$162 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 2, 2014 Check-out: Oct 4, 2014

Aston at Papakea Resort

3 stars
3543 Lower Honoapiliani Hwy, Lahaina, HI 96761
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
255 reviews
fun

Great place to stay, would stay there again.. Nice place See full review

  • hammersjeep
  • Sep 8, 2014
hawaii

very nice place clean good location grounds are beautiful staff very helpful and curtious. Will be... See full review

  • scoupe
  • May 28, 2014
Beachfront paradise in Kaanapali with the luxury of condo living

Set upon 13 lush beachfront acres in west Maui's luxurious Kaanapali Beach, the Aston at Papakea Resort offers condo-style living in paradise. All units are equipped with a full kitchen, washer/dryer, private balcony and free Wi-Fi. The resort adds extra value with free guest parking, two swimming pools, two lighted tennis courts, two putting greens, barbecue areas and free yoga classes. Kids get their own brand of fun with Aston's activity club, Camp Kamaaina. Great shopping and dining are available throughout the area.

Highlights
  • Full kitchen, free parking and free in-room Wi-Fi
  • Kids activity club
  • Situated on Kaanapali Beach, one of Hawaii's best beaches and ocean views of neighboring islands and whales in winter
Location
The Aston at Papakea Resort sits oceanfront on the most fashionable stretch of Kaanapali Beach, just north of the popular snorkeling area Black Rock. Guests enjoy magnificent views of the islands of Molokai and Lanai, heavenly whale watching in winter and convenience to everything west Maui has to offer. Whalers Village is a few minutes away by car, with shopping and executive-chef restaurants such as Cane & Taro and Hula Grill.
Rooms
The Aston at Papakea Resort is a condo resort offering studios and one-, two- and three-bedroom units ranging from a spacious 454 square feet to 1,217 square feet. The three-bedroom condo accommodates up to eight people, perfect for the family or a group of friends. All units feature a private balcony, fully-equipped kitchen, air conditioning, washer/dryer, TV/VCR/DVD player and free high-speed Wi-Fi.
Dining
All Aston at Papakea Resort condos feature full kitchens, making dining in easy and affordable. Additionally, Kaanapali and its neighboring communities offer numerous cafes and restaurants.
Recreation
  • Two swimming pools
  • Two Jacuzzis
  • Two lighted tennis courts
  • Two 12-hole putting greens
  • Free yoga classes
  • Camp Kaanapali for kids
  • Golf (nearby)
Transportation
  • Kapalua West Maui Airport (1.9 mi/3.1 km)
  • Kahului Airport (28 mi/45 km)
Attractions
  • Whalers Village (2.1 mi/3.5 km)
  • Lahaina Town (5.2 mi/8.4 km)
  • Maui Ocean Center (19.8 mi/31.9 km)
Policies and fees
  • The hotel will undergo exterior renovation from 21 April to 3 November. Renovation works are from Monday to Friday, 8:30 AM to 5:00 PM. Work on Saturdays is possible but will be avoided unless necessary. No guest will be placed in the building that is being worked on.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

20.9524 -156.6867
Area served
Lahaina-Maui, HI
Nearby airports
OGG - Kahului and JHM - Kapalua
Area description
Located oceanfront in Kaanapali with championship golf courses, shopping and dining in the area. Activities on-site include shuffleboard and tennis with snorkeling, windsurfing, volleyball and more nearby.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Aston at Papakea Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5

Aston at Papakea Resort Rooms

One Bedroom Ocean Front Suite
One bedroom suite with queen bed and sofabed. Includes full bathroom, Complimentary High-Speed wireless access,lanai, iron/board, multiple closets, full kitchen, hair dryer, air conditioning, washer/dryer, cable TV and dataport.
Two Bedroom Ocean View Suite
Two bedroom suite with queen bed and 2 twin beds or 2 queen beds and sofabed. Includes 2 full bathrooms, Complimentary High-Speed wireless access, lanai, iron/board, multiple closets, full kitchen, hair dryer, air conditioning, washer/dryer, cable TV and dataport.
Studio Suite Garden View
Studio with queen or Murphy queen bed. Includes full bathroom, Complimentary High-Speed wireless Internet access, lanai, iron/board, kitchen, refrigerator, stove, microwave, coffee maker, hair dryer, air conditioning, washer/dryer, cable TV and dataport.
One Bedroom Ocean View Suite
One bedroom suite with queen bed and sofabed. Includes full bathroom, Complimentary High-Speed wireless access, lanai, iron/board, multiple closets, full kitchen, hair dryer, air conditioning, washer/dryer, cable TV and dataport.
Studio Suite Ocean View
Studio with queen or Murphy queen bed. Includes full bathroom, Complimentary High-Speed wireless access, lanai, iron/board, kitchen, refrigerator, stove, microwave, coffee maker, hair dryer, air conditioning, washer/dryer, cable TV and dataport.
One Bedroom Garden View Suite
One Bedroom Suite located on ground floor. Fully equipped kitchens and in-room washer/dryers for extra convenience. Private furnished lanai and spectacular garden views. Air-conditioned and complimentary WiFi. Approx 620sf.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (255)

Ratings and reviews for Aston at Papakea Resort

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
255 out of 255
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.4

