$227 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 22, 2015 Check-out: Jan 25, 2015

Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

3 stars
45 Kai Ala Drive, Lahaina, HI 96761
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
278 reviews
Perfect place to stay

This is the best hotel in Maui in my opinion. Not too crowded, perfect Kaanapali beach, close to... See full review

  • Andrew 9505
  • Nov 20, 2014
Best for the beach lover

The staff at this resort is so nice and the location is the best on Kaanapali. Best stretch of... See full review

  • ElijoSF
  • Nov 5, 2014
The Aston name is known for island hospitality across Hawaii, and the Aston Villas Hotel in Maui certainly fits the bill. The hotel's low-rise blocks overlook wooden walkways across seemingly infinite pools, fringed by the palm-laden shore of Kaanapali Beach. Suites and studios come equipped with a full kitchen and a private outdoor balcony. Down by the ocean, guests can sink their teeth into prime rib and sample the impressive wine list at the aptly-named Castaway Cafe, while enjoying the sunsets over Lanai and Molokai. Parents can play shuffleboard while the kids take ukulele lessons and learn how to make a lei at the Camp Kaanapali children's program (at nearby Aston Kaanapali  Shores). Guests visiting from November to April should bring their best binoculars for whale-watching season.
Key facts
  • 260 guestrooms
  • 2 adult pools and a children's pool
  • Gym
  • Gift shop
  • Restaurants: Including Castaway Cafe
  • Day spa
  • ATM
  • Kids camp
  • Wi-Fi (fees may apply)
Neighborhood
Located among 11 acres of bright tropical greenery, the Aston Villas hotel sits on Kaanapali Beach in Lahaina, a former favorite of Hawaiian royalty and the heart of the lively West Maui region. Watersports, shops and restaurants are all located here, easily accessible from a tourist-friendly walkway running alongside the oceanfront resorts. Snorkel at northern Napili Bay, try kayaking and parasailing, or opt for the safe voyeurism of watching the graceful cliff divers at Puu Kekaa. Spend an afternoon wandering the old fishing port of Lahaina, five minutes away - stay until evening and you might see a more riotous side, plus copious amounts of feasting and entertainment at the Old Lahaina Luau on Front Street.
Hints and tips
  • Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas is best enjoyed as a quiet slice of paradise, but when you're yearning for adventure, use the resort's complimentary shuttle to pick up souvenirs at the open-air Whalers Village shopping center.
  • The athletically-inclined can enjoy eighteen holes at one of the nearby championship golf courses, or limber up on one of the Royal Lahaina Tennis Ranch's 11 courts.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas Rooms

One Bedroom Ocean Side Suite
1,260 avg. sq.ft.-One bedroom suite features king bed or queen and a sofabed. Includes central air conditioning, bathroom w/ tub or shower, sofabed, iron/board, hair dryer, kitchen, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, in-room safe, clock and cable TV. Located in Ocean Side building (Dolphin or Emerald).
Hotel Room
520 avg. sq.ft.-Hotel room features either a king or queen bed. Includes central air conditioning, iron/board, hair dryer, refrigerator, coffee maker, in-room safe, clock and cable TV.
One Bedroom Ocean View Suite
1,260 avg. sq. ft.-One bedroom suite features king bed, queen or sofabed and 2 double beds or sofabed. Includes central air conditioning, bathroom w/ tub or shower, sofabed, iron/board, hair dryer, kitchen, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, in-room safe, clock and cable TV.
Studio with Kitchen Ocean Side
660 avg. sq. ft.-Studio with queen bed or king bed, and a sofa bed. Located in Dolphin or Emerald Tower. Room name denotes location not view. Includes sofa bed, central air conditioning, bathroom with tub or shower, iron/ironing board, hairdryer, kitchen, refrigerator, microwave, stove, coffeemaker, dishes/cookware, and in-room safe.
One Bedroom Garden View Suite
1,260 avg. sq. ft.-One bedroom suite features king bed, queen or 2 double beds and a sofabed. Includes central air conditioning, bathroom w/ tub or shower, sofabed, iron/board, hair dryer, kitchen, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, in-room safe, clock and cable TV.
Studio with kitchen Ocean View
660 avg. sq. ft.-Studio with queen bed, king bed, or 2 double beds and a sofa bed. Central air conditioning, bathroom with tub or shower, iron/ironing board, hairdryer, kitchen, refrigerator, microwave, stove, coffeemaker, dishes/cookware, and in-room safe.
Studio with kitchen Garden View
660 avg. sq. ft.-Studio suite features king bed, queen or 2 double beds and a sofabed. Includes central air conditioning, bathroom w/ tub or shower, iron/board, hair dryer, kitchen, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, in-room safe, clock and cable TV.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Castaway Cafe
Cuisine Type Hawaii Regional and American, Casual Dress, Open Daily from 7am-9pm, Available for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (278)

Ratings and reviews for Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
278 out of 278
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.3

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Maui McMahans
Business
Grants Pass, Oregon
Apr 20, 2013

2nd time's a charm!

