Aston at Papakea Resort

3 stars
3543 Lower Honoapiliani Hwy, Lahaina, HI 96761
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
389 reviews
hawaii

very nice place clean good location grounds are beautiful staff very helpful and curtious. Will be... See full review

  • scoupe
  • May 28, 2014
Maui

It couldn't have been Better. I want to come back to stay at that exact room! See full review

  • Jazzy G
  • Apr 8, 2014
Beachfront paradise in Kaanapali with the luxury of condo living

Set upon 13 lush beachfront acres in west Maui's luxurious Kaanapali Beach, the Aston at Papakea Resort offers condo-style living in paradise. All units are equipped with a full kitchen, washer/dryer, private balcony and free Wi-Fi. The resort adds extra value with free guest parking, two swimming pools, two lighted tennis courts, two putting greens, barbecue areas and free yoga classes. Kids get their own brand of fun with Aston's activity club, Camp Kamaaina. Great shopping and dining are available throughout the area.

Highlights
  • Full kitchen, free parking and free in-room Wi-Fi
  • Kids activity club
  • Situated on Kaanapali Beach, one of Hawaii's best beaches and ocean views of neighboring islands and whales in winter
Location
The Aston at Papakea Resort sits oceanfront on the most fashionable stretch of Kaanapali Beach, just north of the popular snorkeling area Black Rock. Guests enjoy magnificent views of the islands of Molokai and Lanai, heavenly whale watching in winter and convenience to everything west Maui has to offer. Whalers Village is a few minutes away by car, with shopping and executive-chef restaurants such as Cane & Taro and Hula Grill.
Rooms
The Aston at Papakea Resort is a condo resort offering studios and one-, two- and three-bedroom units ranging from a spacious 454 square feet to 1,217 square feet. The three-bedroom condo accommodates up to eight people, perfect for the family or a group of friends. All units feature a private balcony, fully-equipped kitchen, air conditioning, washer/dryer, TV/VCR/DVD player and free high-speed Wi-Fi.
Dining
All Aston at Papakea Resort condos feature full kitchens, making dining in easy and affordable. Additionally, Kaanapali and its neighboring communities offer numerous cafes and restaurants.
Recreation
  • Two swimming pools
  • Two Jacuzzis
  • Two lighted tennis courts
  • Two 12-hole putting greens
  • Free yoga classes
  • Camp Kaanapali for kids
  • Golf (nearby)
Transportation
  • Kapalua West Maui Airport (1.9 mi/3.1 km)
  • Kahului Airport (28 mi/45 km)
Attractions
  • Whalers Village (2.1 mi/3.5 km)
  • Lahaina Town (5.2 mi/8.4 km)
  • Maui Ocean Center (19.8 mi/31.9 km)
Policies and fees
  • The hotel will undergo exterior renovation from 21 April to 3 November. Renovation works are from Monday to Friday, 8:30 AM to 5:00 PM. Work on Saturdays is possible but will be avoided unless necessary. No guest will be placed in the building that is being worked on.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Aston at Papakea Resort Rooms

One Bedroom Ocean Front Suite
One bedroom suite with queen bed and sofabed. Includes full bathroom, Complimentary High-Speed wireless access,lanai, iron/board, multiple closets, full kitchen, hair dryer, air conditioning, washer/dryer, cable TV and dataport.
Two Bedroom Ocean View Suite
Two bedroom suite with queen bed and 2 twin beds or 2 queen beds and sofabed. Includes 2 full bathrooms, Complimentary High-Speed wireless access, lanai, iron/board, multiple closets, full kitchen, hair dryer, air conditioning, washer/dryer, cable TV and dataport.
Studio Suite Garden View
Studio with queen or Murphy queen bed. Includes full bathroom, Complimentary High-Speed wireless Internet access, lanai, iron/board, kitchen, refrigerator, stove, microwave, coffee maker, hair dryer, air conditioning, washer/dryer, cable TV and dataport.
One Bedroom Ocean View Suite
One bedroom suite with queen bed and sofabed. Includes full bathroom, Complimentary High-Speed wireless access, lanai, iron/board, multiple closets, full kitchen, hair dryer, air conditioning, washer/dryer, cable TV and dataport.
Studio Suite Ocean View
Studio with queen or Murphy queen bed. Includes full bathroom, Complimentary High-Speed wireless access, lanai, iron/board, kitchen, refrigerator, stove, microwave, coffee maker, hair dryer, air conditioning, washer/dryer, cable TV and dataport.
One Bedroom Garden View Suite
One Bedroom Suite located on ground floor. Fully equipped kitchens and in-room washer/dryers for extra convenience. Private furnished lanai and spectacular garden views. Air-conditioned and complimentary WiFi. Approx 620sf.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Map

