$227 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 27, 2015 Check-out: Jan 28, 2015

Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

3 stars
45 Kai Ala Drive, Lahaina, HI 96761
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
280 reviews
Perfect place to stay

This is the best hotel in Maui in my opinion. Not too crowded, perfect Kaanapali beach, close to... See full review

  • Andrew 9505
  • Nov 20, 2014
Best for the beach lover

The staff at this resort is so nice and the location is the best on Kaanapali. Best stretch of... See full review

  • ElijoSF
  • Nov 5, 2014
The Aston name is known for island hospitality across Hawaii, and the Aston Villas Hotel in Maui certainly fits the bill. The hotel's low-rise blocks overlook wooden walkways across seemingly infinite pools, fringed by the palm-laden shore of Kaanapali Beach. Suites and studios come equipped with a full kitchen and a private outdoor balcony. Down by the ocean, guests can sink their teeth into prime rib and sample the impressive wine list at the aptly-named Castaway Cafe, while enjoying the sunsets over Lanai and Molokai. Parents can play shuffleboard while the kids take ukulele lessons and learn how to make a lei at the Camp Kaanapali children's program (at nearby Aston Kaanapali  Shores). Guests visiting from November to April should bring their best binoculars for whale-watching season.
Key facts
  • 260 guestrooms
  • 2 adult pools and a children's pool
  • Gym
  • Gift shop
  • Restaurants: Including Castaway Cafe
  • Day spa
  • ATM
  • Kids camp
  • Wi-Fi (fees may apply)
Neighborhood
Located among 11 acres of bright tropical greenery, the Aston Villas hotel sits on Kaanapali Beach in Lahaina, a former favorite of Hawaiian royalty and the heart of the lively West Maui region. Watersports, shops and restaurants are all located here, easily accessible from a tourist-friendly walkway running alongside the oceanfront resorts. Snorkel at northern Napili Bay, try kayaking and parasailing, or opt for the safe voyeurism of watching the graceful cliff divers at Puu Kekaa. Spend an afternoon wandering the old fishing port of Lahaina, five minutes away - stay until evening and you might see a more riotous side, plus copious amounts of feasting and entertainment at the Old Lahaina Luau on Front Street.
Hints and tips
  • Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas is best enjoyed as a quiet slice of paradise, but when you're yearning for adventure, use the resort's complimentary shuttle to pick up souvenirs at the open-air Whalers Village shopping center.
  • The athletically-inclined can enjoy eighteen holes at one of the nearby championship golf courses, or limber up on one of the Royal Lahaina Tennis Ranch's 11 courts.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas Rooms

One Bedroom Ocean Side Suite
1,260 avg. sq.ft.-One bedroom suite features king bed or queen and a sofabed. Includes central air conditioning, bathroom w/ tub or shower, sofabed, iron/board, hair dryer, kitchen, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, in-room safe, clock and cable TV. Located in Ocean Side building (Dolphin or Emerald).
Hotel Room
520 avg. sq.ft.-Hotel room features either a king or queen bed. Includes central air conditioning, iron/board, hair dryer, refrigerator, coffee maker, in-room safe, clock and cable TV.
One Bedroom Ocean View Suite
1,260 avg. sq. ft.-One bedroom suite features king bed, queen or sofabed and 2 double beds or sofabed. Includes central air conditioning, bathroom w/ tub or shower, sofabed, iron/board, hair dryer, kitchen, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, in-room safe, clock and cable TV.
Studio with Kitchen Ocean Side
660 avg. sq. ft.-Studio with queen bed or king bed, and a sofa bed. Located in Dolphin or Emerald Tower. Room name denotes location not view. Includes sofa bed, central air conditioning, bathroom with tub or shower, iron/ironing board, hairdryer, kitchen, refrigerator, microwave, stove, coffeemaker, dishes/cookware, and in-room safe.
One Bedroom Garden View Suite
1,260 avg. sq. ft.-One bedroom suite features king bed, queen or 2 double beds and a sofabed. Includes central air conditioning, bathroom w/ tub or shower, sofabed, iron/board, hair dryer, kitchen, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, in-room safe, clock and cable TV.
Studio with kitchen Ocean View
660 avg. sq. ft.-Studio with queen bed, king bed, or 2 double beds and a sofa bed. Central air conditioning, bathroom with tub or shower, iron/ironing board, hairdryer, kitchen, refrigerator, microwave, stove, coffeemaker, dishes/cookware, and in-room safe.
Studio with kitchen Garden View
660 avg. sq. ft.-Studio suite features king bed, queen or 2 double beds and a sofabed. Includes central air conditioning, bathroom w/ tub or shower, iron/board, hair dryer, kitchen, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, in-room safe, clock and cable TV.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Castaway Cafe
Cuisine Type Hawaii Regional and American, Casual Dress, Open Daily from 7am-9pm, Available for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (280)

Ratings and reviews for Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
280 out of 280
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.3

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Happy Husband & Wife
Business
Wyoming
Apr 22, 2009

What a great deal!

