$161 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 21, 2014 Check-out: Sep 23, 2014

Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

3 stars
45 Kai Ala Drive, Lahaina, HI 96761
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
273 reviews
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Just got back from a 7 day stay at the MKV! We LOVE this place for a million reasons, location!! 10... See full review

  • CiCi Bloom
  • Jun 18, 2014
Xmas Vacation To Paradise

We have stayed at this resort before and once again it was GREAT!!! Location is perfect. The... See full review

  • Maui Sunseeker
  • Dec 20, 2013
The Aston name is known for island hospitality across Hawaii, and the Aston Villas Hotel in Maui certainly fits the bill. The hotel's low-rise blocks overlook wooden walkways across seemingly infinite pools, fringed by the palm-laden shore of Kaanapali Beach. Suites and studios come equipped with a full kitchen and a private outdoor balcony. Down by the ocean, guests can sink their teeth into prime rib and sample the impressive wine list at the aptly-named Castaway Cafe, while enjoying the sunsets over Lanai and Molokai. Parents can play shuffleboard while the kids take ukulele lessons and learn how to make a lei at the Camp Kaanapali children's program (at nearby Aston Kaanapali  Shores). Guests visiting from November to April should bring their best binoculars for whale-watching season.
Key facts
  • 260 guestrooms
  • 2 adult pools and a children's pool
  • Gym
  • Gift shop
  • Restaurants: Including Castaway Cafe
  • Day spa
  • ATM
  • Kids camp
  • Wi-Fi (fees may apply)
Neighborhood
Located among 11 acres of bright tropical greenery, the Aston Villas hotel sits on Kaanapali Beach in Lahaina, a former favorite of Hawaiian royalty and the heart of the lively West Maui region. Watersports, shops and restaurants are all located here, easily accessible from a tourist-friendly walkway running alongside the oceanfront resorts. Snorkel at northern Napili Bay, try kayaking and parasailing, or opt for the safe voyeurism of watching the graceful cliff divers at Puu Kekaa. Spend an afternoon wandering the old fishing port of Lahaina, five minutes away - stay until evening and you might see a more riotous side, plus copious amounts of feasting and entertainment at the Old Lahaina Luau on Front Street.
Hints and tips
  • Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas is best enjoyed as a quiet slice of paradise, but when you're yearning for adventure, use the resort's complimentary shuttle to pick up souvenirs at the open-air Whalers Village shopping center.
  • The athletically-inclined can enjoy eighteen holes at one of the nearby championship golf courses, or limber up on one of the Royal Lahaina Tennis Ranch's 11 courts.
  • NOTICE: The hotel will undergo exterior renovations from 2 Sept to 2 Nov 2014, which will include installing new roofing on the Dolphin and Emerald Buildings and a spalling project on the Aloha Tower. Refurbishment works will be done during weekdays from 8 AM to 3 PM. During this period, the oceanfront pool will be closed.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

20.9361 -156.6906
Area served
Lahaina-Maui, HI
Nearby airports
OGG - Kahului and JHM - Kapalua
Area description
On Kaanapali Beach (in the Kaanapali Resort area with on-site shuffleboard), you'll choose from nearby activities including, bike rentals, luaus, snorkeling, windsurfing, Royal Lahaina Tennis Ranch and championship golf courses. Please note we offer free shuttle service to Kaanapali resort area shopping and activities.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas Rooms

