$152 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 29, 2014 Check-out: Sep 1, 2014

Aston at Papakea Resort

3 stars
3543 Lower Honoapiliani Hwy, Lahaina, HI 96761
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
256 reviews
hawaii

very nice place clean good location grounds are beautiful staff very helpful and curtious. Will be... See full review

  • scoupe
  • May 28, 2014
Maui

It couldn't have been Better. I want to come back to stay at that exact room! See full review

  • Jazzy G
  • Apr 8, 2014
Beachfront paradise in Kaanapali with the luxury of condo living

Set upon 13 lush beachfront acres in west Maui's luxurious Kaanapali Beach, the Aston at Papakea Resort offers condo-style living in paradise. All units are equipped with a full kitchen, washer/dryer, private balcony and free Wi-Fi. The resort adds extra value with free guest parking, two swimming pools, two lighted tennis courts, two putting greens, barbecue areas and free yoga classes. Kids get their own brand of fun with Aston's activity club, Camp Kamaaina. Great shopping and dining are available throughout the area.

Highlights
  • Full kitchen, free parking and free in-room Wi-Fi
  • Kids activity club
  • Situated on Kaanapali Beach, one of Hawaii's best beaches and ocean views of neighboring islands and whales in winter
Location
The Aston at Papakea Resort sits oceanfront on the most fashionable stretch of Kaanapali Beach, just north of the popular snorkeling area Black Rock. Guests enjoy magnificent views of the islands of Molokai and Lanai, heavenly whale watching in winter and convenience to everything west Maui has to offer. Whalers Village is a few minutes away by car, with shopping and executive-chef restaurants such as Cane & Taro and Hula Grill.
Rooms
The Aston at Papakea Resort is a condo resort offering studios and one-, two- and three-bedroom units ranging from a spacious 454 square feet to 1,217 square feet. The three-bedroom condo accommodates up to eight people, perfect for the family or a group of friends. All units feature a private balcony, fully-equipped kitchen, air conditioning, washer/dryer, TV/VCR/DVD player and free high-speed Wi-Fi.
Dining
All Aston at Papakea Resort condos feature full kitchens, making dining in easy and affordable. Additionally, Kaanapali and its neighboring communities offer numerous cafes and restaurants.
Recreation
  • Two swimming pools
  • Two Jacuzzis
  • Two lighted tennis courts
  • Two 12-hole putting greens
  • Free yoga classes
  • Camp Kaanapali for kids
  • Golf (nearby)
Transportation
  • Kapalua West Maui Airport (1.9 mi/3.1 km)
  • Kahului Airport (28 mi/45 km)
Attractions
  • Whalers Village (2.1 mi/3.5 km)
  • Lahaina Town (5.2 mi/8.4 km)
  • Maui Ocean Center (19.8 mi/31.9 km)
Policies and fees
  • The hotel will undergo exterior renovation from 21 April to 3 November. Renovation works are from Monday to Friday, 8:30 AM to 5:00 PM. Work on Saturdays is possible but will be avoided unless necessary. No guest will be placed in the building that is being worked on.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

20.9524 -156.6867
Area served
Lahaina-Maui, HI
Nearby airports
OGG - Kahului and JHM - Kapalua
Area description
Located oceanfront in Kaanapali with championship golf courses, shopping and dining in the area. Activities on-site include shuffleboard and tennis with snorkeling, windsurfing, volleyball and more nearby.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Aston at Papakea Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5

Aston at Papakea Resort Rooms

One Bedroom Ocean Front Suite
One bedroom suite with queen bed and sofabed. Includes full bathroom, Complimentary High-Speed wireless access,lanai, iron/board, multiple closets, full kitchen, hair dryer, air conditioning, washer/dryer, cable TV and dataport.
Two Bedroom Ocean View Suite
Two bedroom suite with queen bed and 2 twin beds or 2 queen beds and sofabed. Includes 2 full bathrooms, Complimentary High-Speed wireless access, lanai, iron/board, multiple closets, full kitchen, hair dryer, air conditioning, washer/dryer, cable TV and dataport.
Studio Suite Garden View
Studio with queen or Murphy queen bed. Includes full bathroom, Complimentary High-Speed wireless Internet access, lanai, iron/board, kitchen, refrigerator, stove, microwave, coffee maker, hair dryer, air conditioning, washer/dryer, cable TV and dataport.
One Bedroom Ocean View Suite
One bedroom suite with queen bed and sofabed. Includes full bathroom, Complimentary High-Speed wireless access, lanai, iron/board, multiple closets, full kitchen, hair dryer, air conditioning, washer/dryer, cable TV and dataport.
Studio Suite Ocean View
Studio with queen or Murphy queen bed. Includes full bathroom, Complimentary High-Speed wireless access, lanai, iron/board, kitchen, refrigerator, stove, microwave, coffee maker, hair dryer, air conditioning, washer/dryer, cable TV and dataport.
One Bedroom Garden View Suite
One Bedroom Suite located on ground floor. Fully equipped kitchens and in-room washer/dryers for extra convenience. Private furnished lanai and spectacular garden views. Air-conditioned and complimentary WiFi. Approx 620sf.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (256)

Ratings and reviews for Aston at Papakea Resort

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
256 out of 256
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.4

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston at Papakea Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boise, Idaho
Jul 2, 2009

Thank you

Everything was great except the bed was a little uncomfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Don't miss Warren and Annabelle show

Review of Aston at Papakea Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jdamred
Moorpark, CA
Jun 27, 2009

Great view, good value ($160/day w/car)

We did not spend much time at the hotel. We had room B305. The sunsets were spectacular. The room is beginning to show some wear, but the value is great. The pools looked nice, but we enjoy the beach more. We enjoyed snorkeling (beach near Westin Kaanapali Villas, 1 mi south), ziplining (Kaanapali/Lahaina), surf lessons (Maui Wave Riders), submarine ride. We all enjoyed our clockwise trip around the island through Hana.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Snorkeling the reef near the Westin Kaanapali Villas is great, about 1 mi south of Papakea.

