$162 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 25, 2014 Check-out: Aug 26, 2014

Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

3 stars
45 Kai Ala Drive, Lahaina, HI 96761
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
450 reviews
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Just got back from a 7 day stay at the MKV! We LOVE this place for a million reasons, location!! 10... See full review

  • CiCi Bloom
  • Jun 18, 2014
Xmas Vacation To Paradise

We have stayed at this resort before and once again it was GREAT!!! Location is perfect. The... See full review

  • Maui Sunseeker
  • Dec 20, 2013
The Aston name is known for island hospitality across Hawaii, and the Aston Villas Hotel in Maui certainly fits the bill. The hotel's low-rise blocks overlook wooden walkways across seemingly infinite pools, fringed by the palm-laden shore of Kaanapali Beach. Suites and studios come equipped with a full kitchen and a private outdoor balcony. Down by the ocean, guests can sink their teeth into prime rib and sample the impressive wine list at the aptly-named Castaway Cafe, while enjoying the sunsets over Lanai and Molokai. Parents can play shuffleboard while the kids take ukulele lessons and learn how to make a lei at the Camp Kaanapali children's program (at nearby Aston Kaanapali  Shores). Guests visiting from November to April should bring their best binoculars for whale-watching season.
Key facts
  • 260 guestrooms
  • 2 adult pools and a children's pool
  • Gym
  • Gift shop
  • Restaurants: Including Castaway Cafe
  • Day spa
  • ATM
  • Kids camp
  • Wi-Fi (fees may apply)
Neighborhood
Located among 11 acres of bright tropical greenery, the Aston Villas hotel sits on Kaanapali Beach in Lahaina, a former favorite of Hawaiian royalty and the heart of the lively West Maui region. Watersports, shops and restaurants are all located here, easily accessible from a tourist-friendly walkway running alongside the oceanfront resorts. Snorkel at northern Napili Bay, try kayaking and parasailing, or opt for the safe voyeurism of watching the graceful cliff divers at Puu Kekaa. Spend an afternoon wandering the old fishing port of Lahaina, five minutes away - stay until evening and you might see a more riotous side, plus copious amounts of feasting and entertainment at the Old Lahaina Luau on Front Street.
Hints and tips
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas is best enjoyed as a quiet slice of paradise, but when you're yearning for adventure, use the resort's complimentary shuttle to pick up souvenirs at the open-air Whalers Village shopping center.

The athletically-inclined can enjoy eighteen holes at one of the nearby championship golf courses, or limber up on one of the Royal Lahaina Tennis Ranch's 11 courts.
Policies and fees

The hotel will undergo exterior renovations from 2 Sept to 2 Nov 2014, which will include installing new roofing on the Dolphin and Emerald Buildings and a spalling project on the Aloha Tower. Refurbishment works will be done during weekdays from 8 AM to 3 PM. During this period, the oceanfront pool will be closed.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas Rooms

One Bedroom Ocean Side Suite
1,260 avg. sq.ft.-One bedroom suite features king bed or queen and a sofabed. Includes central air conditioning, bathroom w/ tub or shower, sofabed, iron/board, hair dryer, kitchen, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, in-room safe, clock and cable TV. Located in Ocean Side building (Dolphin or Emerald).
Hotel Room
520 avg. sq.ft.-Hotel room features either a king or queen bed. Includes central air conditioning, iron/board, hair dryer, refrigerator, coffee maker, in-room safe, clock and cable TV.
One Bedroom Ocean View Suite
1,260 avg. sq. ft.-One bedroom suite features king bed, queen or sofabed and 2 double beds or sofabed. Includes central air conditioning, bathroom w/ tub or shower, sofabed, iron/board, hair dryer, kitchen, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, in-room safe, clock and cable TV.
Studio with Kitchen Ocean Side
660 avg. sq. ft.-Studio with queen bed or king bed, and a sofa bed. Located in Dolphin or Emerald Tower. Room name denotes location not view. Includes sofa bed, central air conditioning, bathroom with tub or shower, iron/ironing board, hairdryer, kitchen, refrigerator, microwave, stove, coffeemaker, dishes/cookware, and in-room safe.
One Bedroom Garden View Suite
1,260 avg. sq. ft.-One bedroom suite features king bed, queen or 2 double beds and a sofabed. Includes central air conditioning, bathroom w/ tub or shower, sofabed, iron/board, hair dryer, kitchen, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, in-room safe, clock and cable TV.
Studio with kitchen Ocean View
660 avg. sq. ft.-Studio with queen bed, king bed, or 2 double beds and a sofa bed. Central air conditioning, bathroom with tub or shower, iron/ironing board, hairdryer, kitchen, refrigerator, microwave, stove, coffeemaker, dishes/cookware, and in-room safe.
Studio with kitchen Garden View
660 avg. sq. ft.-Studio suite features king bed, queen or 2 double beds and a sofabed. Includes central air conditioning, bathroom w/ tub or shower, iron/board, hair dryer, kitchen, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, in-room safe, clock and cable TV.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

20.9361 -156.6906
Area served
Lahaina-Maui, HI
Nearby airports
OGG - Kahului and JHM - Kapalua
Area description
On Kaanapali Beach (in the Kaanapali Resort area with on-site shuffleboard), you'll choose from nearby activities including, bike rentals, luaus, snorkeling, windsurfing, Royal Lahaina Tennis Ranch and championship golf courses. Please note we offer free shuttle service to Kaanapali resort area shopping and activities.

