$252 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 5, 2015 Check-out: Mar 6, 2015

Aston at Papakea Resort

3 stars
View map of 3543 Lower Honoapiliani Hwy, Lahaina, HI 96761

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
259 reviews
family trip

I enjoyed my stay my overall there was excellent even though we had a few plumbing issues that... See full review

  • Lisa
  • Jan 16, 2015
Awesome Family resort

This was our first trip to Hawaii. Booked a ocean view room and was amazing. From the time we... See full review

  • VISHAL D.
  • Dec 24, 2014
Beachfront paradise in Kaanapali with the luxury of condo living

Set upon 13 lush beachfront acres in west Maui's luxurious Kaanapali Beach, the Aston at Papakea Resort offers condo-style living in paradise. All units are equipped with a full kitchen, washer/dryer, private balcony and free Wi-Fi. The resort adds extra value with free guest parking, two swimming pools, two lighted tennis courts, two putting greens, barbecue areas and free yoga classes. Kids get their own brand of fun with Aston's activity club, Camp Kamaaina. Great shopping and dining are available throughout the area.

Highlights
  • Full kitchen, free parking and free in-room Wi-Fi
  • Kids activity club
  • Situated on Kaanapali Beach, one of Hawaii's best beaches and ocean views of neighboring islands and whales in winter
Location
The Aston at Papakea Resort sits oceanfront on the most fashionable stretch of Kaanapali Beach, just north of the popular snorkeling area Black Rock. Guests enjoy magnificent views of the islands of Molokai and Lanai, heavenly whale watching in winter and convenience to everything west Maui has to offer. Whalers Village is a few minutes away by car, with shopping and executive-chef restaurants such as Cane & Taro and Hula Grill.
Rooms
The Aston at Papakea Resort is a condo resort offering studios and one-, two- and three-bedroom units ranging from a spacious 454 square feet to 1,217 square feet. The three-bedroom condo accommodates up to eight people, perfect for the family or a group of friends. All units feature a private balcony, fully-equipped kitchen, air conditioning, washer/dryer, TV/VCR/DVD player and free high-speed Wi-Fi.
Dining
All Aston at Papakea Resort condos feature full kitchens, making dining in easy and affordable. Additionally, Kaanapali and its neighboring communities offer numerous cafes and restaurants.
Recreation
  • Two swimming pools
  • Two Jacuzzis
  • Two lighted tennis courts
  • Two 12-hole putting greens
  • Free yoga classes
  • Camp Kaanapali for kids
  • Golf (nearby)
Transportation
  • Kapalua West Maui Airport (1.9 mi/3.1 km)
  • Kahului Airport (28 mi/45 km)
Attractions
  • Whalers Village (2.1 mi/3.5 km)
  • Lahaina Town (5.2 mi/8.4 km)
  • Maui Ocean Center (19.8 mi/31.9 km)
Policies and fees
  • The hotel will undergo exterior renovation from 21 April to 3 November. Renovation works are from Monday to Friday, 8:30 AM to 5:00 PM. Work on Saturdays is possible but will be avoided unless necessary. No guest will be placed in the building that is being worked on.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Aston at Papakea Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Aston at Papakea Resort Rooms

One Bedroom Ocean Front Suite
One bedroom suite with queen bed and sofabed. Includes full bathroom, Complimentary High-Speed wireless access,lanai, iron/board, multiple closets, full kitchen, hair dryer, air conditioning, washer/dryer, cable TV and dataport.
Two Bedroom Ocean View Suite
Two bedroom suite with queen bed and 2 twin beds or 2 queen beds and sofabed. Includes 2 full bathrooms, Complimentary High-Speed wireless access, lanai, iron/board, multiple closets, full kitchen, hair dryer, air conditioning, washer/dryer, cable TV and dataport.
Studio Suite Garden View
Studio with queen or Murphy queen bed. Includes full bathroom, Complimentary High-Speed wireless Internet access, lanai, iron/board, kitchen, refrigerator, stove, microwave, coffee maker, hair dryer, air conditioning, washer/dryer, cable TV and dataport.
One Bedroom Ocean View Suite
One bedroom suite with queen bed and sofabed. Includes full bathroom, Complimentary High-Speed wireless access, lanai, iron/board, multiple closets, full kitchen, hair dryer, air conditioning, washer/dryer, cable TV and dataport.
Studio Suite Ocean View
Studio with queen or Murphy queen bed. Includes full bathroom, Complimentary High-Speed wireless access, lanai, iron/board, kitchen, refrigerator, stove, microwave, coffee maker, hair dryer, air conditioning, washer/dryer, cable TV and dataport.
One Bedroom Garden View Suite
One Bedroom Suite located on ground floor. Fully equipped kitchens and in-room washer/dryers for extra convenience. Private furnished lanai and spectacular garden views. Air-conditioned and complimentary WiFi. Approx 620sf.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (259)

Ratings and reviews for Aston at Papakea Resort

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
259 out of 259
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.4

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston at Papakea Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
travelingsue
Business
Stockton, Ca
Feb 16, 2011

