$227 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 22, 2015 Check-out: Jan 25, 2015

Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

3 stars
45 Kai Ala Drive, Lahaina, HI 96761
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
278 reviews
Perfect place to stay

This is the best hotel in Maui in my opinion. Not too crowded, perfect Kaanapali beach, close to... See full review

  • Andrew 9505
  • Nov 20, 2014
Best for the beach lover

The staff at this resort is so nice and the location is the best on Kaanapali. Best stretch of... See full review

  • ElijoSF
  • Nov 5, 2014
The Aston name is known for island hospitality across Hawaii, and the Aston Villas Hotel in Maui certainly fits the bill. The hotel's low-rise blocks overlook wooden walkways across seemingly infinite pools, fringed by the palm-laden shore of Kaanapali Beach. Suites and studios come equipped with a full kitchen and a private outdoor balcony. Down by the ocean, guests can sink their teeth into prime rib and sample the impressive wine list at the aptly-named Castaway Cafe, while enjoying the sunsets over Lanai and Molokai. Parents can play shuffleboard while the kids take ukulele lessons and learn how to make a lei at the Camp Kaanapali children's program (at nearby Aston Kaanapali  Shores). Guests visiting from November to April should bring their best binoculars for whale-watching season.
Key facts
  • 260 guestrooms
  • 2 adult pools and a children's pool
  • Gym
  • Gift shop
  • Restaurants: Including Castaway Cafe
  • Day spa
  • ATM
  • Kids camp
  • Wi-Fi (fees may apply)
Neighborhood
Located among 11 acres of bright tropical greenery, the Aston Villas hotel sits on Kaanapali Beach in Lahaina, a former favorite of Hawaiian royalty and the heart of the lively West Maui region. Watersports, shops and restaurants are all located here, easily accessible from a tourist-friendly walkway running alongside the oceanfront resorts. Snorkel at northern Napili Bay, try kayaking and parasailing, or opt for the safe voyeurism of watching the graceful cliff divers at Puu Kekaa. Spend an afternoon wandering the old fishing port of Lahaina, five minutes away - stay until evening and you might see a more riotous side, plus copious amounts of feasting and entertainment at the Old Lahaina Luau on Front Street.
Hints and tips
  • Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas is best enjoyed as a quiet slice of paradise, but when you're yearning for adventure, use the resort's complimentary shuttle to pick up souvenirs at the open-air Whalers Village shopping center.
  • The athletically-inclined can enjoy eighteen holes at one of the nearby championship golf courses, or limber up on one of the Royal Lahaina Tennis Ranch's 11 courts.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas Rooms

One Bedroom Ocean Side Suite
1,260 avg. sq.ft.-One bedroom suite features king bed or queen and a sofabed. Includes central air conditioning, bathroom w/ tub or shower, sofabed, iron/board, hair dryer, kitchen, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, in-room safe, clock and cable TV. Located in Ocean Side building (Dolphin or Emerald).
Hotel Room
520 avg. sq.ft.-Hotel room features either a king or queen bed. Includes central air conditioning, iron/board, hair dryer, refrigerator, coffee maker, in-room safe, clock and cable TV.
One Bedroom Ocean View Suite
1,260 avg. sq. ft.-One bedroom suite features king bed, queen or sofabed and 2 double beds or sofabed. Includes central air conditioning, bathroom w/ tub or shower, sofabed, iron/board, hair dryer, kitchen, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, in-room safe, clock and cable TV.
Studio with Kitchen Ocean Side
660 avg. sq. ft.-Studio with queen bed or king bed, and a sofa bed. Located in Dolphin or Emerald Tower. Room name denotes location not view. Includes sofa bed, central air conditioning, bathroom with tub or shower, iron/ironing board, hairdryer, kitchen, refrigerator, microwave, stove, coffeemaker, dishes/cookware, and in-room safe.
One Bedroom Garden View Suite
1,260 avg. sq. ft.-One bedroom suite features king bed, queen or 2 double beds and a sofabed. Includes central air conditioning, bathroom w/ tub or shower, sofabed, iron/board, hair dryer, kitchen, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, in-room safe, clock and cable TV.
Studio with kitchen Ocean View
660 avg. sq. ft.-Studio with queen bed, king bed, or 2 double beds and a sofa bed. Central air conditioning, bathroom with tub or shower, iron/ironing board, hairdryer, kitchen, refrigerator, microwave, stove, coffeemaker, dishes/cookware, and in-room safe.
Studio with kitchen Garden View
660 avg. sq. ft.-Studio suite features king bed, queen or 2 double beds and a sofabed. Includes central air conditioning, bathroom w/ tub or shower, iron/board, hair dryer, kitchen, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, in-room safe, clock and cable TV.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Castaway Cafe
Cuisine Type Hawaii Regional and American, Casual Dress, Open Daily from 7am-9pm, Available for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (278)

