$175 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 2, 2015 Check-out: Aug 3, 2015

Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

3 stars
View map of 45 Kai Ala Drive, Lahaina, HI 96761

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
263 out of 263
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.3

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
emac
Business
Penticton, BC, Canada
Jan 21, 2012

A great Vacation

Hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. No waiting all day to have room cleaned. Walking paths were easy to follow and in great condition. Very handy Beach restaurant, good food and again friendly staff. Two beautiful swimming pools and hot tubs. Grounds were very well kept..Did I mention that the Golfing was fantastic. Good value for an older but well kept complex.. Will be returning again next year..Mahalo

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Nice walk to one of Kaanapali's best shopping...

Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Oregon503
Business
Oregon, USA
Jan 9, 2012

Great value for cost conscious traveler

My family of 6 stayed here for one week. We loved it. The facility has a cozier feeling than the larger resorts on the island. I loved that we could park close to our room and did not have to pass through a huge lobby whenever we were coming or going. This was especially appreciated when transporting our Costco food in from the rental car. I liked that we could park close to the room and move these items directly into our room. We utilized the available outdoor grills for several meals. We never did have to wait to use the grills. Either a grill was available, or if they were all being used, people were very friendly, offering to share the grills they were using. Everyone was very friendly. There were plenty of available lounge chairs both on the grass overlooking the ocean and by the pools. We had a group of 6 and we were always able to find available chairs. We spent several mornings watching the whales while laying on the chairs on the grass, and several afternoons lounging on the chairs at the pools. There is a free shuttle that run from the Villas to Whalers Villages for shopping. Or, it is an easy 15 minute walk via the beach walk. We loved staying here. We will definitely stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
RJ12
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Jan 4, 2012

New Years in Hawaii

The hotel is in a nice location - on the north side of Black Rock, a great place to go snorkeling. Also, the north side is a bit less busy than the south side. The hotel room overall is fine, but in some places is a bit dated. I think they are updating it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Go snorkeling right off the beach at Black Rock.

Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
samg
Business
San Diego, CA, USA
Dec 22, 2011

Great location

Great location to access the west coast of maui. Hotel also provides parking and wifi

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
hawaii bound
Business
Oregon, USA
Nov 28, 2011

Great Customer Service

Nicest Staff encountered yet in our 13 visits to Hawaii. Clean comfortable and close to all the shopping and beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jud69
Business
Honolulu
Nov 27, 2011

Villas

I had great time and the room was clean. It was nice location, good size and I was very comfortably close to my friend's hotel. Beautiful location and nice staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SDJD
Business
Washington, USA
Nov 23, 2011

First Trip to Maui

Our experience at this hotel was overall very good. Our room was always clean and people were always polite. The only negative I would have for this hotel was that the parking situation is a little odd. You were always trying to find parking near your building, which was not always easy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to the Mixed Plate on Front Street. The setting is quite casual, but the food was great and the waitstaff was very fun.

Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pele
Business
San Francisco, CA, USA
Nov 20, 2011

Great Location

We love the beach at this hotel! The rooms are ok.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mommava
Business
San Jose, CA, USA
Nov 14, 2011

OK until the cockroach appeared

This hotel is only OK. The rooms are outdated. The bathrooms are a little smelly, dingy and stained, although they were kept clean. We had a nice enough time, but two things ruined it. We walked to the hotel next door and it was stunningly beautiful...which left us feeling a little bummed. But we got over that. The last night there, a two inch cockroach crawled above our bed. Disgusting and scary. The security guard promptly came to our room and caught it...but how am I supposed to sleep knowing another one may appear from under the countertop in the kitchen where it tried to hide form us?! I even tried to get a different hotel even though we were flying out in 9 hours. They could do a lot to improve this place. A facelift is definitely needed. Also, there is no waiter that comes to take your order at the pool. The beach is fantastic and swimmable (I believe not a lot of beaches in Maui are this nice), however, they do not provide you with beach lounger chairs. Instead, you have to purchase a cabana at 26 bucks a day or park yourself on a towel. The food at the restaurant onsite was not good and there is no room service. I realize this is a timeshare property, but it could be alot nicer with only a little effort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Gazebo had the best breakfast. It is in some random timeshare property out of the way. Google it. You have to get there at 7am when the line starts forming. Worth it! YUM!

Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
hanko
Business
San Francisco, CA, USA
Nov 9, 2011

Avoid the hotel rooms

Had reserved a regular hotel room for our entire stay. Sadly disappointed with the room we got. While the bathroom appears to have been recently fixed up, the rest of the room was in serious need of renovation - very noisy AC, corroded window moldings, carpet that was a throwback to the '70s, and the worst mattress I've slept on in years. And there was a lot of additional noise from outside the room (AC in adjacent rooms, road noise, nearby mechanical equipment). We upgraded to a studio for the remainder of the stay, and that made the remainder of our stay reasonably nice (but also more expensive than planned). From the other guests we met in line at reception that were trying to switch rooms, we clearly weren't alone in our experience. Great snorkeling nearby, and a nice little farmer's market across the highway. The Castaway Cafe has an entertaining crowd at the bar on weekends, but the food is fairly poor for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Great snorkeling at beach park adjacent to the hotel, no boat trip required.

Back to menu Return to top