$162 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 11, 2014 Check-out: Nov 14, 2014

Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

3 stars
45 Kai Ala Drive, Lahaina, HI 96761
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
275 reviews
Best place to stay in Maui

Avoid the crowds at the big resorts and stay in a well equipped condo in a garden setting. We... See full review

  • Dave of Perth
  • Oct 15, 2014
Great hotel. Recommended

They offered us an upgrade and we ended on a studio. The room was amazing, big, nicely decorated,... See full review

  • viajeros ibericos
  • Sep 27, 2014
The Aston name is known for island hospitality across Hawaii, and the Aston Villas Hotel in Maui certainly fits the bill. The hotel's low-rise blocks overlook wooden walkways across seemingly infinite pools, fringed by the palm-laden shore of Kaanapali Beach. Suites and studios come equipped with a full kitchen and a private outdoor balcony. Down by the ocean, guests can sink their teeth into prime rib and sample the impressive wine list at the aptly-named Castaway Cafe, while enjoying the sunsets over Lanai and Molokai. Parents can play shuffleboard while the kids take ukulele lessons and learn how to make a lei at the Camp Kaanapali children's program (at nearby Aston Kaanapali  Shores). Guests visiting from November to April should bring their best binoculars for whale-watching season.
Key facts
  • 260 guestrooms
  • 2 adult pools and a children's pool
  • Gym
  • Gift shop
  • Restaurants: Including Castaway Cafe
  • Day spa
  • ATM
  • Kids camp
  • Wi-Fi (fees may apply)
Neighborhood
Located among 11 acres of bright tropical greenery, the Aston Villas hotel sits on Kaanapali Beach in Lahaina, a former favorite of Hawaiian royalty and the heart of the lively West Maui region. Watersports, shops and restaurants are all located here, easily accessible from a tourist-friendly walkway running alongside the oceanfront resorts. Snorkel at northern Napili Bay, try kayaking and parasailing, or opt for the safe voyeurism of watching the graceful cliff divers at Puu Kekaa. Spend an afternoon wandering the old fishing port of Lahaina, five minutes away - stay until evening and you might see a more riotous side, plus copious amounts of feasting and entertainment at the Old Lahaina Luau on Front Street.
Hints and tips
  • Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas is best enjoyed as a quiet slice of paradise, but when you're yearning for adventure, use the resort's complimentary shuttle to pick up souvenirs at the open-air Whalers Village shopping center.
  • The athletically-inclined can enjoy eighteen holes at one of the nearby championship golf courses, or limber up on one of the Royal Lahaina Tennis Ranch's 11 courts.
  • NOTICE: The hotel will undergo exterior renovations from 2 Sept to 2 Nov 2014, which will include installing new roofing on the Dolphin and Emerald Buildings and a spalling project on the Aloha Tower. Refurbishment works will be done during weekdays from 8 AM to 3 PM. During this period, the oceanfront pool will be closed.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

20.9361 -156.6906
Area served
Lahaina-Maui, HI
Nearby airports
OGG - Kahului and JHM - Kapalua
Area description
On Kaanapali Beach (in the Kaanapali Resort area with on-site shuffleboard), you'll choose from nearby activities including, bike rentals, luaus, snorkeling, windsurfing, Royal Lahaina Tennis Ranch and championship golf courses. Please note we offer free shuttle service to Kaanapali resort area shopping and activities.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas Rooms

Studio with kitchen Garden View
660 avg. sq. ft.-Studio suite features king bed, queen or 2 double beds and a sofabed. Includes central air conditioning, bathroom w/ tub or shower, iron/board, hair dryer, kitchen, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, in-room safe, clock and cable TV.
Studio with kitchen Ocean View
660 avg. sq. ft.-Studio with queen bed, king bed, or 2 double beds and a sofa bed. Central air conditioning, bathroom with tub or shower, iron/ironing board, hairdryer, kitchen, refrigerator, microwave, stove, coffeemaker, dishes/cookware, and in-room safe.
One Bedroom Ocean Side Suite
1,260 avg. sq.ft.-One bedroom suite features king bed or queen and a sofabed. Includes central air conditioning, bathroom w/ tub or shower, sofabed, iron/board, hair dryer, kitchen, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, in-room safe, clock and cable TV. Located in Ocean Side building (Dolphin or Emerald).
Hotel Room
520 avg. sq.ft.-Hotel room features either a king or queen bed. Includes central air conditioning, iron/board, hair dryer, refrigerator, coffee maker, in-room safe, clock and cable TV.
One Bedroom Ocean View Suite
1,260 avg. sq. ft.-One bedroom suite features king bed, queen or sofabed and 2 double beds or sofabed. Includes central air conditioning, bathroom w/ tub or shower, sofabed, iron/board, hair dryer, kitchen, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, in-room safe, clock and cable TV.
Studio with Kitchen Ocean Side
660 avg. sq. ft.-Studio with queen bed or king bed, and a sofa bed. Located in Dolphin or Emerald Tower. Room name denotes location not view. Includes sofa bed, central air conditioning, bathroom with tub or shower, iron/ironing board, hairdryer, kitchen, refrigerator, microwave, stove, coffeemaker, dishes/cookware, and in-room safe.
One Bedroom Garden View Suite
1,260 avg. sq. ft.-One bedroom suite features king bed, queen or 2 double beds and a sofabed. Includes central air conditioning, bathroom w/ tub or shower, sofabed, iron/board, hair dryer, kitchen, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, in-room safe, clock and cable TV.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Castaway Cafe
Cuisine Type Hawaii Regional and American, Casual Dress, Open Daily from 7am-9pm, Available for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (275)

