$169 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 13, 2014 Check-out: Nov 15, 2014

Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

3 stars
45 Kai Ala Drive, Lahaina, HI 96761
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
275 reviews
Best place to stay in Maui

Avoid the crowds at the big resorts and stay in a well equipped condo in a garden setting. We... See full review

  • Dave of Perth
  • Oct 15, 2014
Great hotel. Recommended

They offered us an upgrade and we ended on a studio. The room was amazing, big, nicely decorated,... See full review

  • viajeros ibericos
  • Sep 27, 2014
The Aston name is known for island hospitality across Hawaii, and the Aston Villas Hotel in Maui certainly fits the bill. The hotel's low-rise blocks overlook wooden walkways across seemingly infinite pools, fringed by the palm-laden shore of Kaanapali Beach. Suites and studios come equipped with a full kitchen and a private outdoor balcony. Down by the ocean, guests can sink their teeth into prime rib and sample the impressive wine list at the aptly-named Castaway Cafe, while enjoying the sunsets over Lanai and Molokai. Parents can play shuffleboard while the kids take ukulele lessons and learn how to make a lei at the Camp Kaanapali children's program (at nearby Aston Kaanapali  Shores). Guests visiting from November to April should bring their best binoculars for whale-watching season.
Key facts
  • 260 guestrooms
  • 2 adult pools and a children's pool
  • Gym
  • Gift shop
  • Restaurants: Including Castaway Cafe
  • Day spa
  • ATM
  • Kids camp
  • Wi-Fi (fees may apply)
Neighborhood
Located among 11 acres of bright tropical greenery, the Aston Villas hotel sits on Kaanapali Beach in Lahaina, a former favorite of Hawaiian royalty and the heart of the lively West Maui region. Watersports, shops and restaurants are all located here, easily accessible from a tourist-friendly walkway running alongside the oceanfront resorts. Snorkel at northern Napili Bay, try kayaking and parasailing, or opt for the safe voyeurism of watching the graceful cliff divers at Puu Kekaa. Spend an afternoon wandering the old fishing port of Lahaina, five minutes away - stay until evening and you might see a more riotous side, plus copious amounts of feasting and entertainment at the Old Lahaina Luau on Front Street.
Hints and tips
  • Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas is best enjoyed as a quiet slice of paradise, but when you're yearning for adventure, use the resort's complimentary shuttle to pick up souvenirs at the open-air Whalers Village shopping center.
  • The athletically-inclined can enjoy eighteen holes at one of the nearby championship golf courses, or limber up on one of the Royal Lahaina Tennis Ranch's 11 courts.
  • NOTICE: The hotel will undergo exterior renovations from 2 Sept to 2 Nov 2014, which will include installing new roofing on the Dolphin and Emerald Buildings and a spalling project on the Aloha Tower. Refurbishment works will be done during weekdays from 8 AM to 3 PM. During this period, the oceanfront pool will be closed.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

20.9361 -156.6906
Area served
Lahaina-Maui, HI
Nearby airports
OGG - Kahului and JHM - Kapalua
Area description
On Kaanapali Beach (in the Kaanapali Resort area with on-site shuffleboard), you'll choose from nearby activities including, bike rentals, luaus, snorkeling, windsurfing, Royal Lahaina Tennis Ranch and championship golf courses. Please note we offer free shuttle service to Kaanapali resort area shopping and activities.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas Rooms

