$169 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 2, 2014 Check-out: Dec 4, 2014

Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

3 stars
45 Kai Ala Drive, Lahaina, HI 96761
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
278 reviews
Perfect place to stay

This is the best hotel in Maui in my opinion. Not too crowded, perfect Kaanapali beach, close to... See full review

  • Andrew 9505
  • Nov 20, 2014
Best for the beach lover

The staff at this resort is so nice and the location is the best on Kaanapali. Best stretch of... See full review

  • ElijoSF
  • Nov 5, 2014
The Aston name is known for island hospitality across Hawaii, and the Aston Villas Hotel in Maui certainly fits the bill. The hotel's low-rise blocks overlook wooden walkways across seemingly infinite pools, fringed by the palm-laden shore of Kaanapali Beach. Suites and studios come equipped with a full kitchen and a private outdoor balcony. Down by the ocean, guests can sink their teeth into prime rib and sample the impressive wine list at the aptly-named Castaway Cafe, while enjoying the sunsets over Lanai and Molokai. Parents can play shuffleboard while the kids take ukulele lessons and learn how to make a lei at the Camp Kaanapali children's program (at nearby Aston Kaanapali  Shores). Guests visiting from November to April should bring their best binoculars for whale-watching season.
Key facts
  • 260 guestrooms
  • 2 adult pools and a children's pool
  • Gym
  • Gift shop
  • Restaurants: Including Castaway Cafe
  • Day spa
  • ATM
  • Kids camp
  • Wi-Fi (fees may apply)
Neighborhood
Located among 11 acres of bright tropical greenery, the Aston Villas hotel sits on Kaanapali Beach in Lahaina, a former favorite of Hawaiian royalty and the heart of the lively West Maui region. Watersports, shops and restaurants are all located here, easily accessible from a tourist-friendly walkway running alongside the oceanfront resorts. Snorkel at northern Napili Bay, try kayaking and parasailing, or opt for the safe voyeurism of watching the graceful cliff divers at Puu Kekaa. Spend an afternoon wandering the old fishing port of Lahaina, five minutes away - stay until evening and you might see a more riotous side, plus copious amounts of feasting and entertainment at the Old Lahaina Luau on Front Street.
Hints and tips
  • Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas is best enjoyed as a quiet slice of paradise, but when you're yearning for adventure, use the resort's complimentary shuttle to pick up souvenirs at the open-air Whalers Village shopping center.
  • The athletically-inclined can enjoy eighteen holes at one of the nearby championship golf courses, or limber up on one of the Royal Lahaina Tennis Ranch's 11 courts.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

20.9361 -156.6906
Area served
Lahaina-Maui, HI
Nearby airports
OGG - Kahului and JHM - Kapalua
Area description
On Kaanapali Beach (in the Kaanapali Resort area with on-site shuffleboard), you'll choose from nearby activities including, bike rentals, luaus, snorkeling, windsurfing, Royal Lahaina Tennis Ranch and championship golf courses. Please note we offer free shuttle service to Kaanapali resort area shopping and activities.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas Rooms

Studio with kitchen Garden View
660 avg. sq. ft.-Studio suite features king bed, queen or 2 double beds and a sofabed. Includes central air conditioning, bathroom w/ tub or shower, iron/board, hair dryer, kitchen, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, in-room safe, clock and cable TV.
Studio with kitchen Ocean View
660 avg. sq. ft.-Studio with queen bed, king bed, or 2 double beds and a sofa bed. Central air conditioning, bathroom with tub or shower, iron/ironing board, hairdryer, kitchen, refrigerator, microwave, stove, coffeemaker, dishes/cookware, and in-room safe.
One Bedroom Ocean Side Suite
1,260 avg. sq.ft.-One bedroom suite features king bed or queen and a sofabed. Includes central air conditioning, bathroom w/ tub or shower, sofabed, iron/board, hair dryer, kitchen, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, in-room safe, clock and cable TV. Located in Ocean Side building (Dolphin or Emerald).
Hotel Room
520 avg. sq.ft.-Hotel room features either a king or queen bed. Includes central air conditioning, iron/board, hair dryer, refrigerator, coffee maker, in-room safe, clock and cable TV.
One Bedroom Ocean View Suite
1,260 avg. sq. ft.-One bedroom suite features king bed, queen or sofabed and 2 double beds or sofabed. Includes central air conditioning, bathroom w/ tub or shower, sofabed, iron/board, hair dryer, kitchen, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, in-room safe, clock and cable TV.
Studio with Kitchen Ocean Side
660 avg. sq. ft.-Studio with queen bed or king bed, and a sofa bed. Located in Dolphin or Emerald Tower. Room name denotes location not view. Includes sofa bed, central air conditioning, bathroom with tub or shower, iron/ironing board, hairdryer, kitchen, refrigerator, microwave, stove, coffeemaker, dishes/cookware, and in-room safe.
One Bedroom Garden View Suite
1,260 avg. sq. ft.-One bedroom suite features king bed, queen or 2 double beds and a sofabed. Includes central air conditioning, bathroom w/ tub or shower, sofabed, iron/board, hair dryer, kitchen, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, in-room safe, clock and cable TV.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Castaway Cafe
Cuisine Type Hawaii Regional and American, Casual Dress, Open Daily from 7am-9pm, Available for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (278)