20.9524 -156.6867
Area served
Lahaina-Maui, HI
Nearby airports
OGG - Kahului and JHM - Kapalua
Area description
Located oceanfront in Kaanapali with championship golf courses, shopping and dining in the area. Activities on-site include shuffleboard and tennis with snorkeling, windsurfing, volleyball and more nearby.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (389)

Ratings and reviews for Aston at Papakea Resort

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
389 out of 389
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.4

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston at Papakea Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Going back to Hawaii again!!!
San Jose, CA
Apr 14, 2010

First Hawaii visit!!!!!

My family was active throughout the day with all that Maui had to offer. I found it nice to awake in and return to a quiet place for some R&R. The morning hotel room view was a huge rainbow connecting the two visible islands or Lanai and Molokai. The nightly hotel room view was always a sunset between Lanai and Molokai. Equally stunning!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Near the Papakea (short 5-mile drive)is a town named Lahaina. If you like the Santa Cruz or Monterey in California environment, then you'd love Lahaina. Next time I will stay on a beach hotel instead of the Papakea.

Review of Aston at Papakea Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Going back to Hawaii again!!!
San Jose, CA
Apr 14, 2010

First Hawaii visit!!!!!

My family was active throughout the day with all that Maui had to offer. I found it nice to awake in and return to a quiet place for some R&R. The morning hotel room view was a huge rainbow connecting the two visible islands or Lanai and Molokai. The nightly hotel room view was always a sunset between Lanai and Molokai. Equally stunning!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Near the Papakea (short 5-mile drive)is a town named Lahaina. If you like the Santa Cruz or Monterey in California environment, then you'd love Lahaina. Next time I will stay on a beach hotel instead of the Papakea.

Review of Aston at Papakea Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Boomers2
Indianapolis, IN
Mar 29, 2010

Peaceful, easy feeling!

Excellent, very helpful staff. Informative breakfast for new guests on the first morning highlighting attractions and things to do/see in the area. Great ocean views with many "whale sightings" just sitting on a chair in front of the hotel. While the room was small and could have used a little updating it was clean and conveniently located. The grounds, pools, and hot tub were lovely and well maintained. Loved the convenience of a fully equipped kitchenette to use as much or as little as needed AND enough supplies to get you started. Wonderful vacation!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Our favorite was the snorkel trip.

Review of Aston at Papakea Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Boomers2
Indianapolis, IN
Mar 29, 2010

Peaceful, easy feeling!

Excellent, very helpful staff. Informative breakfast for new guests on the first morning highlighting attractions and things to do/see in the area. Great ocean views with many "whale sightings" just sitting on a chair in front of the hotel. While the room was small and could have used a little updating it was clean and conveniently located. The grounds, pools, and hot tub were lovely and well maintained. Loved the convenience of a fully equipped kitchenette to use as much or as little as needed AND enough supplies to get you started. Wonderful vacation!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Our favorite was the snorkel trip.

Review of Aston at Papakea Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Saint Helens,Oregon
Mar 4, 2010

So much to love so little time....

