$219 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 5, 2015 Check-out: Jan 8, 2015

Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

3 stars
45 Kai Ala Drive, Lahaina, HI 96761
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
278 reviews
Perfect place to stay

This is the best hotel in Maui in my opinion. Not too crowded, perfect Kaanapali beach, close to... See full review

  • Andrew 9505
  • Nov 20, 2014
Best for the beach lover

The staff at this resort is so nice and the location is the best on Kaanapali. Best stretch of... See full review

  • ElijoSF
  • Nov 5, 2014
The Aston name is known for island hospitality across Hawaii, and the Aston Villas Hotel in Maui certainly fits the bill. The hotel's low-rise blocks overlook wooden walkways across seemingly infinite pools, fringed by the palm-laden shore of Kaanapali Beach. Suites and studios come equipped with a full kitchen and a private outdoor balcony. Down by the ocean, guests can sink their teeth into prime rib and sample the impressive wine list at the aptly-named Castaway Cafe, while enjoying the sunsets over Lanai and Molokai. Parents can play shuffleboard while the kids take ukulele lessons and learn how to make a lei at the Camp Kaanapali children's program (at nearby Aston Kaanapali  Shores). Guests visiting from November to April should bring their best binoculars for whale-watching season.
Key facts
  • 260 guestrooms
  • 2 adult pools and a children's pool
  • Gym
  • Gift shop
  • Restaurants: Including Castaway Cafe
  • Day spa
  • ATM
  • Kids camp
  • Wi-Fi (fees may apply)
Neighborhood
Located among 11 acres of bright tropical greenery, the Aston Villas hotel sits on Kaanapali Beach in Lahaina, a former favorite of Hawaiian royalty and the heart of the lively West Maui region. Watersports, shops and restaurants are all located here, easily accessible from a tourist-friendly walkway running alongside the oceanfront resorts. Snorkel at northern Napili Bay, try kayaking and parasailing, or opt for the safe voyeurism of watching the graceful cliff divers at Puu Kekaa. Spend an afternoon wandering the old fishing port of Lahaina, five minutes away - stay until evening and you might see a more riotous side, plus copious amounts of feasting and entertainment at the Old Lahaina Luau on Front Street.
Hints and tips
  • Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas is best enjoyed as a quiet slice of paradise, but when you're yearning for adventure, use the resort's complimentary shuttle to pick up souvenirs at the open-air Whalers Village shopping center.
  • The athletically-inclined can enjoy eighteen holes at one of the nearby championship golf courses, or limber up on one of the Royal Lahaina Tennis Ranch's 11 courts.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas Rooms

Studio with kitchen Garden View
660 avg. sq. ft.-Studio suite features king bed, queen or 2 double beds and a sofabed. Includes central air conditioning, bathroom w/ tub or shower, iron/board, hair dryer, kitchen, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, in-room safe, clock and cable TV.
Studio with kitchen Ocean View
660 avg. sq. ft.-Studio with queen bed, king bed, or 2 double beds and a sofa bed. Central air conditioning, bathroom with tub or shower, iron/ironing board, hairdryer, kitchen, refrigerator, microwave, stove, coffeemaker, dishes/cookware, and in-room safe.
One Bedroom Ocean Side Suite
1,260 avg. sq.ft.-One bedroom suite features king bed or queen and a sofabed. Includes central air conditioning, bathroom w/ tub or shower, sofabed, iron/board, hair dryer, kitchen, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, in-room safe, clock and cable TV. Located in Ocean Side building (Dolphin or Emerald).
Hotel Room
520 avg. sq.ft.-Hotel room features either a king or queen bed. Includes central air conditioning, iron/board, hair dryer, refrigerator, coffee maker, in-room safe, clock and cable TV.
One Bedroom Ocean View Suite
1,260 avg. sq. ft.-One bedroom suite features king bed, queen or sofabed and 2 double beds or sofabed. Includes central air conditioning, bathroom w/ tub or shower, sofabed, iron/board, hair dryer, kitchen, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, in-room safe, clock and cable TV.
Studio with Kitchen Ocean Side
660 avg. sq. ft.-Studio with queen bed or king bed, and a sofa bed. Located in Dolphin or Emerald Tower. Room name denotes location not view. Includes sofa bed, central air conditioning, bathroom with tub or shower, iron/ironing board, hairdryer, kitchen, refrigerator, microwave, stove, coffeemaker, dishes/cookware, and in-room safe.
One Bedroom Garden View Suite
1,260 avg. sq. ft.-One bedroom suite features king bed, queen or 2 double beds and a sofabed. Includes central air conditioning, bathroom w/ tub or shower, sofabed, iron/board, hair dryer, kitchen, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, in-room safe, clock and cable TV.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Castaway Cafe
Cuisine Type Hawaii Regional and American, Casual Dress, Open Daily from 7am-9pm, Available for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (278)

Ratings and reviews for Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
278 out of 278
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.3

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gertrude
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jun 23, 2007

Nice resort

I am from Europe, and this was my first experience with an American holiday resort. I was very satisfied with the accomodation and all services provided by the hotel staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
May 1, 2008

Relaxing

ResortQuest Maui Kaanapali Villas. We were very pleased with the room. We stayed in a studio, which was plenty big enough for two and would be ok for four. Enjoyed having breakfast with the birds on the balcony.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Cafe has a great chicken salad.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Las Vegas, NV
Jul 21, 2007

