$227 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 22, 2015 Check-out: Jan 25, 2015

Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

3 stars
45 Kai Ala Drive, Lahaina, HI 96761
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
278 reviews
Perfect place to stay

This is the best hotel in Maui in my opinion. Not too crowded, perfect Kaanapali beach, close to... See full review

  • Andrew 9505
  • Nov 20, 2014
Best for the beach lover

The staff at this resort is so nice and the location is the best on Kaanapali. Best stretch of... See full review

  • ElijoSF
  • Nov 5, 2014
The Aston name is known for island hospitality across Hawaii, and the Aston Villas Hotel in Maui certainly fits the bill. The hotel's low-rise blocks overlook wooden walkways across seemingly infinite pools, fringed by the palm-laden shore of Kaanapali Beach. Suites and studios come equipped with a full kitchen and a private outdoor balcony. Down by the ocean, guests can sink their teeth into prime rib and sample the impressive wine list at the aptly-named Castaway Cafe, while enjoying the sunsets over Lanai and Molokai. Parents can play shuffleboard while the kids take ukulele lessons and learn how to make a lei at the Camp Kaanapali children's program (at nearby Aston Kaanapali  Shores). Guests visiting from November to April should bring their best binoculars for whale-watching season.
Key facts
  • 260 guestrooms
  • 2 adult pools and a children's pool
  • Gym
  • Gift shop
  • Restaurants: Including Castaway Cafe
  • Day spa
  • ATM
  • Kids camp
  • Wi-Fi (fees may apply)
Neighborhood
Located among 11 acres of bright tropical greenery, the Aston Villas hotel sits on Kaanapali Beach in Lahaina, a former favorite of Hawaiian royalty and the heart of the lively West Maui region. Watersports, shops and restaurants are all located here, easily accessible from a tourist-friendly walkway running alongside the oceanfront resorts. Snorkel at northern Napili Bay, try kayaking and parasailing, or opt for the safe voyeurism of watching the graceful cliff divers at Puu Kekaa. Spend an afternoon wandering the old fishing port of Lahaina, five minutes away - stay until evening and you might see a more riotous side, plus copious amounts of feasting and entertainment at the Old Lahaina Luau on Front Street.
Hints and tips
  • Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas is best enjoyed as a quiet slice of paradise, but when you're yearning for adventure, use the resort's complimentary shuttle to pick up souvenirs at the open-air Whalers Village shopping center.
  • The athletically-inclined can enjoy eighteen holes at one of the nearby championship golf courses, or limber up on one of the Royal Lahaina Tennis Ranch's 11 courts.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas Rooms

One Bedroom Ocean Side Suite
1,260 avg. sq.ft.-One bedroom suite features king bed or queen and a sofabed. Includes central air conditioning, bathroom w/ tub or shower, sofabed, iron/board, hair dryer, kitchen, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, in-room safe, clock and cable TV. Located in Ocean Side building (Dolphin or Emerald).
Hotel Room
520 avg. sq.ft.-Hotel room features either a king or queen bed. Includes central air conditioning, iron/board, hair dryer, refrigerator, coffee maker, in-room safe, clock and cable TV.
One Bedroom Ocean View Suite
1,260 avg. sq. ft.-One bedroom suite features king bed, queen or sofabed and 2 double beds or sofabed. Includes central air conditioning, bathroom w/ tub or shower, sofabed, iron/board, hair dryer, kitchen, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, in-room safe, clock and cable TV.
Studio with Kitchen Ocean Side
660 avg. sq. ft.-Studio with queen bed or king bed, and a sofa bed. Located in Dolphin or Emerald Tower. Room name denotes location not view. Includes sofa bed, central air conditioning, bathroom with tub or shower, iron/ironing board, hairdryer, kitchen, refrigerator, microwave, stove, coffeemaker, dishes/cookware, and in-room safe.
One Bedroom Garden View Suite
1,260 avg. sq. ft.-One bedroom suite features king bed, queen or 2 double beds and a sofabed. Includes central air conditioning, bathroom w/ tub or shower, sofabed, iron/board, hair dryer, kitchen, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, in-room safe, clock and cable TV.
Studio with kitchen Ocean View
660 avg. sq. ft.-Studio with queen bed, king bed, or 2 double beds and a sofa bed. Central air conditioning, bathroom with tub or shower, iron/ironing board, hairdryer, kitchen, refrigerator, microwave, stove, coffeemaker, dishes/cookware, and in-room safe.
Studio with kitchen Garden View
660 avg. sq. ft.-Studio suite features king bed, queen or 2 double beds and a sofabed. Includes central air conditioning, bathroom w/ tub or shower, iron/board, hair dryer, kitchen, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, in-room safe, clock and cable TV.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Castaway Cafe
Cuisine Type Hawaii Regional and American, Casual Dress, Open Daily from 7am-9pm, Available for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (278)

Ratings and reviews for Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
278 out of 278
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.3

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kailua Kona
Sep 15, 2008

A very pleasent experience

For all the furniture in the room it was very roomy and the decor was excellent. We were there for a wedding and our room was better then the other more expensive rooms the other wedding party stayed at. I hope if I ever come to the island again this room will be available. I live in Kona Hawaii so I appreciate all that the room had to offer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

