$219 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 5, 2015 Check-out: Jan 8, 2015

Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

3 stars
45 Kai Ala Drive, Lahaina, HI 96761
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
278 reviews
Perfect place to stay

This is the best hotel in Maui in my opinion. Not too crowded, perfect Kaanapali beach, close to... See full review

  • Andrew 9505
  • Nov 20, 2014
Best for the beach lover

The staff at this resort is so nice and the location is the best on Kaanapali. Best stretch of... See full review

  • ElijoSF
  • Nov 5, 2014
The Aston name is known for island hospitality across Hawaii, and the Aston Villas Hotel in Maui certainly fits the bill. The hotel's low-rise blocks overlook wooden walkways across seemingly infinite pools, fringed by the palm-laden shore of Kaanapali Beach. Suites and studios come equipped with a full kitchen and a private outdoor balcony. Down by the ocean, guests can sink their teeth into prime rib and sample the impressive wine list at the aptly-named Castaway Cafe, while enjoying the sunsets over Lanai and Molokai. Parents can play shuffleboard while the kids take ukulele lessons and learn how to make a lei at the Camp Kaanapali children's program (at nearby Aston Kaanapali  Shores). Guests visiting from November to April should bring their best binoculars for whale-watching season.
Key facts
  • 260 guestrooms
  • 2 adult pools and a children's pool
  • Gym
  • Gift shop
  • Restaurants: Including Castaway Cafe
  • Day spa
  • ATM
  • Kids camp
  • Wi-Fi (fees may apply)
Neighborhood
Located among 11 acres of bright tropical greenery, the Aston Villas hotel sits on Kaanapali Beach in Lahaina, a former favorite of Hawaiian royalty and the heart of the lively West Maui region. Watersports, shops and restaurants are all located here, easily accessible from a tourist-friendly walkway running alongside the oceanfront resorts. Snorkel at northern Napili Bay, try kayaking and parasailing, or opt for the safe voyeurism of watching the graceful cliff divers at Puu Kekaa. Spend an afternoon wandering the old fishing port of Lahaina, five minutes away - stay until evening and you might see a more riotous side, plus copious amounts of feasting and entertainment at the Old Lahaina Luau on Front Street.
Hints and tips
  • Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas is best enjoyed as a quiet slice of paradise, but when you're yearning for adventure, use the resort's complimentary shuttle to pick up souvenirs at the open-air Whalers Village shopping center.
  • The athletically-inclined can enjoy eighteen holes at one of the nearby championship golf courses, or limber up on one of the Royal Lahaina Tennis Ranch's 11 courts.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas Rooms

Studio with kitchen Garden View
660 avg. sq. ft.-Studio suite features king bed, queen or 2 double beds and a sofabed. Includes central air conditioning, bathroom w/ tub or shower, iron/board, hair dryer, kitchen, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, in-room safe, clock and cable TV.
Studio with kitchen Ocean View
660 avg. sq. ft.-Studio with queen bed, king bed, or 2 double beds and a sofa bed. Central air conditioning, bathroom with tub or shower, iron/ironing board, hairdryer, kitchen, refrigerator, microwave, stove, coffeemaker, dishes/cookware, and in-room safe.
One Bedroom Ocean Side Suite
1,260 avg. sq.ft.-One bedroom suite features king bed or queen and a sofabed. Includes central air conditioning, bathroom w/ tub or shower, sofabed, iron/board, hair dryer, kitchen, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, in-room safe, clock and cable TV. Located in Ocean Side building (Dolphin or Emerald).
Hotel Room
520 avg. sq.ft.-Hotel room features either a king or queen bed. Includes central air conditioning, iron/board, hair dryer, refrigerator, coffee maker, in-room safe, clock and cable TV.
One Bedroom Ocean View Suite
1,260 avg. sq. ft.-One bedroom suite features king bed, queen or sofabed and 2 double beds or sofabed. Includes central air conditioning, bathroom w/ tub or shower, sofabed, iron/board, hair dryer, kitchen, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, in-room safe, clock and cable TV.
Studio with Kitchen Ocean Side
660 avg. sq. ft.-Studio with queen bed or king bed, and a sofa bed. Located in Dolphin or Emerald Tower. Room name denotes location not view. Includes sofa bed, central air conditioning, bathroom with tub or shower, iron/ironing board, hairdryer, kitchen, refrigerator, microwave, stove, coffeemaker, dishes/cookware, and in-room safe.
One Bedroom Garden View Suite
1,260 avg. sq. ft.-One bedroom suite features king bed, queen or 2 double beds and a sofabed. Includes central air conditioning, bathroom w/ tub or shower, sofabed, iron/board, hair dryer, kitchen, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, in-room safe, clock and cable TV.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Castaway Cafe
Cuisine Type Hawaii Regional and American, Casual Dress, Open Daily from 7am-9pm, Available for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (278)

Ratings and reviews for Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
278 out of 278
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.3

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Mateo, CA
Jul 16, 2011

Wonderful place

We love this place and book it every year. The best part is the location and the beach perfect for swimming and snorkeling. The service in the hotel is outstanding. The smallest problem is taken care of immediately. Each unit is different but when we didn't quite like the first one that we chose ourselves the hotel offered us another one and helped us move our things. Great friendly staff! Thank you!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Indianapolis, Indiana
Mar 4, 2011

Will be back!