Dining

Castaway Cafe
Cuisine Type Hawaii Regional and American, Casual Dress, Open Daily from 7am-9pm, Available for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (450)

Ratings and reviews for Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
169 out of 450
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.3

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Simsbury, CT
Jul 5, 2011

Wonderful stay!

This was our second stay at the Kaanapali Villas. The grounds are kept beautifully, accommodations were perfect! Can't beat being right on the beach! The staff is very friendly and the site provides for relaxation. Will definitely return again on our next trip!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

The shops and dining in Lahaina is a quick drive - about 15 minutes.

Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Kaanapali, Maui
Mar 22, 2010

Maui 2010

Great place. Have stayed there 3 times and plan on returning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Burlingame
Jun 26, 2008

Very Clean

We only stayed one night. We were sorry to leave we liked the one bedroom fecility. the place was very clean nicly decorated and very confertable. We had to use the pull up bed which was as comfertable as the king size bed. I would go back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Carrollton
Dec 28, 2008

Relaxing

Check-in was quick and easy. The staff was very helpful. We were concerned about our commodations for three adults upon arrival, but mentioned this at check-in and they assured us there was plenty of beds. Our villa was large included a kitchen, large bathroom with seperate shower and a large closet.? It was very well maintained and very homey. We had a garden view, but on the 3rd floor we could see the ocean from the tiny balcony which did have a few seats to enjoy. We enjoyed having a bedroom that could be seperated from the living and dining area. It was much like staying in a small apartment that you could open all windows and balcony doors to feel the great breeze. Shopping & dinning was a very short drive. Some attracting were a longer seanic view away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Maui Taco was the best Mexican food I have found in Hawaii.

Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
El Dorado Hills, California
Apr 22, 2009

16th Birthday Mother Daughter Trip

This was a trip from Heaven, arriving at the hotel on my daughter's 16th birthday we were treated fabulously. The register found us a great room for no extra charge. Both pools were beautiful and the resort is family oriented. Felt very safe on the grounds and all staff were friendly and efficient. Will definitely stay again. Food was good at the cafe on grounds also and the drinks were yummy and inexpensive. Great family place to stay and quiet away from all the big hotels. We received a great price on our room through our package and were extremely pleased. All and all in was a memorable trip!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Grocery store is near by with a mall attached. from there it is a short drive to Lahaina.

Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Fort Wayne
Dec 1, 2008

maui trip

Everything we wanted ...except needed more options for after 9pm at night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Whalers village within 1 mile.

Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Los Angeles, CA
Sep 3, 2007

Good for family on ...

Good for family on somewhat of a budget. The location of Maui Kaanapali Villas is great. The rooms are large and includes a kitchen. It has a nice view from the 5th floor. Some noise from the road behind the complex though. On site dinning is good with great ocean view and ocean breeze.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Good snorkling about 1/2 mile to the south at Black Rock. A little further down is Whalers Village- nice shoping center. Drive about 4 miles and visit Lahina for shoping and restaurants.

Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Albert super husband
Discovery Bay, CA
Jul 27, 2011

Fantastic family getaway

When we arrived we learned that your company had not confirmed our reservations with the resort. After about an hour on the phone a staff person called the resort to tell them that we had paid for the reserved dates. Could your company please explain why the resort was never contacted after we paid your company?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

Go to the Whaleir Center.

Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
IL
Jun 10, 2009

Great place, I want to go back already!

We arrived early and they were able to do an early check in. I was able to get a room with 2 queen beds and it was an updated unit with garden view. Great beach location, 15 drive from Lahaina. We didn't schedule any trips with the front desk, but we reserved a Molokini trip on line which it was great! We also drove to Hana, which is amazing but scary at times but worth it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Believe it or not we dinned twice in a row at Bubba Gump because all their sea food was great! We also tried Mr. Taco but personally it was awfull taking in consideration we come from Chicago and we have plenty of choices here. Hawaii is expensive and regardless where you shop, eat, or what activities you do it will be expensive but worth it!

Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Oakland, CA
Aug 31, 2007

Good value for your money

I was impressed with the size of the room itself. I was expecting just a room with a bath but was pleasantly surprised with the condo amenities: kitchen, living room, dining room, bedroom, bathroom. The location was ok. Fortunately I rented a car and was able to drive to Laihana and Kaanapali Beach. I was under the impression that resort was on Kaanapali Beach but when I drove to the next section of hotels and realized they were situated right on Kaanapali Beach. I was not impressed with the dining facilities nor was I impressed with the gym or pool facilities. But with the beach so close by, I really didn't mind too much about the pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top