$265 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 1, 2015 Check-out: Feb 2, 2015

Aston at Papakea Resort

3 stars
3543 Lower Honoapiliani Hwy, Lahaina, HI 96761
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
259 reviews
family trip

I enjoyed my stay my overall there was excellent even though we had a few plumbing issues that... See full review

  • Lisa
  • Jan 16, 2015
Awesome Family resort

This was our first trip to Hawaii. Booked a ocean view room and was amazing. From the time we... See full review

  • VISHAL D.
  • Dec 24, 2014
Beachfront paradise in Kaanapali with the luxury of condo living

Set upon 13 lush beachfront acres in west Maui's luxurious Kaanapali Beach, the Aston at Papakea Resort offers condo-style living in paradise. All units are equipped with a full kitchen, washer/dryer, private balcony and free Wi-Fi. The resort adds extra value with free guest parking, two swimming pools, two lighted tennis courts, two putting greens, barbecue areas and free yoga classes. Kids get their own brand of fun with Aston's activity club, Camp Kamaaina. Great shopping and dining are available throughout the area.

Highlights
  • Full kitchen, free parking and free in-room Wi-Fi
  • Kids activity club
  • Situated on Kaanapali Beach, one of Hawaii's best beaches and ocean views of neighboring islands and whales in winter
Location
The Aston at Papakea Resort sits oceanfront on the most fashionable stretch of Kaanapali Beach, just north of the popular snorkeling area Black Rock. Guests enjoy magnificent views of the islands of Molokai and Lanai, heavenly whale watching in winter and convenience to everything west Maui has to offer. Whalers Village is a few minutes away by car, with shopping and executive-chef restaurants such as Cane & Taro and Hula Grill.
Rooms
The Aston at Papakea Resort is a condo resort offering studios and one-, two- and three-bedroom units ranging from a spacious 454 square feet to 1,217 square feet. The three-bedroom condo accommodates up to eight people, perfect for the family or a group of friends. All units feature a private balcony, fully-equipped kitchen, air conditioning, washer/dryer, TV/VCR/DVD player and free high-speed Wi-Fi.
Dining
All Aston at Papakea Resort condos feature full kitchens, making dining in easy and affordable. Additionally, Kaanapali and its neighboring communities offer numerous cafes and restaurants.
Recreation
  • Two swimming pools
  • Two Jacuzzis
  • Two lighted tennis courts
  • Two 12-hole putting greens
  • Free yoga classes
  • Camp Kaanapali for kids
  • Golf (nearby)
Transportation
  • Kapalua West Maui Airport (1.9 mi/3.1 km)
  • Kahului Airport (28 mi/45 km)
Attractions
  • Whalers Village (2.1 mi/3.5 km)
  • Lahaina Town (5.2 mi/8.4 km)
  • Maui Ocean Center (19.8 mi/31.9 km)
Policies and fees
  • The hotel will undergo exterior renovation from 21 April to 3 November. Renovation works are from Monday to Friday, 8:30 AM to 5:00 PM. Work on Saturdays is possible but will be avoided unless necessary. No guest will be placed in the building that is being worked on.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Aston at Papakea Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Aston at Papakea Resort Rooms

One Bedroom Ocean Front Suite
One bedroom suite with queen bed and sofabed. Includes full bathroom, Complimentary High-Speed wireless access,lanai, iron/board, multiple closets, full kitchen, hair dryer, air conditioning, washer/dryer, cable TV and dataport.
Two Bedroom Ocean View Suite
Two bedroom suite with queen bed and 2 twin beds or 2 queen beds and sofabed. Includes 2 full bathrooms, Complimentary High-Speed wireless access, lanai, iron/board, multiple closets, full kitchen, hair dryer, air conditioning, washer/dryer, cable TV and dataport.
Studio Suite Garden View
Studio with queen or Murphy queen bed. Includes full bathroom, Complimentary High-Speed wireless Internet access, lanai, iron/board, kitchen, refrigerator, stove, microwave, coffee maker, hair dryer, air conditioning, washer/dryer, cable TV and dataport.
One Bedroom Ocean View Suite
One bedroom suite with queen bed and sofabed. Includes full bathroom, Complimentary High-Speed wireless access, lanai, iron/board, multiple closets, full kitchen, hair dryer, air conditioning, washer/dryer, cable TV and dataport.
Studio Suite Ocean View
Studio with queen or Murphy queen bed. Includes full bathroom, Complimentary High-Speed wireless access, lanai, iron/board, kitchen, refrigerator, stove, microwave, coffee maker, hair dryer, air conditioning, washer/dryer, cable TV and dataport.
One Bedroom Garden View Suite
One Bedroom Suite located on ground floor. Fully equipped kitchens and in-room washer/dryers for extra convenience. Private furnished lanai and spectacular garden views. Air-conditioned and complimentary WiFi. Approx 620sf.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (259)

Ratings and reviews for Aston at Papakea Resort

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
259 out of 259
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.4

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston at Papakea Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Holiday Finder
Almaty, Kazakhstan
Feb 11, 2013

Wonderful holiday

We had a wonderful holiday at this hotel. The feeling that you are living at home. Comfortable apartments with balconies overlooking the sea with all necessary. Fully equipped kitchen, dishwasher, washing machine, dryer. High-speed Internet access. Free parking. Quiet. Although the hotel does not have its own beach, there are excellent beaches at a distance of 1.8 kilometers to the south, or at a distance of 4 kilometers to the north. Supermarket where you can buy everything from a distance of 300 meters.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Supermarket Times

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at Papakea Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mission Viejo, CA
Jun 19, 2009

Best stay on Maui!