This was our second stay at the villas. We went lat your for our 20th anniversay and fell in love. We like to stay on the 2nd floor becuase they have extra large patios. The grounds are beautifully maintained, the staff warm and accomodating and it's so nice to have a full kitchen. The pools are fabulous and of course the beach are amazing. Our only suggestion would be that the Castaway Cafe could use some improvement. If they would expand their menu and open the outdoor bar area up with table food service they could expand their business - we would never have to leave! GREAT PLACE overall. We are already planning for next year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

I would recommend flying into the Kapalua airport on West Maui - it's only a 5 minute drive to the resort.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jazzzyj
Business
Oakland, CA
Apr 17, 2013

Simply Perfect!

The beach was quiet, clean, and calm. Everything about this hotel was perfect! Has a free trolly that takes you to Whalers and other hotels. Its perfect for a nice, quiet, relaxing vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ella's Daddy
Business
Napa, CA
Apr 12, 2013

Awesome place to stay!

We had a great time at this hotel. Nothing like being told you've been upgraded from a garden view studio to a one bedroom ocean view suite!!! And it was sweet! Beautiful room. Two king beds. Nice bathroom with double sinks nicely tiled shower. Big screen tv in the living room. Kitchen had granite counter tops and stainless steel appliances. The staff here were very courteous. Couldn't say one thing bad about them. This place had everything in close proximity. Swimming pool, beach, restaurant, and bar were all close together. We will definitely think about staying here next trip to Maui.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Chris and Sam
Business
Quartz hill, Ca
Apr 8, 2013

Comfy but needs to be updated.

Our room looked like it was decorated by the Golden Girls, however it was very comfortable. All the staff were friendly except those working at the Castaway Cafe. We visited it twice, once for breakfast and then for dinner and each time our waiter was rude and we didn't even get an apology when they got our order wrong. The hotel location was great and landscaping beautiful. I would recommend this hotel but ask for a updated room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

If you're looking for zip line, I recommend the Eco co.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Maui Tom
Business
San Jose, Ca
Apr 7, 2013

Good value

Resort is on Kaanapali Beach, which is great, and it is away from the crowds south of Black Rock, which is also great. Front desk service needs improvement, and the restaurant on the property needs serious upgrading. This is an older but still nice resort, with full kitchens in the rooms/suites. Quiet beach setting, and within walking distance of the more crowded restaurants and attractions near Whalers Village, which is about 1/2 mile south. Need to walk a ways to Black Rock to get to decent snorkeling, but you can't have everything... If you are looking for upscale, this is not it. If you are looking for quiet Maui with a great beach and comfortable rooms, this is it. Besides, you are in Maui, what's not to like?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Trilogy sailing for both whale watching, in season, and for snorkeling or sunset cruises...been going on Trilogy for years, and it never disappoints.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
edward f
Business
South San Francisco
Apr 7, 2013

Family getaway for four during 2013 Spring Break

Had an overall perfect vacation, great locaton, decent ameniities and very friendly and helpful staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Within walking distance of Whalers Cove and short drive to old town Lahaina

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Labgill
Business
Victoria, BC
Mar 31, 2013

Best Vacation Ever

This hotel is not for everyone. People who want to spend twice the amount on accommodation and food can do so right next door at the Westin. But those of us who want great value for our money while not cutting back on the essentials like a comfortable clean room, excellent grounds, pools, waterfront location, best beach in the world, we are the ones who stay at this hotel. Can't say enough about it. But if you still like the super hotels with the super prices, this one you won't like.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

highly recommend the Tropical Plantation along HWY 380. Not advertised much but you can't beat the lunches there for quality and affordability. Even as a zip line for the teens.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Respu
Business
Palo Alto, CA
Mar 11, 2013

Great place!

We have just spent a week at MKV and we have really enjoyed. We got a studio at Coconut building with nice terrace in front of the swing pool. I particularly like the fact that this hotel has a medium size that provides a relax atmosphere yet it is located next to shops, supermarkets and restaurants. The beach is also great, perfect for snorkeling. I would come back to this hotel for sure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Kapalua beach

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ADottie26
Business
Las Vegas
Jan 31, 2013

Amazing!

My husband and I stayed at Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas for our honeymoon and the experience was amazing! The room was close to the water so we could fall asleep listening to the ocean every night. The pool was big and spacious and the beach was a ton of fun. Everyone working there was super courteous and all were ready to help. Our only complaint is that while we were there the hotel restaurant was closed for renovations, but there were a ton of other restaurants in the area so we did not starve. When we plan a trip back to Maui we plan on staying here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try all of the restaurants in the area, each hotel has something different to offer.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
uclagal
Business
San jose, CA
Jan 21, 2013

Love it!

This was our second time back to the Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas. We absolutely love staying here! The beach is the best in all of Maui - calm water, lots of shade, and fantastic snorkeling. The staff is super nice and helpful. They moved us into a different room when they realized a loft room wouldn't work for us with a baby. The pools are also great and the Castaway Cafe is yummy and super convenient. This is the best location. There are so many great shops, restaurants, and luaus within walking distance. Can't wait to return!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dukes and Leilanis are delicious!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top