Ratings and reviews for Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
278 out of 278
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.3

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JKV& CJV
Business
Glocester, RI.
Feb 21, 2010

Great Place To Vacation and Kick Back

We stayed on the top floor of the towers and enjoyed views of the islands of Molokai and Lanai.You could watch whales spouting and breaching from our balcony all day long.Restaurant on location was friendly and cozy, right on the water serving good food. Sunsets and sunrises were great! Snorkeling right outside your door on the reefs of Black Rock or to the right in front of the Westin Resort just 200 yards down the beach.Would definitely stay again at the Aston Maui Kaanapali Villa's.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rocky449
Business
Fremont, CA
Jun 5, 2010

Great Location, Great view!

The hotel is on the beach in Ka'anapali, right next to an excellent snorkeling spot. The staff is friendly and helpful. Our room was large for a studio with a full kitchen, dining area and nice view of the ocean. It would have been great to have a lanai we could sit out on, ours was only deep enough to stand at the rail. The location is good, toward the end of the Ka'anapali area, easy to get in and out of. We did a lot of walking, hiking and snorkeling. The hotel provides an ice chest, it's styrofoam but works great. We took it with us everywhere, used the icemaker in the refrigerator to fill it with ice, packed our lunches and snacks. Great way to keep costs down and also not get stuck out in the middle of nowhere with no food. There is a free shuttle that goes between the Ka'anapali hotels and the Whalers Village where there is shopping and restaurants and also a connection to the Maui bus service. There is a nice cafe/bar at the hotel, prices are reasonable, food is good. However, it would have been nice to have more restaurant choices around the hotel. Overall we had a good experience at the hotel and would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Warren & Annabelle's

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Jul 10, 2009

Great experience, will return!

Recently headed off to Maui with my new wife on our honeymoon, we spent 8 days at this resort and had an incredible time on the island. The staff at this hotel was nothing but smiles, and were quickly responsive to our own and others requests. Extremely helpful and informative about the island and its attractions and we were both made to feel very much at home during our stay. The room was gigantic and newly remodeled, stone floors, marble top counters and full kitchen, simply decorated in island theme and clean as a whistle. We stayed in a condo unit, and could see many other rooms that were just as nice if not exceedingly so to the one we had, and even larger sizes!! We were very impressed and very pleased. On top of a great staff and excellent, large rooms, the location of this hotel is about as good as it gets. Its just a few miles north of Lahaina where you'll find excellent shopping, food, and non stop entertainment, along with the "Banyan Tree", a few miles south of the big water beaches on the northern side of the island and just outside your doors at this hotel, and all along the Kaanapali beach in fact, you'll find rather calm, nearly salt free, crystal clear water and soft, secluded sand beaches. Important tip! This hotel sits next to the Westin, between the 2 hotels is a beach park, at the beach park there, (which could be easily mistaken as the hotels due to its proximity) there is a lot of hard, sharp reef, cool for snorkeling, bad for swimming and playing in the waves, don't go there unless you want to snorkel, the beach for the hotel however is gotten to by walking past the pool and shuffleboard area, its a perfect beach, no coral, soft sand, almost no waves, nobody bothers you, and you could almost drink the water the salt content is so low there. This hotels beach is great, the beach park next door, not so great... adding to that, my wife and I, ventured out to other beaches on the island to explore and spend time and found that all the beaches here have their own character, and depending on "what" you want to do specifically is going to determine your best Maui beach. One of the great things about Maui! Anyways, we loved this hotel, for the money it is a true gem, and we had no issues of any consequence during our stay. It was flat out lovely and we cannot wait to return. We will be sure to stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

short list of top recommendations: Sunshine Helicopters, Warren and Annabelle's Magic, The Banyan Tree, Haleakala Crater, Longhi's Restaurant, Maui Ocean Center, Drive to Hana! Quick tip: Get a Safeway card and shop there, you'll cut grocery expenses in half!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bethlehem, PA
Jul 22, 2011

Honeymoon at the Villas

This was an amazing experience! Everyone at the Villas is extremely helpful from directions to suggestions on great places to eat. The accommodations exceeded our expectations. Their recent remodeling has created beautiful rooms, and the convenience of a fully equipped kitchen made the trip easier and gave us much more flexibility. The one drawback was the air conditioning. We were there in April when the temperature hadn't reached its highest and the A/C never allowed the room to completely cool off.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Mateo , CA
Aug 2, 2009