Studio with kitchen Garden View
660 avg. sq. ft.-Studio suite features king bed, queen or 2 double beds and a sofabed. Includes central air conditioning, bathroom w/ tub or shower, iron/board, hair dryer, kitchen, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, in-room safe, clock and cable TV.
Studio with kitchen Ocean View
660 avg. sq. ft.-Studio with queen bed, king bed, or 2 double beds and a sofa bed. Central air conditioning, bathroom with tub or shower, iron/ironing board, hairdryer, kitchen, refrigerator, microwave, stove, coffeemaker, dishes/cookware, and in-room safe.
One Bedroom Ocean Side Suite
1,260 avg. sq.ft.-One bedroom suite features king bed or queen and a sofabed. Includes central air conditioning, bathroom w/ tub or shower, sofabed, iron/board, hair dryer, kitchen, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, in-room safe, clock and cable TV. Located in Ocean Side building (Dolphin or Emerald).
Hotel Room
520 avg. sq.ft.-Hotel room features either a king or queen bed. Includes central air conditioning, iron/board, hair dryer, refrigerator, coffee maker, in-room safe, clock and cable TV.
One Bedroom Ocean View Suite
1,260 avg. sq. ft.-One bedroom suite features king bed, queen or sofabed and 2 double beds or sofabed. Includes central air conditioning, bathroom w/ tub or shower, sofabed, iron/board, hair dryer, kitchen, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, in-room safe, clock and cable TV.
Studio with Kitchen Ocean Side
660 avg. sq. ft.-Studio with queen bed or king bed, and a sofa bed. Located in Dolphin or Emerald Tower. Room name denotes location not view. Includes sofa bed, central air conditioning, bathroom with tub or shower, iron/ironing board, hairdryer, kitchen, refrigerator, microwave, stove, coffeemaker, dishes/cookware, and in-room safe.
One Bedroom Garden View Suite
1,260 avg. sq. ft.-One bedroom suite features king bed, queen or 2 double beds and a sofabed. Includes central air conditioning, bathroom w/ tub or shower, sofabed, iron/board, hair dryer, kitchen, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, in-room safe, clock and cable TV.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Castaway Cafe
Cuisine Type Hawaii Regional and American, Casual Dress, Open Daily from 7am-9pm, Available for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (275)

Ratings and reviews for Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
275 out of 275
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.3

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Kamomi
Business
Honolulu, Hawaii
Mar 1, 2010

Aston Maui

Arrangements made through cheap tickets. Somehow reservation at the Aston was not received at the time of arrival. Staff was not very courteous. When following up the next day on reservations, again staff not courteous. Will not make reservations there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
hanko
Business
San Francisco, CA, USA
Nov 9, 2011

Avoid the hotel rooms

Had reserved a regular hotel room for our entire stay. Sadly disappointed with the room we got. While the bathroom appears to have been recently fixed up, the rest of the room was in serious need of renovation - very noisy AC, corroded window moldings, carpet that was a throwback to the '70s, and the worst mattress I've slept on in years. And there was a lot of additional noise from outside the room (AC in adjacent rooms, road noise, nearby mechanical equipment). We upgraded to a studio for the remainder of the stay, and that made the remainder of our stay reasonably nice (but also more expensive than planned). From the other guests we met in line at reception that were trying to switch rooms, we clearly weren't alone in our experience. Great snorkeling nearby, and a nice little farmer's market across the highway. The Castaway Cafe has an entertaining crowd at the bar on weekends, but the food is fairly poor for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Great snorkeling at beach park adjacent to the hotel, no boat trip required.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
UsuallyNotSoSour
Business
Portland, OR, USA
Mar 22, 2012

LOUD neighbors until MIDNIGHT - staff SHRUGGED!

we stayed in a lawn level condo. very dated decor with threadbare feel. had neighbors above us feeding birds daily, so the birds were at our feet at our table. neighbors next door threw parties outside until 11:00pm (the hotel info said "very quiet hours" begins at 9:00pm) . front desk sent security twice to no avail, then said they could do no more, exept give me the local police. are you kidding? last thing i would do would be to harrass the local police! VERY SINKING, ALONE, FEELING! if this is the emotion you are seeking on your vacation, stay at this ASTON resort!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

BOX JELLY FISH - we together swam into a box jelly fish (didn't see it) sting was 4 hours of agony then tapering off over 24 hrs - intense experience, but didn't keep us out of the water later! FIRST AID TIP: generous white vinegar application keeps remaining nematocysts from firing. also, apply shaving cream and shave area to remove imbedded nematocysts. take benedryl, pain meds, keep laughing.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Inland Empire, So. Calif.
Jun 27, 2010

Not worth a 3-star rating

This hotel is very outdated and worn down. [...]construction was also occurring outside our room (jackhammering). However, we were lucky in that one staff member was able to move us and other family members to the Aston Mahana Hotel on the following day of arrival. We do not recommend this hotel (Aston Kaanapali Villas) to anybody. The rooms smell musty and the air conditioning does not work properly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

There are several places to dine at Old Lahaina. This is a must see for everyone.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Arlington, TX
Jun 7, 2010

Hotel review

The hotel was under construction. The last day we were there we could not even enjoy the day. The workers made us close our patio door and it sounded like they were drilling in the room next to us. The front desk people did not care or even offer an apology. Only that we could request to change rooms. Again, last day of vacation, we did not want to have to move all of our stuff. We requested ocean view. We got a room on the 3rd floor that if you stepped out on the 2 foot wide balcony and looked to the right you could see the ocean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

To go on a helicopter island tour with Blue Hawaiian. Amazing....

