$227 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 22, 2015 Check-out: Jan 25, 2015

Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

3 stars
45 Kai Ala Drive, Lahaina, HI 96761
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
278 reviews
Perfect place to stay

This is the best hotel in Maui in my opinion. Not too crowded, perfect Kaanapali beach, close to... See full review

  • Andrew 9505
  • Nov 20, 2014
Best for the beach lover

The staff at this resort is so nice and the location is the best on Kaanapali. Best stretch of... See full review

  • ElijoSF
  • Nov 5, 2014
The Aston name is known for island hospitality across Hawaii, and the Aston Villas Hotel in Maui certainly fits the bill. The hotel's low-rise blocks overlook wooden walkways across seemingly infinite pools, fringed by the palm-laden shore of Kaanapali Beach. Suites and studios come equipped with a full kitchen and a private outdoor balcony. Down by the ocean, guests can sink their teeth into prime rib and sample the impressive wine list at the aptly-named Castaway Cafe, while enjoying the sunsets over Lanai and Molokai. Parents can play shuffleboard while the kids take ukulele lessons and learn how to make a lei at the Camp Kaanapali children's program (at nearby Aston Kaanapali  Shores). Guests visiting from November to April should bring their best binoculars for whale-watching season.
Key facts
  • 260 guestrooms
  • 2 adult pools and a children's pool
  • Gym
  • Gift shop
  • Restaurants: Including Castaway Cafe
  • Day spa
  • ATM
  • Kids camp
  • Wi-Fi (fees may apply)
Neighborhood
Located among 11 acres of bright tropical greenery, the Aston Villas hotel sits on Kaanapali Beach in Lahaina, a former favorite of Hawaiian royalty and the heart of the lively West Maui region. Watersports, shops and restaurants are all located here, easily accessible from a tourist-friendly walkway running alongside the oceanfront resorts. Snorkel at northern Napili Bay, try kayaking and parasailing, or opt for the safe voyeurism of watching the graceful cliff divers at Puu Kekaa. Spend an afternoon wandering the old fishing port of Lahaina, five minutes away - stay until evening and you might see a more riotous side, plus copious amounts of feasting and entertainment at the Old Lahaina Luau on Front Street.
Hints and tips
  • Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas is best enjoyed as a quiet slice of paradise, but when you're yearning for adventure, use the resort's complimentary shuttle to pick up souvenirs at the open-air Whalers Village shopping center.
  • The athletically-inclined can enjoy eighteen holes at one of the nearby championship golf courses, or limber up on one of the Royal Lahaina Tennis Ranch's 11 courts.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas Rooms

One Bedroom Ocean Side Suite
1,260 avg. sq.ft.-One bedroom suite features king bed or queen and a sofabed. Includes central air conditioning, bathroom w/ tub or shower, sofabed, iron/board, hair dryer, kitchen, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, in-room safe, clock and cable TV. Located in Ocean Side building (Dolphin or Emerald).
Hotel Room
520 avg. sq.ft.-Hotel room features either a king or queen bed. Includes central air conditioning, iron/board, hair dryer, refrigerator, coffee maker, in-room safe, clock and cable TV.
One Bedroom Ocean View Suite
1,260 avg. sq. ft.-One bedroom suite features king bed, queen or sofabed and 2 double beds or sofabed. Includes central air conditioning, bathroom w/ tub or shower, sofabed, iron/board, hair dryer, kitchen, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, in-room safe, clock and cable TV.
Studio with Kitchen Ocean Side
660 avg. sq. ft.-Studio with queen bed or king bed, and a sofa bed. Located in Dolphin or Emerald Tower. Room name denotes location not view. Includes sofa bed, central air conditioning, bathroom with tub or shower, iron/ironing board, hairdryer, kitchen, refrigerator, microwave, stove, coffeemaker, dishes/cookware, and in-room safe.
One Bedroom Garden View Suite
1,260 avg. sq. ft.-One bedroom suite features king bed, queen or 2 double beds and a sofabed. Includes central air conditioning, bathroom w/ tub or shower, sofabed, iron/board, hair dryer, kitchen, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, in-room safe, clock and cable TV.
Studio with kitchen Ocean View
660 avg. sq. ft.-Studio with queen bed, king bed, or 2 double beds and a sofa bed. Central air conditioning, bathroom with tub or shower, iron/ironing board, hairdryer, kitchen, refrigerator, microwave, stove, coffeemaker, dishes/cookware, and in-room safe.
Studio with kitchen Garden View
660 avg. sq. ft.-Studio suite features king bed, queen or 2 double beds and a sofabed. Includes central air conditioning, bathroom w/ tub or shower, iron/board, hair dryer, kitchen, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, in-room safe, clock and cable TV.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Castaway Cafe
Cuisine Type Hawaii Regional and American, Casual Dress, Open Daily from 7am-9pm, Available for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (278)

Ratings and reviews for Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
278 out of 278
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.3

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Vancouver, WA.
Apr 22, 2009

Great for kids!