Studio with kitchen Garden View
660 avg. sq. ft.-Studio suite features king bed, queen or 2 double beds and a sofabed. Includes central air conditioning, bathroom w/ tub or shower, iron/board, hair dryer, kitchen, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, in-room safe, clock and cable TV.
Studio with kitchen Ocean View
660 avg. sq. ft.-Studio with queen bed, king bed, or 2 double beds and a sofa bed. Central air conditioning, bathroom with tub or shower, iron/ironing board, hairdryer, kitchen, refrigerator, microwave, stove, coffeemaker, dishes/cookware, and in-room safe.
One Bedroom Ocean Side Suite
1,260 avg. sq.ft.-One bedroom suite features king bed or queen and a sofabed. Includes central air conditioning, bathroom w/ tub or shower, sofabed, iron/board, hair dryer, kitchen, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, in-room safe, clock and cable TV. Located in Ocean Side building (Dolphin or Emerald).
Hotel Room
520 avg. sq.ft.-Hotel room features either a king or queen bed. Includes central air conditioning, iron/board, hair dryer, refrigerator, coffee maker, in-room safe, clock and cable TV.
One Bedroom Ocean View Suite
1,260 avg. sq. ft.-One bedroom suite features king bed, queen or sofabed and 2 double beds or sofabed. Includes central air conditioning, bathroom w/ tub or shower, sofabed, iron/board, hair dryer, kitchen, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, in-room safe, clock and cable TV.
Studio with Kitchen Ocean Side
660 avg. sq. ft.-Studio with queen bed or king bed, and a sofa bed. Located in Dolphin or Emerald Tower. Room name denotes location not view. Includes sofa bed, central air conditioning, bathroom with tub or shower, iron/ironing board, hairdryer, kitchen, refrigerator, microwave, stove, coffeemaker, dishes/cookware, and in-room safe.
One Bedroom Garden View Suite
1,260 avg. sq. ft.-One bedroom suite features king bed, queen or 2 double beds and a sofabed. Includes central air conditioning, bathroom w/ tub or shower, sofabed, iron/board, hair dryer, kitchen, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, in-room safe, clock and cable TV.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Castaway Cafe
Cuisine Type Hawaii Regional and American, Casual Dress, Open Daily from 7am-9pm, Available for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (273)

Ratings and reviews for Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
273 out of 273
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.3

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
maui mark
edina mn
Jun 19, 2009

Maui Summer Magic

Desk and check in was a breeze.Room clean and upscale decor. Best spot on all of Kanipalli beach. Pools open for that late swim. Castaways food was great, done with flair, and reasonable.Best staff I have seen in Maui over the last six years.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Shop safeway in Lahaina{get savers card at desk}for breakfast, drink, and snack food.Heat will reduce your apitite so eat out one meal a day. Large lunches most reasonable. Lite evening snack. Don't miss some off Castaways evening specials.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Porterville, CA
Jun 18, 2009

Fantastic family getaway

This was a wonderful resort! The grounds were beautiful with numerous blooming tropical plants and trees. The pools were sparkling clean and set at the perfect temperature. The beach front was nice with lounge chairs set out under trees to watch the ocean, read or just relax. The Cast-a-Ways Cafe at the resort had delicious food and wine tasting. Our one-bedroom condo had everything in it that we needed with a full kitchen, soft beds, two bathrooms and beautifully decorated in a Hawaiian Pineapple decor. My family enjoyed coffee on our lanai overlooking the garden/pool area each morning. Our wonderful resort accommodations helped make our trip extremely enjoyable and made this trip one of our best vacation experiences ever!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

The resort's Cast-A-Ways Cafe has a two for one pasta night on Tuesday evenings.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Mississippi
Jun 3, 2009

Maui Kaanapali Villas Hawaii

My 15 y/o daughter and I visited Maui for a week. We enjoyed the usual tourist activities: snorkeling, surfing school, Luau and hiking. The condo was very clean and the staff could not have been more helpful. Having FREE wireless internet in the room was great. The area is great, safe and welcoming. If you go to Maui a car is a must. Everything is spread out, no matter where you stay. My daughter loved the mall at the Queen K. Center. Thank you so much for making our vacation a success! If we go back to Maui, we will stay at the Maui Kaanapali Villas again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Lahaina has lots of places to eat as well as several shops. We enjoyed Bubba Gump Shirmp as well as Hard Rock.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Dallas, TX
Jun 19, 2009

Good location, very clean room

Friendly staff, location is excellent. Room service is also good. We like the kitchen so much and enjoyed self-cooked seafood. Parking is a little bit crowded. Overall it's a very good resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Just a few minutes drive to Lahaina, a lot of good restaurants on the Front street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Sandy, UT
Jun 5, 2009

