$199 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 16, 2015 Check-out: Apr 19, 2015

Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

3 stars
View map of 45 Kai Ala Drive, Lahaina, HI 96761

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
282 out of 282
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.3

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Petaluma, CA
Apr 20, 2010

Very nice family resort

Great resort for families. This is an old resort but many of the rooms/condos are newly renovated (ask for a remodeled room!). Both pools have been completely rebuilt in the last 2 years, they are very nice. They started the lobby remodeling on 4/12/2010, so there is some noise and construction going on right now. Clean rooms, very nice service. Very nice beach. Excellent beach-front walk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jessy R
Business
Sacramento, CA, USA
Sep 18, 2011

Nice hotel on the beach

Short drive to the strip of tourist shops in Lahaina. Short drive North to amazing natural wonders like lava rocks and blow holes with pools of tropical fish. Castaways restaurant is just behind the hotel (between the hotel and beach) which was great for breakfast. Our room had a partial ocean view which was nice. It was a pretty large room with a full kitchen and a large fridge.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Blow Hole, Lahaina shopping, Whaler's Village, surf beaches.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dodgerbug
Business
Glendora, Ca
Jun 15, 2009

Great resort for a trip to Maui

This is our second time stay here. Great beach that is somewhat private. We were able to watch the sunset every day from relaxing lounge chairs. Trolley comes by several times a day and takes you to Whalers village where there are shops water activities and $1.00 buses to Lahina and other places. Will stay there again and again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Charlotte, NC
May 9, 2010

Great annivereary

Clean, well maintained builings and manicured landscaping and pool area

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
liliwar
Business
Baltimore, MD
Aug 12, 2009

Kaanapali Villas review

Great cleaning service!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Alaska
Sep 21, 2009

Fine, family-friendly getaway

The room was nicer than expected, and the kitchen fully stocked with assorted cooking items. Would have been nice if there were spices and other such non-perishables in the kitchen, but it was otherwise complete and usable. Initially, we were disappointed not to have a bath in the room, but the walk-in shower was huge, and, in the end, rather fun to have. The grounds are superb, with the pools and gardens and grass that is tended to daily by a team of gardeners. There are two pools, one smaller and quieter, the other a bit larger. Both pools have hot tubs. The larger pool has a 1.5 foot deep kiddie pool. The beach right off the property has great swimming. Just a short distance north and south of the property are fun coral reefs. Snorkeling gear is very reasonable right at the hotel--about half the cost as down the beach, at the bigger facilities, we found. As we walked both north and south, we realized what a little gem this place is. All the other beachfront settings are in large buildings; while more of the rooms have ocean views, these other places were also rather filled with people. Only real complaint is the "activity fee", which seems to be simply an additional revenue generator; such fees seem excessive given the room cost (though the room cost did seem quite reasonable). The staff were all hardworking and very pleasant and helpful. The two times we called for assistance, someone was literally at the door as we hung up the phone. The few rules (i.e., pool closing times) were very reasonably enforced--i.e., no one came in ordering everyone out the minute the pool "closed"--much friendlier than other settings. We ate most meals in our room. We did eat out for dinner at the restaurant at the hotel; food was quite good, and the prices reasonable Lots of families with children--the setting seemed perfectly welcoming of children. While the location is great in itself, it is actually a bit of a drive to some of the major Maui tourist attractions (Hana is a 3-4 hour drive one way, Haleakala is 2-3 hours one way).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Two large grocery stores nearby--one about 1 mile away, the other about 4 miles away. See staff for directions.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sportsmom
Business
Bryant, AR
Oct 1, 2011

Maui anniversary

Paradise, the view was amazing. The grounds were incredible. Staff was courteous. Only problem was the day time temp was 95 degrees and the air conditioner couldn't keep up in room 621.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Several fine restaurants within walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Honolulu, HI
Jun 1, 2011

Great!

My boyfriend and I took a short trip to Maui just for a nice getaway. We were absolutely pleased with the hotel! Checking in late (10pm) was no problem and we were given a free upgrade from a regular hotel room to a villa suite! The staff was very pleasant and we enjoyed the complimentary coffee & tea every morning. The entire hotel was clean & quiet and we scored a suite right next to one of the two pools/hot tubs. The hotel is on the beach so we were able to take a stroll on the sand after dinner. The hotel restaurant is small and simple but had relatively good food. We could have watched the sunset while eating dinner if we had wanted to! Our only complaint was that the pool/hot tub area was closed at 10pm, too early in our opinion! The hotel doesn't have room service either, not a necessity but it would've been nice to have breakfast in bed =) The hotel is a perfect distance away from Lahaina, only about a 5 min drive. And it's only 45 minutes from Kahului and the Airport. May sound long to islanders but it's a nice drive that goes by quickly. Be warned though: there are no street lights on the road from Kahului to Lalhaina!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Portland, OR
May 19, 2009

Wonderful place to stay

I wanted somewhere quiet and family friendly. That is exactly what I got. The room was perfect. The staff was extremely helpful and provided me with a highchair and crib for the little guy. The pools are very family-friendly with a beautiful location. The beach is gorgeous. I would definately stay here again. I wasn't impressed with the on-site restaurant, though. The menu wasn't great and neither was the food. Offsite dining is definitely recommended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Phoenix
May 24, 2009

Nice get away

It was a great get away. I like that the beach is with in walking distance. Times have changed though. Not sure if it is the economy or progress

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Maybe a longish drive, but Moma's Fish House is fantastic!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top