$162 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 19, 2014 Check-out: May 22, 2014

Aston at Papakea Resort

3 stars
3543 Lower Honoapiliani Hwy, Lahaina, HI 96761
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
250 reviews
Maui

It couldn't have been Better. I want to come back to stay at that exact room! See full review

  • Jazzy G
  • Apr 8, 2014
Good for everyone

It was a perfect place to stay. Our main goal was to whale watch and we did. See full review

  • Dorn
  • Apr 4, 2014
Beachfront paradise in Kaanapali with the luxury of condo living

Set upon 13 lush beachfront acres in west Maui's luxurious Kaanapali Beach, the Aston at Papakea Resort offers condo-style living in paradise. All units are equipped with a full kitchen, washer/dryer, private balcony and free Wi-Fi. The resort adds extra value with free guest parking, two swimming pools, two lighted tennis courts, two putting greens, barbecue areas and free yoga classes. Kids get their own brand of fun with Aston's activity club, Camp Kamaaina. Great shopping and dining are available throughout the area.

Highlights
  • Full kitchen, free parking and free in-room Wi-Fi
  • Kids activity club
  • Situated on Kaanapali Beach, one of Hawaii's best beaches and ocean views of neighboring islands and whales in winter
Location
The Aston at Papakea Resort sits oceanfront on the most fashionable stretch of Kaanapali Beach, just north of the popular snorkeling area Black Rock. Guests enjoy magnificent views of the islands of Molokai and Lanai, heavenly whale watching in winter and convenience to everything west Maui has to offer. Whalers Village is a few minutes away by car, with shopping and executive-chef restaurants such as Cane & Taro and Hula Grill.
Rooms
The Aston at Papakea Resort is a condo resort offering studios and one-, two- and three-bedroom units ranging from a spacious 454 square feet to 1,217 square feet. The three-bedroom condo accommodates up to eight people, perfect for the family or a group of friends. All units feature a private balcony, fully-equipped kitchen, air conditioning, washer/dryer, TV/VCR/DVD player and free high-speed Wi-Fi.
Dining
All Aston at Papakea Resort condos feature full kitchens, making dining in easy and affordable. Additionally, Kaanapali and its neighboring communities offer numerous cafés and restaurants.
Recreation
  • Two swimming pools
  • Two Jacuzzis
  • Two lighted tennis courts
  • Two 12-hole putting greens
  • Free yoga classes
  • Camp Kaanapali for kids
  • Golf (nearby)
Transportation
  • Kapalua West Maui Airport (1.9 mi/3.1 km)
  • Kahului Airport (28 mi/45 km)
Attractions
  • Whalers Village (2.1 mi/3.5 km)
  • Lahaina Town (5.2 mi/8.4 km)
  • Maui Ocean Center (19.8 mi/31.9 km)
Policies and fees
  • The hotel will undergo exterior renovation from 21 April to 3 November. Renovation works are from Monday to Friday, 8:30 AM to 5:00 PM. Work on Saturdays is possible but will be avoided unless necessary. No guest will be placed in the building that is being worked on.

  • Amenity Fee: $15 plus 4.416% Hawaii State General Excise Tax daily. Amenities covered by this fee include Playstation 2 console in each unit, Unlimited access to DVD movies and Playstation 2 games, In-room coffee and tea provided daily, Daily newspaper and Daily in-room safe. *WiFi is not included as part of the amenity fee, but is provided free of charge at the property.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Aston at Papakea Resort Rooms

One Bedroom Ocean Front Suite
One bedroom suite with queen bed and sofabed. Includes full bathroom, Complimentary High-Speed wireless access,lanai, iron/board, multiple closets, full kitchen, hair dryer, air conditioning, washer/dryer, cable TV and dataport.
Two Bedroom Ocean View Suite
Two bedroom suite with queen bed and 2 twin beds or 2 queen beds and sofabed. Includes 2 full bathrooms, Complimentary High-Speed wireless access, lanai, iron/board, multiple closets, full kitchen, hair dryer, air conditioning, washer/dryer, cable TV and dataport.
Studio Suite Garden View
Studio with queen or Murphy queen bed. Includes full bathroom, Complimentary High-Speed wireless Internet access, lanai, iron/board, kitchen, refrigerator, stove, microwave, coffee maker, hair dryer, air conditioning, washer/dryer, cable TV and dataport.
One Bedroom Ocean View Suite
One bedroom suite with queen bed and sofabed. Includes full bathroom, Complimentary High-Speed wireless access, lanai, iron/board, multiple closets, full kitchen, hair dryer, air conditioning, washer/dryer, cable TV and dataport.
Studio Suite Ocean View
Studio with queen or Murphy queen bed. Includes full bathroom, Complimentary High-Speed wireless access, lanai, iron/board, kitchen, refrigerator, stove, microwave, coffee maker, hair dryer, air conditioning, washer/dryer, cable TV and dataport.
One Bedroom Garden View Suite
One Bedroom Suite located on ground floor. Fully equipped kitchens and in-room washer/dryers for extra convenience. Private furnished lanai and spectacular garden views. Air-conditioned and complimentary WiFi. Approx 620sf.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Aston at Papakea Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5

Hotel Map

20.9524 -156.6867
Area served
Lahaina-Maui, HI
Nearby airports
OGG - Kahului and JHM - Kapalua
Area description
Located oceanfront in Kaanapali with championship golf courses, shopping and dining in the area. Activities on-site include shuffleboard and tennis with snorkeling, windsurfing, volleyball and more nearby.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (250)

Ratings and reviews for Aston at Papakea Resort

Overall score

4.2 / 5
250 out of 250
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.4

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston at Papakea Resort

Reviewer score

4
Jann Maui Mom
Tallahassee, Florida
Jun 5, 2012

WONDERFUL IN MAUI

It is a complex of condo's and studio apartments. The view from our balcony was over welming. We looked over a fish pond with a bridge, wonderful gardens and swimming pool and on to the ocean. The pool has BBQ grills around it with night lights so you can grill when ever. Even though the place was almost full we never heard any noise from other rooms. The staff at the front desk was more than pleasant and helpful. The bus stops in front of the complex and takes you to front street, which has everything you need for a good time. There is also a grocery store across from the complex. We would go back in a heart beat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Across the street was a grocery store and a small complex with shopping and a taco place. The bus was $1.00 and would take you to front street which is the center of all shops, eateries, fishing, snorteling and Bubba Cumps seafood. Enjoy-relax and fall in love with Maui.