Couldn't be better

The best thing about this hotel is certainly its location. The beach is perfect - just can't be better. Good for snorkeling, swimming and just relaxing because there are trees right on the beach and there is plenty of shade. The resort is quiet and yet very close to famous Kaanapali with all the activity. We had a studio and it was very good - spacious, very clean, updated, nicely furnished and with a lovely patio. It was a garden view, which looked out to one of the pools. I can't say anything about the pools, since who needs a pool when there is this blue water, warm and calm ocean just 1 minute walk from your room. I can't complain of absolutely anything. The service was great. At checking we were offered a choice between several rooms. We asked for some extra beach towels and we got them 3 minutes later. Can't say anything about the restaurant on the property, we never used it. On our way from the airport we bought almost everything we needed in Costco and cooked almost all our meals at home with just a few visits to some restaurants when we traveled. To sum it up - Perfect location and very good value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

If you like raw fish - Poke (fresh tuna salad) in Lahaina Safeway was great and reasonably priced.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KaRoNYC
Business
New York City
May 12, 2009

Loved my Maui vacation!

We really loved staying Ka'anapali Villas. It started right after the arrival when the check in lady upgraded us for free to 1 bedroom suite from a studio suite when she found out I am staying here with my husband. my teenage son and my om for a mother's day week. Rooms were well kept and friendly housekeeper made sure we had all we needed daily. She would leave us extra pockets of very delicious Kona Coffee once she found out my om loved it so much. The beach was wonderful and renting snorkeling equipment very inexpensive - we didn't feel ripped off in any way. Our kitchen was very roomy and equipped with everything one may desire from full size fridge to toaster, blender, dishwasher, all utensils, amazing cooking pot set and so much more. Location was fantastic, too. Close to Lahaina where we shopped at local supermarket - Lahaina Farms - for the freshest fish, meats, fruits and vegetables. The castaway cafe was pretty good too and reasonably priced - drinks cheaper than at the local bars around where we live in NYC. We would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Once in Maui - you must take a ride to see the Haleakala sunrise. Leave the hotel at 2:45am to make it on time as Maui roads have 30-45Max m/h limit. Also, Road to Hana was a lot of fun. Another place to go is the Big Beach at Makena State Park - AWESOME BEACH!!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Enggirl
Business
Livermore, CA, USA
Aug 21, 2011

A great place for families

We have been to the villas before and can say they have been consistently good over the last 10 + years. This place is conveniently located in the Kaanapali Resort area so it has free shuttle service to Whalers Village and is also located across the street from one of the Sugar Cane Train station. This location also features an easy access to a nice not too crowded beach or you can take a leisurely long stroll to Black Rock. I recommend this place for families because you can request a condo unit (i.e. Room with kitchette and or multiple beds). The restaurant located on the property is pricey but good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Save money by getting a unit with kitchette and cook your meals instead of eating out every meal. There is a Costco located in Airport area (Kahului) but also Safeways and drugstores which carries basic food items like milk and cereal or spaghetti.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hartford, CT
Aug 15, 2007

friendly-clean

the hotel was clean and everyone was helpful.the downside was the room never got cleaned until after 1pm every day.The resturant at the hotel (the castaway)food was awful.They seem to nickle and dime you to death,with things like a 10 dollar a day fee ,for what i do not know.Also the charge to use the snorkels and everything else.Based on that don't think i would go back,but someone else may like it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

You are only a couple of miles from the whaler shopping center. the whole place to me is over rated and mostly overpriced.average dinner which is ala carte is about 40-60 dollars and the food is average.like i said overpriced and over rated

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mountain Dad
Business
Denver, CO
Apr 15, 2011

Great family getaway

We lived in a 1B Garden View unit in the Aloha tower on the 2nd floor. The unit is well furnished with full kitchen, spacious living room, bedroom and bathroom. There was no bath tub, but we don't need it anyway. Maid service every day to keep the condo clean. The beach is excellent for swim. If you want to snorkeling, just work north for about 200 yards to the Kahekili Beach Park, which has beautiful corral and fish. The hotel staff is very nice. If you check out early, you still can use the shower (just downstairs of the lobby) for free.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Olivine Pool. It's my 2 young boys' favorite because of many cute, calm and warm pools, BUT, IMO, it is one of the most dangerous place in MAUI. Keep in mind the ocean wave is very deceptive. It can hit you HARD and even knock you into the ocean any time if you are too close to the shore. So if you will visit this beautiful but dangerous place, be very very careful.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Palm Desert,Ca
May 13, 2010

Muai Paradise

After more than 50 visits over the years we never get tired of MKV

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top