$219 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 5, 2015 Check-out: Jan 8, 2015

Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

3 stars
45 Kai Ala Drive, Lahaina, HI 96761
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
278 reviews
Perfect place to stay

This is the best hotel in Maui in my opinion. Not too crowded, perfect Kaanapali beach, close to... See full review

  • Andrew 9505
  • Nov 20, 2014
Best for the beach lover

The staff at this resort is so nice and the location is the best on Kaanapali. Best stretch of... See full review

  • ElijoSF
  • Nov 5, 2014
The Aston name is known for island hospitality across Hawaii, and the Aston Villas Hotel in Maui certainly fits the bill. The hotel's low-rise blocks overlook wooden walkways across seemingly infinite pools, fringed by the palm-laden shore of Kaanapali Beach. Suites and studios come equipped with a full kitchen and a private outdoor balcony. Down by the ocean, guests can sink their teeth into prime rib and sample the impressive wine list at the aptly-named Castaway Cafe, while enjoying the sunsets over Lanai and Molokai. Parents can play shuffleboard while the kids take ukulele lessons and learn how to make a lei at the Camp Kaanapali children's program (at nearby Aston Kaanapali  Shores). Guests visiting from November to April should bring their best binoculars for whale-watching season.
Key facts
  • 260 guestrooms
  • 2 adult pools and a children's pool
  • Gym
  • Gift shop
  • Restaurants: Including Castaway Cafe
  • Day spa
  • ATM
  • Kids camp
  • Wi-Fi (fees may apply)
Neighborhood
Located among 11 acres of bright tropical greenery, the Aston Villas hotel sits on Kaanapali Beach in Lahaina, a former favorite of Hawaiian royalty and the heart of the lively West Maui region. Watersports, shops and restaurants are all located here, easily accessible from a tourist-friendly walkway running alongside the oceanfront resorts. Snorkel at northern Napili Bay, try kayaking and parasailing, or opt for the safe voyeurism of watching the graceful cliff divers at Puu Kekaa. Spend an afternoon wandering the old fishing port of Lahaina, five minutes away - stay until evening and you might see a more riotous side, plus copious amounts of feasting and entertainment at the Old Lahaina Luau on Front Street.
Hints and tips
  • Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas is best enjoyed as a quiet slice of paradise, but when you're yearning for adventure, use the resort's complimentary shuttle to pick up souvenirs at the open-air Whalers Village shopping center.
  • The athletically-inclined can enjoy eighteen holes at one of the nearby championship golf courses, or limber up on one of the Royal Lahaina Tennis Ranch's 11 courts.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas Rooms

One Bedroom Ocean Side Suite
1,260 avg. sq.ft.-One bedroom suite features king bed or queen and a sofabed. Includes central air conditioning, bathroom w/ tub or shower, sofabed, iron/board, hair dryer, kitchen, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, in-room safe, clock and cable TV. Located in Ocean Side building (Dolphin or Emerald).
Hotel Room
520 avg. sq.ft.-Hotel room features either a king or queen bed. Includes central air conditioning, iron/board, hair dryer, refrigerator, coffee maker, in-room safe, clock and cable TV.
One Bedroom Ocean View Suite
1,260 avg. sq. ft.-One bedroom suite features king bed, queen or sofabed and 2 double beds or sofabed. Includes central air conditioning, bathroom w/ tub or shower, sofabed, iron/board, hair dryer, kitchen, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, in-room safe, clock and cable TV.
Studio with Kitchen Ocean Side
660 avg. sq. ft.-Studio with queen bed or king bed, and a sofa bed. Located in Dolphin or Emerald Tower. Room name denotes location not view. Includes sofa bed, central air conditioning, bathroom with tub or shower, iron/ironing board, hairdryer, kitchen, refrigerator, microwave, stove, coffeemaker, dishes/cookware, and in-room safe.
One Bedroom Garden View Suite
1,260 avg. sq. ft.-One bedroom suite features king bed, queen or 2 double beds and a sofabed. Includes central air conditioning, bathroom w/ tub or shower, sofabed, iron/board, hair dryer, kitchen, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, in-room safe, clock and cable TV.
Studio with kitchen Ocean View
660 avg. sq. ft.-Studio with queen bed, king bed, or 2 double beds and a sofa bed. Central air conditioning, bathroom with tub or shower, iron/ironing board, hairdryer, kitchen, refrigerator, microwave, stove, coffeemaker, dishes/cookware, and in-room safe.
Studio with kitchen Garden View
660 avg. sq. ft.-Studio suite features king bed, queen or 2 double beds and a sofabed. Includes central air conditioning, bathroom w/ tub or shower, iron/board, hair dryer, kitchen, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, in-room safe, clock and cable TV.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Castaway Cafe
Cuisine Type Hawaii Regional and American, Casual Dress, Open Daily from 7am-9pm, Available for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (278)

