Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

3 stars
45 Kai Ala Drive, Lahaina, HI 96761
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
450 reviews
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Just got back from a 7 day stay at the MKV! We LOVE this place for a million reasons, location!! 10... See full review

  • CiCi Bloom
  • Jun 18, 2014
Xmas Vacation To Paradise

We have stayed at this resort before and once again it was GREAT!!! Location is perfect. The... See full review

  • Maui Sunseeker
  • Dec 20, 2013
The Aston name is known for island hospitality across Hawaii, and the Aston Villas Hotel in Maui certainly fits the bill. The hotel's low-rise blocks overlook wooden walkways across seemingly infinite pools, fringed by the palm-laden shore of Kaanapali Beach. Suites and studios come equipped with a full kitchen and a private outdoor balcony. Down by the ocean, guests can sink their teeth into prime rib and sample the impressive wine list at the aptly-named Castaway Cafe, while enjoying the sunsets over Lanai and Molokai. Parents can play shuffleboard while the kids take ukulele lessons and learn how to make a lei at the Camp Kaanapali children's program (at nearby Aston Kaanapali  Shores). Guests visiting from November to April should bring their best binoculars for whale-watching season.
Key facts
  • 260 guestrooms
  • 2 adult pools and a children's pool
  • Gym
  • Gift shop
  • Restaurants: Including Castaway Cafe
  • Day spa
  • ATM
  • Kids camp
  • Wi-Fi (fees may apply)
Neighborhood
Located among 11 acres of bright tropical greenery, the Aston Villas hotel sits on Kaanapali Beach in Lahaina, a former favorite of Hawaiian royalty and the heart of the lively West Maui region. Watersports, shops and restaurants are all located here, easily accessible from a tourist-friendly walkway running alongside the oceanfront resorts. Snorkel at northern Napili Bay, try kayaking and parasailing, or opt for the safe voyeurism of watching the graceful cliff divers at Puu Kekaa. Spend an afternoon wandering the old fishing port of Lahaina, five minutes away - stay until evening and you might see a more riotous side, plus copious amounts of feasting and entertainment at the Old Lahaina Luau on Front Street.
Hints and tips
  • Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas is best enjoyed as a quiet slice of paradise, but when you're yearning for adventure, use the resort's complimentary shuttle to pick up souvenirs at the open-air Whalers Village shopping center.
  • The athletically-inclined can enjoy eighteen holes at one of the nearby championship golf courses, or limber up on one of the Royal Lahaina Tennis Ranch's 11 courts.
  • NOTICE: The hotel will undergo exterior renovations from 2 Sept to 2 Nov 2014, which will include installing new roofing on the Dolphin and Emerald Buildings and a spalling project on the Aloha Tower. Refurbishment works will be done during weekdays from 8 AM to 3 PM. During this period, the oceanfront pool will be closed.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas Rooms

One Bedroom Ocean Side Suite
1,260 avg. sq.ft.-One bedroom suite features king bed or queen and a sofabed. Includes central air conditioning, bathroom w/ tub or shower, sofabed, iron/board, hair dryer, kitchen, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, in-room safe, clock and cable TV. Located in Ocean Side building (Dolphin or Emerald).
Hotel Room
520 avg. sq.ft.-Hotel room features either a king or queen bed. Includes central air conditioning, iron/board, hair dryer, refrigerator, coffee maker, in-room safe, clock and cable TV.
One Bedroom Ocean View Suite
1,260 avg. sq. ft.-One bedroom suite features king bed, queen or sofabed and 2 double beds or sofabed. Includes central air conditioning, bathroom w/ tub or shower, sofabed, iron/board, hair dryer, kitchen, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, in-room safe, clock and cable TV.
Studio with Kitchen Ocean Side
660 avg. sq. ft.-Studio with queen bed or king bed, and a sofa bed. Located in Dolphin or Emerald Tower. Room name denotes location not view. Includes sofa bed, central air conditioning, bathroom with tub or shower, iron/ironing board, hairdryer, kitchen, refrigerator, microwave, stove, coffeemaker, dishes/cookware, and in-room safe.
One Bedroom Garden View Suite
1,260 avg. sq. ft.-One bedroom suite features king bed, queen or 2 double beds and a sofabed. Includes central air conditioning, bathroom w/ tub or shower, sofabed, iron/board, hair dryer, kitchen, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, in-room safe, clock and cable TV.
Studio with kitchen Ocean View
660 avg. sq. ft.-Studio with queen bed, king bed, or 2 double beds and a sofa bed. Central air conditioning, bathroom with tub or shower, iron/ironing board, hairdryer, kitchen, refrigerator, microwave, stove, coffeemaker, dishes/cookware, and in-room safe.
Studio with kitchen Garden View
660 avg. sq. ft.-Studio suite features king bed, queen or 2 double beds and a sofabed. Includes central air conditioning, bathroom w/ tub or shower, iron/board, hair dryer, kitchen, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, in-room safe, clock and cable TV.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Map