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
mrducks
Business
Broken Arrow, OK, USA
Mar 28, 2014

First time to Maui

The room we had smelled bad when we opened the door - probably due to the carpet. Mosquitoes and gnats were bad - also had some roaches. The fee for parking and amenities was something we never have to pay at other places we have stayed in Hawaii.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Ben there
Business
Scotts Valley CA
Nov 1, 2010

Kannapalli Villas, some good some not

I was not informed that the hotel was in the middle of a remodel! There was a front desk and that was about it the small store was closed as were the rest of the front area. My room compared to my Brothers next door was a night and day difference.Ours was very dated with some attempt at refurbishing. Needs complete remodel #620. Staff was good. The cafe was nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Basil Tomato, Special daily from 5pm-6pm 1/2 off. Great food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mommava
Business
San Jose, CA, USA
Nov 14, 2011

OK until the cockroach appeared

This hotel is only OK. The rooms are outdated. The bathrooms are a little smelly, dingy and stained, although they were kept clean. We had a nice enough time, but two things ruined it. We walked to the hotel next door and it was stunningly beautiful...which left us feeling a little bummed. But we got over that. The last night there, a two inch cockroach crawled above our bed. Disgusting and scary. The security guard promptly came to our room and caught it...but how am I supposed to sleep knowing another one may appear from under the countertop in the kitchen where it tried to hide form us?! I even tried to get a different hotel even though we were flying out in 9 hours. They could do a lot to improve this place. A facelift is definitely needed. Also, there is no waiter that comes to take your order at the pool. The beach is fantastic and swimmable (I believe not a lot of beaches in Maui are this nice), however, they do not provide you with beach lounger chairs. Instead, you have to purchase a cabana at 26 bucks a day or park yourself on a towel. The food at the restaurant onsite was not good and there is no room service. I realize this is a timeshare property, but it could be alot nicer with only a little effort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Gazebo had the best breakfast. It is in some random timeshare property out of the way. Google it. You have to get there at 7am when the line starts forming. Worth it! YUM!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
SF Bay Area
Nov 29, 2010

Convenient location, mediocre service

Pros: - Beach access is excellent - Premises well maintained - Close to Lahaina harbor, grocery stores, etc Cons: - Poor reception upon checkin. The person in the front lobby was hardly receptive. We had been to the same place 9 years ago, and at that time it was excellent. This time, they gave a cold reception, totally lacking enthusiasm. - Poor housekeeping. Often beach and/or room towels were not replaced. There was an occasion when coffee was not replenished. The telephone hot keys werent working and I had to ask them to be programmed. - The AC vents were terribly broken and out of shape. - WIFI would keep getting disconnected, especially with the iPhone (occasionally with the laptop).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Snorkeling, parasailing, etc

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Maui Maniac
Business
Kansas City
Jun 9, 2009

You get what you pay for

We were arriving at 9:00 PM and just needed a place to stay until we could check into our condo the next afternoon. This place met our needs to find somewhere inexpensive to stay for 1 night. If you have a similar situation this hotel is adequate. The hotel is not very clean, needs paint and updating and there aren't many amentities. The air conditioning barely worked and when I checked in 2 different people were complaining about the temperature in their rooms. They also charge the annoying $12 resort fee. The workout room was a warm, maloderous, dirty, dark place with outdated equipment. Having said all that if you want to spend as little as possible and/or won't be in the room other than to sleep this place will work. It is near Kaanapali Beach which is one of the best in the world and the hotel is a short walk from it, so that part was really nice. If you want a nice, clean hotel, or want to spend more time in a resort like setting, spend more money to stay somewhere else. Oh, and if you do stay here, don't forget to take the pool towels down when you check out. They charge $40 if you don't have the pool towels with you when you check out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top