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston at Papakea Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ccosgr1
Holland, MI, USA
Sep 13, 2011

Simple is better

I only expected a studio condo with a murphy bed similar to a previous trip at this complex, and received a free upgrade to a 1 bedroom condo. The condo was clean, updated, comfortable furniture, and had great trade winds blowing through. I was surprised that I did not use the air conditioning in Hawai'i once, but I just didn't need to. This place is within walking distance to the shopping market, local eateries, and does offer activities booked through an expedia agent onsite, but that's not necessary. You don't need to book anything additional at the resort... just ask the front desk or other guests. I had tons of people asking me where to go and what to do. The beach area is not great, but you only need to walk 100 yards or so towards the main beach (you are on the ocean though). Be careful when you do go into the water around this area and the other areas close by...there are new resorts up and they've built them beach side, but in front of coral shelves in the water. With that said you will have difficulty once in the water. If you are aware and are paying attention... you'll be fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

1. Rent a scooter from Troy at Maui Moped rentals ($65/24 hrs. or like $150/wk). He's got a stand right around the corner from the resort entrance. 2. Eat at Ono's Plate Lunch... Around the corner to the left from the resort entrance~awesome Chinese food and next to Maui Mopeds (see #1). 3. Pizza Paradiso is located in the plaza next to the Times Supermarket (used to be the Star Market). By far the best pizza I've had within 13 states traveled too or lived in. They're a bit pricey (large 2 topping around $25) but totally worth it! 4. Snorkel Cruises should be booked with the Pacific Whale Foundation.... next to the Maui ocean center/aquarium in Maalaea. They're cheap, it goes to a good cause, great food on the cruises, VERY SAFE, and just awesome snorkeling spots!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at Papakea Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
khaless666
Oregon City, OR, USA
Sep 12, 2011

Just right

We have stayed at mid priced condo resorts before, and this one did just fine. Everything we needed, no extra fluff we were never going to utilize anyway. I would definitely stay here again. If you want super cheap, this is not for you. If you want super fancy, this is not for you. If you want a good place to stay in a good area, with a kitchen, washer and dryer and 90 second walk to the beach, this will do the trick. Aloha, and mahalo!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Try to find The Olivine Pools.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at Papakea Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dondielpn
Kailua-Kona, HI, USA
Sep 5, 2011

what can I say except... Lovely!

My recent stay was lovely at this resort. The sunset wa marvelous, the grounds were immaculate, my room was clean and comfortable and decorated nicely. I would recommend this to anyone. Wish I could have stayed longer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The dining recommended at their sister-resort next door was wonderful.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at Papakea Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
debsun
Vancouver, WA, USA
Aug 29, 2011

amazing undiscovered treasure of Maui

we just returned from 9 amazing days at the papakea resort. This is a truly hidden treasure on the island of Maui and located in the highly sought after ka'anapali area. We had EVERYTHING that we needed right there! A beautiful view of the ocean, superior accomendations, top of the line appliances, beautiful grounds, and pools, a close by resturant . This place has not been discovered yet, so it is soooo nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Pick up your groceries at costco, bbq's at pool area, you will save so much $$$$

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at Papakea Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Mililani, HI
Aug 9, 2011

good location, great price

a little confusing for late check-ins

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at Papakea Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Wisconsin
Aug 3, 2011

Hawaii

Service, Plants/flowers, view

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Front Street, LaHaina

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at Papakea Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Kirkland, WA
Jul 29, 2011

Great Condo

Great condo. Full kitchen is super nice to have. Clean and nice condo. Great location for going to different parts of Maui. Only drawback to this hotel was there is no direct sand/beach access. It has a headwall with grass. Which if you want to lay near water on chairs and not deal with sand this is ideal. You can easily walk down to the neighboring property (100 yards) beach as all beaches are public. I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at Papakea Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LoveMyGirls
Alta Loma, Ca
Jul 20, 2011

Awesome Place

It was a very nice place! the only suggestion is the room I stayed in could use a new bed, very uncomfortable! Also they need to upgrade the pots and pans.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

very nice little town.....

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at Papakea Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Grants Pass, OR
Jul 19, 2011

It works

The grounds were beautiful and the room was spacious and clean. The kitchen had nearly everything that we would expect to find at home except cleaning supplies, so be sure to bring your own. They had an a/c unit for the place that was not adequate, so the bedroom was fairly toasty, which made for a difficult night of sleep for Oregonians. Do not book any attractions through the hotel, as the rates are a total rip off! The free "breakfast" is not worth the time spent in the presentation, so skip it. We found much better deals at many places around the island, so you won't have trouble getting fun lined up. We were pleased with the accommodations, but we agreed that we would stay elsewhere in the future because of the a/c issue.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Do not book attractions of any kind through the "Exp*dia: Local Agent" people on the property. You will find much, much better deals on all of the same attractions if you drive into Lahaina.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at Papakea Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
First Time Maui visitor
Boise, ID
May 16, 2011

Great place with a nice view

We were pleasantly surprised by the location. Our room had a great view of the ocean ( Block B). The Condo was clean and well appointed. We have no complaints whatsoever. Went snorkeling at the hotel itself. Pools are maintained well. Cleaned daily. Grounds were immaculate. Nice kitchen with great amenities

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Several nice snorkeling locations up north. Nice protected coves.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top