Review of Aston at Papakea Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
great dave
austin tx
Jun 22, 2009

vacation

great service. beautiful room. great location. will stay there again next time for sure

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Not Applicable

check happy hour and early bird dining, great selections at great prices

Review of Aston at Papakea Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CoachRon
Palm Springs
Jun 22, 2009

Papakea is a great value

Just a great place to relax, nice views from every room I've stayed in, but oceanfront is always best. Can use papakea to make your plans for snorkeling, ziplines, sunrise at Haleakala, sail to Lanai island, etc. Two good sized pools and jacuzzi's. Is fun to watch everyone come out and sit and watch the wonderful sunsets.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Not Applicable

MaMa's Fish House. Exquisite food and service, with a steep price though. Dinner for 3, no wine but a couple cocktails, $300. But it is THE experience on the island. Be prepared to pay a lot more for food you buy in the supermarkets there. Some items are about double stateside.

Review of Aston at Papakea Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Mission Viejo, CA
Jun 19, 2009

Best stay on Maui!

This place far exceeded our expectations. Check in was easy and they surprised us with a free upgrade to an ocean front studio! We loved our little home for those 10 days. Decor is old and typical, but the studio was well equipped with full kitchen and stackable washer and dryer in closet. It was a huge plus that we were able to wash in our room, we didn't have to bring back dirty clothes in our luggage! Housekeeping did need prompting to refill some items such as dish soap and would sometimes not sweep the tile floors (you bring in a lot of sand). Other than that we were happy with the service. Also, parking is not near if you are staying in one of the ocean front buildings. It's a 3-4 minute walk across the lawn to get to the parking lot. On the other hand it is free to park, so that makes up for it. Also, as other reviews note there are stray cats in the parking lot (not sure why)which I was concerned about because I am allergic to them, but they are not aggressive and were never really a problem, just unsightly perhaps. Note: there is no beach in front of property, but you can snorkel in the early morning as the tide is low. But as anyone who has been to Maui knows, your missing A LOT of you only plan to be at your property's beach. There are soooo many stunning beaches nearby, that to us it was not important for there to be no beach. Check out nearby Fleming Beach and Napili Bay for great swimming and snorkeling. We plan to stay here again next time we visit our precious Maui!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

If your on a budget, visit Napili Market (5-10 min drive)for freshly made grab-n-go breakfast and lunch items as well as the Honolua Store (near the Ritz). Food is quite expensive on the island and it's easy to get ripped off for the quality of food.

Review of Aston at Papakea Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PhilBro
Eagle River, Alaska
Jun 18, 2009

Great time in Papakea

Great location and quite with a great view. Nice pool area with Bar BQ grills, which we used almost every night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Lahaina is a short drive away with great shopping and resturants.

Review of Aston at Papakea Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
The Hartlines
Oregon
Jun 16, 2009

Really great place!!

We had a fantastic time!! Really a perfect location, only about 4 miles to the action on front street!! I think that this was our best vacation!! We had a great one bedroom unit with a full kitchen and washer and dryer. We didn't ever cook here because we love to try out new restaurants when we are in a new place, but we could have cooked! That was a great option! Loved it being right on the water and having activities like shuffle board and putting green. Just an overall great experience!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

If you drive down to front street there is a restaurant called mcgillicuddy's and it has great deals nightly! They also have a good happy hour for some discounted drinks! This was our favorite place to eat while there!! Also a parking hint... right behind the Hard Rock there is a lot and if you are there for only two hours or less you can get your ticket validated in the abc store there. You just have to buy something small. But totally worth it for the free two hour parking!! And there is always a spot to park! There is also 3 hr parking along the street, but it's luck of the draw if you find a spot.

Review of Aston at Papakea Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Orange County, CA
Jun 13, 2009

Excellent Hotel

Excellent hotel. Excellent Location. This is my second time here, and I won't stay anywhere else. Spend the extra money, and get an ocean front room. You won't regret it!!! My only complaint is that the pool opens at 9:00 a.m., a bit late for a hotel catering to families.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Aston at Papakea Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
WA
Jun 11, 2009

Great place to stay, quiet & peaceful

Good place to stay, we had a quiet and peaceful time. The owners of the unit upgraded it nicely and it was a treat to stay there. The staff upgraded our room before we arrived and we ended up right on the water (NICE!). The grounds were kept well and the room was clean. The cleaning staff as well as the front desk staff did a great job.Something to mention, make sure you know who manages the unit. Only 1/2 or so of the units can be serviced by [...] (the front desk and the staff onsite). The others are managed by outside companies as these are individual condo units.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Take advantage of the 1st morning activity presentation by the folks there. They give a good presentation and can save you some good $$$.

Review of Aston at Papakea Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TnL
Houston, TX
Jun 8, 2009

Great Location and An Excellent Value

.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top

Change search