$162 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 11, 2014 Check-out: Nov 14, 2014

Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

3 stars
45 Kai Ala Drive, Lahaina, HI 96761
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
275 reviews
Best place to stay in Maui

Avoid the crowds at the big resorts and stay in a well equipped condo in a garden setting. We... See full review

  • Dave of Perth
  • Oct 15, 2014
Great hotel. Recommended

They offered us an upgrade and we ended on a studio. The room was amazing, big, nicely decorated,... See full review

  • viajeros ibericos
  • Sep 27, 2014
The Aston name is known for island hospitality across Hawaii, and the Aston Villas Hotel in Maui certainly fits the bill. The hotel's low-rise blocks overlook wooden walkways across seemingly infinite pools, fringed by the palm-laden shore of Kaanapali Beach. Suites and studios come equipped with a full kitchen and a private outdoor balcony. Down by the ocean, guests can sink their teeth into prime rib and sample the impressive wine list at the aptly-named Castaway Cafe, while enjoying the sunsets over Lanai and Molokai. Parents can play shuffleboard while the kids take ukulele lessons and learn how to make a lei at the Camp Kaanapali children's program (at nearby Aston Kaanapali  Shores). Guests visiting from November to April should bring their best binoculars for whale-watching season.
Key facts
  • 260 guestrooms
  • 2 adult pools and a children's pool
  • Gym
  • Gift shop
  • Restaurants: Including Castaway Cafe
  • Day spa
  • ATM
  • Kids camp
  • Wi-Fi (fees may apply)
Neighborhood
Located among 11 acres of bright tropical greenery, the Aston Villas hotel sits on Kaanapali Beach in Lahaina, a former favorite of Hawaiian royalty and the heart of the lively West Maui region. Watersports, shops and restaurants are all located here, easily accessible from a tourist-friendly walkway running alongside the oceanfront resorts. Snorkel at northern Napili Bay, try kayaking and parasailing, or opt for the safe voyeurism of watching the graceful cliff divers at Puu Kekaa. Spend an afternoon wandering the old fishing port of Lahaina, five minutes away - stay until evening and you might see a more riotous side, plus copious amounts of feasting and entertainment at the Old Lahaina Luau on Front Street.
Hints and tips
  • Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas is best enjoyed as a quiet slice of paradise, but when you're yearning for adventure, use the resort's complimentary shuttle to pick up souvenirs at the open-air Whalers Village shopping center.
  • The athletically-inclined can enjoy eighteen holes at one of the nearby championship golf courses, or limber up on one of the Royal Lahaina Tennis Ranch's 11 courts.
  • NOTICE: The hotel will undergo exterior renovations from 2 Sept to 2 Nov 2014, which will include installing new roofing on the Dolphin and Emerald Buildings and a spalling project on the Aloha Tower. Refurbishment works will be done during weekdays from 8 AM to 3 PM. During this period, the oceanfront pool will be closed.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

20.9361 -156.6906
Area served
Lahaina-Maui, HI
Nearby airports
OGG - Kahului and JHM - Kapalua
Area description
On Kaanapali Beach (in the Kaanapali Resort area with on-site shuffleboard), you'll choose from nearby activities including, bike rentals, luaus, snorkeling, windsurfing, Royal Lahaina Tennis Ranch and championship golf courses. Please note we offer free shuttle service to Kaanapali resort area shopping and activities.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas Rooms

Studio with kitchen Garden View
660 avg. sq. ft.-Studio suite features king bed, queen or 2 double beds and a sofabed. Includes central air conditioning, bathroom w/ tub or shower, iron/board, hair dryer, kitchen, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, in-room safe, clock and cable TV.
Studio with kitchen Ocean View
660 avg. sq. ft.-Studio with queen bed, king bed, or 2 double beds and a sofa bed. Central air conditioning, bathroom with tub or shower, iron/ironing board, hairdryer, kitchen, refrigerator, microwave, stove, coffeemaker, dishes/cookware, and in-room safe.
One Bedroom Ocean Side Suite
1,260 avg. sq.ft.-One bedroom suite features king bed or queen and a sofabed. Includes central air conditioning, bathroom w/ tub or shower, sofabed, iron/board, hair dryer, kitchen, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, in-room safe, clock and cable TV. Located in Ocean Side building (Dolphin or Emerald).
Hotel Room
520 avg. sq.ft.-Hotel room features either a king or queen bed. Includes central air conditioning, iron/board, hair dryer, refrigerator, coffee maker, in-room safe, clock and cable TV.
One Bedroom Ocean View Suite
1,260 avg. sq. ft.-One bedroom suite features king bed, queen or sofabed and 2 double beds or sofabed. Includes central air conditioning, bathroom w/ tub or shower, sofabed, iron/board, hair dryer, kitchen, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, in-room safe, clock and cable TV.
Studio with Kitchen Ocean Side
660 avg. sq. ft.-Studio with queen bed or king bed, and a sofa bed. Located in Dolphin or Emerald Tower. Room name denotes location not view. Includes sofa bed, central air conditioning, bathroom with tub or shower, iron/ironing board, hairdryer, kitchen, refrigerator, microwave, stove, coffeemaker, dishes/cookware, and in-room safe.
One Bedroom Garden View Suite
1,260 avg. sq. ft.-One bedroom suite features king bed, queen or 2 double beds and a sofabed. Includes central air conditioning, bathroom w/ tub or shower, sofabed, iron/board, hair dryer, kitchen, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, in-room safe, clock and cable TV.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Castaway Cafe
Cuisine Type Hawaii Regional and American, Casual Dress, Open Daily from 7am-9pm, Available for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (275)

