$162 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 11, 2014 Check-out: Nov 14, 2014

Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

3 stars
45 Kai Ala Drive, Lahaina, HI 96761
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
275 reviews
Best place to stay in Maui

Avoid the crowds at the big resorts and stay in a well equipped condo in a garden setting. We... See full review

  • Dave of Perth
  • Oct 15, 2014
Great hotel. Recommended

They offered us an upgrade and we ended on a studio. The room was amazing, big, nicely decorated,... See full review

  • viajeros ibericos
  • Sep 27, 2014
The Aston name is known for island hospitality across Hawaii, and the Aston Villas Hotel in Maui certainly fits the bill. The hotel's low-rise blocks overlook wooden walkways across seemingly infinite pools, fringed by the palm-laden shore of Kaanapali Beach. Suites and studios come equipped with a full kitchen and a private outdoor balcony. Down by the ocean, guests can sink their teeth into prime rib and sample the impressive wine list at the aptly-named Castaway Cafe, while enjoying the sunsets over Lanai and Molokai. Parents can play shuffleboard while the kids take ukulele lessons and learn how to make a lei at the Camp Kaanapali children's program (at nearby Aston Kaanapali  Shores). Guests visiting from November to April should bring their best binoculars for whale-watching season.
Key facts
  • 260 guestrooms
  • 2 adult pools and a children's pool
  • Gym
  • Gift shop
  • Restaurants: Including Castaway Cafe
  • Day spa
  • ATM
  • Kids camp
  • Wi-Fi (fees may apply)
Neighborhood
Located among 11 acres of bright tropical greenery, the Aston Villas hotel sits on Kaanapali Beach in Lahaina, a former favorite of Hawaiian royalty and the heart of the lively West Maui region. Watersports, shops and restaurants are all located here, easily accessible from a tourist-friendly walkway running alongside the oceanfront resorts. Snorkel at northern Napili Bay, try kayaking and parasailing, or opt for the safe voyeurism of watching the graceful cliff divers at Puu Kekaa. Spend an afternoon wandering the old fishing port of Lahaina, five minutes away - stay until evening and you might see a more riotous side, plus copious amounts of feasting and entertainment at the Old Lahaina Luau on Front Street.
Hints and tips
  • Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas is best enjoyed as a quiet slice of paradise, but when you're yearning for adventure, use the resort's complimentary shuttle to pick up souvenirs at the open-air Whalers Village shopping center.
  • The athletically-inclined can enjoy eighteen holes at one of the nearby championship golf courses, or limber up on one of the Royal Lahaina Tennis Ranch's 11 courts.
  • NOTICE: The hotel will undergo exterior renovations from 2 Sept to 2 Nov 2014, which will include installing new roofing on the Dolphin and Emerald Buildings and a spalling project on the Aloha Tower. Refurbishment works will be done during weekdays from 8 AM to 3 PM. During this period, the oceanfront pool will be closed.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

20.9361 -156.6906
Area served
Lahaina-Maui, HI
Nearby airports
OGG - Kahului and JHM - Kapalua
Area description
On Kaanapali Beach (in the Kaanapali Resort area with on-site shuffleboard), you'll choose from nearby activities including, bike rentals, luaus, snorkeling, windsurfing, Royal Lahaina Tennis Ranch and championship golf courses. Please note we offer free shuttle service to Kaanapali resort area shopping and activities.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas Rooms

Studio with kitchen Garden View
660 avg. sq. ft.-Studio suite features king bed, queen or 2 double beds and a sofabed. Includes central air conditioning, bathroom w/ tub or shower, iron/board, hair dryer, kitchen, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, in-room safe, clock and cable TV.
Studio with kitchen Ocean View
660 avg. sq. ft.-Studio with queen bed, king bed, or 2 double beds and a sofa bed. Central air conditioning, bathroom with tub or shower, iron/ironing board, hairdryer, kitchen, refrigerator, microwave, stove, coffeemaker, dishes/cookware, and in-room safe.
One Bedroom Ocean Side Suite
1,260 avg. sq.ft.-One bedroom suite features king bed or queen and a sofabed. Includes central air conditioning, bathroom w/ tub or shower, sofabed, iron/board, hair dryer, kitchen, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, in-room safe, clock and cable TV. Located in Ocean Side building (Dolphin or Emerald).
Hotel Room
520 avg. sq.ft.-Hotel room features either a king or queen bed. Includes central air conditioning, iron/board, hair dryer, refrigerator, coffee maker, in-room safe, clock and cable TV.
One Bedroom Ocean View Suite
1,260 avg. sq. ft.-One bedroom suite features king bed, queen or sofabed and 2 double beds or sofabed. Includes central air conditioning, bathroom w/ tub or shower, sofabed, iron/board, hair dryer, kitchen, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, in-room safe, clock and cable TV.
Studio with Kitchen Ocean Side
660 avg. sq. ft.-Studio with queen bed or king bed, and a sofa bed. Located in Dolphin or Emerald Tower. Room name denotes location not view. Includes sofa bed, central air conditioning, bathroom with tub or shower, iron/ironing board, hairdryer, kitchen, refrigerator, microwave, stove, coffeemaker, dishes/cookware, and in-room safe.
One Bedroom Garden View Suite
1,260 avg. sq. ft.-One bedroom suite features king bed, queen or 2 double beds and a sofabed. Includes central air conditioning, bathroom w/ tub or shower, sofabed, iron/board, hair dryer, kitchen, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, in-room safe, clock and cable TV.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Castaway Cafe
Cuisine Type Hawaii Regional and American, Casual Dress, Open Daily from 7am-9pm, Available for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (275)

