$162 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 11, 2014 Check-out: Nov 14, 2014

Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

3 stars
45 Kai Ala Drive, Lahaina, HI 96761
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
275 reviews
Best place to stay in Maui

Avoid the crowds at the big resorts and stay in a well equipped condo in a garden setting. We... See full review

  • Dave of Perth
  • Oct 15, 2014
Great hotel. Recommended

They offered us an upgrade and we ended on a studio. The room was amazing, big, nicely decorated,... See full review

  • viajeros ibericos
  • Sep 27, 2014
The Aston name is known for island hospitality across Hawaii, and the Aston Villas Hotel in Maui certainly fits the bill. The hotel's low-rise blocks overlook wooden walkways across seemingly infinite pools, fringed by the palm-laden shore of Kaanapali Beach. Suites and studios come equipped with a full kitchen and a private outdoor balcony. Down by the ocean, guests can sink their teeth into prime rib and sample the impressive wine list at the aptly-named Castaway Cafe, while enjoying the sunsets over Lanai and Molokai. Parents can play shuffleboard while the kids take ukulele lessons and learn how to make a lei at the Camp Kaanapali children's program (at nearby Aston Kaanapali  Shores). Guests visiting from November to April should bring their best binoculars for whale-watching season.
Key facts
  • 260 guestrooms
  • 2 adult pools and a children's pool
  • Gym
  • Gift shop
  • Restaurants: Including Castaway Cafe
  • Day spa
  • ATM
  • Kids camp
  • Wi-Fi (fees may apply)
Neighborhood
Located among 11 acres of bright tropical greenery, the Aston Villas hotel sits on Kaanapali Beach in Lahaina, a former favorite of Hawaiian royalty and the heart of the lively West Maui region. Watersports, shops and restaurants are all located here, easily accessible from a tourist-friendly walkway running alongside the oceanfront resorts. Snorkel at northern Napili Bay, try kayaking and parasailing, or opt for the safe voyeurism of watching the graceful cliff divers at Puu Kekaa. Spend an afternoon wandering the old fishing port of Lahaina, five minutes away - stay until evening and you might see a more riotous side, plus copious amounts of feasting and entertainment at the Old Lahaina Luau on Front Street.
Hints and tips
  • Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas is best enjoyed as a quiet slice of paradise, but when you're yearning for adventure, use the resort's complimentary shuttle to pick up souvenirs at the open-air Whalers Village shopping center.
  • The athletically-inclined can enjoy eighteen holes at one of the nearby championship golf courses, or limber up on one of the Royal Lahaina Tennis Ranch's 11 courts.
  • NOTICE: The hotel will undergo exterior renovations from 2 Sept to 2 Nov 2014, which will include installing new roofing on the Dolphin and Emerald Buildings and a spalling project on the Aloha Tower. Refurbishment works will be done during weekdays from 8 AM to 3 PM. During this period, the oceanfront pool will be closed.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

20.9361 -156.6906
Area served
Lahaina-Maui, HI
Nearby airports
OGG - Kahului and JHM - Kapalua
Area description
On Kaanapali Beach (in the Kaanapali Resort area with on-site shuffleboard), you'll choose from nearby activities including, bike rentals, luaus, snorkeling, windsurfing, Royal Lahaina Tennis Ranch and championship golf courses. Please note we offer free shuttle service to Kaanapali resort area shopping and activities.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas Rooms

Studio with kitchen Garden View
660 avg. sq. ft.-Studio suite features king bed, queen or 2 double beds and a sofabed. Includes central air conditioning, bathroom w/ tub or shower, iron/board, hair dryer, kitchen, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, in-room safe, clock and cable TV.
Studio with kitchen Ocean View
660 avg. sq. ft.-Studio with queen bed, king bed, or 2 double beds and a sofa bed. Central air conditioning, bathroom with tub or shower, iron/ironing board, hairdryer, kitchen, refrigerator, microwave, stove, coffeemaker, dishes/cookware, and in-room safe.
One Bedroom Ocean Side Suite
1,260 avg. sq.ft.-One bedroom suite features king bed or queen and a sofabed. Includes central air conditioning, bathroom w/ tub or shower, sofabed, iron/board, hair dryer, kitchen, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, in-room safe, clock and cable TV. Located in Ocean Side building (Dolphin or Emerald).
Hotel Room
520 avg. sq.ft.-Hotel room features either a king or queen bed. Includes central air conditioning, iron/board, hair dryer, refrigerator, coffee maker, in-room safe, clock and cable TV.
One Bedroom Ocean View Suite
1,260 avg. sq. ft.-One bedroom suite features king bed, queen or sofabed and 2 double beds or sofabed. Includes central air conditioning, bathroom w/ tub or shower, sofabed, iron/board, hair dryer, kitchen, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, in-room safe, clock and cable TV.
Studio with Kitchen Ocean Side
660 avg. sq. ft.-Studio with queen bed or king bed, and a sofa bed. Located in Dolphin or Emerald Tower. Room name denotes location not view. Includes sofa bed, central air conditioning, bathroom with tub or shower, iron/ironing board, hairdryer, kitchen, refrigerator, microwave, stove, coffeemaker, dishes/cookware, and in-room safe.
One Bedroom Garden View Suite
1,260 avg. sq. ft.-One bedroom suite features king bed, queen or 2 double beds and a sofabed. Includes central air conditioning, bathroom w/ tub or shower, sofabed, iron/board, hair dryer, kitchen, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, in-room safe, clock and cable TV.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Castaway Cafe
Cuisine Type Hawaii Regional and American, Casual Dress, Open Daily from 7am-9pm, Available for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (275)

Ratings and reviews for Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
275 out of 275
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.3

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Michelle and Roger
Newport Beach, California
Oct 4, 2012

Fabulous Hidden Jewel!

