$169 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 5, 2014 Check-out: Dec 8, 2014

Aston at Papakea Resort

3 stars
3543 Lower Honoapiliani Hwy, Lahaina, HI 96761
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
255 reviews
fun

Great place to stay, would stay there again.. Nice place See full review

  • hammersjeep
  • Sep 8, 2014
hawaii

very nice place clean good location grounds are beautiful staff very helpful and curtious. Will be... See full review

  • scoupe
  • May 28, 2014
Beachfront paradise in Kaanapali with the luxury of condo living

Set upon 13 lush beachfront acres in west Maui's luxurious Kaanapali Beach, the Aston at Papakea Resort offers condo-style living in paradise. All units are equipped with a full kitchen, washer/dryer, private balcony and free Wi-Fi. The resort adds extra value with free guest parking, two swimming pools, two lighted tennis courts, two putting greens, barbecue areas and free yoga classes. Kids get their own brand of fun with Aston's activity club, Camp Kamaaina. Great shopping and dining are available throughout the area.

Highlights
  • Full kitchen, free parking and free in-room Wi-Fi
  • Kids activity club
  • Situated on Kaanapali Beach, one of Hawaii's best beaches and ocean views of neighboring islands and whales in winter
Location
The Aston at Papakea Resort sits oceanfront on the most fashionable stretch of Kaanapali Beach, just north of the popular snorkeling area Black Rock. Guests enjoy magnificent views of the islands of Molokai and Lanai, heavenly whale watching in winter and convenience to everything west Maui has to offer. Whalers Village is a few minutes away by car, with shopping and executive-chef restaurants such as Cane & Taro and Hula Grill.
Rooms
The Aston at Papakea Resort is a condo resort offering studios and one-, two- and three-bedroom units ranging from a spacious 454 square feet to 1,217 square feet. The three-bedroom condo accommodates up to eight people, perfect for the family or a group of friends. All units feature a private balcony, fully-equipped kitchen, air conditioning, washer/dryer, TV/VCR/DVD player and free high-speed Wi-Fi.
Dining
All Aston at Papakea Resort condos feature full kitchens, making dining in easy and affordable. Additionally, Kaanapali and its neighboring communities offer numerous cafes and restaurants.
Recreation
  • Two swimming pools
  • Two Jacuzzis
  • Two lighted tennis courts
  • Two 12-hole putting greens
  • Free yoga classes
  • Camp Kaanapali for kids
  • Golf (nearby)
Transportation
  • Kapalua West Maui Airport (1.9 mi/3.1 km)
  • Kahului Airport (28 mi/45 km)
Attractions
  • Whalers Village (2.1 mi/3.5 km)
  • Lahaina Town (5.2 mi/8.4 km)
  • Maui Ocean Center (19.8 mi/31.9 km)
Policies and fees
  • The hotel will undergo exterior renovation from 21 April to 3 November. Renovation works are from Monday to Friday, 8:30 AM to 5:00 PM. Work on Saturdays is possible but will be avoided unless necessary. No guest will be placed in the building that is being worked on.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

20.9524 -156.6867
Area served
Lahaina-Maui, HI
Nearby airports
OGG - Kahului and JHM - Kapalua
Area description
Located oceanfront in Kaanapali with championship golf courses, shopping and dining in the area. Activities on-site include shuffleboard and tennis with snorkeling, windsurfing, volleyball and more nearby.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Aston at Papakea Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5

Aston at Papakea Resort Rooms

One Bedroom Ocean Front Suite
One bedroom suite with queen bed and sofabed. Includes full bathroom, Complimentary High-Speed wireless access,lanai, iron/board, multiple closets, full kitchen, hair dryer, air conditioning, washer/dryer, cable TV and dataport.
Two Bedroom Ocean View Suite
Two bedroom suite with queen bed and 2 twin beds or 2 queen beds and sofabed. Includes 2 full bathrooms, Complimentary High-Speed wireless access, lanai, iron/board, multiple closets, full kitchen, hair dryer, air conditioning, washer/dryer, cable TV and dataport.
Studio Suite Garden View
Studio with queen or Murphy queen bed. Includes full bathroom, Complimentary High-Speed wireless Internet access, lanai, iron/board, kitchen, refrigerator, stove, microwave, coffee maker, hair dryer, air conditioning, washer/dryer, cable TV and dataport.
One Bedroom Ocean View Suite
One bedroom suite with queen bed and sofabed. Includes full bathroom, Complimentary High-Speed wireless access, lanai, iron/board, multiple closets, full kitchen, hair dryer, air conditioning, washer/dryer, cable TV and dataport.
Studio Suite Ocean View
Studio with queen or Murphy queen bed. Includes full bathroom, Complimentary High-Speed wireless access, lanai, iron/board, kitchen, refrigerator, stove, microwave, coffee maker, hair dryer, air conditioning, washer/dryer, cable TV and dataport.
One Bedroom Garden View Suite
One Bedroom Suite located on ground floor. Fully equipped kitchens and in-room washer/dryers for extra convenience. Private furnished lanai and spectacular garden views. Air-conditioned and complimentary WiFi. Approx 620sf.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (255)

Ratings and reviews for Aston at Papakea Resort

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
255 out of 255
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.4