Ratings and reviews for Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
278 out of 278
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.3

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Labgill
Business
Victoria, BC
Mar 31, 2013

Best Vacation Ever

This hotel is not for everyone. People who want to spend twice the amount on accommodation and food can do so right next door at the Westin. But those of us who want great value for our money while not cutting back on the essentials like a comfortable clean room, excellent grounds, pools, waterfront location, best beach in the world, we are the ones who stay at this hotel. Can't say enough about it. But if you still like the super hotels with the super prices, this one you won't like.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

highly recommend the Tropical Plantation along HWY 380. Not advertised much but you can't beat the lunches there for quality and affordability. Even as a zip line for the teens.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
edward f
Business
South San Francisco
Apr 7, 2013

Family getaway for four during 2013 Spring Break

Had an overall perfect vacation, great locaton, decent ameniities and very friendly and helpful staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Within walking distance of Whalers Cove and short drive to old town Lahaina

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
EcoMermaid
Business
Florida
Apr 20, 2013

Nice, Home-Like Room

We stayed at this resort for our honeymoon. There were positives and negatives to this experience. To start off, this is a wonderful place for families with children of all ages. We know this because there were children EVERYWHERE. On the beach, in the pool, jumping between the hot tub and pool, etc... However, I believe this may be true for all of Maui. If honeymooning, a more upscale resort might be a good idea. However, we still enjoyed our stay despite the little ones everywhere. Our unit was obviously privately owned and included everything you would need to feel at home. We had a full updated kitchen which we used to prepare breakfast, lunch, and drinks in. This helped us to save a little bit of money and time on food. I have heard that all of the units are different here and have read some terrible reviews. So, we called and requested an updated unit which we got lucky and they gave to us. The best part about this resort was the location. Its just minutes away from Whalers Village and Lahaina. Trollies and buses are available to get you to these places, or you can take a nice long walk. Also, the beach was beautiful. Our favorite activities here was snorkeling on the reef that was just a little up the beach from the resort. This place was affordable and home like, but don't expect top notch luxury.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Take the free trolly to Whalers Village for shopping, dinner, and a beautiful sunset!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Maui McMahans
Business
Grants Pass, Oregon
Apr 20, 2013

2nd time's a charm!

This was our second stay at the villas. We went lat your for our 20th anniversay and fell in love. We like to stay on the 2nd floor becuase they have extra large patios. The grounds are beautifully maintained, the staff warm and accomodating and it's so nice to have a full kitchen. The pools are fabulous and of course the beach are amazing. Our only suggestion would be that the Castaway Cafe could use some improvement. If they would expand their menu and open the outdoor bar area up with table food service they could expand their business - we would never have to leave! GREAT PLACE overall. We are already planning for next year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

I would recommend flying into the Kapalua airport on West Maui - it's only a 5 minute drive to the resort.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
upchuck
Business
Dallas
Apr 24, 2013

Real Hawaii.

This was the Hawaii that I remember from TV and film. The grounds were well kept, the flowering plants and trees beautiful, and the towering palms added just the right touch. The room was right out of Hawaii 5 O. The hotel is on the trolley route that is convenient to most of what we were interested in seeing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

Go to a luau

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mahalo Mom
Business
Monterey, CA
May 18, 2013

Another great visit

We have stayed here a couple of times now and it is really a nice place. Beach is awesome and having the trolley to take you to Whalers village is great as well. Looking forward to when we can return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

go to the food court at Whalers Village, down stairs, and at the Pizza place, they have the best Terriyaki chicken and rice plate!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kona residents
Business
Kona, Hawaii
May 27, 2013

Comfortable, casual stay

We liked the laid-back atmosphere, the clean environment, friendly staff and guests and the great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
punkin123
Business
San Francisco, CA
May 28, 2013

Wonderful Memorial Day getaway

Loved our experience at the Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas. Room was perfect with all the amenities (full kitchen, balcony with table and chairs to enjoy ocean views, comfy bed and wonderfully huge bathroom). Definitely our best vacation yet. Would stay here again since staff was friendly, rooms and facilities were clean (including pool). Had a great bar/cafe near pool and beach. Also, enjoyed the snorkeling the reef up from the hotel. Beach rentals onsite which made renting snorkeling gear and beachside cabanas easy and convenient. Would definitely recommend this to anyone looking for a place to stay in Kaanapali!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Russ M
Business
Rancho Cucamonga, California
Jun 29, 2013

Loved our stay!

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The beach is awesome, as it is completely accessible, with soft sand and clear water, including snorkeling just 100 feet away as there is a reef with coral and plenty of fish. I found the staff to be very friendly, the overall cost to be a value, and we completely enjoyed our stay!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Swerve
Business
Southern Oregon
Aug 13, 2013

Beautiful Diversion

At a very stressful time, we escaped to the beauty of Maui to rejuvenate and heal. It was a peaceful experience and much appreciated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top