We like Papakea and hope to come back and stay longer. If you want to meet your neighbors the sunsets on the beach are the place. Whale watching is great from here too. There is a fun and relaxing atmosphere of ALOHA around Papakea.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

I love the Maui Myth and Magic show called U'lalena, Warren and Annabells, and for Luau my favorite is Old Lahaina Luau.

Review of Aston at Papakea Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Saint Helens,Oregon
Mar 4, 2010

So much to love so little time....

We like Papakea and hope to come back and stay longer. If you want to meet your neighbors the sunsets on the beach are the place. Whale watching is great from here too. There is a fun and relaxing atmosphere of ALOHA around Papakea.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

I love the Maui Myth and Magic show called U'lalena, Warren and Annabells, and for Luau my favorite is Old Lahaina Luau.

Review of Aston at Papakea Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
St. Albert Alberta
Feb 3, 2010

Wonderful Time

We had 3 weeks and always felt at home with our ocean view main floor 1 br. We snorkled outside our room, scuba dived at Lanai, rod bikes down the Haleakala, whale watched, snorkled at Molekini. took the road north and the road to Hana on a Harley. Overall took it easy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

You need a car. If you can endure a timeshare presentation, we were able to compare what we got when we wanted with what they had to offer. It was worth $150 in discounts (great for Mama's Fish House)[...]

Review of Aston at Papakea Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
St. Albert Alberta
Feb 3, 2010

Wonderful Time

We had 3 weeks and always felt at home with our ocean view main floor 1 br. We snorkled outside our room, scuba dived at Lanai, rod bikes down the Haleakala, whale watched, snorkled at Molekini. took the road north and the road to Hana on a Harley. Overall took it easy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

You need a car. If you can endure a timeshare presentation, we were able to compare what we got when we wanted with what they had to offer. It was worth $150 in discounts (great for Mama's Fish House)[...]

Review of Aston at Papakea Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hawaii Joel
Seattle, WA
Dec 22, 2009

Great Resort on Maui

We go to Maui every year and tend to stay at budget-priced resorts. You get what you pay for and usually the hotels/resorts we stay at are not all that great but considering the price we pay and the fact that the hotel room really doesn't matter to us since we are in Hawaii it doesn't bother us. This resort was much different even though it was budget priced. We had an amazing 2 bedroom/2 bath ocean view room. We only booked a 1 bedroom so not sure why they gave us a bigger room. The unit was the cleanest we have ever had on any of the islands in Hawaii. A complete kitchen with everything you need to cook a few meals at the hotel without going to expensive restaurants every night. The resort grounds were immaculate, complete with 2 large swimming pools and 2 large spa's. Overall, the resort was quiet, the staff was friendly and we will absolutely stay here again when we visit Maui. We even got to see whales just by standing on the resort grounds near beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Make sure you book your activities early. Some activities like luau's and night shows sell out a few days in advance so be sure to stop by the hotel lobby and let the Activities desk help you book your events.

Review of Aston at Papakea Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hawaii Joel
Seattle, WA
Dec 22, 2009

Great Resort on Maui

We go to Maui every year and tend to stay at budget-priced resorts. You get what you pay for and usually the hotels/resorts we stay at are not all that great but considering the price we pay and the fact that the hotel room really doesn't matter to us since we are in Hawaii it doesn't bother us. This resort was much different even though it was budget priced. We had an amazing 2 bedroom/2 bath ocean view room. We only booked a 1 bedroom so not sure why they gave us a bigger room. The unit was the cleanest we have ever had on any of the islands in Hawaii. A complete kitchen with everything you need to cook a few meals at the hotel without going to expensive restaurants every night. The resort grounds were immaculate, complete with 2 large swimming pools and 2 large spa's. Overall, the resort was quiet, the staff was friendly and we will absolutely stay here again when we visit Maui. We even got to see whales just by standing on the resort grounds near beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Make sure you book your activities early. Some activities like luau's and night shows sell out a few days in advance so be sure to stop by the hotel lobby and let the Activities desk help you book your events.

Back to menu Return to top