Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

3 stars
View map of 45 Kai Ala Drive, Lahaina, HI 96761

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
263 out of 263
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.3

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Russ M
Business
Rancho Cucamonga, California
Jun 29, 2013

Loved our stay!

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The beach is awesome, as it is completely accessible, with soft sand and clear water, including snorkeling just 100 feet away as there is a reef with coral and plenty of fish. I found the staff to be very friendly, the overall cost to be a value, and we completely enjoyed our stay!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mrs. K Martinez
Business
Sausalito, Ca
Jun 25, 2013

Much better than expected

We stayed at the Villas for our honeymoon and it was much better than expected. We stayed in a hotel room which I thought was going to have a baby refrigerator, but it had a full on kitchen. I thought that was only reserved for the suites. It was quite unexpected amenity. The grounds were outstanding. I think the best parts were the chaise lounges over looking the beach and the privateness of the beach. There were only about 10 or so people on the beach in front of the hotel at any given time. I would DEFINITELY recommend this hotel and will hopefully visit again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
punkin123
Business
San Francisco, CA
May 28, 2013

Wonderful Memorial Day getaway

Loved our experience at the Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas. Room was perfect with all the amenities (full kitchen, balcony with table and chairs to enjoy ocean views, comfy bed and wonderfully huge bathroom). Definitely our best vacation yet. Would stay here again since staff was friendly, rooms and facilities were clean (including pool). Had a great bar/cafe near pool and beach. Also, enjoyed the snorkeling the reef up from the hotel. Beach rentals onsite which made renting snorkeling gear and beachside cabanas easy and convenient. Would definitely recommend this to anyone looking for a place to stay in Kaanapali!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mahalo Mom
Business
Monterey, CA
May 18, 2013

Another great visit

We have stayed here a couple of times now and it is really a nice place. Beach is awesome and having the trolley to take you to Whalers village is great as well. Looking forward to when we can return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

go to the food court at Whalers Village, down stairs, and at the Pizza place, they have the best Terriyaki chicken and rice plate!!!

Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
EcoMermaid
Business
Florida
Apr 20, 2013

Nice, Home-Like Room

We stayed at this resort for our honeymoon. There were positives and negatives to this experience. To start off, this is a wonderful place for families with children of all ages. We know this because there were children EVERYWHERE. On the beach, in the pool, jumping between the hot tub and pool, etc... However, I believe this may be true for all of Maui. If honeymooning, a more upscale resort might be a good idea. However, we still enjoyed our stay despite the little ones everywhere. Our unit was obviously privately owned and included everything you would need to feel at home. We had a full updated kitchen which we used to prepare breakfast, lunch, and drinks in. This helped us to save a little bit of money and time on food. I have heard that all of the units are different here and have read some terrible reviews. So, we called and requested an updated unit which we got lucky and they gave to us. The best part about this resort was the location. Its just minutes away from Whalers Village and Lahaina. Trollies and buses are available to get you to these places, or you can take a nice long walk. Also, the beach was beautiful. Our favorite activities here was snorkeling on the reef that was just a little up the beach from the resort. This place was affordable and home like, but don't expect top notch luxury.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Take the free trolly to Whalers Village for shopping, dinner, and a beautiful sunset!

Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Maui McMahans
Business
Grants Pass, Oregon
Apr 20, 2013

2nd time's a charm!

This was our second stay at the villas. We went lat your for our 20th anniversay and fell in love. We like to stay on the 2nd floor becuase they have extra large patios. The grounds are beautifully maintained, the staff warm and accomodating and it's so nice to have a full kitchen. The pools are fabulous and of course the beach are amazing. Our only suggestion would be that the Castaway Cafe could use some improvement. If they would expand their menu and open the outdoor bar area up with table food service they could expand their business - we would never have to leave! GREAT PLACE overall. We are already planning for next year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

I would recommend flying into the Kapalua airport on West Maui - it's only a 5 minute drive to the resort.

Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jazzzyj
Business
Oakland, CA
Apr 17, 2013

Simply Perfect!

The beach was quiet, clean, and calm. Everything about this hotel was perfect! Has a free trolly that takes you to Whalers and other hotels. Its perfect for a nice, quiet, relaxing vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ella's Daddy
Business
Napa, CA
Apr 12, 2013

Awesome place to stay!

We had a great time at this hotel. Nothing like being told you've been upgraded from a garden view studio to a one bedroom ocean view suite!!! And it was sweet! Beautiful room. Two king beds. Nice bathroom with double sinks nicely tiled shower. Big screen tv in the living room. Kitchen had granite counter tops and stainless steel appliances. The staff here were very courteous. Couldn't say one thing bad about them. This place had everything in close proximity. Swimming pool, beach, restaurant, and bar were all close together. We will definitely think about staying here next trip to Maui.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Chris and Sam
Business
Quartz hill, Ca
Apr 8, 2013

Comfy but needs to be updated.

Our room looked like it was decorated by the Golden Girls, however it was very comfortable. All the staff were friendly except those working at the Castaway Cafe. We visited it twice, once for breakfast and then for dinner and each time our waiter was rude and we didn't even get an apology when they got our order wrong. The hotel location was great and landscaping beautiful. I would recommend this hotel but ask for a updated room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

If you're looking for zip line, I recommend the Eco co.

Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Maui Tom
Business
San Jose, Ca
Apr 7, 2013

Good value

Resort is on Kaanapali Beach, which is great, and it is away from the crowds south of Black Rock, which is also great. Front desk service needs improvement, and the restaurant on the property needs serious upgrading. This is an older but still nice resort, with full kitchens in the rooms/suites. Quiet beach setting, and within walking distance of the more crowded restaurants and attractions near Whalers Village, which is about 1/2 mile south. Need to walk a ways to Black Rock to get to decent snorkeling, but you can't have everything... If you are looking for upscale, this is not it. If you are looking for quiet Maui with a great beach and comfortable rooms, this is it. Besides, you are in Maui, what's not to like?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Trilogy sailing for both whale watching, in season, and for snorkeling or sunset cruises...been going on Trilogy for years, and it never disappoints.

Back to menu Return to top