Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

3 stars
45 Kai Ala Drive, Lahaina, HI 96761
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
278 reviews
Perfect place to stay

This is the best hotel in Maui in my opinion. Not too crowded, perfect Kaanapali beach, close to... See full review

  • Andrew 9505
  • Nov 20, 2014
Best for the beach lover

The staff at this resort is so nice and the location is the best on Kaanapali. Best stretch of... See full review

  • ElijoSF
  • Nov 5, 2014
The Aston name is known for island hospitality across Hawaii, and the Aston Villas Hotel in Maui certainly fits the bill. The hotel's low-rise blocks overlook wooden walkways across seemingly infinite pools, fringed by the palm-laden shore of Kaanapali Beach. Suites and studios come equipped with a full kitchen and a private outdoor balcony. Down by the ocean, guests can sink their teeth into prime rib and sample the impressive wine list at the aptly-named Castaway Cafe, while enjoying the sunsets over Lanai and Molokai. Parents can play shuffleboard while the kids take ukulele lessons and learn how to make a lei at the Camp Kaanapali children's program (at nearby Aston Kaanapali  Shores). Guests visiting from November to April should bring their best binoculars for whale-watching season.
Key facts
  • 260 guestrooms
  • 2 adult pools and a children's pool
  • Gym
  • Gift shop
  • Restaurants: Including Castaway Cafe
  • Day spa
  • ATM
  • Kids camp
  • Wi-Fi (fees may apply)
Neighborhood
Located among 11 acres of bright tropical greenery, the Aston Villas hotel sits on Kaanapali Beach in Lahaina, a former favorite of Hawaiian royalty and the heart of the lively West Maui region. Watersports, shops and restaurants are all located here, easily accessible from a tourist-friendly walkway running alongside the oceanfront resorts. Snorkel at northern Napili Bay, try kayaking and parasailing, or opt for the safe voyeurism of watching the graceful cliff divers at Puu Kekaa. Spend an afternoon wandering the old fishing port of Lahaina, five minutes away - stay until evening and you might see a more riotous side, plus copious amounts of feasting and entertainment at the Old Lahaina Luau on Front Street.
Hints and tips
  • Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas is best enjoyed as a quiet slice of paradise, but when you're yearning for adventure, use the resort's complimentary shuttle to pick up souvenirs at the open-air Whalers Village shopping center.
  • The athletically-inclined can enjoy eighteen holes at one of the nearby championship golf courses, or limber up on one of the Royal Lahaina Tennis Ranch's 11 courts.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas Rooms

Studio with kitchen Garden View
660 avg. sq. ft.-Studio suite features king bed, queen or 2 double beds and a sofabed. Includes central air conditioning, bathroom w/ tub or shower, iron/board, hair dryer, kitchen, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, in-room safe, clock and cable TV.
Studio with kitchen Ocean View
660 avg. sq. ft.-Studio with queen bed, king bed, or 2 double beds and a sofa bed. Central air conditioning, bathroom with tub or shower, iron/ironing board, hairdryer, kitchen, refrigerator, microwave, stove, coffeemaker, dishes/cookware, and in-room safe.
One Bedroom Ocean Side Suite
1,260 avg. sq.ft.-One bedroom suite features king bed or queen and a sofabed. Includes central air conditioning, bathroom w/ tub or shower, sofabed, iron/board, hair dryer, kitchen, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, in-room safe, clock and cable TV. Located in Ocean Side building (Dolphin or Emerald).
Hotel Room
520 avg. sq.ft.-Hotel room features either a king or queen bed. Includes central air conditioning, iron/board, hair dryer, refrigerator, coffee maker, in-room safe, clock and cable TV.
One Bedroom Ocean View Suite
1,260 avg. sq. ft.-One bedroom suite features king bed, queen or sofabed and 2 double beds or sofabed. Includes central air conditioning, bathroom w/ tub or shower, sofabed, iron/board, hair dryer, kitchen, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, in-room safe, clock and cable TV.
Studio with Kitchen Ocean Side
660 avg. sq. ft.-Studio with queen bed or king bed, and a sofa bed. Located in Dolphin or Emerald Tower. Room name denotes location not view. Includes sofa bed, central air conditioning, bathroom with tub or shower, iron/ironing board, hairdryer, kitchen, refrigerator, microwave, stove, coffeemaker, dishes/cookware, and in-room safe.
One Bedroom Garden View Suite
1,260 avg. sq. ft.-One bedroom suite features king bed, queen or 2 double beds and a sofabed. Includes central air conditioning, bathroom w/ tub or shower, sofabed, iron/board, hair dryer, kitchen, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, in-room safe, clock and cable TV.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Map

20.9361 -156.6906
Area served
Lahaina-Maui, HI
Nearby airports
OGG - Kahului and JHM - Kapalua
Area description
On Kaanapali Beach (in the Kaanapali Resort area with on-site shuffleboard), you'll choose from nearby activities including, bike rentals, luaus, snorkeling, windsurfing, Royal Lahaina Tennis Ranch and championship golf courses. Please note we offer free shuttle service to Kaanapali resort area shopping and activities.