We really enjoyed our stay in Maui this past March/April. We took our entire family (2 adults, 3 children) and stayed at the Kaanapali Villas. Once we arrived, we were upgraded to a one bedroom unit which was very comfortable for the kids. We had a spacious unit with a full kitchen which was great since we had stocked up at Costco. Most days we had two meals in the Villa and one out on the road. We enjoyed our partial ocean view and our close proximity to the beach. We spent several days exploring the island, but wish we had, had more time to spend at the beach right where we were staying. That beach was one of the top three we have been to in Maui. On our last night, we enjoyed the most amazing sunset right on the beach in front of the Kaanapali Villas. The kids really enjoyed the pool area and spent several nights swimming there. It was relaxing and not as crowded as some of the other resorts where we have stayed. I would definitely return to the Kaanapali Villas, especially with children. It was clean and comfortable. I would agree with other reviews which stated that the furnishings were a little outdated, but that didn't really detract from the good time had by all. I know that is important to some people though. All in all, a great place to stay for families with children! We were able to spend time outdoors snorkeling, whale-watching, shopping, and visiting Hana. When we returned to the hotel, we always had a comfortable place to rest.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

Shop for meals when you arrive. Eat in for most meals and then have a few really nice meals out.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Susie & Matthew
Business
Everett, WA
May 3, 2010

Nice place to stay.

The staff gave us great tips for local places to eat and went out of their way to help with anything we needed. We were pleasantly surprised to get an upgrade when we arrived and the studio condo was perfect for us. The on-site cafe was a bit disappointing. The food and drinks were pretty bland. Overall, we would stay there again and we would recommend this place to friends (just not the cafe).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Take the time to find Slaughter House Beach for snorkeling. Take the Hwy north past Napili and just beyond mile marker 32. Park on the side of the road and walk through the trees to a boulder beach. If you find the sandy beach first, keep going. It's worth it!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, TX
May 3, 2010

From excellent to not so good

The staff was friendly, the room and view were beautiful. The current construction is unseemly. While the Maui Kaanapali Villas promoted a quiet setting with adversity to loud noise, on Saturday, the property next door had a very loud party that lasted to 2:00 a.m. My wife and I could not get to sleep until it shut down. The beach and view of the west coast of Maui was excellent. So was the snorkelling. Overall, the time spent there was very good!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The room had a full kitchen. We shopped at the Safeway four miles south of the property in Lahaina. It saved us money and time. The property has new gas grills that were not being used by anyone but us. It was a great way to have a grilled steak dinner with grilled vegetables!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
maui_vac_09
Business
san diego
May 27, 2009

Plesant place to stay on Kahekili beach

This place is off of Kahekili beach which is one of the pleasant beaches to walk and spend time every morning. Ours was not a ocean front room, but with a ocean view. Room was very well maintained and we had a pleasant experience staying here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

This place is on Kahekili beach and closer to Black rock. Kaanapali beach (best place to spend time during sunset and other beach activities) is separated from the Kahekili beach by the Black Rock (excellent place to snorkel).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Maui Max
Business
San Diego, CA
Oct 16, 2009

Value and Location!

The Aston Ka'anapali Villas is a great place to stay in Maui! The location is absolutely perfect and it's nice being in a condo setting when you just want to take it easy. Nothing beats cooking your own breakfast and sipping some coffee on your own lanai. It's a home away from home!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Whaler's Village is a 15-20 minute walk away to wine, dine, and shop! Sure you have to walk, but hey you're by the beach!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
burrowan
Business
Columbus, OH
Sep 19, 2009

Great anniversary getaway!

