Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

3 stars
View map of 45 Kai Ala Drive, Lahaina, HI 96761

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
263 reviews
Perfect Family Spot

We loved this hotel. We had a 1 BR suite (although the bedroom wasn't separated/enclosed, it's a... See full review

  • Bryan P.
  • Apr 22, 2015
Awesome place to stay

The moment we got to our room we loved it. The beach is beautiful and the pools where awesome. I... See full review

  • colleen d.
  • Apr 10, 2015
  • Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas is best enjoyed as a quiet slice of paradise, but when you're yearning for adventure, use the resort's complimentary shuttle to pick up souvenirs at the open-air Whalers Village shopping center.
  • The athletically-inclined can enjoy eighteen holes at one of the nearby championship golf courses, or limber up on one of the Royal Lahaina Tennis Ranch's 11 courts.
General
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas, Maui
Location
The Aston name is known for island hospitality across Hawaii, and the Aston Villas Hotel in Maui certainly fits the bill. The hotel's low-rise blocks overlook wooden walkways across seemingly infinite pools, fringed by the palm-laden shore of Kaanapali Beach. Suites and studios come equipped with a full kitchen and a private outdoor balcony. Down by the ocean, guests can sink their teeth into prime rib and sample the impressive wine list at the aptly-named Castaway Cafe, while enjoying the sunsets over Lanai and Molokai. Parents can play shuffleboard while the kids take ukulele lessons and learn how to make a lei at the Camp Kaanapali children's program (at nearby Aston Kaanapali  Shores). Guests visiting from November to April should bring their best binoculars for whale-watching season.
Dining
  • 260 guestrooms
  • 2 adult pools and a children's pool
  • Gym
  • Gift shop
  • Restaurants: Including Castaway Cafe
  • Day spa
  • ATM
  • Kids camp
  • Wi-Fi (fees may apply)
Rooms
Located among 11 acres of bright tropical greenery, the Aston Villas hotel sits on Kaanapali Beach in Lahaina, a former favorite of Hawaiian royalty and the heart of the lively West Maui region. Watersports, shops and restaurants are all located here, easily accessible from a tourist-friendly walkway running alongside the oceanfront resorts. Snorkel at northern Napili Bay, try kayaking and parasailing, or opt for the safe voyeurism of watching the graceful cliff divers at Puu Kekaa. Spend an afternoon wandering the old fishing port of Lahaina, five minutes away - stay until evening and you might see a more riotous side, plus copious amounts of feasting and entertainment at the Old Lahaina Luau on Front Street.
Highlights
  • 260 guestrooms
  • 2 adult pools and a children's pool
  • Gym
  • Gift shop
  • Restaurants: Including Castaway Cafe
  • Day spa
  • ATM
  • Kids camp
  • Wi-Fi (fees may apply)
Policies
  • Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas is best enjoyed as a quiet slice of paradise, but when you're yearning for adventure, use the resort's complimentary shuttle to pick up souvenirs at the open-air Whalers Village shopping center.
  • The athletically-inclined can enjoy eighteen holes at one of the nearby championship golf courses, or limber up on one of the Royal Lahaina Tennis Ranch's 11 courts.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas Rooms

One Bedroom Ocean Side Suite
1,260 avg. sq.ft.-One bedroom suite features king bed or queen and a sofabed. Includes central air conditioning, bathroom w/ tub or shower, sofabed, iron/board, hair dryer, kitchen, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, in-room safe, clock and cable TV. Located in Ocean Side building (Dolphin or Emerald).
Hotel Room
520 avg. sq.ft.-Hotel room features either a king or queen bed. Includes central air conditioning, iron/board, hair dryer, refrigerator, coffee maker, in-room safe, clock and cable TV.
One Bedroom Ocean View Suite
1,260 avg. sq. ft.-One bedroom suite features king bed, queen or sofabed and 2 double beds or sofabed. Includes central air conditioning, bathroom w/ tub or shower, sofabed, iron/board, hair dryer, kitchen, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, in-room safe, clock and cable TV.
Studio with Kitchen Ocean Side
660 avg. sq. ft.-Studio with queen bed or king bed, and a sofa bed. Located in Dolphin or Emerald Tower. Room name denotes location not view. Includes sofa bed, central air conditioning, bathroom with tub or shower, iron/ironing board, hairdryer, kitchen, refrigerator, microwave, stove, coffeemaker, dishes/cookware, and in-room safe.
One Bedroom Garden View Suite
1,260 avg. sq. ft.-One bedroom suite features king bed, queen or 2 double beds and a sofabed. Includes central air conditioning, bathroom w/ tub or shower, sofabed, iron/board, hair dryer, kitchen, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, in-room safe, clock and cable TV.
Studio with kitchen Ocean View
660 avg. sq. ft.-Studio with queen bed, king bed, or 2 double beds and a sofa bed. Central air conditioning, bathroom with tub or shower, iron/ironing board, hairdryer, kitchen, refrigerator, microwave, stove, coffeemaker, dishes/cookware, and in-room safe.
Studio with kitchen Garden View
660 avg. sq. ft.-Studio suite features king bed, queen or 2 double beds and a sofabed. Includes central air conditioning, bathroom w/ tub or shower, iron/board, hair dryer, kitchen, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, in-room safe, clock and cable TV.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities

Dining

Castaway Cafe
Cuisine Type Hawaii Regional and American, Casual Dress, Open Daily from 7am-9pm, Available for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
263 out of 263
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.3

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pat and Bob
Business
Memphis, TN, USA
Oct 21, 2011

Honeymoon !!