Dining

Castaway Cafe
Cuisine Type Hawaii Regional and American, Casual Dress, Open Daily from 7am-9pm, Available for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (278)

Ratings and reviews for Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
278 out of 278
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.3

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Crestwood, Ky
Oct 27, 2010

Nice hotel in a great location

The only issue we had was the AC had a hard time keeping the place cool. There was also some renovation going on in the unit above us and it would get loud after 9am, but we generally we out all day anyway so it really didn't matter. They didn't charge the $13 a day facility charge because of this also so it worked out OK. The grounds were really nice and well kept up. The beach was only steps away from the pool area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, WA
Dec 6, 2010

First trip to Hawaii

It was our first trip to Hawaii. Booking the whole package (Flight-Hotel-Car) with [...]was very easy and convenient. [...] even send a reminder two days befor the trip. I recommend to use Hawaiian airlines direct flights from Seattle because of their departure and arrival times. You do not need to get up very early in the morning to catch the airplane and you'll still have enough time to get to your hotel and swim in the warm ocean. Hotel was good. There are studios with kitchenette. But better to ask for the second floor for more privacy. we had a "garden view" studio which faces the second swimming pool. There are studios also facing the main pool, but it is too noisy. Kaanapali beach is huge and is very good for morning running and evening stoll. It is also has a good shaded areas so that you won't get sun burnt the first day. We checked several hotels in the area and beaches and found that location of our hotel (Austin Maui Kaanapali Villas), it ammenities and service is the best you can find. This is of course if you cook for yourself. The hotel restaurant has a limited menu and there are much better places to dine in Lahaina (15 minutes drive from hotel). I highly recommend the "Pacific 'O" restaurant. Food is excellent! It is pricy though. There are other hotels in the area which can offer you more luxury.We took a drive to Hana and on our way we stopped at the botanical garden (higly recommend), at black sand and red sand beaches (red sand beach is tricky to find) and also stopped at seven pools and took a hike to the waterfall in the national park. Start early in the morning if you would like to cover all this. We also took a horseback riding to the bottom of the crater. It was a very unique trip. I recommend it only if you have some horse riding experience. Two hours down and two hours back is tiresome for novice.We were using a book "Maui revealed" by Andrew Doughty for planning our daily trips at Maui and for finding and checking good snorkeling beaches. We followed the book guiddance and all recommended beaches were excellent for snorkeling. I like most of all the "Black Rock" which was within walking distance from the hotel. It was our first exposure to Hawaii (Maui) and we'll go there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

Whalers village

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego
Dec 1, 2010

Great

Great

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco, CA
Dec 1, 2010

Nice hotel, lovely beach adjoining

My husband and I spent 5 nights at the Maui Ka'anapali Villas, and were not disappointed! The hotel room is nicely appointed. The hotel has two pools, a really nice cafe, as well as a spa. The crowning glory of the hotel is the strip of beach in front, which boasts of one of the nicest reefs for snorkeling! It is not crowded like Black Rock, but provides ample sights. We saw numerous fish, as well as two turtles while snorkeling there! The staff at the hotel were uniformly pleasant and friendly. The only downside is that the place is overrun with families with kids, which might spoil the mood for some, but only added to the charm for us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Do not miss snorkeling at the reef right on the beach at the hotel. We saw more variety of fish here than at Molokini!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Portland, OR
May 14, 2009

Maui Stay

We had a great time and loved having the kitchen to cook meals and hang by the pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

All over a great time

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Maui Max
Business
San Diego, CA
Dec 22, 2010

Always Reliable

We've stayed at the Aston Kaanapali Villas five times, so we obviously love staying there. While some condo units are upgraded with newer amenities, others are above average. It's within walking distance of the beach and Whalers Village, and only 10 minutes away from Lahaina Town. Great location! Plus there's a friendly staff at the onsite cafe, The Castaway Cafe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jet jaguar
Business
Alaska
Nov 6, 2014

Off the Hook!

All the other hotels in the area are twice the price. This is a great hotel with a full kitchen, dishes, a sponge, & even dish soap. Cups, glasses, a full size coffee maker, full sized stove & refrigerator. 2 pools & jacuzzi's. 2 minute walk to the beach from even the furtherest room. Nice lanai. Like renting a full apartment with a maid. I walked over to the Sheraton & it's crazy crowded, and expensive. The beach isn't crowded in front of this place. Older people stay here but that's a good thing. No kids around. I'm 36, stayed with a girl, & it was great for adults who wanna drink and bone. Stay up!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
kgah
Business
carlsbad, CA
Nov 1, 2011

enjoyable vacation

hotel was nice and very close to the water. had a room with a terrific view of the ocean. Was in a nice central location and the room was comfortable

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

can walk to some locations or have a short 10 minute drive

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MartyMar
Business
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Nov 8, 2011

The Villas

i found that directions to the beach were almost non-existent. It is within walking distance if you go behind the the cafe by the pool. If you go along the path where the "beach walk" signs point, you just go to a bunch of shops. Other than not finding beach access right away I had a good time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

I did not know that the Major Banks did not exist on the Island. If you want to save some ATM fees use your credit card or take cash with you. Also I am guessing that importing makes food more expensive. So find a grocery store for some of your meals. Safeway has a few stores. Though I did find that fruits (other than Pineapples) can be expensive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
RJ12
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Jan 4, 2012

New Years in Hawaii

The hotel is in a nice location - on the north side of Black Rock, a great place to go snorkeling. Also, the north side is a bit less busy than the south side. The hotel room overall is fine, but in some places is a bit dated. I think they are updating it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Go snorkeling right off the beach at Black Rock.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top