$227 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 22, 2015 Check-out: Jan 25, 2015

Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

3 stars
45 Kai Ala Drive, Lahaina, HI 96761
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
278 reviews
Perfect place to stay

This is the best hotel in Maui in my opinion. Not too crowded, perfect Kaanapali beach, close to... See full review

  • Andrew 9505
  • Nov 20, 2014
Best for the beach lover

The staff at this resort is so nice and the location is the best on Kaanapali. Best stretch of... See full review

  • ElijoSF
  • Nov 5, 2014
The Aston name is known for island hospitality across Hawaii, and the Aston Villas Hotel in Maui certainly fits the bill. The hotel's low-rise blocks overlook wooden walkways across seemingly infinite pools, fringed by the palm-laden shore of Kaanapali Beach. Suites and studios come equipped with a full kitchen and a private outdoor balcony. Down by the ocean, guests can sink their teeth into prime rib and sample the impressive wine list at the aptly-named Castaway Cafe, while enjoying the sunsets over Lanai and Molokai. Parents can play shuffleboard while the kids take ukulele lessons and learn how to make a lei at the Camp Kaanapali children's program (at nearby Aston Kaanapali  Shores). Guests visiting from November to April should bring their best binoculars for whale-watching season.
Key facts
  • 260 guestrooms
  • 2 adult pools and a children's pool
  • Gym
  • Gift shop
  • Restaurants: Including Castaway Cafe
  • Day spa
  • ATM
  • Kids camp
  • Wi-Fi (fees may apply)
Neighborhood
Located among 11 acres of bright tropical greenery, the Aston Villas hotel sits on Kaanapali Beach in Lahaina, a former favorite of Hawaiian royalty and the heart of the lively West Maui region. Watersports, shops and restaurants are all located here, easily accessible from a tourist-friendly walkway running alongside the oceanfront resorts. Snorkel at northern Napili Bay, try kayaking and parasailing, or opt for the safe voyeurism of watching the graceful cliff divers at Puu Kekaa. Spend an afternoon wandering the old fishing port of Lahaina, five minutes away - stay until evening and you might see a more riotous side, plus copious amounts of feasting and entertainment at the Old Lahaina Luau on Front Street.
Hints and tips
  • Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas is best enjoyed as a quiet slice of paradise, but when you're yearning for adventure, use the resort's complimentary shuttle to pick up souvenirs at the open-air Whalers Village shopping center.
  • The athletically-inclined can enjoy eighteen holes at one of the nearby championship golf courses, or limber up on one of the Royal Lahaina Tennis Ranch's 11 courts.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas Rooms

One Bedroom Ocean Side Suite
1,260 avg. sq.ft.-One bedroom suite features king bed or queen and a sofabed. Includes central air conditioning, bathroom w/ tub or shower, sofabed, iron/board, hair dryer, kitchen, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, in-room safe, clock and cable TV. Located in Ocean Side building (Dolphin or Emerald).
Hotel Room
520 avg. sq.ft.-Hotel room features either a king or queen bed. Includes central air conditioning, iron/board, hair dryer, refrigerator, coffee maker, in-room safe, clock and cable TV.
One Bedroom Ocean View Suite
1,260 avg. sq. ft.-One bedroom suite features king bed, queen or sofabed and 2 double beds or sofabed. Includes central air conditioning, bathroom w/ tub or shower, sofabed, iron/board, hair dryer, kitchen, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, in-room safe, clock and cable TV.
Studio with Kitchen Ocean Side
660 avg. sq. ft.-Studio with queen bed or king bed, and a sofa bed. Located in Dolphin or Emerald Tower. Room name denotes location not view. Includes sofa bed, central air conditioning, bathroom with tub or shower, iron/ironing board, hairdryer, kitchen, refrigerator, microwave, stove, coffeemaker, dishes/cookware, and in-room safe.
One Bedroom Garden View Suite
1,260 avg. sq. ft.-One bedroom suite features king bed, queen or 2 double beds and a sofabed. Includes central air conditioning, bathroom w/ tub or shower, sofabed, iron/board, hair dryer, kitchen, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, in-room safe, clock and cable TV.
Studio with kitchen Ocean View
660 avg. sq. ft.-Studio with queen bed, king bed, or 2 double beds and a sofa bed. Central air conditioning, bathroom with tub or shower, iron/ironing board, hairdryer, kitchen, refrigerator, microwave, stove, coffeemaker, dishes/cookware, and in-room safe.
Studio with kitchen Garden View
660 avg. sq. ft.-Studio suite features king bed, queen or 2 double beds and a sofabed. Includes central air conditioning, bathroom w/ tub or shower, iron/board, hair dryer, kitchen, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, in-room safe, clock and cable TV.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Castaway Cafe
Cuisine Type Hawaii Regional and American, Casual Dress, Open Daily from 7am-9pm, Available for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (278)