Ratings and reviews for Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
275 out of 275
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.3

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Guiguitoufe
Business
San Francisco, California
Dec 8, 2013

Awesome gateway

We stayed 6 nights on November 2013. We enjoyed our stay. The beach is really nice. The hotel room was fully equipped with a nice balcony that was convenient for having breakfast or "watching stars" dinners. The hotel location is awesome: Nice beach, close to stores, dryer Maui shore.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The wines sampler (red and white) are really good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Victoria, BC
Mar 31, 2010

Our Stay

[...] we were upgraded to a groundfloor oceanside, which had no privacy when the curtains were open, due to the location by the pool. After 2 days we were upgraded to an oceanview one bedroom which we were very happy with. Apart from one rude desk clerk, the staff were all very friendly and helpful. The maintenance staff deserve high kudos for retrieving my sunglasses clip which had fallen down the elevator shaft.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Outback restaurant in Lahaina has excellent service and steaks.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
OKC
Sep 25, 2009

Unbelievable

It was our second time to stay this place. We enjoy the location. We certainly plan to return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Deetra in Maui
Business
Honolulu, Hawaii
Jul 6, 2009

UNBEATABLE LOCATION FOR THE PRICE

This hotel was part of a package deal and on the lower end of the price list. Especially good price for Lahaina area. Its not an expensive hotel (5 star)but it's a really good value for your money so we gave it a 4 star rating. We were pleasantly surprised!! The front desk very was organized and showed much aloha. Check-in and Check-out a breeze! No real complaints except small/soft bed pillows - but they brought more pillows upon request. Both pools were about average. The 2nd pool was a little small for my taste since I like to swim laps but the pool was still adequate. The Castaway restaurant had affordable burgers and salads, pupus and happy hour 3-6 pm - also had higher end entrees. Other expensive restaurants in Lahina and other hotels if thats your thing. It was quiet and peaceful. Parking easy. Good location. No problems. No hassle. Very happy. It was a great hotel for the package deal. I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
holden, ma
Aug 21, 2009

perfect for the price

My wife and I were looking for a laid back place to enjoy our anniversary. Kaanapali Villas was perfect, not too resorty. It was right next to a great beach that was not overcrowded.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is less than a mile down the beach from Black Rock, one of the best snorkeling spots in Maui.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Dec 4, 2010

Fanastic frontdesk service

Service: After an almost entire day flight, I was certainly out of my mine; therefore, I booked the hotel at wrong day. The front desk lady was very friendly and she solved the problem efficiently. It was a relief for me that I knew i would have a nice and clean hotel night after the long flight. Restaurant: we only had breakfast at Castaway Café. Food was mediocre and slightly overcharged but it was a convenient location to have BK to start your day. Room: Nice and clean; exactly what I am looking for as always. Generally speaking, it's a good experience to stay here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Juneau, Alaska
Nov 18, 2010

Wonderful for families

Construction was still going on during our stay in November. However, the noise was not a real problem. The kids enjoyed the pool and access to the airport beach area was only a few steps away. The staff was very nice and we especially appreciated the effort made by Stephanie to move us into a room with a lanai after a few days. The house keeping staff was great and much appreciated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Don't forget to visit Napili Beach and Kapalua Beach for a day snorkeling.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Retired from trade showing
Business
Spanaway, Washington
Dec 20, 2010

Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Territorial views were great. The studio was spacious and very clean and up to date on all levels. Maid services were efficient and complete. I have never had a maid put dishes into the washer and start it at other resorts. They were doing some renovations on another building, but it was not so distractful when the windows were kept closed. The Castaway Cafe had great service and reasonably priced menu offerings. The food selections were very filling and delisious.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

If you are into snorkeling the reefs and the beach at Mile Marker #14 -about 12 minutes south of the resort are right outside your car and the fish is pleantiful. This is also calmer water if you have young children than one of the three bays on the North Shore region. And the best part is that it is FREE.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seoul, Korea
Mar 1, 2011

more than expected

So I booked late that there isn't many choices. Moreover Aston price was relatively reasonable. That's why I didn't expect too much. But the room was great with full kitchen with every tools and the garden view is so peaceful even I couldn't see beach from my room. At first, it's little bit confusing to find out the room becasue there are several buildings.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

You can enjoy dinner delivery service from near restaurants, especially chinese restaurant 'china bowl'. Hotel front has the menu and contact.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wat
Business
Houston,TX
May 12, 2009

Maui Trip

Our room was a recently remodeled studio condo with an ocean view. The resort grounds were beautify maintained and spacious. The beach was a short walk away and perfect for viewing sundown. This resort caters to those looking for a quiet getaway. There are no noisy clubs or late night parties. There is a free trolley that takes you to nearby shopping, resorts, and restaurants. I would stay here again and recommend this resort for everyone looking for a quiet visit to Maui.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Luau next door

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top