Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

3 stars
View map of 45 Kai Ala Drive, Lahaina, HI 96761

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
263 out of 263
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.3

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Michelle and Roger
Newport Beach, California
Oct 4, 2012

Fabulous Hidden Jewel!

Fantastic! We would highly recommend this property for your next stay. The staff is also fabulous. So kind and welcoming.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Chris and Sam
Business
Quartz hill, Ca
Apr 8, 2013

Comfy but needs to be updated.

Our room looked like it was decorated by the Golden Girls, however it was very comfortable. All the staff were friendly except those working at the Castaway Cafe. We visited it twice, once for breakfast and then for dinner and each time our waiter was rude and we didn't even get an apology when they got our order wrong. The hotel location was great and landscaping beautiful. I would recommend this hotel but ask for a updated room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

If you're looking for zip line, I recommend the Eco co.

Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Maui Tom
Business
San Jose, Ca
Apr 7, 2013

Good value

Resort is on Kaanapali Beach, which is great, and it is away from the crowds south of Black Rock, which is also great. Front desk service needs improvement, and the restaurant on the property needs serious upgrading. This is an older but still nice resort, with full kitchens in the rooms/suites. Quiet beach setting, and within walking distance of the more crowded restaurants and attractions near Whalers Village, which is about 1/2 mile south. Need to walk a ways to Black Rock to get to decent snorkeling, but you can't have everything... If you are looking for upscale, this is not it. If you are looking for quiet Maui with a great beach and comfortable rooms, this is it. Besides, you are in Maui, what's not to like?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Trilogy sailing for both whale watching, in season, and for snorkeling or sunset cruises...been going on Trilogy for years, and it never disappoints.

Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Arellano5
Business
Montrose, Ca
Aug 1, 2013

Nice Hawaiian Vacation

Room was nice, but pullout bed was non-functional, replaced with air mattress which had a hole in it. Also, issues with ants... Staff was very friendly especially daily cleaner. We were there during tropical depression Flossie - a lot of water came in, window walls need to be sealed/caulked.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Maui2013
Business
California
Aug 10, 2013

Maui Trip

The hotel has a great location, easy access to restaurants and beaches. The beds are comfortable, but the furniture are outdated which shall be changed. Overall, it is a value hotel and the staffs are very friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
James D N
Business
Dallas, TX
Aug 15, 2013

satisfied with a few minor issues

PRO: It's a suite with all kitchen utensils, microwave oven, frig, etc... queen beds. half ocean view, half garden view. Value is OK for the price. CON: there is a slight odor in entrance on the first day. The desk has exposed nails and cut our legs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
C1AR3NCE
Business
Kaanapali Maui
Sep 18, 2013

Maui Hotel on a Budget

I am not picky when it comes to hotels, but this was the first hotel I have ever been to that did not have an ice machine. The only negative thing I have to say is that we found 1 cockroach in our room every day and these roaches are mammoths. The location of this hotel is great -- you are on the beach, which was never crowded. Access to the board walk that you can take to restaurants, whalers village, black rock, and snorkeling.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Pick up food for breakfast / lunches / snacks. This will cut the cost of meals significantly

Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
RelaxTravler
Business
NY
Dec 12, 2009

The Pro & Con

Reasonable price and big room size. The blanket on the bed is old. It is time for the hotel to get new ones. Another than the bed, overall is good for the price we paid for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, TX
Aug 10, 2009

Bad Bed

It was an okay place to stay except the bed was very uncomfortable. Also, no ice machine? I have never stayed at a hotel where you have no access to an ice machine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Eat a Aloha Mixed Plate in Lahaina. Reasonable price. Sunset views. Good food.

Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Oregon
May 3, 2009

nice

we were suprised at the "resort" fee of 12.50 per day, no valet parking just good luck parking,no one to take your bags..so not as plush as others in kannappalli, a bit farther north than I thought it was. Internet in Lobby costs 15 cents a minute and I just wanted to check my bank balance... The Room is actually a privately owned condo, the full kitchen was nice and it was clean and comfortable. The castaways restaraunt left a bit to be desired. Hottest Jaquzzi I have ever been in but I love that!! pools very clean. shuffle board fun by the big pool. staff nice enough, not extra friendly, if you need a towel or soemthing extra they won't help you, they will tell you to wait till 8 for housekeeping. All in all it is nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

If you stay here and you enjoy drinking, go to te store and buy your own juice and alcohol and make it your self, drinks add up quick and can often be watered down, so you pay 7 bucks for a watered down mai tai.. Also best Luau is at the Sheraton.. don't waste the extra $10 for the VIP seats, all seats are fine!

Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, Washington
Mar 16, 2009

RQ Kaanapali Villas

Hotel was very average at best.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top