$242 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 11, 2015 Check-out: Mar 12, 2015

Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

3 stars
View map of 45 Kai Ala Drive, Lahaina, HI 96761

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
280 reviews
Perfect place to stay

This is the best hotel in Maui in my opinion. Not too crowded, perfect Kaanapali beach, close to... See full review

  • Andrew 9505
  • Nov 20, 2014
Best for the beach lover

The staff at this resort is so nice and the location is the best on Kaanapali. Best stretch of... See full review

  • ElijoSF
  • Nov 5, 2014
The Aston name is known for island hospitality across Hawaii, and the Aston Villas Hotel in Maui certainly fits the bill. The hotel's low-rise blocks overlook wooden walkways across seemingly infinite pools, fringed by the palm-laden shore of Kaanapali Beach. Suites and studios come equipped with a full kitchen and a private outdoor balcony. Down by the ocean, guests can sink their teeth into prime rib and sample the impressive wine list at the aptly-named Castaway Cafe, while enjoying the sunsets over Lanai and Molokai. Parents can play shuffleboard while the kids take ukulele lessons and learn how to make a lei at the Camp Kaanapali children's program (at nearby Aston Kaanapali  Shores). Guests visiting from November to April should bring their best binoculars for whale-watching season.
Key facts
  • 260 guestrooms
  • 2 adult pools and a children's pool
  • Gym
  • Gift shop
  • Restaurants: Including Castaway Cafe
  • Day spa
  • ATM
  • Kids camp
  • Wi-Fi (fees may apply)
Neighborhood
Located among 11 acres of bright tropical greenery, the Aston Villas hotel sits on Kaanapali Beach in Lahaina, a former favorite of Hawaiian royalty and the heart of the lively West Maui region. Watersports, shops and restaurants are all located here, easily accessible from a tourist-friendly walkway running alongside the oceanfront resorts. Snorkel at northern Napili Bay, try kayaking and parasailing, or opt for the safe voyeurism of watching the graceful cliff divers at Puu Kekaa. Spend an afternoon wandering the old fishing port of Lahaina, five minutes away - stay until evening and you might see a more riotous side, plus copious amounts of feasting and entertainment at the Old Lahaina Luau on Front Street.
Hints and tips
  • Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas is best enjoyed as a quiet slice of paradise, but when you're yearning for adventure, use the resort's complimentary shuttle to pick up souvenirs at the open-air Whalers Village shopping center.
  • The athletically-inclined can enjoy eighteen holes at one of the nearby championship golf courses, or limber up on one of the Royal Lahaina Tennis Ranch's 11 courts.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas Rooms

One Bedroom Ocean Side Suite
1,260 avg. sq.ft.-One bedroom suite features king bed or queen and a sofabed. Includes central air conditioning, bathroom w/ tub or shower, sofabed, iron/board, hair dryer, kitchen, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, in-room safe, clock and cable TV. Located in Ocean Side building (Dolphin or Emerald).
Hotel Room
520 avg. sq.ft.-Hotel room features either a king or queen bed. Includes central air conditioning, iron/board, hair dryer, refrigerator, coffee maker, in-room safe, clock and cable TV.
One Bedroom Ocean View Suite
1,260 avg. sq. ft.-One bedroom suite features king bed, queen or sofabed and 2 double beds or sofabed. Includes central air conditioning, bathroom w/ tub or shower, sofabed, iron/board, hair dryer, kitchen, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, in-room safe, clock and cable TV.
Studio with Kitchen Ocean Side
660 avg. sq. ft.-Studio with queen bed or king bed, and a sofa bed. Located in Dolphin or Emerald Tower. Room name denotes location not view. Includes sofa bed, central air conditioning, bathroom with tub or shower, iron/ironing board, hairdryer, kitchen, refrigerator, microwave, stove, coffeemaker, dishes/cookware, and in-room safe.
One Bedroom Garden View Suite
1,260 avg. sq. ft.-One bedroom suite features king bed, queen or 2 double beds and a sofabed. Includes central air conditioning, bathroom w/ tub or shower, sofabed, iron/board, hair dryer, kitchen, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, in-room safe, clock and cable TV.
Studio with kitchen Ocean View
660 avg. sq. ft.-Studio with queen bed, king bed, or 2 double beds and a sofa bed. Central air conditioning, bathroom with tub or shower, iron/ironing board, hairdryer, kitchen, refrigerator, microwave, stove, coffeemaker, dishes/cookware, and in-room safe.
Studio with kitchen Garden View
660 avg. sq. ft.-Studio suite features king bed, queen or 2 double beds and a sofabed. Includes central air conditioning, bathroom w/ tub or shower, iron/board, hair dryer, kitchen, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, in-room safe, clock and cable TV.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Castaway Cafe
Cuisine Type Hawaii Regional and American, Casual Dress, Open Daily from 7am-9pm, Available for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (280)

Ratings and reviews for Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
280 out of 280
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.3

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ADottie26
Business
Las Vegas
Jan 31, 2013

Amazing!

My husband and I stayed at Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas for our honeymoon and the experience was amazing! The room was close to the water so we could fall asleep listening to the ocean every night. The pool was big and spacious and the beach was a ton of fun. Everyone working there was super courteous and all were ready to help. Our only complaint is that while we were there the hotel restaurant was closed for renovations, but there were a ton of other restaurants in the area so we did not starve. When we plan a trip back to Maui we plan on staying here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try all of the restaurants in the area, each hotel has something different to offer.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
uclagal
Business
San jose, CA
Jan 21, 2013

Love it!

