$162 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 25, 2014 Check-out: Aug 26, 2014

Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

3 stars
45 Kai Ala Drive, Lahaina, HI 96761
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
450 reviews
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Just got back from a 7 day stay at the MKV! We LOVE this place for a million reasons, location!! 10... See full review

  • CiCi Bloom
  • Jun 18, 2014
Xmas Vacation To Paradise

We have stayed at this resort before and once again it was GREAT!!! Location is perfect. The... See full review

  • Maui Sunseeker
  • Dec 20, 2013
The Aston name is known for island hospitality across Hawaii, and the Aston Villas Hotel in Maui certainly fits the bill. The hotel's low-rise blocks overlook wooden walkways across seemingly infinite pools, fringed by the palm-laden shore of Kaanapali Beach. Suites and studios come equipped with a full kitchen and a private outdoor balcony. Down by the ocean, guests can sink their teeth into prime rib and sample the impressive wine list at the aptly-named Castaway Cafe, while enjoying the sunsets over Lanai and Molokai. Parents can play shuffleboard while the kids take ukulele lessons and learn how to make a lei at the Camp Kaanapali children's program (at nearby Aston Kaanapali  Shores). Guests visiting from November to April should bring their best binoculars for whale-watching season.
Key facts
  • 260 guestrooms
  • 2 adult pools and a children's pool
  • Gym
  • Gift shop
  • Restaurants: Including Castaway Cafe
  • Day spa
  • ATM
  • Kids camp
  • Wi-Fi (fees may apply)
Neighborhood
Located among 11 acres of bright tropical greenery, the Aston Villas hotel sits on Kaanapali Beach in Lahaina, a former favorite of Hawaiian royalty and the heart of the lively West Maui region. Watersports, shops and restaurants are all located here, easily accessible from a tourist-friendly walkway running alongside the oceanfront resorts. Snorkel at northern Napili Bay, try kayaking and parasailing, or opt for the safe voyeurism of watching the graceful cliff divers at Puu Kekaa. Spend an afternoon wandering the old fishing port of Lahaina, five minutes away - stay until evening and you might see a more riotous side, plus copious amounts of feasting and entertainment at the Old Lahaina Luau on Front Street.
Hints and tips
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas is best enjoyed as a quiet slice of paradise, but when you're yearning for adventure, use the resort's complimentary shuttle to pick up souvenirs at the open-air Whalers Village shopping center.

The athletically-inclined can enjoy eighteen holes at one of the nearby championship golf courses, or limber up on one of the Royal Lahaina Tennis Ranch's 11 courts.
Policies and fees

The hotel will undergo exterior renovations from 2 Sept to 2 Nov 2014, which will include installing new roofing on the Dolphin and Emerald Buildings and a spalling project on the Aloha Tower. Refurbishment works will be done during weekdays from 8 AM to 3 PM. During this period, the oceanfront pool will be closed.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

20.9361 -156.6906
Area served
Lahaina-Maui, HI
Nearby airports
OGG - Kahului and JHM - Kapalua
Area description
On Kaanapali Beach (in the Kaanapali Resort area with on-site shuffleboard), you'll choose from nearby activities including, bike rentals, luaus, snorkeling, windsurfing, Royal Lahaina Tennis Ranch and championship golf courses. Please note we offer free shuttle service to Kaanapali resort area shopping and activities.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas Rooms

One Bedroom Ocean Side Suite
1,260 avg. sq.ft.-One bedroom suite features king bed or queen and a sofabed. Includes central air conditioning, bathroom w/ tub or shower, sofabed, iron/board, hair dryer, kitchen, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, in-room safe, clock and cable TV. Located in Ocean Side building (Dolphin or Emerald).
Hotel Room
520 avg. sq.ft.-Hotel room features either a king or queen bed. Includes central air conditioning, iron/board, hair dryer, refrigerator, coffee maker, in-room safe, clock and cable TV.
One Bedroom Ocean View Suite
1,260 avg. sq. ft.-One bedroom suite features king bed, queen or sofabed and 2 double beds or sofabed. Includes central air conditioning, bathroom w/ tub or shower, sofabed, iron/board, hair dryer, kitchen, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, in-room safe, clock and cable TV.
Studio with Kitchen Ocean Side
660 avg. sq. ft.-Studio with queen bed or king bed, and a sofa bed. Located in Dolphin or Emerald Tower. Room name denotes location not view. Includes sofa bed, central air conditioning, bathroom with tub or shower, iron/ironing board, hairdryer, kitchen, refrigerator, microwave, stove, coffeemaker, dishes/cookware, and in-room safe.
One Bedroom Garden View Suite
1,260 avg. sq. ft.-One bedroom suite features king bed, queen or 2 double beds and a sofabed. Includes central air conditioning, bathroom w/ tub or shower, sofabed, iron/board, hair dryer, kitchen, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, in-room safe, clock and cable TV.
Studio with kitchen Ocean View
660 avg. sq. ft.-Studio with queen bed, king bed, or 2 double beds and a sofa bed. Central air conditioning, bathroom with tub or shower, iron/ironing board, hairdryer, kitchen, refrigerator, microwave, stove, coffeemaker, dishes/cookware, and in-room safe.
Studio with kitchen Garden View
660 avg. sq. ft.-Studio suite features king bed, queen or 2 double beds and a sofabed. Includes central air conditioning, bathroom w/ tub or shower, iron/board, hair dryer, kitchen, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, in-room safe, clock and cable TV.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Castaway Cafe
Cuisine Type Hawaii Regional and American, Casual Dress, Open Daily from 7am-9pm, Available for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (450)

