$175 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 31, 2015 Check-out: Aug 2, 2015

Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

3 stars
View map of 45 Kai Ala Drive, Lahaina, HI 96761

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
305 out of 305
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.3

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ella's Daddy
Business
Napa, CA
Apr 12, 2013

Awesome place to stay!

We had a great time at this hotel. Nothing like being told you've been upgraded from a garden view studio to a one bedroom ocean view suite!!! And it was sweet! Beautiful room. Two king beds. Nice bathroom with double sinks nicely tiled shower. Big screen tv in the living room. Kitchen had granite counter tops and stainless steel appliances. The staff here were very courteous. Couldn't say one thing bad about them. This place had everything in close proximity. Swimming pool, beach, restaurant, and bar were all close together. We will definitely think about staying here next trip to Maui.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Chris and Sam
Business
Quartz hill, Ca
Apr 8, 2013

Comfy but needs to be updated.

Our room looked like it was decorated by the Golden Girls, however it was very comfortable. All the staff were friendly except those working at the Castaway Cafe. We visited it twice, once for breakfast and then for dinner and each time our waiter was rude and we didn't even get an apology when they got our order wrong. The hotel location was great and landscaping beautiful. I would recommend this hotel but ask for a updated room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

If you're looking for zip line, I recommend the Eco co.

Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Maui Tom
Business
San Jose, Ca
Apr 7, 2013

Good value

Resort is on Kaanapali Beach, which is great, and it is away from the crowds south of Black Rock, which is also great. Front desk service needs improvement, and the restaurant on the property needs serious upgrading. This is an older but still nice resort, with full kitchens in the rooms/suites. Quiet beach setting, and within walking distance of the more crowded restaurants and attractions near Whalers Village, which is about 1/2 mile south. Need to walk a ways to Black Rock to get to decent snorkeling, but you can't have everything... If you are looking for upscale, this is not it. If you are looking for quiet Maui with a great beach and comfortable rooms, this is it. Besides, you are in Maui, what's not to like?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Trilogy sailing for both whale watching, in season, and for snorkeling or sunset cruises...been going on Trilogy for years, and it never disappoints.

Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
edward f
Business
South San Francisco
Apr 7, 2013

Family getaway for four during 2013 Spring Break

Had an overall perfect vacation, great locaton, decent ameniities and very friendly and helpful staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Within walking distance of Whalers Cove and short drive to old town Lahaina

Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Labgill
Business
Victoria, BC
Mar 31, 2013

Best Vacation Ever

This hotel is not for everyone. People who want to spend twice the amount on accommodation and food can do so right next door at the Westin. But those of us who want great value for our money while not cutting back on the essentials like a comfortable clean room, excellent grounds, pools, waterfront location, best beach in the world, we are the ones who stay at this hotel. Can't say enough about it. But if you still like the super hotels with the super prices, this one you won't like.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

highly recommend the Tropical Plantation along HWY 380. Not advertised much but you can't beat the lunches there for quality and affordability. Even as a zip line for the teens.

Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Respu
Business
Palo Alto, CA
Mar 11, 2013

Great place!

We have just spent a week at MKV and we have really enjoyed. We got a studio at Coconut building with nice terrace in front of the swing pool. I particularly like the fact that this hotel has a medium size that provides a relax atmosphere yet it is located next to shops, supermarkets and restaurants. The beach is also great, perfect for snorkeling. I would come back to this hotel for sure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Kapalua beach

Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ADottie26
Business
Las Vegas
Jan 31, 2013

Amazing!

My husband and I stayed at Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas for our honeymoon and the experience was amazing! The room was close to the water so we could fall asleep listening to the ocean every night. The pool was big and spacious and the beach was a ton of fun. Everyone working there was super courteous and all were ready to help. Our only complaint is that while we were there the hotel restaurant was closed for renovations, but there were a ton of other restaurants in the area so we did not starve. When we plan a trip back to Maui we plan on staying here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try all of the restaurants in the area, each hotel has something different to offer.

Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
uclagal
Business
San jose, CA
Jan 21, 2013

Love it!

This was our second time back to the Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas. We absolutely love staying here! The beach is the best in all of Maui - calm water, lots of shade, and fantastic snorkeling. The staff is super nice and helpful. They moved us into a different room when they realized a loft room wouldn't work for us with a baby. The pools are also great and the Castaway Cafe is yummy and super convenient. This is the best location. There are so many great shops, restaurants, and luaus within walking distance. Can't wait to return!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dukes and Leilanis are delicious!!

Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Cakes and pies
Business
East coast
Jan 19, 2013

Family fun in the sun

Height of the season. Accommodations not as gracious as in previous trips. Asked for 2 queen beds . Got 1 king and a sleeper sofa. Mold around ac unit. Walls were papered and looked dated. Rug old. We still had a goog time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Leodas pie shop was the best.

Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SeaCats
Business
Edmonds, WA, USA
Oct 31, 2012

Best Value on Kaanapali

Our family has done multiple Kaanapali visits; staying at the Westin and also at the Mariott. Overall, I think the beach was better were we stayed this time at the Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas, just north of Blackrock. The beach is totally swim friendly and long, the pool was very warm, hot tub the kids could use, also a shallow swim area in the pool for kiddies. One can walk along the boardwalk forever, a couple miles south or north making this a truly centered location for those who like to walk or jog. The one BR was large and had a good updated kitchen. Though we settled for the garden view, which was just that, it was an excellent value. Staff friendly, renewed pool towels no hassle, parking easy and would give passes to friends to park too so one could enjoy "our pool" for a couple hours. Really ideal. Four our family of four, this was perfect. Nice to have a bar/food between the beach and the pool too, not a feature all condos have.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Hula Grill - barefoot one for snacks and happy hour our favorite. Great live music and atmosphere.

Back to menu Return to top