This was our second time back to the Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas. We absolutely love staying here! The beach is the best in all of Maui - calm water, lots of shade, and fantastic snorkeling. The staff is super nice and helpful. They moved us into a different room when they realized a loft room wouldn't work for us with a baby. The pools are also great and the Castaway Cafe is yummy and super convenient. This is the best location. There are so many great shops, restaurants, and luaus within walking distance. Can't wait to return!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dukes and Leilanis are delicious!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Cakes and pies
Business
East coast
Jan 19, 2013

Family fun in the sun

Height of the season. Accommodations not as gracious as in previous trips. Asked for 2 queen beds . Got 1 king and a sleeper sofa. Mold around ac unit. Walls were papered and looked dated. Rug old. We still had a goog time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Leodas pie shop was the best.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SeaCats
Business
Edmonds, WA, USA
Oct 31, 2012

Best Value on Kaanapali

Our family has done multiple Kaanapali visits; staying at the Westin and also at the Mariott. Overall, I think the beach was better were we stayed this time at the Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas, just north of Blackrock. The beach is totally swim friendly and long, the pool was very warm, hot tub the kids could use, also a shallow swim area in the pool for kiddies. One can walk along the boardwalk forever, a couple miles south or north making this a truly centered location for those who like to walk or jog. The one BR was large and had a good updated kitchen. Though we settled for the garden view, which was just that, it was an excellent value. Staff friendly, renewed pool towels no hassle, parking easy and would give passes to friends to park too so one could enjoy "our pool" for a couple hours. Really ideal. Four our family of four, this was perfect. Nice to have a bar/food between the beach and the pool too, not a feature all condos have.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Hula Grill - barefoot one for snacks and happy hour our favorite. Great live music and atmosphere.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
j and k 2012
Business
Seattle
Oct 22, 2012

very good value

Everyone was very friendly. The room was upgraded at no cost. Be advised that "ocean view" meant a view of the parking lot and some trees with the ocean way off in the distance. Couldn't hear surf. Housekeeping was lax -- had to ask for shampoo and asked for but did not get beach towels which you needed to get at the front desk after waiting for a while. Couldn't ask for a better location in the middle of the beach walk. Great snorkeling right there and just to the north -- saw a couple of turtles.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Castaway restaurant right on the beach had the best food we had during the trip.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
The Cordovas
Business
Las Vegas,Nv
Oct 6, 2012

Absolutely amazing

We travel very often and the most important thing for me is to have a clean room and we have that. They made up the room everyday, we got full apliances, plus microwave,oven, kitchenware. We didn't cook, because it was only a week, so we prefer to go out, but definitely we are going back so we know what to expect. The beach ( like a huge pool, neat and warm) is a short walking distance from the rooms, and they provide you with beach towels. We can't complain in general it was a good location and quiet, if you looking for relax.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

It was a good thing, that we rented a car in advance, so you can move everywhere at any time with a map,that all the car rentals give it to you. We did the road to Hana, it took us almost the whole day but it woith it. On the way you found water falls ,the forest and don't miss the black sand beach, pack some snacks, and something to drink for the road , don't recommend casual stops on the way, unless it is a restaurant. For dinner you have a lot of options, the price is almost the same in all, for two like us is about $150 daily with a couple of drinks. Of all of the places we like The Honu Restaurant seafood and Italian and Mala, one after another, same owner, food is good and I love the desserts.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Michelle and Roger
Business
Newport Beach, California
Oct 4, 2012

Fabulous Hidden Jewel!

Fantastic! We would highly recommend this property for your next stay. The staff is also fabulous. So kind and welcoming.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DORSEYS
Business
CORONA, CALIFORNIA
Sep 13, 2012

PARADISE away from home/ AWESOME PLACE!!!!

We did not know what to expect. We went with our 2 little daughters (10 and 8 yr old) and stayed in the Banyan section with view to the front of the hotel. This resort is perfectly located right in the middle. Between the (Sheraton, Westin, Hyatt and other resorts). There is a Beach walkway that leads you to all the resorts along the beach or you can take the Kaanapali Trolley for free, which rides between 10am and 10pm. The grocery store and shopping area is only 5-8 mins. driving distance. You have to get a rental car to explore the island. If you fly through Kahalui airport, you def. want to stop at Costco and pack yourself with groceries. The kitchen is fully loaded with dishes, pots, coffee maker, blender, toaster, silverware. If you are traveling with kids ask for 2 Queen bed. The king size plus sofa bed(not comfortable).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

For families with kids, you can do the Royal Lahaina Luau which is walking distance and it is one free child per adult. There are many activities you can do where kids dont pay. Ask the local Concierge at the front lobby. They can book it for you.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MrPogi
Business
San Jose, California
Sep 3, 2012

Unforgettable vacation

The hotel is easy to find since we drove from the airport.Close to the beach where we spent more to swim and relax,walk.very quiet.very short drive to shopping, restaurants,entertainment.we attended a luau and it's just a very short walk from the hotel.we had a very short drive to our dinner cruise.we had relaxing stay in this hotel!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ms IT
Business
San Diego, California
Aug 27, 2012

Great Location for Family

the location for this hotel is great, direct access to a beautifull beach, kids friendly. A lot of other very nice beaches are closeby. What a pitty that rooms from 3rd floor and above don't have a balcony

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top