$189 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 19, 2015 Check-out: Apr 22, 2015

Aston at Papakea Resort

3 stars
View map of 3543 Lower Honoapiliani Hwy, Lahaina, HI 96761

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Aston at Papakea Resort

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
259 out of 259
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.4

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston at Papakea Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dorn
Business
Honolulu
Apr 4, 2014

Good for everyone

It was a perfect place to stay. Our main goal was to whale watch and we did.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at Papakea Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Thomas D.
Business
Reno, NV
Feb 23, 2014

Highly Recommend

Even though this is an older property, the grounds were as good as any of the high end places we saw. The buildings are older but kept up really well. Only downside I must note: the parking is really, really tight. If we would go out to dinner, and return later in the evening, it was difficult if not impossible to find parking near our building. Otherwise, I highly recommend this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The restaurant next door is great for breakfast.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at Papakea Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sunworship
Business
ripon ca
Jan 24, 2014

great time

we go to the papakea every year and always have great service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

fish market ---excellent fish tacos and soups

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at Papakea Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Shannona
Business
California, USA
Dec 15, 2013

Overflowing Aloha Spirit

This is my 2nd time staying at Papakea! Just when I thought my 1st experience could not get any better, my 2 time has been extraordinary! I was upgraded to an ocean front room, literally RIGHT ON THE WATER, upon my arrival..at no extra charge. Each day, the maid service was very sweet to be cautious of my privacy, yet made sure I had fresh towels and lotions everyday. The staff seriously overflows with Aloha spirit! I took Mahalo cards and a flower lei to each of the ones that gave me such over the top service upon my departure. My little 4 day "work" trip was more comfort and beauty than I ever imagined! (So much so, that upon being told I may get to work on Maui permanently, I went down to request a realtor card about purchasing a unit there. I LoVe it here THAT much) Mahalo with all my heart for the service and kindness you shared with me. So grateful! See you soon!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at Papakea Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Pat in the hat
Business
Lemoore, California
Nov 29, 2013

Average was what we were looking for

The Papakea was an average place to stay. I think it had potential for more but their were some downsides. For starters the beach access was nothing more than some steps that brought you to more rock than beach but it is Hawaii so a sandy beach wasn't far. One of the buildings was under construction so that made for an eye sore. Our neighbors had a screaming child that never stopped. It is hard to relax when a child is constantly screaming but what can you do? The resort was full so they couldn't move us, you can't kick the other people out, and the trip was pre-paid so we weren't leaving. The room had a courtyard view but the ocean was within sight so that was nice. The room itself was quaint but needed a place to put your bags that was a bit more accessible, the shower backed up, and the kitchenette was stocked with a hodgepodge of cutlery which was dull. The air conditioner/heater was blocked by the TV stand but the AC unit would easily be moved to the other window. Some of the staff was friendly but several times I called to ask a question and no one would answer so I had to walk to the office for a simple question. Also, the DVD rental they provided gave us the wrong movie, a broken movie, and finally one that somewhat worked so that makes a relaxing night a pain to go back and forth. The resort didn't take responsibility for it because the DVD machine is provided by an outside source. The great thing is that you are on an island so everything is close. The Papakea was clean and apart from some poor luck with the screaming kid and construction I would go back. The small inconveniences aren't big issues. We didn't use the concierge service because we already had our trip planned but one was available. My wife and I never made it to the tennis courts due to lack of time but they looked well maintained. Overall, it was an average place to stay but that is what we budgeted for so it met our needs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

There are plenty of places to rent snorkel gear nearby and there is a real great place to go about four miles north of the hotel called Kapalua Bay.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at Papakea Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Da Neko
Business
Highland, UT
Nov 9, 2013

Great Place to Stay

We were looking for a relatively inexpensive place to stay while we explored Maui. The studio room we got was just perfect for the role. Washer/Drier, full kitchen with a fridge made staying for a week easy. We packed light knowing that we could wash our clothes which made it easier to pack gifts and tourist stuff home. Having a full kitchen and fridge meant not having to eat out all the time and having snacks readily available. A/C was noisy, but we didn't need it in November since the trade winds made for nice cross ventilation and kept the room cool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Check out "Da Kitchen" or "Zippys" in Kahului for some inexpensive food with a great local flavor (that's where the locals go).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at Papakea Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
NY Vacation Traveler
Business
New York, NY
Oct 22, 2013

Decent Hotel

Decent hotel, good location. Not much service staff available.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of nearby shops

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at Papakea Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Diab
Business
San Diego, CA
Sep 30, 2013

Very relaxing

Quiet, well maintained area. Walking distance to stores and several options for eating. Did need to walk or drive to a sandy beach area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

ABC store has a wonderful deli.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at Papakea Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
The Beaver's
Business
Pueblo, CO
Sep 27, 2013

Excellent!!!!

We stood here for our honeymoon, and it was everything I ever dreamed of. The staff were friendly, nice location right on the beach next to shops and attractions. We had a wonderful time and our room was clean with everything you could think of. I was really excited to have a washer & dryer along with a full kitchen. I would recommend this place to anyone who is interested in a relaxing and luxoruis stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at Papakea Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kingsley1
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Sep 24, 2013

Escape

It was a great hotel, though security can loosen up a bit. Only real downside was that they were doing construction during our stay. But love the weekly yoga classes and the friendliness of the concierge/house staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top