put in or take out clothes. Given the price, location, & friendly staff, I'd go back there anytime.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

One street down the highway from Papakea is a small park, which has a nice beach (next to the Westin), and has some of the best snorkling around. It's free, it's easy to get to, and we never had a problem parking.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at Papakea Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
My TwoCentsWorth
Business
SE Michigan
Aug 9, 2012

Nice Condo with Full Kitchen and Washer/Dryer

Condo with full kitchen is expecially nice if you plan to stay for more than a couple of days and plan to do some cooking. Otherwise you'd have to buy all the spices needed and they do cost more on the island. Beach towels are provided so save some space in your luggage.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The beach park about two or three resorts north of the property is a nice alternative to the beach next door. It's across from the Farmer's Market. Parking is never a problem if you do decide to drive the short distance,

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at Papakea Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Barb of Nor Cal
Business
Northern California
Aug 5, 2012

Good family hotel

The rooms were clean, updated and very comfortable for my family's needs. The pools and grounds were very well maintained. There were a couple of registration desk employees that could use a lesson in Customer Service, but most were very friendly and helpful when we needed it. Having a beach in front of the hotel would be a plus too. The maids and maintenance staff are great and were on the spot whenever we needed anything! We would definitely come back to this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you are too tired to cook and want something fast, but still good, Ohana Tacos on Lower Honoapiilani Rd. (a little further down than the Papakea Resort) is a friendly place with good Mexican food!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at Papakea Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lynnie from Cali
Business
california
Jul 8, 2012

Loved the view

This hotel was perfect for our family . We stayed in building K on the second floor over seeing the pool and having a beautiful ocean view. We loved sitting on the balcony and having breakfast while watching the ocean. I was concerned of the sea wall but it was really no big deal the beach was a extreme short walk. It's a beautiful resort and I would stay there again and recommend it to my family and friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at Papakea Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bailey26
Business
Honolulu, HI, USA
Jul 8, 2012

Surprised!

We chose an inexpensive package for 2 nites, which included airfare from O'ahu, and having never stayed at any Aston properties, was a bit skeptical. This condo is well-managed, grounds well maintained, and very well situated to allow for walking to the farmers market and various stores. The only drawback is a very rocky, narrow beach, but views are great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Avoid the places on Front Street, Lahaina, and research the hotels and restaurants in the area- there are many excellent choices.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at Papakea Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lars2112
Business
San Antonio, Texas
Jul 7, 2012

Just Average

Nothing outstanding here, just your typical seaside resortish condo experience. Each condo is privately owned and rented out through Aston so it's luck of the draw for how your suite is situated. A little weird with a pull-down queen bed. It was comfortable, nice to be able to cook in a kitchen stocked with dishes but probably cost as much as eating out after the spices and stuff you would typically have on hand. Though we didn't have a bad experience here I don't think we'll be staying again, I'd like something a little more classier when on vacation in such a great location. It's a pity because it could easily be nicer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

It's a long drive but the road to Hana is worth it! Be sure to get the audio CD as it has great insider tips for on the way. Plan a day for this. Another great excursion is the lavender farm, spectacular views and amazing experience.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at Papakea Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Napua
Business
O'ahu, HI
Jun 18, 2012

Short vacation for a family wedding

A/C did not ever seem to cool down the room and it made far too much noise. I think if this was working better, my whole rating would have been higher. Kitchen was great. Wish there was some dish soap available. The hotel grounds were lovely as was the weather. After recovering an almond from on e of the chairs, I found a magazine and a Maui newspaper from May 31st. Hmm? The staff were all very helpful and cordial.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at Papakea Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jann Maui Mom
Business
Tallahassee, Florida
Jun 5, 2012

WONDERFUL IN MAUI

It is a complex of condo's and studio apartments. The view from our balcony was over welming. We looked over a fish pond with a bridge, wonderful gardens and swimming pool and on to the ocean. The pool has BBQ grills around it with night lights so you can grill when ever. Even though the place was almost full we never heard any noise from other rooms. The staff at the front desk was more than pleasant and helpful. The bus stops in front of the complex and takes you to front street, which has everything you need for a good time. There is also a grocery store across from the complex. We would go back in a heart beat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Across the street was a grocery store and a small complex with shopping and a taco place. The bus was $1.00 and would take you to front street which is the center of all shops, eateries, fishing, snorteling and Bubba Cumps seafood. Enjoy-relax and fall in love with Maui.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top