Ratings and reviews for Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
275 out of 275
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.3

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mommava
Business
San Jose, CA, USA
Nov 14, 2011

OK until the cockroach appeared

This hotel is only OK. The rooms are outdated. The bathrooms are a little smelly, dingy and stained, although they were kept clean. We had a nice enough time, but two things ruined it. We walked to the hotel next door and it was stunningly beautiful...which left us feeling a little bummed. But we got over that. The last night there, a two inch cockroach crawled above our bed. Disgusting and scary. The security guard promptly came to our room and caught it...but how am I supposed to sleep knowing another one may appear from under the countertop in the kitchen where it tried to hide form us?! I even tried to get a different hotel even though we were flying out in 9 hours. They could do a lot to improve this place. A facelift is definitely needed. Also, there is no waiter that comes to take your order at the pool. The beach is fantastic and swimmable (I believe not a lot of beaches in Maui are this nice), however, they do not provide you with beach lounger chairs. Instead, you have to purchase a cabana at 26 bucks a day or park yourself on a towel. The food at the restaurant onsite was not good and there is no room service. I realize this is a timeshare property, but it could be alot nicer with only a little effort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Gazebo had the best breakfast. It is in some random timeshare property out of the way. Google it. You have to get there at 7am when the line starts forming. Worth it! YUM!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
hanko
Business
San Francisco, CA, USA
Nov 9, 2011

Avoid the hotel rooms

Had reserved a regular hotel room for our entire stay. Sadly disappointed with the room we got. While the bathroom appears to have been recently fixed up, the rest of the room was in serious need of renovation - very noisy AC, corroded window moldings, carpet that was a throwback to the '70s, and the worst mattress I've slept on in years. And there was a lot of additional noise from outside the room (AC in adjacent rooms, road noise, nearby mechanical equipment). We upgraded to a studio for the remainder of the stay, and that made the remainder of our stay reasonably nice (but also more expensive than planned). From the other guests we met in line at reception that were trying to switch rooms, we clearly weren't alone in our experience. Great snorkeling nearby, and a nice little farmer's market across the highway. The Castaway Cafe has an entertaining crowd at the bar on weekends, but the food is fairly poor for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Great snorkeling at beach park adjacent to the hotel, no boat trip required.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MartyMar
Business
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Nov 8, 2011

The Villas

i found that directions to the beach were almost non-existent. It is within walking distance if you go behind the the cafe by the pool. If you go along the path where the "beach walk" signs point, you just go to a bunch of shops. Other than not finding beach access right away I had a good time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

I did not know that the Major Banks did not exist on the Island. If you want to save some ATM fees use your credit card or take cash with you. Also I am guessing that importing makes food more expensive. So find a grocery store for some of your meals. Safeway has a few stores. Though I did find that fruits (other than Pineapples) can be expensive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
kgah
Business
carlsbad, CA
Nov 1, 2011

enjoyable vacation

hotel was nice and very close to the water. had a room with a terrific view of the ocean. Was in a nice central location and the room was comfortable

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

can walk to some locations or have a short 10 minute drive

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Denver, CO, USA
Oct 31, 2011

Relaxing getaway!

Excellent snorkeling location, good restaurant, great service, amazing grounds.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Chfgraegl
Business
Pleasanton,Calif
Oct 30, 2011

Maui Delight

This was my second time I was here and the first time was 20 yrs ago . It was better this time and I want to thank the Hotel Staff , everyone of them for making our visit the best . Everyone at the hotel when presented with a question , gave us a great recommendation or took care of it . I went snorkeling the last day and the gentleman at the beach house told us where to go and I saw a lot of beautiful fish out by the reef . The room was great . We were in 620 and had a great ocean view and a great kitchen and a king size bed. My only mistake was not staying for two weeks. Live an Learn :--)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Star Noodle is a very good restaurant.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SnoopyGirl07
Business
Bay Area
Oct 24, 2011

Best hotel ever!!!

Stayed at this hotel 8 yrs in a row!! Best staff and beautiful surroundings! Never stay anywhere else while on maui

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pat and Bob
Business
Memphis, TN, USA
Oct 21, 2011

Honeymoon !!

The staff was the best!! We checked in late, around 8:30 p.m. after a long flight from Memphis. Everyone was so helpful and they even gave us a bottle of champaigne for our upcoming wedding. Our room was great, the whole compound was beautiful and looked like a picture perfect area the whole time we were there. The food at the cafe was excellant. Would go back and stay again...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

We had a rental car but you could go a lot of places nearby with the shuttle bus.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Oct 15, 2011

Nice beach side stay

Our location was nice because the pool and ocean were very nearby. There was also adequate parking nearby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sportsmom
Business
Bryant, AR
Oct 1, 2011

Maui anniversary

Paradise, the view was amazing. The grounds were incredible. Staff was courteous. Only problem was the day time temp was 95 degrees and the air conditioner couldn't keep up in room 621.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Several fine restaurants within walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top