Ratings and reviews for Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
450 out of 450
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.3

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Oakland, CA
Aug 31, 2007

Good value for your money

I was impressed with the size of the room itself. I was expecting just a room with a bath but was pleasantly surprised with the condo amenities: kitchen, living room, dining room, bedroom, bathroom. The location was ok. Fortunately I rented a car and was able to drive to Laihana and Kaanapali Beach. I was under the impression that resort was on Kaanapali Beach but when I drove to the next section of hotels and realized they were situated right on Kaanapali Beach. I was not impressed with the dining facilities nor was I impressed with the gym or pool facilities. But with the beach so close by, I really didn't mind too much about the pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
4
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Mateo, CA
Jul 16, 2011

Wonderful place

We love this place and book it every year. The best part is the location and the beach perfect for swimming and snorkeling. The service in the hotel is outstanding. The smallest problem is taken care of immediately. Each unit is different but when we didn't quite like the first one that we chose ourselves the hotel offered us another one and helped us move our things. Great friendly staff! Thank you!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Carol the Traveller
Santa Cruz, California
May 15, 2012

Perfect place to relax

This is one of the few (or only?) low-rise hotels on Kaanapali beach, so if you stay in one of the 2-story rooms, it feels very homey. From the first floor rooms, you can actually walk from your lanai in your bare feet out onto the grass and down to the beach or pool. The restaurant serves excellent and reasonably priced meals, and you can eat outdoors, almost on the beach. Location is wonderful--a short walk to many other hotels or to the catamaran sunset cruise. And the Kaanapali Trolley comes every 1/2 hour to take you (for free!) to Whaler's Village for shopping and more dining options! We've stayed here several times, and will return again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Take one of the catamaran sunset cruises! Especially if there is some rain, because then you will see rainbows!

Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Indianapolis, Indiana
Mar 4, 2011

Will be back!

Came to see what was available for a Christmas vacation. Was so pleased with Maui Kaanapali Villas we booked 6 villas for our family to help us celebrate our 50th wedding anniversary.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything you need for a wonderful vacation is nearby or a shuttle drive away.

Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Kailua Kona
Sep 15, 2008

A very pleasent experience

For all the furniture in the room it was very roomy and the decor was excellent. We were there for a wedding and our room was better then the other more expensive rooms the other wedding party stayed at. I hope if I ever come to the island again this room will be available. I live in Kona Hawaii so I appreciate all that the room had to offer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

All the above categorys apply. Short walk to some and a little longer walk to others. I was amazed at just how convenient it was to shopping center, entertainment and the resturant on the beach of the hotel was great.

Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Los Angeles, CA
Sep 3, 2007

Good for family on ...

Good for family on somewhat of a budget. The location of Maui Kaanapali Villas is great. The rooms are large and includes a kitchen. It has a nice view from the 5th floor. Some noise from the road behind the complex though. On site dinning is good with great ocean view and ocean breeze.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Good snorkling about 1/2 mile to the south at Black Rock. A little further down is Whalers Village- nice shoping center. Drive about 4 miles and visit Lahina for shoping and restaurants.

Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ecoman
Business
Dallas, TX
Jul 30, 2011

Maui Kaanapali Villas

This was my second stay at the Aston Maui. It was more amazing than the first. The staff is great and they remebered me from my last stay and upgraded my room to an ocean view. This is a great place if you want the resort feel but a condo with a kitchen. Best beach in Maui and nicest people towards tourists are on the west side.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

I go to Maui for the vegtation. Go to the fruit stands and try some pinapple and coconut water, it will change your life.

Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
La Mesa
Oct 7, 2008

Generous free upgrade

We called from the airport to see if we could get a room early and were delighted when we were told that, not only could we check in anytime, but were were being upgraded to a two-bedroom suite at no extra charge. The rooms far surpassed our expectations-two full bedrooms and baths, a third bathroom, kitchen, TVs in every room, patio-all of high quality and very clean. The hotel is central to all west Maui attractions and right on the beach. The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Great golf at Kapalua. Beach town at Lahaina.

Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Maui Sunseeker
Eastern Washington
Dec 20, 2013

Xmas Vacation To Paradise

We have stayed at this resort before and once again it was GREAT!!! Location is perfect. The snorkeling right outside the resort was crystal clear. No need to book a separate trip or go anywhere else. The Castaway café has great food at a fair price. The rooms was nicely updated and the staff friendly as always.. We will not stay anywhere but MKV.. See ya next year.....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Go the Times grocery store 4 blocks north for snacks and drinks for your room.. All rooms have fridge and microwaves even the hotel rooms..

Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Fort Wayne
Dec 1, 2008

maui trip

Everything we wanted ...except needed more options for after 9pm at night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Whalers village within 1 mile.

Back to menu Return to top