$158 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 28, 2015 Check-out: May 29, 2015

Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

3 stars
View map of 45 Kai Ala Drive, Lahaina, HI 96761

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
305 out of 305
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.3

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Avid Whale Fan
Business
Riverside, CA
Feb 18, 2014

Maui getaway

Great view with easy access to the beach. We could see whales from our room. The housekeeping and restaurant staff were friendly and great. Nice grounds and a great kids pool

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Go to the concierge breakfast for a great chance to win or receive discounts for any excursions or activities.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
kgah
Business
carlsbad, CA
Nov 1, 2011

enjoyable vacation

hotel was nice and very close to the water. had a room with a terrific view of the ocean. Was in a nice central location and the room was comfortable

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

can walk to some locations or have a short 10 minute drive

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MartyMar
Business
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Nov 8, 2011

The Villas

i found that directions to the beach were almost non-existent. It is within walking distance if you go behind the the cafe by the pool. If you go along the path where the "beach walk" signs point, you just go to a bunch of shops. Other than not finding beach access right away I had a good time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

I did not know that the Major Banks did not exist on the Island. If you want to save some ATM fees use your credit card or take cash with you. Also I am guessing that importing makes food more expensive. So find a grocery store for some of your meals. Safeway has a few stores. Though I did find that fruits (other than Pineapples) can be expensive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
RJ12
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Jan 4, 2012

New Years in Hawaii

The hotel is in a nice location - on the north side of Black Rock, a great place to go snorkeling. Also, the north side is a bit less busy than the south side. The hotel room overall is fine, but in some places is a bit dated. I think they are updating it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Go snorkeling right off the beach at Black Rock.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Leteg
Business
NY
Jan 23, 2012

Pleasant stay next to the ocean

The outdoor garden is beautiful and well maintained. The greatest advantage of this hotel was the location.. Just steps away from the beach. The staff is ok. My suggestion to anyone planning to stay, to ask for a premium room. We stayed in 3 different rooms in the corse of our stay.. We found the studio room much too cluttered, wasn't able to have the peace of mind we would expect when on vacation.. Plus the everything was old except for kitchen and vanity. We loved the 1 BR Garden view, which was spacious and very comfortable- It seemed to have been newly renovated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Helicopter ride to neighboring island.. Amazing!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MauiiCuople
Business
San francisco
Aug 19, 2012

Great location, studios should be improved

The location is the best in maui. The rooms could be nicer

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ms IT
Business
San Diego, California
Aug 27, 2012

Great Location for Family

the location for this hotel is great, direct access to a beautifull beach, kids friendly. A lot of other very nice beaches are closeby. What a pitty that rooms from 3rd floor and above don't have a balcony

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Cakes and pies
Business
East coast
Jan 19, 2013

Family fun in the sun

Height of the season. Accommodations not as gracious as in previous trips. Asked for 2 queen beds . Got 1 king and a sleeper sofa. Mold around ac unit. Walls were papered and looked dated. Rug old. We still had a goog time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Leodas pie shop was the best.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Chris and Sam
Business
Quartz hill, Ca
Apr 8, 2013

Comfy but needs to be updated.

Our room looked like it was decorated by the Golden Girls, however it was very comfortable. All the staff were friendly except those working at the Castaway Cafe. We visited it twice, once for breakfast and then for dinner and each time our waiter was rude and we didn't even get an apology when they got our order wrong. The hotel location was great and landscaping beautiful. I would recommend this hotel but ask for a updated room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

If you're looking for zip line, I recommend the Eco co.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Maui Tom
Business
San Jose, Ca
Apr 7, 2013

Good value

Resort is on Kaanapali Beach, which is great, and it is away from the crowds south of Black Rock, which is also great. Front desk service needs improvement, and the restaurant on the property needs serious upgrading. This is an older but still nice resort, with full kitchens in the rooms/suites. Quiet beach setting, and within walking distance of the more crowded restaurants and attractions near Whalers Village, which is about 1/2 mile south. Need to walk a ways to Black Rock to get to decent snorkeling, but you can't have everything... If you are looking for upscale, this is not it. If you are looking for quiet Maui with a great beach and comfortable rooms, this is it. Besides, you are in Maui, what's not to like?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Trilogy sailing for both whale watching, in season, and for snorkeling or sunset cruises...been going on Trilogy for years, and it never disappoints.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top