Review of Aston at Papakea Resort

Reviewer score

4
Retired with family
Fountain Valley, CA
Mar 17, 2012

Great Place to stay

The location is great close to everything. The grounds at the Papakea are so beautiful and well taken care of. I have stayed 7 times at the Papakea and will keep coming back. It is the best value I have found.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Aston at Papakea Resort

Reviewer score

5
latinochino
San Diego, CA, USA
Mar 14, 2012

1st time visiting Maui or even Hawaii!

Honestly I didn't know what to expect. It was just me and my Wife on this stay. Check into the Hotel which i was expecting a ocean view which I got but not right in the front of the Ocean, which I was ok with. Also didn't expect to be staying in a duplex which was really exciting. It had a full function Kitchen, washer and dry, a second level with 2 single beds and a second bathroom. If I know this I would of had more people invited to this hotel lol. I just wanted to have a vacation and a fancy hotel wasn't on my priority list but was very pleased that I stay at this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Aston at Papakea Resort

Reviewer score

5
ar vacation traveler
arkansas
Feb 6, 2012

day trip

suprised at $10.00 per day motel charge as we chedked out. have stayed there before and will again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Aston at Papakea Resort

Reviewer score

4
Rose A S
Mesa, Az
Feb 5, 2012

Loved the Papakea Resort

I will first list a few things that might be a draw back for some. The resort has a sea wall and no railing around it. I just felt it was a little dangerous for children. Because of the sea wall you have to go to the next door property to play in the sand and water. It does not have a fitness center. One of the pools is warmer then the other so check into that. Some people told us to go to the other pool as it was warmer. Our unit definitely could of used some TLC. The bathrooms should definitely be remodeled. The lady that cleaned our condo was definitely ambitious but the rugs looked bad, the one bathroom sink didn't drain right. I had to always go down to the office to use my computer. Now to some of the things we loved. The grounds are beautiful and are kept up so nice. The hotel is located off the Lower Honoapilliani Hwy. You can go out the gate of the parking lot and be at the ABC Store which made great fresh sandwiches and salads, Honokowai Okazuka and Deli with great take out food and the original chef owner was once a chef at Mama's Fish House, The Fish Market where you can buy fresh fish to take home and cook The Farmers Market which makes great pineapple salsa and has an outdoor farmers makket on the weekend is across the street. Also Times Super Market is right across the street. We really enjoyed it here and hopefully we will be back soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Maui taco's, Honokowai Okazuka and Deli, Sandwiches from the ABC store

Review of Aston at Papakea Resort

Reviewer score

4
Missy A
Marin County, CA
Jan 28, 2012

Relaxing Family Vacation in Maui

We have been staying at Papakea on our visits to Maui over the last 30 years. The reason we keep coming back: it gives the feel that we are at home and it's a more personal stay. The "ocean view" rooms have a beautiful view of ocean & the perfectly manicured gardens - a little paradise. You can hear the ocean from your room & the frogs at night! We love to cook in our rooms or bbq by the pool, watching the ocean. We ate a lot of our meals on the nice size balcony, soaking in our view. Downside: the furniture is older, wicker furniture - decor needs to be updated. When someone slams a door from another room - you hear it. There are 3 pools on the grounds but they only heat one of them. And my husband complained about the wi-fi. We have tried a luxury hotel on Kaanapali but the stay was less personal, view of parking lot, extra $ charges for everything and a different feel among the people. Papakea is relaxed with familes and older ones. On the grounds it is so tranquil and quiet and gorgeous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

We walk from Papakea towards the Kaanapali Black Rock and have breakfast at the Castaway Cafe - beautiful view of the ocean and delicious food! Try the pancakes with pineapple, macadamia nuts, whipped cream, & coconut syrup!!!

Review of Aston at Papakea Resort

Reviewer score

3
loreen
Campbell River, B.C.
Jan 26, 2012

Very pleasant resort

Very well run with good staff. Attentioin to any problems was delt with quickly. Very accommodating. Nicely kept grounds and pool areas. Very pleasant atmosphere and good location. The beach in front of this oceanfront resort is very rocky.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Aston at Papakea Resort

Reviewer score

4
Golf Pro
Salt Lake City, UT, USA
Jan 11, 2012

2nd Trip to Papakea

We had visited Papakea last year, and couldn't find a better place for location, amenities, and price. Very clean and well taken care of grounds. We will be back again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Gazebo for breakfast is the place to go.

Review of Aston at Papakea Resort

Reviewer score

4
MODO
Reno, NV
Jan 8, 2012

Great way to start the New Year !!

Our family had an excellent time in Maui. Could of done without the rain, wind the first 3 days. The last part of the week was great. The condo view, pool everything was awesome. Would stay again in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Aston at Papakea Resort

Reviewer score

4
Douglas J.
Nsshville, Tn.
Jan 7, 2012

Fantastic getaway

Great location and room and view. Grilled out at pool. Would return on next trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Outback was good

Back to menu Return to top