Came to see what was available for a Christmas vacation. Was so pleased with Maui Kaanapali Villas we booked 6 villas for our family to help us celebrate our 50th wedding anniversary.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything you need for a wonderful vacation is nearby or a shuttle drive away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
The Nickster
Business
Westbrook, Maine
Aug 15, 2009

Maui Anniversary

Room was perfect for our 19th anniversary. Pool was 35 ft from our door. Resturant was great. Staff--superb

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Carrollton
Dec 28, 2008

Relaxing

Check-in was quick and easy. The staff was very helpful. We were concerned about our commodations for three adults upon arrival, but mentioned this at check-in and they assured us there was plenty of beds. Our villa was large included a kitchen, large bathroom with seperate shower and a large closet.? It was very well maintained and very homey. We had a garden view, but on the 3rd floor we could see the ocean from the tiny balcony which did have a few seats to enjoy. We enjoyed having a bedroom that could be seperated from the living and dining area. It was much like staying in a small apartment that you could open all windows and balcony doors to feel the great breeze. Shopping & dinning was a very short drive. Some attracting were a longer seanic view away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Maui Taco was the best Mexican food I have found in Hawaii.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Edjumacators
Business
Carthage, MO
Jul 10, 2010

Aloha and Mahalo

[...] at the front desk is always very friendly, knows where to direct travelers and is really an asset to the Aston Hotel chain.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Travel very light. All you need is a few sets of shorts and tops , underwear, and a bathing suit. Laundry facilities are at the facility. You do not need to bring a lot of luggage--a carry-on is "free" and you can carry a second bag on the return trip with the "trophies" you bought during your stay. This was our 3rd trip to Maui and we've brought less with us each time and still were not wanting for clothes.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Calgary, AB
Sep 18, 2009

Great Value

Great hotel for the money. The hotel is well situated on the island: 40 minutes away from the airport but very close to the sights. Very easy to find. The beach is terrific: soft sand, fairly quiet, great view of the sunset. Excellent snorkeling just off the beach to the left and also the right, facing the ocean. The farther right you go, the better. Eels, turtles and fish galore. The accommodation is surprising! The decor is old, but clean. This place is not the ritz, but it is comfortable. If that's all you care about, you'll probably like it. The Good: The staff are very accommodating and the grounds are immaculately kept. The Bad: Some of the rooms are better than others. Ask them if you can see a few of the rooms in your price bracket before checking in. The Ugly: They will hit you with a $12 / day charge when you check out whatever room you stay in. It sucks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Safeway is cheaper than Lahaina farms. Melting pot, bubba gump shrimp, kobe steak house, all good. Genke sushi, not so good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
El Dorado Hills, California
Apr 22, 2009

16th Birthday Mother Daughter Trip

This was a trip from Heaven, arriving at the hotel on my daughter's 16th birthday we were treated fabulously. The register found us a great room for no extra charge. Both pools were beautiful and the resort is family oriented. Felt very safe on the grounds and all staff were friendly and efficient. Will definitely stay again. Food was good at the cafe on grounds also and the drinks were yummy and inexpensive. Great family place to stay and quiet away from all the big hotels. We received a great price on our room through our package and were extremely pleased. All and all in was a memorable trip!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Grocery store is near by with a mall attached. from there it is a short drive to Lahaina.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas, TX
Jun 19, 2009

Good location, very clean room

Friendly staff, location is excellent. Room service is also good. We like the kitchen so much and enjoyed self-cooked seafood. Parking is a little bit crowded. Overall it's a very good resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Just a few minutes drive to Lahaina, a lot of good restaurants on the Front street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Porterville, CA
Jun 18, 2009

Fantastic family getaway

This was a wonderful resort! The grounds were beautiful with numerous blooming tropical plants and trees. The pools were sparkling clean and set at the perfect temperature. The beach front was nice with lounge chairs set out under trees to watch the ocean, read or just relax. The Cast-a-Ways Cafe at the resort had delicious food and wine tasting. Our one-bedroom condo had everything in it that we needed with a full kitchen, soft beds, two bathrooms and beautifully decorated in a Hawaiian Pineapple decor. My family enjoyed coffee on our lanai overlooking the garden/pool area each morning. Our wonderful resort accommodations helped make our trip extremely enjoyable and made this trip one of our best vacation experiences ever!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The resort's Cast-A-Ways Cafe has a two for one pasta night on Tuesday evenings.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
maui mark
Business
edina mn
Jun 19, 2009

Maui Summer Magic

Desk and check in was a breeze.Room clean and upscale decor. Best spot on all of Kanipalli beach. Pools open for that late swim. Castaways food was great, done with flair, and reasonable.Best staff I have seen in Maui over the last six years.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Shop safeway in Lahaina{get savers card at desk}for breakfast, drink, and snack food.Heat will reduce your apitite so eat out one meal a day. Large lunches most reasonable. Lite evening snack. Don't miss some off Castaways evening specials.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top