$219 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 5, 2015 Check-out: Jan 8, 2015

Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

3 stars
45 Kai Ala Drive, Lahaina, HI 96761
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
278 reviews
Perfect place to stay

This is the best hotel in Maui in my opinion. Not too crowded, perfect Kaanapali beach, close to... See full review

  • Andrew 9505
  • Nov 20, 2014
Best for the beach lover

The staff at this resort is so nice and the location is the best on Kaanapali. Best stretch of... See full review

  • ElijoSF
  • Nov 5, 2014
The Aston name is known for island hospitality across Hawaii, and the Aston Villas Hotel in Maui certainly fits the bill. The hotel's low-rise blocks overlook wooden walkways across seemingly infinite pools, fringed by the palm-laden shore of Kaanapali Beach. Suites and studios come equipped with a full kitchen and a private outdoor balcony. Down by the ocean, guests can sink their teeth into prime rib and sample the impressive wine list at the aptly-named Castaway Cafe, while enjoying the sunsets over Lanai and Molokai. Parents can play shuffleboard while the kids take ukulele lessons and learn how to make a lei at the Camp Kaanapali children's program (at nearby Aston Kaanapali  Shores). Guests visiting from November to April should bring their best binoculars for whale-watching season.
Key facts
  • 260 guestrooms
  • 2 adult pools and a children's pool
  • Gym
  • Gift shop
  • Restaurants: Including Castaway Cafe
  • Day spa
  • ATM
  • Kids camp
  • Wi-Fi (fees may apply)
Neighborhood
Located among 11 acres of bright tropical greenery, the Aston Villas hotel sits on Kaanapali Beach in Lahaina, a former favorite of Hawaiian royalty and the heart of the lively West Maui region. Watersports, shops and restaurants are all located here, easily accessible from a tourist-friendly walkway running alongside the oceanfront resorts. Snorkel at northern Napili Bay, try kayaking and parasailing, or opt for the safe voyeurism of watching the graceful cliff divers at Puu Kekaa. Spend an afternoon wandering the old fishing port of Lahaina, five minutes away - stay until evening and you might see a more riotous side, plus copious amounts of feasting and entertainment at the Old Lahaina Luau on Front Street.
Hints and tips
  • Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas is best enjoyed as a quiet slice of paradise, but when you're yearning for adventure, use the resort's complimentary shuttle to pick up souvenirs at the open-air Whalers Village shopping center.
  • The athletically-inclined can enjoy eighteen holes at one of the nearby championship golf courses, or limber up on one of the Royal Lahaina Tennis Ranch's 11 courts.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas Rooms

One Bedroom Ocean Side Suite
1,260 avg. sq.ft.-One bedroom suite features king bed or queen and a sofabed. Includes central air conditioning, bathroom w/ tub or shower, sofabed, iron/board, hair dryer, kitchen, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, in-room safe, clock and cable TV. Located in Ocean Side building (Dolphin or Emerald).
Hotel Room
520 avg. sq.ft.-Hotel room features either a king or queen bed. Includes central air conditioning, iron/board, hair dryer, refrigerator, coffee maker, in-room safe, clock and cable TV.
One Bedroom Ocean View Suite
1,260 avg. sq. ft.-One bedroom suite features king bed, queen or sofabed and 2 double beds or sofabed. Includes central air conditioning, bathroom w/ tub or shower, sofabed, iron/board, hair dryer, kitchen, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, in-room safe, clock and cable TV.
Studio with Kitchen Ocean Side
660 avg. sq. ft.-Studio with queen bed or king bed, and a sofa bed. Located in Dolphin or Emerald Tower. Room name denotes location not view. Includes sofa bed, central air conditioning, bathroom with tub or shower, iron/ironing board, hairdryer, kitchen, refrigerator, microwave, stove, coffeemaker, dishes/cookware, and in-room safe.
One Bedroom Garden View Suite
1,260 avg. sq. ft.-One bedroom suite features king bed, queen or 2 double beds and a sofabed. Includes central air conditioning, bathroom w/ tub or shower, sofabed, iron/board, hair dryer, kitchen, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, in-room safe, clock and cable TV.
Studio with kitchen Ocean View
660 avg. sq. ft.-Studio with queen bed, king bed, or 2 double beds and a sofa bed. Central air conditioning, bathroom with tub or shower, iron/ironing board, hairdryer, kitchen, refrigerator, microwave, stove, coffeemaker, dishes/cookware, and in-room safe.
Studio with kitchen Garden View
660 avg. sq. ft.-Studio suite features king bed, queen or 2 double beds and a sofabed. Includes central air conditioning, bathroom w/ tub or shower, iron/board, hair dryer, kitchen, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, in-room safe, clock and cable TV.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Castaway Cafe
Cuisine Type Hawaii Regional and American, Casual Dress, Open Daily from 7am-9pm, Available for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (278)

Ratings and reviews for Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
278 out of 278
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.3

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Frozen Four
Business
Milwaukee, WI
Mar 25, 2014

Beautiful family getaway

Very nice place & good location that allows you access to all the gorgeous surroundings

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Do the time share presentation thru Wyndham to save the most on your excursions

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
with wife and 2 kids
Business
San Diego, CA
Apr 4, 2014

Quiet, peaceful and scenic atmosphere.