The staff was the best!! We checked in late, around 8:30 p.m. after a long flight from Memphis. Everyone was so helpful and they even gave us a bottle of champaigne for our upcoming wedding. Our room was great, the whole compound was beautiful and looked like a picture perfect area the whole time we were there. The food at the cafe was excellant. Would go back and stay again...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

We had a rental car but you could go a lot of places nearby with the shuttle bus.

Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SnoopyGirl07
Business
Bay Area
Oct 24, 2011

Best hotel ever!!!

Stayed at this hotel 8 yrs in a row!! Best staff and beautiful surroundings! Never stay anywhere else while on maui

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Chfgraegl
Business
Pleasanton,Calif
Oct 30, 2011

Maui Delight

This was my second time I was here and the first time was 20 yrs ago . It was better this time and I want to thank the Hotel Staff , everyone of them for making our visit the best . Everyone at the hotel when presented with a question , gave us a great recommendation or took care of it . I went snorkeling the last day and the gentleman at the beach house told us where to go and I saw a lot of beautiful fish out by the reef . The room was great . We were in 620 and had a great ocean view and a great kitchen and a king size bed. My only mistake was not staying for two weeks. Live an Learn :--)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Star Noodle is a very good restaurant.

Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Denver, CO, USA
Oct 31, 2011

Relaxing getaway!

Excellent snorkeling location, good restaurant, great service, amazing grounds.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Enya
Business
San Antonio, TX, USA
Apr 11, 2012

LOVED THE LOCATION

We had a great experience with the room (size) and staff. However when it came to cleaning the room, one of the house keepers did not provide extra towels and didn't pick some up from the floor and didn't make the bed correctly. Other than that it was a great place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

loved shopping at Whalers Village and in Lahaina!!

Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ecoman
Business
Dallas
Apr 21, 2012

Best Place in Maui

This is the best place in Maui. The grounds, the staff, the location is all amazing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The beach is great for smokers

Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rob and Kimbo
Business
San Diego, CA
May 11, 2012

Awesome!

Hotel was awesome! Located right on the beach, close to black rock for great snorkeling. Staff was friendly and accomidating. We requested to switch rooms a few days into our trip due to neighbors with noisy kids playing outside and we were immediately taken care of. Room had a fully stocked kitchen and an awesome balcony. Free easy to access Wi-Fi. Wonderful way to spend our honeymoon Overall awesome!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Castaway Cafe on the property is a great spot with reasonable prices, delish food, and a beautiful view!

Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Carol the Traveller
Business
Santa Cruz, California
May 15, 2012

Perfect place to relax

This is one of the few (or only?) low-rise hotels on Kaanapali beach, so if you stay in one of the 2-story rooms, it feels very homey. From the first floor rooms, you can actually walk from your lanai in your bare feet out onto the grass and down to the beach or pool. The restaurant serves excellent and reasonably priced meals, and you can eat outdoors, almost on the beach. Location is wonderful--a short walk to many other hotels or to the catamaran sunset cruise. And the Kaanapali Trolley comes every 1/2 hour to take you (for free!) to Whaler's Village for shopping and more dining options! We've stayed here several times, and will return again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Take one of the catamaran sunset cruises! Especially if there is some rain, because then you will see rainbows!

Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Snohobob
Business
Seattle
Aug 1, 2012

Great Location

The villas are nestled between some very nice hotels. Walk over to the westin and snorkle with a wonderful reef right there. The pathway north and south is a great walk/run every morning. The Villa grounds are beautiful. We stayed in Coconut building, away from the crowds. It was very peaceful. The room was newly renovated and our 2nd home for 10 days.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Go north for food. Prices at TIME groceries(north 1.8 miles) are much cheaper than Safeway (south 4 miles), unless you have a safeway card and just buy the advertised specials. Rent a paddle board from Boss Frogs north 2miles for $40.00 a day, not $55 an hour at the beach/ hotels. Weekly snorkel gear $25.00 a week at Boss Frog, and you get the good snorkels. North past the state park is a little fruit stand 2 for $5 pineapple, papya, passion fruit avacodo and bananas. way cheaper than the stands on the main highway - $5.00 for one grapefruit there? yicks Rent a muscle car with a covertible roof. we had a 2012 camero for just 2, but it was fun to drive.

Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DORSEYS
Business
CORONA, CALIFORNIA
Sep 13, 2012

PARADISE away from home/ AWESOME PLACE!!!!

We did not know what to expect. We went with our 2 little daughters (10 and 8 yr old) and stayed in the Banyan section with view to the front of the hotel. This resort is perfectly located right in the middle. Between the (Sheraton, Westin, Hyatt and other resorts). There is a Beach walkway that leads you to all the resorts along the beach or you can take the Kaanapali Trolley for free, which rides between 10am and 10pm. The grocery store and shopping area is only 5-8 mins. driving distance. You have to get a rental car to explore the island. If you fly through Kahalui airport, you def. want to stop at Costco and pack yourself with groceries. The kitchen is fully loaded with dishes, pots, coffee maker, blender, toaster, silverware. If you are traveling with kids ask for 2 Queen bed. The king size plus sofa bed(not comfortable).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

For families with kids, you can do the Royal Lahaina Luau which is walking distance and it is one free child per adult. There are many activities you can do where kids dont pay. Ask the local Concierge at the front lobby. They can book it for you.

Back to menu Return to top