Great Stay

This was our first trip to this property and to Maui. From the check in to the end of our stay we were pleasantly surprised. The room was clean and newly refurnished. We had a kitchen and patio-daily cleaning service. The beach is incredible-we snorkled everyday. They'll give you new towels at the desk whenever you ask. Free coffe in the morning at the desk. They offer a lending library. The front desk staff was always friendly and offered advice and directions. The Whaler's village is within walking distance-the shuttle is available too.The on- site restaurant is right on the beach and affordable compared to some of the restaurants in Maui(good portion size too).If I had to pick a negative I'd say the $10 a day activities fee-for parking(which can be challenging)etc. But it seems many of the places charge this and more. We've already made plans to return!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Travel to one of the grocery stores and stock up on things like snacks and water. Cost Co and WalMart are right near the airport. There's also a Safeway and Long's Drugs nearby. Bring a lot of sunscreen-you won't think you need it but you do.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
C&L
Business
San Francisco, CA
May 8, 2009

A wonderful resort

The best location, a wonderful pool, so relaxing! there is a beach walk that passes right through, so my husband and I walked up and down the coast every morning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Candy and Girls
Business
Omaha,Ne / Ava,Mo
May 10, 2009

AWESOME Vacation !!!

This was a great experience ! It was a mother/daughters trip. the condo was fabulous plenty of room for 3 Adult women. We walked across the parking lot to the beach(Very clean beach)had a great BBQ at the new pit area.(Very nice) Location was outstanding.The hotel had a shack on the beach to rent snorkeling ,kayaks,cabanas,and other items. they had beach towels in your room and you called to get clean ones when needed. Walk or drive each direction to get to shopping or other activities. We went to the Ziplines (skyline eco adventures) 8 ziplines that was a blast! We drove around the whole island that was a adventure in itself. BOY! Just know,roads are Very Narrow! We went to a restaurant (Freds)in kihei 1LB. Burritos. YUM!! WE will stay here again and bring more friends and family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

whalers was a longer walk but for a short drive go to Lahaina for more bargains and great food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
IL
Jun 10, 2009

Great place, I want to go back already!

We arrived early and they were able to do an early check in. I was able to get a room with 2 queen beds and it was an updated unit with garden view. Great beach location, 15 drive from Lahaina. We didn't schedule any trips with the front desk, but we reserved a Molokini trip on line which it was great! We also drove to Hana, which is amazing but scary at times but worth it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Believe it or not we dinned twice in a row at Bubba Gump because all their sea food was great! We also tried Mr. Taco but personally it was awfull taking in consideration we come from Chicago and we have plenty of choices here. Hawaii is expensive and regardless where you shop, eat, or what activities you do it will be expensive but worth it!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Vacation couple
Business
Colorado Springs, CO
Jul 25, 2009

Kaanapali Villas vacation

Our stay at the hotel was wonderful. We got the smallest room, which was great for the two of us. We spent all of our days out and about at the beach and snorkeling, pineapple tour, and zip-lining. The beach was right on site and was very quiet. It was amazing. The location couldn't have gotten any better. The shops are right down the road, the activities are right there also, you can snoorkel right off the beach or go down the street 10 minutes for primere location. The exact place the snoorkeling cruises go. We even got there early in the morning and saw 5 sea turtles. If you don't care so much about a big fancy hotel and just want the beach and great location, this is a great place to stay. The pool was great and the premises was extremelly clean and kept, with many exotic plants. We would highly recommend this hotel to anyone. We also recommend a rental car to explore the island and see sites like the Blowhole, Road to Hanah and waterfalls. The hotel is 40 minutes from the OGG airport. We will definitelly go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Snoorkeling is right down the beach at the famous Black Rocks or a short drive to one of the great bays. You could also snoorkle right at the beach.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Grafton, WI
Aug 12, 2009

Excellent time!

Very clean and modern room! Tile, new furniture, flat screen T.V. and an incredibly comfortable bed. Stepped out the back door to a beautiful public beach and out the front door to a great little pool. There was a bigger pool a little further, but we liked the small one because no one was usually there. Great cleaning staff and some friendly front desk staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Shop at Costco next to the airport before coming to hotel. Saved us a lot of money, Safeway was pretty expensive and we heard Star Mart was extremely expensive. Use the coupons the hotel gives out for many other discounts on food and shopping.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sprinfield, Mo
Nov 23, 2010

ABSOLUTELY AWESOME

The villas are a great place to stay,beautiful grounds,facilities. We got a studio/garden view and parked twenty feet from our door and very private. you can get ocean view but then not so private with everyone walking on beach in front of your patio. Units have full kitchens with everything, and bbq area with gas grills so you can cook at "home". This was our fourth stay at the villas and would never stay anywhere else again. The private beach at the villas is rated the highest on Maui for snorkeling /scuba/fish.Beautiful coral reef /tons of tropical fish as close 20 feet out. Black rock is at one end. [...] the manager is A AWESOME HOST. Especially for a family you can not beat this awesome place. I would warn everyone be careful of the airline you select to get there, we have had serious issues with all major airlines EXCEPT HAWAIIAN AIR which does set the standard. They only fly from west coast unfortunately. There are 3 grocery stores within a few miles of the villas, Safeway,the times,food mart but you REALLY need to bounce back and forth between all of them for sale items. Groceries are outrageous but picking sale items are just as inexpensive as home{midwest}

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to ABC stores and get the book "Maui Revealed" it tells you where all of Maui's hidden natural treasures are. Most all excursions were a disappointment and overpriced. Get a car and the book and you're set. We dove with Maui diving and scuba right behind the shell gas station at Lahaina which was the best value for anything we've done there. Also the trip to the national park at Hana seven pools and waterfalls is a trying experience but one you will talk about for the rest of your life, start out early for this trip!!!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
California
May 14, 2011

A place to unwind

We've stayed at Maui Kaanapali Villas on our two trips to Maui. Love the location, love Castaway Cafe. The proximity to the beach is awesome. A great place to stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Definitely make a trip to Lahaina for shopping and sightseeing activities.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top