Very nice quiet and peaceful environment. Big rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
treelynn
Business
Hayden, Idaho
Apr 20, 2014

good location,good hotel

Some classed this hotel as being older. We had a decent room with a kitchenette. Yes, showed some wear-but they kept things so very clean. Great location and the rooms were nice enough to enjoy taking some R & R.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Shop at Times north of hotel. Bypass the Safeway. You will be disappointed. They sell green fruit that never ripens before your stay and airlines will not let you bring it home. Times sells ripe. -and at decent prices.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Alamosa, CO
Jun 11, 2009

Maui is Paradise!

We came in late at night and was very disapointed with the outdated furniture and not having a lanai at first. This place grew on us though! Short walk to the best beach on Maui (sandy, easy to swim in, and a short walk to snorkeling). We were disapointed to be in the Tower where the rooms had no lanai, but it was nice and quiet and we did not hear noise from the highway at all. It was nice having a full kitchen; we saved money on breakfasts, lunches, and 2 dinners. We also could see the ocean and Lanai from our window. We would stay here again primarily for the location but might request a room in the 2 story condos next time. Overall, Maui is such a magical and romantic place that's special in our hearts!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

great swimming beach in front of hotel. Short walk to aiport beach for snorkeling.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jan 22, 2008

Spacious and Clean

The unit was quite spacious which we enjoyed, and it was clean. The bath was oversized and easy for two people to work within. This was a rather laid-back resort which we liked and we appreciated the wireless network although it was very, very slow. We had difficulty in locating our unit since we arrived late at night. If you arrive at night ask the night clerk to be more specific as to the unit location within the building. It was conveniently located to area points of interest. There was only one small beach cafe on site, and we would have appreciated perhaps another restaurant. Overall, we felt it was a pretty good buy. We based our selection on comments from former guests.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

The Whalers Village is a great place to shop and dine.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Vinita, OK
Aug 8, 2010

Clean and very family oriented

The studio was large, clean and equiped with everything we needed. The balcony was huge. The grills were very nice (looked new). The grounds were very well kept as well as the pools. The beach was the best! They could not have a better location as far as beaches go. We will return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Dining options are great Star noodle is great, Cool Cat cafe has burgers big enough to share. Kobe steak has is hibachi style and is wonderful. Remember to get the coupons out of the brochures they are everywhere.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Alive again
Business
Prescott, WI
Dec 22, 2010

Very Pleasantly Surprised

We went surfing, ziplining and shopping. Which were all set up by the conciege,(Dawn) she was very helpful and had a great personality. We stayed in 3 different rooms because we did a up- grade and then stayed for another day. All the rooms were different and we loved two of them and one was okay. They had kitchens in two that we really liked and very clean and comfortable. Beds were comfortable. The place is very homey , and the restaurant on site was very good at a resonable price. The only thing is you paid for internet and parking but if you didn't have your own computer and used theirs they charged by the minute, I thought that was included in price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Rent a car it is well worth it, to explore the island and to get to other adventures on the island. Even though there is a trolley to some of the places, its pretty easy to get around in the car and you can find free parking in most places.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
May 24, 2008

spacious and good location

We were impressed with the spaciousness of the room. The pool area near our room waas under renovation, so a lot of contruction going on, but there was a second pool on the property and it had great beach access. I would be a return customer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MauiBeachFlower
Business
Granada Hills, CA
May 20, 2009

If you need a peaceful getaway

The beach is just a walk away, very clean and not too crowded.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Cannery Mall is only a couple miles from the villas. Prices for souvenirs or stuff you have forgotten/need are economical compared to the Whaler's Village. There's a grocery store in the same lot.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Modesto, CA.
May 10, 2009

Our trip to Maui

The Maui Kaanapali Villas is a great beach front property. Beach access is easy and if you would rather use a pool it is right there next to the beach. The room we had was billed as a garden view studio with a kitchen which to me was a little deceiving. The room was actually a motel room on the fourth floor with a kitchen. Our garden view was a tree with a parking lot in the background. The rooms and kitchen were up to date and clean and the daily room service was excellent. The property is located about 1/2 to 3/4 mile north of the Whaler's Village, which has great shopping and restaurants. Overall a pretty good vacation. I think the only thing that we had issue with is that when you buy a package deal you shouldn't have to deal with extra charges like hotel service fees which this particular resort charges. I'm guessing the fees are for stuff like parking, laundry facilities, and the fitness room although they just call it a service fee.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

The Whaler's Village is within a long walk or a short drive has excellent shopping, dining and entertainment.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top