Ratings and reviews for Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
278 out of 278
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.3

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
UsuallyNotSoSour
Business
Portland, OR, USA
Mar 22, 2012

LOUD neighbors until MIDNIGHT - staff SHRUGGED!

we stayed in a lawn level condo. very dated decor with threadbare feel. had neighbors above us feeding birds daily, so the birds were at our feet at our table. neighbors next door threw parties outside until 11:00pm (the hotel info said "very quiet hours" begins at 9:00pm) . front desk sent security twice to no avail, then said they could do no more, exept give me the local police. are you kidding? last thing i would do would be to harrass the local police! VERY SINKING, ALONE, FEELING! if this is the emotion you are seeking on your vacation, stay at this ASTON resort!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

BOX JELLY FISH - we together swam into a box jelly fish (didn't see it) sting was 4 hours of agony then tapering off over 24 hrs - intense experience, but didn't keep us out of the water later! FIRST AID TIP: generous white vinegar application keeps remaining nematocysts from firing. also, apply shaving cream and shave area to remove imbedded nematocysts. take benedryl, pain meds, keep laughing.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SanjayJ
Business
Schaumburg, IL, USA
Mar 13, 2012

Good value, close to the awesome Kaanapali beach

We had a great time at the Maui Kaanapali Villas and stayed there for 1 week. We had 2 small kids and it is located closed to the beach which was great. It is bare bones in terms of amenities which is probably why it is on the cheaper side. The kitchen was very helpful and we prepared some meals in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JoaoF
Business
Portland, OR, USA
Feb 12, 2012

very good amenities

amenities are really good, I would stay there again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

I would recommend pacific foundation for the whale watching tour

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dr breau
Business
calgary, canada
Jan 31, 2012

sweet escape!

it was great! everything you could ever need is right there. it's definitely an older crowd, but we just had some romantic alone time because of the age gaps. very friendly staff. beautiful beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Leteg
Business
NY
Jan 23, 2012

Pleasant stay next to the ocean

The outdoor garden is beautiful and well maintained. The greatest advantage of this hotel was the location.. Just steps away from the beach. The staff is ok. My suggestion to anyone planning to stay, to ask for a premium room. We stayed in 3 different rooms in the corse of our stay.. We found the studio room much too cluttered, wasn't able to have the peace of mind we would expect when on vacation.. Plus the everything was old except for kitchen and vanity. We loved the 1 BR Garden view, which was spacious and very comfortable- It seemed to have been newly renovated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Helicopter ride to neighboring island.. Amazing!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
emac
Business
Penticton, BC, Canada
Jan 21, 2012

A great Vacation

Hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. No waiting all day to have room cleaned. Walking paths were easy to follow and in great condition. Very handy Beach restaurant, good food and again friendly staff. Two beautiful swimming pools and hot tubs. Grounds were very well kept..Did I mention that the Golfing was fantastic. Good value for an older but well kept complex.. Will be returning again next year..Mahalo

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Nice walk to one of Kaanapali's best shopping...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Oregon503
Business
Oregon, USA
Jan 9, 2012

Great value for cost conscious traveler

My family of 6 stayed here for one week. We loved it. The facility has a cozier feeling than the larger resorts on the island. I loved that we could park close to our room and did not have to pass through a huge lobby whenever we were coming or going. This was especially appreciated when transporting our Costco food in from the rental car. I liked that we could park close to the room and move these items directly into our room. We utilized the available outdoor grills for several meals. We never did have to wait to use the grills. Either a grill was available, or if they were all being used, people were very friendly, offering to share the grills they were using. Everyone was very friendly. There were plenty of available lounge chairs both on the grass overlooking the ocean and by the pools. We had a group of 6 and we were always able to find available chairs. We spent several mornings watching the whales while laying on the chairs on the grass, and several afternoons lounging on the chairs at the pools. There is a free shuttle that run from the Villas to Whalers Villages for shopping. Or, it is an easy 15 minute walk via the beach walk. We loved staying here. We will definitely stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
RJ12
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Jan 4, 2012

New Years in Hawaii

The hotel is in a nice location - on the north side of Black Rock, a great place to go snorkeling. Also, the north side is a bit less busy than the south side. The hotel room overall is fine, but in some places is a bit dated. I think they are updating it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Go snorkeling right off the beach at Black Rock.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
samg
Business
San Diego, CA, USA
Dec 22, 2011

Great location

Great location to access the west coast of maui. Hotel also provides parking and wifi

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
hawaii bound
Business
Oregon, USA
Nov 28, 2011

Great Customer Service

Nicest Staff encountered yet in our 13 visits to Hawaii. Clean comfortable and close to all the shopping and beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top