This place far exceeded our expectations. Check in was easy and they surprised us with a free upgrade to an ocean front studio! We loved our little home for those 10 days. Decor is old and typical, but the studio was well equipped with full kitchen and stackable washer and dryer in closet. It was a huge plus that we were able to wash in our room, we didn't have to bring back dirty clothes in our luggage! Housekeeping did need prompting to refill some items such as dish soap and would sometimes not sweep the tile floors (you bring in a lot of sand). Other than that we were happy with the service. Also, parking is not near if you are staying in one of the ocean front buildings. It's a 3-4 minute walk across the lawn to get to the parking lot. On the other hand it is free to park, so that makes up for it. Also, as other reviews note there are stray cats in the parking lot (not sure why)which I was concerned about because I am allergic to them, but they are not aggressive and were never really a problem, just unsightly perhaps. Note: there is no beach in front of property, but you can snorkel in the early morning as the tide is low. But as anyone who has been to Maui knows, your missing A LOT of you only plan to be at your property's beach. There are soooo many stunning beaches nearby, that to us it was not important for there to be no beach. Check out nearby Fleming Beach and Napili Bay for great swimming and snorkeling. We plan to stay here again next time we visit our precious Maui!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

If your on a budget, visit Napili Market (5-10 min drive)for freshly made grab-n-go breakfast and lunch items as well as the Honolua Store (near the Ritz). Food is quite expensive on the island and it's easy to get ripped off for the quality of food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at Papakea Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PhilBro
Business
Eagle River, Alaska
Jun 18, 2009

Great time in Papakea

Great location and quite with a great view. Nice pool area with Bar BQ grills, which we used almost every night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Lahaina is a short drive away with great shopping and resturants.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at Papakea Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
The Hartlines
Business
Oregon
Jun 16, 2009

Really great place!!

We had a fantastic time!! Really a perfect location, only about 4 miles to the action on front street!! I think that this was our best vacation!! We had a great one bedroom unit with a full kitchen and washer and dryer. We didn't ever cook here because we love to try out new restaurants when we are in a new place, but we could have cooked! That was a great option! Loved it being right on the water and having activities like shuffle board and putting green. Just an overall great experience!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

If you drive down to front street there is a restaurant called mcgillicuddy's and it has great deals nightly! They also have a good happy hour for some discounted drinks! This was our favorite place to eat while there!! Also a parking hint... right behind the Hard Rock there is a lot and if you are there for only two hours or less you can get your ticket validated in the abc store there. You just have to buy something small. But totally worth it for the free two hour parking!! And there is always a spot to park! There is also 3 hr parking along the street, but it's luck of the draw if you find a spot.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at Papakea Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Orange County, CA
Jun 13, 2009

Excellent Hotel

Excellent hotel. Excellent Location. This is my second time here, and I won't stay anywhere else. Spend the extra money, and get an ocean front room. You won't regret it!!! My only complaint is that the pool opens at 9:00 a.m., a bit late for a hotel catering to families.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at Papakea Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
WA
Jun 11, 2009

Great place to stay, quiet & peaceful

Good place to stay, we had a quiet and peaceful time. The owners of the unit upgraded it nicely and it was a treat to stay there. The staff upgraded our room before we arrived and we ended up right on the water (NICE!). The grounds were kept well and the room was clean. The cleaning staff as well as the front desk staff did a great job.Something to mention, make sure you know who manages the unit. Only 1/2 or so of the units can be serviced by [...] (the front desk and the staff onsite). The others are managed by outside companies as these are individual condo units.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Take advantage of the 1st morning activity presentation by the folks there. They give a good presentation and can save you some good $$$.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at Papakea Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TnL
Business
Houston, TX
Jun 8, 2009

Great Location and An Excellent Value

.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at Papakea Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jess our Families Activity Coordinator
Business
Grants Pass, OR
May 28, 2009

Girls Trip was Perfect!

This was my third time staying here! I absolutely LOVE the Papakea! It's location is perfect! It is central to great snorkeling beaches and shopping. The atmosphere is beautiful and conducive to relaxation! The grounds are maintained in such a way that you feel like you are in beautiful tropical oasis! In fact you are! The staff are friendly and helpful and the rooms are immaculate! I try and stay at the Papakea each visit. It's by far my favorite place to stay! You can't go wrong staying here! I highly recommend the Papakea!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

We went to the Drums of the Pacific Luau. Food was awesome and the show was great!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at Papakea Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
oahu,hawaii
May 27, 2009

very good nice

just spent one day/night it serve the purpose very good thank-you

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

visit java jazz by the star super market

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at Papakea Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Hawaii dreamer
Business
San Francisco, CA
May 19, 2009

Great location & staff, poor management

We checked in around 4pm. We were present while another family tried to check in (they had booked through Vacations Internationl, and that apparently is a big mistake.) They overheard me talking about our ocean view, and said that they were told there weren't any ocean views, The employee tried her best to explain that the condos had many owners, and some groups did not own condos with a view. In response to their prior re She also told tham that the condo they had was ground floor, but it looked out on the parking lot they had requested a pleasant view

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Scour through the guidebooks at the airport, and find all of the 2 for 1, and but 1 get 2nd at 50% off. it's worth the time. Everywhere we ate was great.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at Papakea Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Escondido, CA
May 13, 2009

We Love This Place!

This was our second time to this condo. Last time we booked a studio ocean front. This time one bedroom ocean front. Wonderful room! Best view from our lanai. We spent so much time on the lanai. Everyday around 2:00 pm turtles would swim up in the ocean where we could see them. Great pool and spa. Quiet well kept grounds. Very friendly staff. You have to walk down the beach a bit to go swimming, but we don't mind. Love this place!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk to other resorts for eating and you can charge to your room or short drive to Lahaina.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top