$161 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 4, 2015 Check-out: Sep 5, 2015

Aston at Papakea Resort

3 stars
View map of 3543 Lower Honoapiliani Hwy, Lahaina, HI 96761

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Aston at Papakea Resort

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
232 out of 232
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.3

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston at Papakea Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
G-ma & G-pa
Couples
Idaho
Mar 24, 2011

Great place to spend a 2 week vacation

3rd time staying at this facility....great experience each time. Nice accomodations, superior staff, always helpful. Beautiful ocean view from our lanai, saw the whales several times each day during our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Aston at Papakea Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mother - daughter team
Couples
Maui
Mar 7, 2011

Relaxing getaway

We had a car for the island so it was great to be able to get around. We did some tours, layed in the beach, did some scouting and just overall relaxed. The resort was good but there were no restaurants on site so we always had to go out for food when we weren't making in our room. There was grocery store very close by. Our room was also dated as they are individually owned. Could use some updated colors of paint. As we walked around the resort we could see in the other rooms that there were newer kitchens and modernized for the price we were paying. Also the resort didn't have an exercise rm and if I wanted to use one, I had to go next door and pay $10 per day:(

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

You can take a bus back into Lahina from the resort but it is easier with a car. Once in Lahina there is all kinds of choice of dining, shopping and recreations

Review of Aston at Papakea Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
WotC
Couples
Seattle, CA
Feb 23, 2011

Mixed feelings

They had some miscommunication with Orbitz and gave us a garden view room when we had booked an ocean view room. They made us stay one night there and moved us to an ocean view room the next day. The garden view was bad - old appliances and bed. The ocean view room was fantastic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Aston at Papakea Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Scottsbluff, NE
Feb 20, 2011

Great facilities

Great time at Papakea resort. Some rooms need updating but all clean. Beds comfortable. Great location and facilities including bbq grills, pools and putting greens. Great value for the price. Everything great except bathroom needs updating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

If you love to bbq and bring a putter for the putting greens and love to do these things all day it is a great way to spend a vacation along with the pools and the beach it can save you a lot in paradise.

Review of Aston at Papakea Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
travelingsue
Couples
Stockton, Ca
Feb 16, 2011

Great Trip

We mostly enjoyed the wonderful weather and the fabulous view from our condo. We did a lot of shopping and eating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Aston at Papakea Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Not quite
Couples
Vancouver, BC
Feb 13, 2011

Disappointed

We booked an one bedroom "ocean view" and was assigned unit C303 that has a building view and a glimpse of the ocean if standing and peering out the balcony. Don't be mislead by "ocean view", we were informed at check-in that "ocean view" means second level or higher and that units at Aston are graded 1 - 3 and ours is graded as "1" - meaning the "best". If it was the "best", I dreaded to know what "3" - the worst looks like." Unit C303 bedroom was located almost beside the garbage cans area, parking lot and elevator which was very noisy early in the morning and made our stay not very relaxing. The mattress was lumpy and sagging and the kitchen was ill equipped, with very poor quality kitchen knives and utensils, pots and pans. The overall feel of this unit was dusty, cluttered with faked plants, pictures, and outdated. The garden and overall appearance of the buildings are well-maintained. Good location to shopping and tours if those are your interest but far from any kind of good hiking trails. The weather and people in Maui are great! We will definitely return to Maui but not too sure about returning to Papakea and certainly not to unit C303!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

If going for a Luau, choose a sit-down type of Luau instead a buffet-style; cost more but worth it. We went to one on Front Street, believe it was called "Feast on LeiLei". Also, go to Maui during the Whale Season! and go on a Whale Watch Tour - a great experience!

Review of Aston at Papakea Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
ripon ca
Feb 9, 2011

great vacation

This is or 3rd time at the Papakea. It's a condo style place but its quiet and relaxing. Rooms are clean and there are 2 pools, No fighting for lounge chairs. Shopping center across street for all your needs. Lahina is about 6 miles down the road. We watched the whales from the property. We will definitely return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to the Warren and Annabelle magic show in Lahina. Get reservations before you go. We did the show only.The dinner shows looks good also but we to dinner at Leilani's early bird dinner first.

Review of Aston at Papakea Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
seattlegirl
Family
seattle
Jan 30, 2011

maui

this was a good place

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Aston at Papakea Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
San Diego
Jan 11, 2011

Maui Papakea resort

We were watching our son play in a professional golf event and relaxing with family and friends. We loved the location because it was near Kapalua, the grocery, restaurants and strip centers are near by for shopping. There were beautiful views of the ocean and pool, mini putting practice, jacuzzi. We like having the kitchen to prepare food so we don't need to eat out every meal. It is very convenient and the staff was always helpful if we had any questions or needed anything. I love the FREE internet!! don't ever stop that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Stores are close by for groceries, coffee, small restaurants. But if you want to go to Lahaina, I recommend a rental car to get around to other places. But overall you are very self contained if you don't want to do anything but enjoy the facility.

Review of Aston at Papakea Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Riverside, CA
Dec 24, 2010

Very Nice Hotel

This was a very nice resort for the price. Well kept, but it does need a few updates. Rooms have amazing views and employees were very courteous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Drive to Lahaina for awesome night life.

Back to menu Return to top