20.9361 -156.6906
Area served
Lahaina-Maui, HI
Nearby airports
OGG - Kahului and JHM - Kapalua
Area description
On Kaanapali Beach (in the Kaanapali Resort area with on-site shuffleboard), you'll choose from nearby activities including, bike rentals, luaus, snorkeling, windsurfing, Royal Lahaina Tennis Ranch and championship golf courses. Please note we offer free shuttle service to Kaanapali resort area shopping and activities.

Dining

Castaway Cafe
Cuisine Type Hawaii Regional and American, Casual Dress, Open Daily from 7am-9pm, Available for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (450)

Ratings and reviews for Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
450 out of 450
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.3

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Jul 2, 2008

Simple but pleasant

The villas are hundreds of condos, many of which are available for rent. While each room likely differs from ours (depending on the individual owner), our room was quite pleasant and roomy, despite decor from the early 1980's. The kitchenette was well maintained with stove, oven, microwave and big fridge. Beds were comfy enough, even the rollout sofabed was tolerable. We were kindly upgraded to a partial ocean view even though we did not request one. Service personnel were helpful and friedly. Pool was adequate but lacking by today's resort standards. Location was perfect; no more than 200 yards from Royal Lahaina Luau. On site restaurant could use a new chef. Free WiFi and parking are HUGE plusses.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Short jaunt to Kaanapali Beach and Whalers Village. Other resorts, including Westin, are close by.

Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rob and Kimbo
San Diego, CA
May 11, 2012

Awesome!

Hotel was awesome! Located right on the beach, close to black rock for great snorkeling. Staff was friendly and accomidating. We requested to switch rooms a few days into our trip due to neighbors with noisy kids playing outside and we were immediately taken care of. Room had a fully stocked kitchen and an awesome balcony. Free easy to access Wi-Fi. Wonderful way to spend our honeymoon Overall awesome!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Castaway Cafe on the property is a great spot with reasonable prices, delish food, and a beautiful view!

Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Houston, TX
Sep 27, 2007

My review of ResortQuest Maui Kaanapali Villas

The rooms were bigger and nicer than I thought they would me. it was decorated really pretty. We didn't know that it had a full kitchen. I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

the shopping was good. Went to hard rock cafe for lunch and t-shirts

Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Mississippi
Jun 3, 2009

Maui Kaanapali Villas Hawaii

My 15 y/o daughter and I visited Maui for a week. We enjoyed the usual tourist activities: snorkeling, surfing school, Luau and hiking. The condo was very clean and the staff could not have been more helpful. Having FREE wireless internet in the room was great. The area is great, safe and welcoming. If you go to Maui a car is a must. Everything is spread out, no matter where you stay. My daughter loved the mall at the Queen K. Center. Thank you so much for making our vacation a success! If we go back to Maui, we will stay at the Maui Kaanapali Villas again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Lahaina has lots of places to eat as well as several shops. We enjoyed Bubba Gump Shirmp as well as Hard Rock.

Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sunny2013ss
Fremont, CA
Sep 14, 2013

Wonderful location

right on beach, near Westin. Nice and spacious 1b1d condo. A beachwalk through the whole community.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Beachwalk along the beach and though all hotels gardens.

Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Luis Obispo, CA
Jul 27, 2009

Very Accommodating/Friendly/Location

From the moment we got to the Maui Kaanapali Villas, we realized we made an excellent choice in our Hotel. When booking a trip on the internet, you really dont always know what you are going to get, so everyone in our party was very pleased with how accommodating the staff at the resort and grounds were, and how pleasant our stay was. Upon arrival, we were upgraded from 2 single rooms, to a massive 2-bedroom suite! We travelled with our 9-month old son, and found the Condo to be roomy and comfortable, and the main pool on the grounds (there are at least 2 on-site), has a nice, wading area for small children. We were also provided a port-a-crib at check-in, which proved to be extremely convenient. The location of the resort is centralized on an awesome beach, with very close snorkeling and tons of beach activities. Beach rentals are average price, and equipment is in good condition. There is a great restaurant/bar on the grounds as well. There are 2 large shuffle board games on the grounds, and that provided a lot of entertainment during the vacation. Overall, this is a great hotel, and when our family returns to Maui again next year, we will definitely stay at the Kaanapali Villas!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Great Snorkeling at Black Rock is just right up the beach!

Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
TOWNSEND, WI
May 8, 2011

MAUI KAANAPALI

A MORE HELPFUL AND FRIENDLY PEOPLE YOU COULDN'T ASK FOR. ROOM WAS CLEAN, PEOPLE AT DESK WERE ALWAYS READY TO HELP.TRIP BY BUS AROUND MAUI WAS EXCELLANT ARRANGED BY LADY IN LOBBY. DEFINATLY GOING BACK TO 2 YEARS TO SAME HOTEL [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ecoman
Dallas
Apr 21, 2012

Best Place in Maui

This is the best place in Maui. The grounds, the staff, the location is all amazing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The beach is great for smokers

Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Simsbury, CT
Jul 5, 2011

Wonderful stay!

This was our second stay at the Kaanapali Villas. The grounds are kept beautifully, accommodations were perfect! Can't beat being right on the beach! The staff is very friendly and the site provides for relaxation. Will definitely return again on our next trip!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

The shops and dining in Lahaina is a quick drive - about 15 minutes.

Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Sprinfield, Mo
Nov 23, 2010

ABSOLUTELY AWESOME

The villas are a great place to stay,beautiful grounds,facilities. We got a studio/garden view and parked twenty feet from our door and very private. you can get ocean view but then not so private with everyone walking on beach in front of your patio. Units have full kitchens with everything, and bbq area with gas grills so you can cook at "home". This was our fourth stay at the villas and would never stay anywhere else again. The private beach at the villas is rated the highest on Maui for snorkeling /scuba/fish.Beautiful coral reef /tons of tropical fish as close 20 feet out. Black rock is at one end. [...] the manager is A AWESOME HOST. Especially for a family you can not beat this awesome place. I would warn everyone be careful of the airline you select to get there, we have had serious issues with all major airlines EXCEPT HAWAIIAN AIR which does set the standard. They only fly from west coast unfortunately. There are 3 grocery stores within a few miles of the villas, Safeway,the times,food mart but you REALLY need to bounce back and forth between all of them for sale items. Groceries are outrageous but picking sale items are just as inexpensive as home{midwest}

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to ABC stores and get the book "Maui Revealed" it tells you where all of Maui's hidden natural treasures are. Most all excursions were a disappointment and overpriced. Get a car and the book and you're set. We dove with Maui diving and scuba right behind the shell gas station at Lahaina which was the best value for anything we've done there. Also the trip to the national park at Hana seven pools and waterfalls is a trying experience but one you will talk about for the rest of your life, start out early for this trip!!!!!

Back to menu Return to top