Great Price, Great Location

We stayed at the Maui Kaanapali Villas for four nights after completing a cruise of the Hawaiian islands. Our room was a studio garden view with a king bed and pull out sofa. It was very comfortable and clean. The kitchen had all the necessary dishes, etc. so you could cook your own meals and the staff was very friendly and accommodating. They even let us stay a couple of extra hours on our last day since we had an overnight flight. We were able to snorkel at Black Rock which was only a 10-15 min. walk from our condo. The beach is beautiful and the sunsets magnificent. There is an on site restaurant that serves reasonably priced good food and you can sit outside under the palm trees overlooking the ocean. The grounds were very well kept and parking was always available although there was a daily charge. Every condo is different so I can't speak for all of them, but ours was nicely furnished and up to date. My only complaint was that the bed was a little to firm for my taste. Overall we had a wonderful stay and would return without hesitation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

If you arrive between 6:00-6:30 you can usually get a table by the ocean with a nice sunset view.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
No Balls
Vancouver B.C.
Apr 29, 2010

Good Value

The beach was the best on the entire island. We went to 15 different beaches and the the one in front of the hotel was the best. Most sun, least wind, good snorkeling off to the right.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Definetly need a car. Best to book attractions online and get vouchers. This way you can call when you are there and book the best day to go.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Snohobob
Seattle
Aug 1, 2012

Great Location

The villas are nestled between some very nice hotels. Walk over to the westin and snorkle with a wonderful reef right there. The pathway north and south is a great walk/run every morning. The Villa grounds are beautiful. We stayed in Coconut building, away from the crowds. It was very peaceful. The room was newly renovated and our 2nd home for 10 days.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Go north for food. Prices at TIME groceries(north 1.8 miles) are much cheaper than Safeway (south 4 miles), unless you have a safeway card and just buy the advertised specials. Rent a paddle board from Boss Frogs north 2miles for $40.00 a day, not $55 an hour at the beach/ hotels. Weekly snorkel gear $25.00 a week at Boss Frog, and you get the good snorkels. North past the state park is a little fruit stand 2 for $5 pineapple, papya, passion fruit avacodo and bananas. way cheaper than the stands on the main highway - $5.00 for one grapefruit there? yicks Rent a muscle car with a covertible roof. we had a 2012 camero for just 2, but it was fun to drive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mrs. Wilkes
Willits, CA
Jan 14, 2010

Extremely Happy Couple

My husband and I got very lucky when we chose this hotel by the affordable price. We we arrived we were upgraded to a better room, which suprised us. Not only was the staff extremely pleasant but also very helpful when we asked for advise on activities and dining. And location could not have been more perfect. We will definitely stay here again when we come back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Whether you want to save money dining or want to experience a high class romantic meal, the consierge at the hotel can reccommend more than what you can find on the internet. Everything the consierge helped us with, as well as his advice was spot on.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Terrace, BC
May 2, 2008

Wonderful get-a-way

ResortQuest Maui Kaanapali Villas was more then what I expected. The rooms were very large with an optional sliding door between the livingroom and bedroom. The accommodations had two TV's with one being in the livingroom and the other in the bedroom. It had lovely matching furniture throughout. It had ample closet and drawer space with two suitcase stands if you wished to use. The kitchen was fully equiped with complementry coffee and tea to use before I could get to the grocery store. It even had a blender to make all those special drinks. The bathroom was a WOW!at first sight. It was tiled, with two separate sinks and a deep tub. The tub had two tiled steps before you can get into the tub. The mirrors had bright bulbs all around the mirror with an additional close up mirror that pulled out from the wall to apply make-up on and such. The toilet was in the large bathroom but behind a door. We received the paper on our door-knob every morning which was a nice touch. It was right beside the beach and so was the pool. There is an additional cost per day for using the barbaque, laundry facility and work out room. I would recommend renting a car to get around. There are restaurants nearby however not enough to try only once. There was a golf course within walking distance for all those golfers. The staff was excellent in every way.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Behind the Safeway grocery store in Lahaina there is this awesome local restaurant called Aloha. It was local food that was very good and very reasonably priced. The sunset was a must to stick around for. Bubba Gumps located on the main drag of Lahaina was also very good but a bit pricey.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jazzzyj
Oakland, CA
Apr 17, 2013

Simply Perfect!

The beach was quiet, clean, and calm. Everything about this hotel was perfect! Has a free trolly that takes you to Whalers and other hotels. Its perfect for a nice, quiet, relaxing vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search