We took the "standard" room and were shocked at how great it was. We had 2 balconies, one off each side of our room. The housemen are excellent too. Our DVD player broke and they came right away to replace it. Everything was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Yessup
Business
Pismo Beach, CA
Apr 22, 2009

Great place for the money

We had a great room. All rooms are diferent, and many are owner occupied. The room we had was a room pictured on another website. The beach out front was very quiet compared to the beach on the south side of black rock. Good snorkeling out front. I was disapointed that I thought we were getting a one bedroom unit, and we had room with a loft. Very short walk to beach. The Kaanapali Trolley was very nice to use for free to visit other resorts. The pool/beach towel exchange system was annoying. They issue 1 towel per person at check in, and you need to call housekeeping for fresh pool towels. You also need to turn in towels at check-out to avoid a $20 per towel fee. I would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Trolley is good for shoping, and or night life. Shopping at the Safeway near Lahaina saved us tons on food. The Gas BBQ near our room was awesome

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hawaii Golfer
Business
Big Island, Hi
Oct 12, 2010

Great place for an overnighter or a week

We arrived late and checked out early, but there was always someone at the front desk ready to take care of us. The first time we stayed there they even gave us a box of chocolates and some bottled water. Although they didn't offer that the second time, we still enjoyed the great service, clean room, great location, and even the restaurant was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

A great place to stay if golfing at Ka'anapali

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Maui Max
Business
San Diego, CA
Oct 6, 2010

Best Stay Thus Far!

We always stay at the Aston Kaanapali Villas and this is by far the best stay we've ever had there. The location was centrally located between Lahaina and Kapalua. Easy access to many beaches!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

Whaler's Village is only a mile and half away. The beach walk is enjoyable. There's also a shuttle to the shopping and dining.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minneapolis
Oct 17, 2010

Maui Condo stay

We stayed ay the Aston Kaanapali Villas for a week. Overall I would say it was a great value. Good locations and grounds. We stayed in two rooms. the first one bedromm we go was a loft style, with a loft bedroom above the living space. This was not an ideal situation as we have a 3-year-old, and the loft does offer a noise or light barrier like a separate bedroom. If you need a true separate bedroom, be sure to specify that you don't want a loft. As soon as they could accommodate us in a traditional one bedroom, they did.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Orange Park, Florida
Oct 12, 2010

Excellent Experience

Very nice Hotel/Condo setup. Room was like being at home. Fully equipped kitchen with dishes, pots and pans. Excellent location right on the beach. Only one complaint, being smokers we have no problem with not smoking in the room. We do not smoke in our own home, but in the entire facility there is only one smokers area and it is across the parking lot and consists of a two person park bench sitting at the edge of the joggers trail. Heck of a place to put a smoking area!! Would highly recommend this Hotel!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Jackson Hole, WY
Dec 4, 2009

Great quality in a beautiful Setting

This property is right on the clean beach of Ka'anapali. Sunbathing,trying a little surfing in the most turquise of water. Saw the beginning of the whale watch. We could see the space station glowing in the clear skies at night., (15K mph) Snorkeling or trips in the "submarine". This was a very romantic trip for us. Picnic on the beaches. We felt safe.We could cook our own surf and turf or go out!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Nightlife is everywhere for the younger person and evening entertainment exists for those 50 and above as well. Hotel concierges have amazing info to draw from, include them in your planning.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ann Arbor, MI
Mar 6, 2010

In the most beautiful beach of Maui

Rooms are great (big, clean, ful kitchen, quiet, great view), pool area is perfect (grass,games, hot tub, view of the beach), staff very friendly, very good location (close to town, supermarkets and close to the road). The restaurant at the hotel could have more options, but as we have a kitchen at the room, it was ok.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Time sharing downtow

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Albuquerque, NM
Aug 18, 2007

My review of ResortQuest Maui Kaanapali Villas

The up side: The property was in a very nice location, the grounds were beautiful; The room was very spacious. I loved the fact that it had a kitchen with all the necessities, sofa, chairs, dining table, big screen tv and queen size bed. On the Down side: the room needed some attention/TLC. The mirrors, looked like they had not been cleaned for some time. The dining table had food left from previous visits. The lanai needed some attention (vacuum, and clean tables and chairs). The floors needed to be mopped. The bed sheet had gum on it. And, I had to practically beg on a daily basis for washcloths - and sometimes never got. Same goes for dish towel and dish cloth. There was a DVD player in the room, but we could never get it to work. I would recommed it to my family and friends, but only if housekeeping could be improved. This property cannot maintain it's value without a little TLC. If I were the owner of this room, I would be very upset that it was not being better taken care of. Please base in mind that my opinion is based solely on one room. I have no way of knowing what the other rooms looked like.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

A visit to Front Street with plenty of shopping and dining

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Victoria, BC
Mar 31, 2010

Our Stay

[...] we were upgraded to a groundfloor oceanside, which had no privacy when the curtains were open, due to the location by the pool. After 2 days we were upgraded to an oceanview one bedroom which we were very happy with. Apart from one rude desk clerk, the staff were all very friendly and helpful. The maintenance staff deserve high kudos for retrieving my sunglasses clip which had fallen down the elevator shaft.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Outback restaurant in Lahaina has excellent service and steaks.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top