Ratings and reviews for Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
9 out of 275
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.8
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.7

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ffdonnie
Business
Santa Cruz
May 18, 2012

Very Nice Hotel

The hotel over-all is very nice. Great location, nice amenities, great grounds, very nice pool and lawn area right at the beach. Castaway Restaurant is very fun and good food too. Prices at the store and Castaways were very reasonable, didn't feel like you had to run out to get stuff, they had most of what you need. Joe at the front desk should get a raise. I don't care what he gets paid now, just give that man a raise. Now for the not so good part; the rooms vary quit a bit in their quality. they are time shares. Our room was clean but the bed was awful. The lanai furniture is not useable (broken) and there is mold around the a/c intake (we never turned it on anyway). Would we return? You bet, but I will be pickier with the bed. But then again any bed is ok with enough alcohol. We had enough alcohol.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Oct 15, 2011

Nice beach side stay

Our location was nice because the pool and ocean were very nearby. There was also adequate parking nearby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Alive again
Business
Prescott, WI
Dec 22, 2010

Very Pleasantly Surprised

We went surfing, ziplining and shopping. Which were all set up by the conciege,(Dawn) she was very helpful and had a great personality. We stayed in 3 different rooms because we did a up- grade and then stayed for another day. All the rooms were different and we loved two of them and one was okay. They had kitchens in two that we really liked and very clean and comfortable. Beds were comfortable. The place is very homey , and the restaurant on site was very good at a resonable price. The only thing is you paid for internet and parking but if you didn't have your own computer and used theirs they charged by the minute, I thought that was included in price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Rent a car it is well worth it, to explore the island and to get to other adventures on the island. Even though there is a trolley to some of the places, its pretty easy to get around in the car and you can find free parking in most places.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
No Balls
Business
Vancouver B.C.
Apr 29, 2010

Good Value

The beach was the best on the entire island. We went to 15 different beaches and the the one in front of the hotel was the best. Most sun, least wind, good snorkeling off to the right.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Definetly need a car. Best to book attractions online and get vouchers. This way you can call when you are there and book the best day to go.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ann Arbor, MI
Mar 6, 2010

In the most beautiful beach of Maui

Rooms are great (big, clean, ful kitchen, quiet, great view), pool area is perfect (grass,games, hot tub, view of the beach), staff very friendly, very good location (close to town, supermarkets and close to the road). The restaurant at the hotel could have more options, but as we have a kitchen at the room, it was ok.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Time sharing downtow

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
3 timer to Maui
Business
Ohio
Jun 29, 2009

Nice Stay

It was in a great location on west Maui and close to all the actvities in Lahaina and Kaanapali. The rooms were comfortable and cleaned daily. Check in and out were a breeze. There was free wireless internet available, too, but you had to pay 35 cents a page to print out any travel documents. Other than that, a great stay and would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

For a great meal, although a little pricey, make sure you go to Canoes--it is right on the end of Front Street in Lahaina. Awesome macadamia nut crusted mahi-mahi. The Sheraton Luau is much better in food and entertainment than the Hyatt.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sandy, UT
Jun 5, 2009

Great Price, Great Location

We stayed at the Maui Kaanapali Villas for four nights after completing a cruise of the Hawaiian islands. Our room was a studio garden view with a king bed and pull out sofa. It was very comfortable and clean. The kitchen had all the necessary dishes, etc. so you could cook your own meals and the staff was very friendly and accommodating. They even let us stay a couple of extra hours on our last day since we had an overnight flight. We were able to snorkel at Black Rock which was only a 10-15 min. walk from our condo. The beach is beautiful and the sunsets magnificent. There is an on site restaurant that serves reasonably priced good food and you can sit outside under the palm trees overlooking the ocean. The grounds were very well kept and parking was always available although there was a daily charge. Every condo is different so I can't speak for all of them, but ours was nicely furnished and up to date. My only complaint was that the bed was a little to firm for my taste. Overall we had a wonderful stay and would return without hesitation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

If you arrive between 6:00-6:30 you can usually get a table by the ocean with a nice sunset view.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cedar Rapids, IA
Apr 30, 2008

Very family friendly

This was a perfect spot, close to the beach, dining ,and all shopping, anything you wanted to do

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Everything was within a short drive

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, TX
Sep 27, 2007

My review of ResortQuest Maui Kaanapali Villas

The rooms were bigger and nicer than I thought they would me. it was decorated really pretty. We didn't know that it had a full kitchen. I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

the shopping was good. Went to hard rock cafe for lunch and t-shirts

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top