Ratings and reviews for Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
278 out of 278
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.3

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lubbock, TX
Apr 27, 2007

An ideal first experience

We were very pleased not only with the hotel itself, but also the proximity to so many things we wanted to do. The activities director was very helpful and even made reservations for dinner for us. The staff was very helpful and always pleasant. We plan another visit to Maui soon, and will highly consider staying here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Within a short drive was wonderful dining and plenty to do in Lahaina, just a few miles back up the road.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas, TX
May 17, 2007

Relaxing Place to Stay

When I was looking for a place to stay on Maui the important points were very close to the beach, comfortable room, and a full kitchen. The Maui Kanapali Villas were that and more. The room we were in could have used a little updating but it was large with a huge separate bath and dressing area and a nice dining and living area. It was very clean and the a/c worked great. The Castaway Restaurant at the hotel was excellent. The beach outside the villas was wonderful and never seemed crowded. There were plenty of loungers on the grass by the beach if you wanted to stay in the shade. The drive to Lahaina was only a few minutes. There is also a shuttle service that picks up in front of lobby every 20-30 minutes and goes into Lahaina. It was a great experience and would recommend to either couples or families.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Sep 12, 2008

1st Trip to Maui

Resort was very clean and beach and pool were beautiful. Very quiet and close to all, we will stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
DC
Jan 2, 2011

Excellent location and services

The hotel room with a roomy kitchen and two queen size beds. Our family of 4 spent 7 days of winter holidays there. The most unexpected thing was to find a Christmas gift and a Christmas card when we arrived on Christmas Eve. The beach was very nice and did not have so many people like the beaches of more luxury hotels. The hotel located just minutes drive to a Safeway and Lahaina town center.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Cook breakfast in your hotel room.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Hurds
Business
Lancaster, CA
Dec 31, 2010

Great condo, great bargain!

Our studio was excellent in every respect: clean, comfortable, quiet, with attentive staff and tasteful modern decor--enough room for three adults. It felt more upscale than its bargain price. I will absolutely return to these condos and will recommend it highly to my friends. Our "garden view" still afforded a great ocean panorama. Very comfy king bed; sofa bed is better than average. Very nice bathroom with no tub, traditional and waterfall shower heads. Room was cleaned daily and thoroughly. Full kitchen was completely stocked with pans, utensils, etc. Very easy to cook and save $. Safeway is a 5-minute drive. Costco is near the airport, on the way to the condos. Grounds are manicured and lovely. Very nice pool area, right next to a beautiful beach. Plenty of shade next to beach. Restaurant on beach has good breakfast. Adequate workout room--seven weight machines, 3 cardio machines. Free parking, free internet. I didn't use the hotel's laundry room. Also didn't use the outdoor barbecue grills, which are first-come first-served. During my stay (late Dec.) most guests were seniors or families--very quiet and peaceful. Be aware that every room pays a mandatory $13-per-day activity fee--I find this practice deceptive but still considered this place a bargain. Also, I understand that condos are individually owned, so each is a little different. If you prefer low-key non-commercial vacations, you'll love Maui. I napped in the shade with an ocean view while my adult children swam and sunned. Road to Hana has waterfalls, vegetation, beaches, etc. If you rent a jeep, you can drive the entire island perimeter. If you whale watch and are lucky enough to see the critters breach, as we did, you'll never forget it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Maui food, drink, and gas are all more expensive than the mainland. Shop at Costco and Safeway whenever possible.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mississippi
Jun 3, 2009

