$189 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 31, 2015 Check-out: Aug 2, 2015

Aston at Papakea Resort

3 stars
View map of 3543 Lower Honoapiliani Hwy, Lahaina, HI 96761

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Aston at Papakea Resort

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
291 out of 291
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.4

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston at Papakea Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
lovemaui24356
Business
NC
Oct 30, 2011

Nice, convenient beachfront hotel

I stayed at this hotel with my boyfriend and we had a great experience. The hotel and grounds are nice and clean. The location is good. The beach is not the best, very rocky but there are many close great beaches. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who will be out exploring, not necessarily staying around the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Hula Grill at Whaler's Village is an excellent restaurant with great food and atmosphere!

Review of Aston at Papakea Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sydney NSW, Australia
Oct 28, 2011

25th Anniversary Getaway

Although we were booked at the Aston at Papakea Resort when we arrived they sent us to Ka'anapali Shores next door. And it was fantastic. There was nothing bad about this resort. The people were friendly, the food was excellent and the location was good. I would highly recommend this resort to anyone who wishes to experience the best of Maui.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't eat at the Mexican restaurant across the street.

Review of Aston at Papakea Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pueblo, CO, USA
Oct 28, 2011

Maui

It was absolutely FANTASTIC! Location was great. Good deal for the price. Only problem we had was the hideaway bed/sofa was not very comfortable. The cushions wouldn't stay in place and was hard to sit on. Everything else was great. I would definitely return to Aston Pappakea! Thank you for a wonderful Honeymoon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Take advantage of the condo kitchen. Saves a lot of money by not having to eat out every meal. Also, BBQ grills were great.

Review of Aston at Papakea Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Punk919
Business
Long Island, New York, USA
Oct 26, 2011

Great Place..and Great Location

This was my second time here...First time I had a one bedroom with a loft...This time I was going a little cheaper and got a studio, but was upgraded to a oceanview one bedroom. I was a flight attendant for 15years so I've stayed at a lot of different places, and for the price..It is great. Location,,, ...staff is so helpful (LOVE GEORGE) . I didn't like that I was told of an extra hotel fee when I got there ($10 a day) but we got a newspaper ever morning...free dvd's and coffee refills for our room. Grocery is across the street and if you get up early, Java Jazz's has a great breakfast special for $4.98 before 8am. There isn't much of a beach at this resort, but I didn't mine sitting out on the grass..Beach Park is a five minute drive. The whole resort is spotless.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Front Street is about 10 minutes away...Everything is there from Fishing boats and Whale watching and snorkling to shopping and dinning.

Review of Aston at Papakea Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
coco1
Business
san diego,ca
Oct 7, 2011

relaxed

short walk to the beach, convenience of laundry in room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aston at Papakea Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
coco1
Business
san diego,ca
Oct 7, 2011

relaxed

short walk to the beach, convenience of laundry in room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aston at Papakea Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mark P
Business
Redmond, WA
Oct 2, 2011

Great location, better than expected room!

The room was better than expected. The furniture is a bit old but the kitchen was fully equipped (except that there was nothing to hand-wash dishes with!). The location is great. It is not directly on Kaanapali beach but you can walk down a bit to get to it. Plus it's driving distance to lots of places including Front St. Also, we really appreciated the 2 hot tubs! The front desk people were not very accommodating. We had to wait until 3 PM to get into the room. In fact we were there even at around 2:55 PM but had to wait! What difference does 5 minutes make??

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Definitely check out snorkeling in Molokini Crater!

Review of Aston at Papakea Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Nova Scotia, Canada
Sep 27, 2011

Upgraded without asking

When booking with Orbitz - there were no surprises other than being upgraded to a different resort because of our 7 night length of stay. We spent 7 nights/8days at the lovely Mahana Resort in Maui. I was very pleased with this booking and would use Orbitz again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

We went to see the Warner & Annabelle Comedy/Dinner show in Lahaina. Maui had lots to offer for entertainment and this was a highlight for sure.

Review of Aston at Papakea Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
O'ahu
Sep 27, 2011

Overall services

They have great ocean view and free DVD rental is a plus. But the first thing i want to say about their services is I was really surprised about we have to wait til 3pm to check-in. I never have any experience in any city like this. Second, when we finally checked-in our room, the housekeeper were still cleaning the room!!!! Doesn't it suppose to be ready for us before 3? The latest check out time is 12 and the earliest check in time is 3. They got 3 hours to clean!!!! and still couldn't finish?! we got a studio which is NOT THAT BIG! we really stood outside of the room for 20 mins just wait for them to finish. AND, they knew we were waiting outside but still chatting at the same time! I want to say what kind of services is this? It is a really SPECIAL experience for both me and my boyfriend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aston at Papakea Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Portland, OR, USA
Sep 23, 2011

Relocated due to Surprise Owners' Visit

I had originally booked this resort for our trip to Hawaii. When we went to check in at the resort, the front desk agent informed us that our reservation had been "upgraded" and we would now be staying at the Makana Aston resort a couple resorts down. When I asked for an explanation, she replied "the condo's owners had returned making the condo unavailable." We went over to the Makana Aston resort and had no problems checking in, however, we told their front desk agent the story and he said it might be because "there are many foreclosures happening at Papakae." Despite the setbacks, it was rather hassel-free for such a surprise happening.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top