Great Trip

We mostly enjoyed the wonderful weather and the fabulous view from our condo. We did a lot of shopping and eating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at Papakea Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Not quite
Business
Vancouver, BC
Feb 13, 2011

Disappointed

We booked an one bedroom "ocean view" and was assigned unit C303 that has a building view and a glimpse of the ocean if standing and peering out the balcony. Don't be mislead by "ocean view", we were informed at check-in that "ocean view" means second level or higher and that units at Aston are graded 1 - 3 and ours is graded as "1" - meaning the "best". If it was the "best", I dreaded to know what "3" - the worst looks like." Unit C303 bedroom was located almost beside the garbage cans area, parking lot and elevator which was very noisy early in the morning and made our stay not very relaxing. The mattress was lumpy and sagging and the kitchen was ill equipped, with very poor quality kitchen knives and utensils, pots and pans. The overall feel of this unit was dusty, cluttered with faked plants, pictures, and outdated. The garden and overall appearance of the buildings are well-maintained. Good location to shopping and tours if those are your interest but far from any kind of good hiking trails. The weather and people in Maui are great! We will definitely return to Maui but not too sure about returning to Papakea and certainly not to unit C303!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

If going for a Luau, choose a sit-down type of Luau instead a buffet-style; cost more but worth it. We went to one on Front Street, believe it was called "Feast on LeiLei". Also, go to Maui during the Whale Season! and go on a Whale Watch Tour - a great experience!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at Papakea Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Greenman
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Feb 11, 2011

Great Stay!

Stayed at the resort for 10 days. Staff was very friendly. Activities people were there to sign you up right away for that special excersion. Was very quiet and relaxing as well. Other travelers there were friendly amnd helpful

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Use the on site activities people. There are great and helpful in finding what you would like to do and how to get around Maui.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at Papakea Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
ripon ca
Feb 9, 2011

great vacation

This is or 3rd time at the Papakea. It's a condo style place but its quiet and relaxing. Rooms are clean and there are 2 pools, No fighting for lounge chairs. Shopping center across street for all your needs. Lahina is about 6 miles down the road. We watched the whales from the property. We will definitely return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to the Warren and Annabelle magic show in Lahina. Get reservations before you go. We did the show only.The dinner shows looks good also but we to dinner at Leilani's early bird dinner first.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at Papakea Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
seattlegirl
Business
seattle
Jan 30, 2011

maui

this was a good place

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at Papakea Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Christine 83
Business
Columbia, Missouri
Jan 18, 2011

Great for us!

This was my first time in Hawaii and it was wonderful! After staying in Honolulu for a couple nights it was even better after arriving in Maui. Maui has a slower more relaxed pace of life (if that is possible...it is all Hawaii). Our room was very close to the water and despite not being "Ocean front" our "Ocean view" was perfect! Our room had everything we needed and was nicely located by downtown Lahaina where we spent many evenings. The staff was very friendly, the room was clean (a bit dated but who cares!), and the grounds were beautiful. The pool/hot tub area was very clean and never crowded. The kitchen area was nice to have for keeping beach drinks as well as storing breakfast foods (cheaper than going out to eat every morning!). Overall, this hotel was everything we needed without the big price tag. If we go back we will definately consider going here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at Papakea Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego
Jan 11, 2011

Maui Papakea resort

We were watching our son play in a professional golf event and relaxing with family and friends. We loved the location because it was near Kapalua, the grocery, restaurants and strip centers are near by for shopping. There were beautiful views of the ocean and pool, mini putting practice, jacuzzi. We like having the kitchen to prepare food so we don't need to eat out every meal. It is very convenient and the staff was always helpful if we had any questions or needed anything. I love the FREE internet!! don't ever stop that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Stores are close by for groceries, coffee, small restaurants. But if you want to go to Lahaina, I recommend a rental car to get around to other places. But overall you are very self contained if you don't want to do anything but enjoy the facility.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at Papakea Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Blas
Business
Santa Barbara, CA
Dec 31, 2010

Great Stay at Papakea

Missed the entrance because the sign has no lighting and we arrived at night. Great location and beautiful, ample grounds. Staying on ground floor, we had two entrances... one from the patio. Drove to Lahaina several times as well as in the other direction. Troy was very helpful in setting up several of our excursions, including a full-day trip to Hana. Pacific Drums Luau at the Hyatt was wonderful!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Dinner at Mamma's Fish House in Akia was great, in a beautiful setting and attentive service.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at Papakea Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Blas
Business
Santa Barbara, CA
Dec 30, 2010

Wonderful Stay!

Overall, the hotel and garden-facing rooms were very nice. We really appreciated being able to step from our patio onto the beautifully kept grounds rather than taking an elevator in one of those high-rise "grand" hotels. We found the help especially friendly and the ABC store next door is a great plus! Just wish housekeeping was a little more efficient. We'd use this hotel again and not go the full-luxury route.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

We did the whole tourist thing and David, the driver for the Hana Road trip, was Excellent!! Lots of history, flora and fauna info.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at Papakea Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Riverside, CA
Dec 24, 2010

Very Nice Hotel

This was a very nice resort for the price. Well kept, but it does need a few updates. Rooms have amazing views and employees were very courteous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Drive to Lahaina for awesome night life.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top