Maui Kaanapali Villas Hawaii

My 15 y/o daughter and I visited Maui for a week. We enjoyed the usual tourist activities: snorkeling, surfing school, Luau and hiking. The condo was very clean and the staff could not have been more helpful. Having FREE wireless internet in the room was great. The area is great, safe and welcoming. If you go to Maui a car is a must. Everything is spread out, no matter where you stay. My daughter loved the mall at the Queen K. Center. Thank you so much for making our vacation a success! If we go back to Maui, we will stay at the Maui Kaanapali Villas again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Lahaina has lots of places to eat as well as several shops. We enjoyed Bubba Gump Shirmp as well as Hard Rock.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Berkeley CA
Aug 4, 2009

Really confortable

Second time staying in this hotel. It is a very good location, much better than the Sheraton. Prime snorkeling is close by in Black point. The beach is not crowded. You will see what I am talking about once you cross black rock and land in the Sheraton beach, it is crowded with families and loud teenagers!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

do not miss snorkeling around Black Rock/Black Point.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Clinton Township, MI
Feb 22, 2010

A great resort in paradise

The villa we stayed at was a garden view room--great price and super close to the lobby, pools, and beach. Our villa had very nice amenities with a full kitchen--we expected a hotel room with a mini-fridge, so were very pleasantly surprised. We bought some supplies (food, drinks, a styrofoam cooler, etc.) at the Walmart by the airport and saved on breakfast and packing picnic lunches, so we could splurge on nice dinners out. The pools, hot tub and beach were amazing! We snorkeled right next door to the villas at the public beach. We ate one breakfast and dinner at the Castaway restuarant at the resort--we both thought the food was excellent and a pretty view to whale watch. The hotel conceirge was really helpful (I think her name was Donna) and gave us some good advice for day trips we were interested in and even helped us get very hard to acquire tickets to the dinner/magic show of Warren and Annabelle. The only little minus was that I kept having to request a packet of coffee to make each morning (the first few days, the cleaning staff would leave a fresh packet by the in-room coffee maker and then they stopped). After a while we just gave up and either went to the lobby for coffee or got some on our way to our adventure for the day. Also, the room had a small dishwasher--it would have been helpful to have a few more glasses, silverware on hand, as I felt guilty running it half full when we ran out of these things.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Warren and Annabelle magic/comedy dinner show, the Pacific Whale Watch Foundation whale trip and the Old Lahaina Luau--all fun, fun, fun and all in the cute town of Lahaina right on Front Street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ecoman
Business
Dallas, TX
Jul 30, 2011

Maui Kaanapali Villas

This was my second stay at the Aston Maui. It was more amazing than the first. The staff is great and they remebered me from my last stay and upgraded my room to an ocean view. This is a great place if you want the resort feel but a condo with a kitchen. Best beach in Maui and nicest people towards tourists are on the west side.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

I go to Maui for the vegtation. Go to the fruit stands and try some pinapple and coconut water, it will change your life.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jan Maui Gal
Business
West Hills, Ca.
Jul 29, 2011

Greatest Condo value on Maui

We have been to Maui a few times & have stayed other hotels & condos thinking they'd be less expensive & just as good. This is our 3rd time staying at the Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas. They are worth every penny and then some! It's beautiful, quiet, clean and convenient to everything. Plus, they are reasonably priced for the facilities they have to offer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Castaway Cafe is a beautiful setting with wonderful food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top