Fantastic! We would highly recommend this property for your next stay. The staff is also fabulous. So kind and welcoming.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sacramento, CA
Oct 19, 2010

Maui Kaanapali Villas

Excelent!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Elk Grove Village, IL
Jan 24, 2011

Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

The location was perfect, close to everything. The room was clean and the kitchen was newly remodeled. This was a great choice for a family. The grounds were beautiful with a resort feel. The staff gave my kids sand toys to play with on the beach, without us asking. The whale watching was amazing. We would stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

I highly recommend a whale watching excursion with the Pacific Whale Foundation

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jul 22, 2007

Good Value for the Money

The Maui Kaanapali Villas was overall a good value for the money spent. The rooms need some updating and refreshing due to the age of the furniture and appliances. Location cannot be beat and the access to the beach is wonderful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Several good restaurants withing walking distance that offer a variety of cusines.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jun 9, 2008

Wow - a stay in paradise!

The Maui Kanipaali Villas were beyond our expectations. The suite was gorgeously appointed and sparkling clean. The hotel restaurant was a special treat, allowing us to dine outside under the palm trees just feet away from the beach. We would recommend this to any of our friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The Old Lahaina Luau site is less than five minutes from here. It is a great show.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Oakland, CA
Aug 31, 2007

Good value for your money

I was impressed with the size of the room itself. I was expecting just a room with a bath but was pleasantly surprised with the condo amenities: kitchen, living room, dining room, bedroom, bathroom. The location was ok. Fortunately I rented a car and was able to drive to Laihana and Kaanapali Beach. I was under the impression that resort was on Kaanapali Beach but when I drove to the next section of hotels and realized they were situated right on Kaanapali Beach. I was not impressed with the dining facilities nor was I impressed with the gym or pool facilities. But with the beach so close by, I really didn't mind too much about the pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Researcher Lynn
Business
Austin, TX
Oct 17, 2010

fabulous place to stay at Ka'anapali

The LOCATION doesn't get any better. The QUALITY of the accomadations can't be beat. And the SHEER TRANQUILITy of the hotel/condo is fabulous. Plus it is CLEAN and full of ALOHA. Sited on 11 acres in Ka'anapali, the tourist density is minimal, making the stay relaxing and enjoyable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

A long drive. But don't miss the heiau (temple) just before Hana. Golf at Ka'anapali (if you can get a "free" two rounds by spending 90 minutes at a time-share presentation), is well worth the time and effort.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
El Paso, TX
Dec 16, 2007

Great Vacation Destination

We found the hotel in Lahaina very comfortable, clean and cosy. The short walk to the beach was convenient. The grounds were beautiful and well kept. We enjoyed our stay very much and have only one complaint. We were very surprised to have to pay a fee to park in the hotel parking lot. This has never happened to us before. We didn't like the fact that we were unable to sit out on the balcony, as no chairs were provided for that. Of course the biggest complaint we have is the terrible charge of $72.00 for parking in the parking garage. We were given a permit for parking, but were not told that we would be charged a $12.00 per day fee. This was very disturbing to us when we learned that at check out. I know we should not complain about an act of God, but it rained very hard at the Paradise Cove Luau. I think we should have been provided with rain ponchos before we went on the luau grounds, in case of rain. Instead, after we were soaked and our food was soaked and uneatable we were given the ponchos. It was quite unpleasant. However the show was beautiful even thought we had to get drenched along with the performers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

We enjoyed being down town and within walking distance from shopping, restaruants, parks and beach.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Aug 26, 2008

My review of ResortQuest Maui Kaanapali Villas

The property is beautifully landscaped and conveniently located. I especially liked the vanity, sink, dressing area with a large closet as well as a second closet in the room. The shower was beautiful and the staff was warm and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Sep 3, 2007

Good for family on ...

Good for family on somewhat of a budget. The location of Maui Kaanapali Villas is great. The rooms are large and includes a kitchen. It has a nice view from the 5th floor. Some noise from the road behind the complex though. On site dinning is good with great ocean view and ocean breeze.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Good snorkling about 1/2 mile to the south at Black Rock. A little further down is Whalers Village- nice shoping center. Drive about 4 miles and visit Lahina for shoping and restaurants.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fort Wayne
Dec 1, 2008

maui trip

Everything we wanted ...except needed more options for after 9pm at night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Whalers village within 1 mile.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top