All the above categorys apply. Short walk to some and a little longer walk to others. I was amazed at just how convenient it was to shopping center, entertainment and the resturant on the beach of the hotel was great.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Columbus, Ohio
Apr 17, 2011

just perfect

The hotel was very attractive. The bed was comfortable. The staff was friendly. Abraham at the castaway bar was super nice, and the food there is quite good too! There was a really great pool and hot tub just steps away from the beach. The maid service was good too. Don't miss the Mai Tais on Thursday at 3:30 because they are delicious and free.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Go eat at Aloha Mixed Plate!!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Terrace, BC
May 2, 2008

Wonderful get-a-way

ResortQuest Maui Kaanapali Villas was more then what I expected. The rooms were very large with an optional sliding door between the livingroom and bedroom. The accommodations had two TV's with one being in the livingroom and the other in the bedroom. It had lovely matching furniture throughout. It had ample closet and drawer space with two suitcase stands if you wished to use. The kitchen was fully equiped with complementry coffee and tea to use before I could get to the grocery store. It even had a blender to make all those special drinks. The bathroom was a WOW!at first sight. It was tiled, with two separate sinks and a deep tub. The tub had two tiled steps before you can get into the tub. The mirrors had bright bulbs all around the mirror with an additional close up mirror that pulled out from the wall to apply make-up on and such. The toilet was in the large bathroom but behind a door. We received the paper on our door-knob every morning which was a nice touch. It was right beside the beach and so was the pool. There is an additional cost per day for using the barbaque, laundry facility and work out room. I would recommend renting a car to get around. There are restaurants nearby however not enough to try only once. There was a golf course within walking distance for all those golfers. The staff was excellent in every way.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Behind the Safeway grocery store in Lahaina there is this awesome local restaurant called Aloha. It was local food that was very good and very reasonably priced. The sunset was a must to stick around for. Bubba Gumps located on the main drag of Lahaina was also very good but a bit pricey.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
scottsdale, AZ
May 10, 2008

Great location and good ...

Great location and good value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

close to ocean

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MtShastaFamily
Business
Mt Shasta, Calif
Mar 23, 2011

Best beach ever

The property is older but has been remodeled and is very comfortable with large rooms well appointed. the beach in front of the hotel is excellent for relaxing and very close to great snorkeling. If you are quiet while your are under the water you can hear the whales in the channel. The food at the luau next door was pretty poor. The pork was from a previous luau and was dry. The entertainment was excellent, tho. Didn't like having to go to the main lobby for coffee. Even though we had coffee pots in the room it would have been nice to have daily coffee provided. Having the Whaler's Village so close was great and we didn't feel the need to go other places for shopping. We would absolutely go back to Maui and stay at the same property.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Snorkeling at the public beach next door was excellent.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, TX
Sep 27, 2007

My review of ResortQuest Maui Kaanapali Villas

The rooms were bigger and nicer than I thought they would me. it was decorated really pretty. We didn't know that it had a full kitchen. I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

the shopping was good. Went to hard rock cafe for lunch and t-shirts

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jul 2, 2008

Simple but pleasant

The villas are hundreds of condos, many of which are available for rent. While each room likely differs from ours (depending on the individual owner), our room was quite pleasant and roomy, despite decor from the early 1980's. The kitchenette was well maintained with stove, oven, microwave and big fridge. Beds were comfy enough, even the rollout sofabed was tolerable. We were kindly upgraded to a partial ocean view even though we did not request one. Service personnel were helpful and friedly. Pool was adequate but lacking by today's resort standards. Location was perfect; no more than 200 yards from Royal Lahaina Luau. On site restaurant could use a new chef. Free WiFi and parking are HUGE plusses.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Short jaunt to Kaanapali Beach and Whalers Village. Other resorts, including Westin, are close by.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Luis Obispo, CA
Jul 27, 2009

Very Accommodating/Friendly/Location

From the moment we got to the Maui Kaanapali Villas, we realized we made an excellent choice in our Hotel. When booking a trip on the internet, you really dont always know what you are going to get, so everyone in our party was very pleased with how accommodating the staff at the resort and grounds were, and how pleasant our stay was. Upon arrival, we were upgraded from 2 single rooms, to a massive 2-bedroom suite! We travelled with our 9-month old son, and found the Condo to be roomy and comfortable, and the main pool on the grounds (there are at least 2 on-site), has a nice, wading area for small children. We were also provided a port-a-crib at check-in, which proved to be extremely convenient. The location of the resort is centralized on an awesome beach, with very close snorkeling and tons of beach activities. Beach rentals are average price, and equipment is in good condition. There is a great restaurant/bar on the grounds as well. There are 2 large shuffle board games on the grounds, and that provided a lot of entertainment during the vacation. Overall, this is a great hotel, and when our family returns to Maui again next year, we will definitely stay at the Kaanapali Villas!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Great Snorkeling at Black Rock is just right up the beach!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Orange, CA
Sep 10, 2008

Great Value

The room. It was fabulous! Very spacious, clean and came with many amenities which we were not expecting (like a full sized fridge, an oven, kitchenware and 2 balconies).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Lahaina which is a short drive, has many dining and shopping options.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
La Verne, Ca
Jul 31, 2009

The villas never dissapoint

You can't find a better beach on Maui. We have been to the Villas 3 times and will stay again. Great location and great people run the place!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Castaways has great food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top