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston at Papakea Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Moorhead, MN
Mar 25, 2011

Beautiful grounds

We had a very pleasant stay at Papakea resort. Our oceanfront room was just 12 steps to the ocean. It was a great place to base from. We were on the go a lot but when we did have down time it was a very peaceful, comfortable resort to come back to. It was quieter there than I expected. Our condo could have been updated but it was clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

We rented a car so we went where we wanted but it was nice to have a grocery store, strip mall and conveinence store so close by. We could have stayed there without the car.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at Papakea Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
G-ma & G-pa
Business
Idaho
Mar 24, 2011

Great place to spend a 2 week vacation

3rd time staying at this facility....great experience each time. Nice accomodations, superior staff, always helpful. Beautiful ocean view from our lanai, saw the whales several times each day during our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at Papakea Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tsunami Randy
Business
Smalltown Missouri
Mar 19, 2011

Right at home

Hotel personnel were very friendly and helpful. Our room was excellent, clean, and everything we were hoping for, a beautiful view over the garden area expanding on to the Pacific where we viewed whales every morning. It was a nice walk south on the uncrowded beach to do some snorkeling and swimming. The only drawback is it is a 10 mile drive to Lahaina for dining out, however the barbecue grills around the pool areas were very nice, well kept a great place to visit with other guests. Front desk was very helpful and provided good maps for evacuation for the tsunami.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at Papakea Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mother - daughter team
Business
Maui
Mar 7, 2011

Relaxing getaway

We had a car for the island so it was great to be able to get around. We did some tours, layed in the beach, did some scouting and just overall relaxed. The resort was good but there were no restaurants on site so we always had to go out for food when we weren't making in our room. There was grocery store very close by. Our room was also dated as they are individually owned. Could use some updated colors of paint. As we walked around the resort we could see in the other rooms that there were newer kitchens and modernized for the price we were paying. Also the resort didn't have an exercise rm and if I wanted to use one, I had to go next door and pay $10 per day:(

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

You can take a bus back into Lahina from the resort but it is easier with a car. Once in Lahina there is all kinds of choice of dining, shopping and recreations

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at Papakea Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
WotC
Business
Seattle, CA
Feb 23, 2011

Mixed feelings

They had some miscommunication with Orbitz and gave us a garden view room when we had booked an ocean view room. They made us stay one night there and moved us to an ocean view room the next day. The garden view was bad - old appliances and bed. The ocean view room was fantastic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at Papakea Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Scottsbluff, NE
Feb 20, 2011

Great facilities

Great time at Papakea resort. Some rooms need updating but all clean. Beds comfortable. Great location and facilities including bbq grills, pools and putting greens. Great value for the price. Everything great except bathroom needs updating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

If you love to bbq and bring a putter for the putting greens and love to do these things all day it is a great way to spend a vacation along with the pools and the beach it can save you a lot in paradise.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at Papakea Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
travelingsue
Business
Stockton, Ca
Feb 16, 2011

Great Trip

We mostly enjoyed the wonderful weather and the fabulous view from our condo. We did a lot of shopping and eating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at Papakea Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Not quite
Business
Vancouver, BC
Feb 13, 2011

Disappointed

We booked an one bedroom "ocean view" and was assigned unit C303 that has a building view and a glimpse of the ocean if standing and peering out the balcony. Don't be mislead by "ocean view", we were informed at check-in that "ocean view" means second level or higher and that units at Aston are graded 1 - 3 and ours is graded as "1" - meaning the "best". If it was the "best", I dreaded to know what "3" - the worst looks like." Unit C303 bedroom was located almost beside the garbage cans area, parking lot and elevator which was very noisy early in the morning and made our stay not very relaxing. The mattress was lumpy and sagging and the kitchen was ill equipped, with very poor quality kitchen knives and utensils, pots and pans. The overall feel of this unit was dusty, cluttered with faked plants, pictures, and outdated. The garden and overall appearance of the buildings are well-maintained. Good location to shopping and tours if those are your interest but far from any kind of good hiking trails. The weather and people in Maui are great! We will definitely return to Maui but not too sure about returning to Papakea and certainly not to unit C303!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

If going for a Luau, choose a sit-down type of Luau instead a buffet-style; cost more but worth it. We went to one on Front Street, believe it was called "Feast on LeiLei". Also, go to Maui during the Whale Season! and go on a Whale Watch Tour - a great experience!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at Papakea Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Greenman
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Feb 11, 2011

Great Stay!

Stayed at the resort for 10 days. Staff was very friendly. Activities people were there to sign you up right away for that special excersion. Was very quiet and relaxing as well. Other travelers there were friendly amnd helpful

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Use the on site activities people. There are great and helpful in finding what you would like to do and how to get around Maui.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at Papakea Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
ripon ca
Feb 9, 2011

great vacation

This is or 3rd time at the Papakea. It's a condo style place but its quiet and relaxing. Rooms are clean and there are 2 pools, No fighting for lounge chairs. Shopping center across street for all your needs. Lahina is about 6 miles down the road. We watched the whales from the property. We will definitely return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to the Warren and Annabelle magic show in Lahina. Get reservations before you go. We did the show only.The dinner shows looks good also but we to dinner at Leilani's early bird dinner first.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top