Booked with Maui Kaanapali villas based on a recommendation from friends who recently honeymooned on Maui. Was a little hesitant given some mixed reviews I read online, but their recommendation was great so we decided to gave it a try. So glad that we did! While the hotel is a little older and maybe not as "fancy" as some of the surrounding mega resorts, it was well kept and clean and it had a few key benefits that made it a better choice for us (as a reference point, my husband and I are in our late 20's and were in Hawaii for an anniversary...no kids). Some reviewers commented on bug problems, we saw none of that on our stay...another frequent comment were the dated rooms..again, no issue on our end. While all are individually owned, our unit (227 Banyan) was clean and fairly updated. When walking through or visiting other resorts, we saw that the common areas and pools were wall to wall people. There was no swimming going on...it was more like standing elbow to elbow in chest deep water while loads of screaming kids splash and kick you. Given the calm and pleasant pool areas at Maui Kaanapali villas, we never had that issue and were able to fully enjoy the pool whenever we chose. Also, the beach area directly in front of the hotel (while within perfect walking distance to blackrock and whalers village) was much calmer. You could actually spread out a towel and have plenty of your own space on our section of beach. For snorkeling, however, you'll definitely want to take a walk down the beach to the sheraton. It is a crowded place to snorkel, but there is a reason for that...it was the best snorkel experience of our stay and that includes boat trips out to molokini and turtle town. The Kaanapali trolley stops at Maui Kaanapali villas on a set schedule every 40 minutes or so. We used this frequently during our stay even though we had a rental car the entire week. It was so convenient to head down to the more "main" portion of the beach area when we wanted to hit up some nearby restaurants or enjoy different scenery. The trolley stops at several other hotels along kaanapali beach and also drops off/picks up at whalers village so is a must for anyone looking to explore through that little area (you can easily walk the entire length of kaanapali beach and we did once or twice, but you won't want to do that every time). We took a sunset dinner cruise with Teralani our first night - really pleasant and absolutely beautiful sunset. The crew was very friendly and pleasant and had an overall great time...food was just ok, but I wasn't expecting gourmet. Also took a morning snorkel trip to molokini with Trilogy. Trip was ok, but water was very choppy while we were out. Didn't get sick, but several others did - crew was good with them and provided sea sickness medication, but it still looked miserable for them. The snorkeling at molokini wasn't great...part of that was due to choppy waters, but really not sure that I'd ever try it again...it wasn't spectacular so if there are other things you have in mind...I'd put those to the top of the list before a molokini trip. Trilogy also stops at turtle town...what a waste. We saw a couple of turtles from the deck of the boat, but once in the water it was murky and zero visibility. Crew on trilogy was also good, but this is one trip I probably won't take again. Hula Grill and Barefoot bar are both located at Whalers (within walking distance or take the trolley from Kaanapali villas) - had a couple of great dinners and lunches there...definitely recommend as affordable, more casual dining while you are in town. For a nice dinner out, you really can't beat Roy's in Kapalua (less than a 10 minute drive north). While Roy's is a chain (they have locations on the mainland US as well), we had our BEST meal of the entire trip at this restaurant. The fish was amazing and everything about the meal was perfect. We also ate at Mama's fish house. I think Mama's is a mus...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Feast at Lele, just a short drive away in Lahaina. Entertainment was fantastic. View was amazing for the sunset. The food is a wide variety and probably contains several dishes that you've never eaten or experienced before.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Oct 18, 2009

Unbeatable location

Experience was fine. Some construction noise during daytime. With construction we had ants in our kitchen. Was sprayed but took 2 more days to remove them. Room was large. We did have to make sure to be out of the room on one day for no water for 6 hours. Parking was a first come first serve. Nice to have a store on property but costs much more than local markets. Sometimes front desk staff helpful and sometimes unfriendly. Nice to have kitchen. We had made plans for early morning so able to make breakfast in room and save some money. Maid service was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Visited Cannery Mall. Has a Safeway that is 24 hours. Was able to buy pantry items. Mall attached was decent prices for many items. Has all sorts of magazines at airport and had coupons in it for this mall.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
fusingbob
Business
Kailua-Kona, HI
Jul 9, 2010

Not bad!

Very friendly staff! Great location on the shoreline, steps to a really great beach. Some new construction going on, sometimes a mite noisy, but we just walked to beach and had quiet. On-site restaurant had very friendly staff, good food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Petaluma, CA
Apr 20, 2010

Very nice family resort

Great resort for families. This is an old resort but many of the rooms/condos are newly renovated (ask for a remodeled room!). Both pools have been completely rebuilt in the last 2 years, they are very nice. They started the lobby remodeling on 4/12/2010, so there is some noise and construction going on right now. Clean rooms, very nice service. Very nice beach. Excellent beach-front walk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jessy R
Business
Sacramento, CA, USA
Sep 18, 2011

Nice hotel on the beach

Short drive to the strip of tourist shops in Lahaina. Short drive North to amazing natural wonders like lava rocks and blow holes with pools of tropical fish. Castaways restaurant is just behind the hotel (between the hotel and beach) which was great for breakfast. Our room had a partial ocean view which was nice. It was a pretty large room with a full kitchen and a large fridge.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Blow Hole, Lahaina shopping, Whaler's Village, surf beaches.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top