$169 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 12, 2014 Check-out: Oct 15, 2014

Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

3 stars
45 Kai Ala Drive, Lahaina, HI 96761
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
273 reviews
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Just got back from a 7 day stay at the MKV! We LOVE this place for a million reasons, location!! 10... See full review

  • CiCi Bloom
  • Jun 18, 2014
Xmas Vacation To Paradise

We have stayed at this resort before and once again it was GREAT!!! Location is perfect. The... See full review

  • Maui Sunseeker
  • Dec 20, 2013
The Aston name is known for island hospitality across Hawaii, and the Aston Villas Hotel in Maui certainly fits the bill. The hotel's low-rise blocks overlook wooden walkways across seemingly infinite pools, fringed by the palm-laden shore of Kaanapali Beach. Suites and studios come equipped with a full kitchen and a private outdoor balcony. Down by the ocean, guests can sink their teeth into prime rib and sample the impressive wine list at the aptly-named Castaway Cafe, while enjoying the sunsets over Lanai and Molokai. Parents can play shuffleboard while the kids take ukulele lessons and learn how to make a lei at the Camp Kaanapali children's program (at nearby Aston Kaanapali  Shores). Guests visiting from November to April should bring their best binoculars for whale-watching season.
Key facts
  • 260 guestrooms
  • 2 adult pools and a children's pool
  • Gym
  • Gift shop
  • Restaurants: Including Castaway Cafe
  • Day spa
  • ATM
  • Kids camp
  • Wi-Fi (fees may apply)
Neighborhood
Located among 11 acres of bright tropical greenery, the Aston Villas hotel sits on Kaanapali Beach in Lahaina, a former favorite of Hawaiian royalty and the heart of the lively West Maui region. Watersports, shops and restaurants are all located here, easily accessible from a tourist-friendly walkway running alongside the oceanfront resorts. Snorkel at northern Napili Bay, try kayaking and parasailing, or opt for the safe voyeurism of watching the graceful cliff divers at Puu Kekaa. Spend an afternoon wandering the old fishing port of Lahaina, five minutes away - stay until evening and you might see a more riotous side, plus copious amounts of feasting and entertainment at the Old Lahaina Luau on Front Street.
Hints and tips
  • Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas is best enjoyed as a quiet slice of paradise, but when you're yearning for adventure, use the resort's complimentary shuttle to pick up souvenirs at the open-air Whalers Village shopping center.
  • The athletically-inclined can enjoy eighteen holes at one of the nearby championship golf courses, or limber up on one of the Royal Lahaina Tennis Ranch's 11 courts.
  • NOTICE: The hotel will undergo exterior renovations from 2 Sept to 2 Nov 2014, which will include installing new roofing on the Dolphin and Emerald Buildings and a spalling project on the Aloha Tower. Refurbishment works will be done during weekdays from 8 AM to 3 PM. During this period, the oceanfront pool will be closed.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

20.9361 -156.6906
Area served
Lahaina-Maui, HI
Nearby airports
OGG - Kahului and JHM - Kapalua
Area description
On Kaanapali Beach (in the Kaanapali Resort area with on-site shuffleboard), you'll choose from nearby activities including, bike rentals, luaus, snorkeling, windsurfing, Royal Lahaina Tennis Ranch and championship golf courses. Please note we offer free shuttle service to Kaanapali resort area shopping and activities.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas Rooms

Studio with kitchen Garden View
660 avg. sq. ft.-Studio suite features king bed, queen or 2 double beds and a sofabed. Includes central air conditioning, bathroom w/ tub or shower, iron/board, hair dryer, kitchen, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, in-room safe, clock and cable TV.
Studio with kitchen Ocean View
660 avg. sq. ft.-Studio with queen bed, king bed, or 2 double beds and a sofa bed. Central air conditioning, bathroom with tub or shower, iron/ironing board, hairdryer, kitchen, refrigerator, microwave, stove, coffeemaker, dishes/cookware, and in-room safe.
One Bedroom Ocean Side Suite
1,260 avg. sq.ft.-One bedroom suite features king bed or queen and a sofabed. Includes central air conditioning, bathroom w/ tub or shower, sofabed, iron/board, hair dryer, kitchen, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, in-room safe, clock and cable TV. Located in Ocean Side building (Dolphin or Emerald).
Hotel Room
520 avg. sq.ft.-Hotel room features either a king or queen bed. Includes central air conditioning, iron/board, hair dryer, refrigerator, coffee maker, in-room safe, clock and cable TV.
One Bedroom Ocean View Suite
1,260 avg. sq. ft.-One bedroom suite features king bed, queen or sofabed and 2 double beds or sofabed. Includes central air conditioning, bathroom w/ tub or shower, sofabed, iron/board, hair dryer, kitchen, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, in-room safe, clock and cable TV.
Studio with Kitchen Ocean Side
660 avg. sq. ft.-Studio with queen bed or king bed, and a sofa bed. Located in Dolphin or Emerald Tower. Room name denotes location not view. Includes sofa bed, central air conditioning, bathroom with tub or shower, iron/ironing board, hairdryer, kitchen, refrigerator, microwave, stove, coffeemaker, dishes/cookware, and in-room safe.
One Bedroom Garden View Suite
1,260 avg. sq. ft.-One bedroom suite features king bed, queen or 2 double beds and a sofabed. Includes central air conditioning, bathroom w/ tub or shower, sofabed, iron/board, hair dryer, kitchen, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, in-room safe, clock and cable TV.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Castaway Cafe
Cuisine Type Hawaii Regional and American, Casual Dress, Open Daily from 7am-9pm, Available for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (273)

Ratings and reviews for Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
273 out of 273
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.3

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Monk1910
San Francisco
May 26, 2011

Great place to relax

Nice place very close to the beach. The environment is very relaxed and the rooms are well kept. It is close to black rock beach and you can also snorkel on the beach in front of the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
California
May 14, 2011

A place to unwind

We've stayed at Maui Kaanapali Villas on our two trips to Maui. Love the location, love Castaway Cafe. The proximity to the beach is awesome. A great place to stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Definitely make a trip to Lahaina for shopping and sightseeing activities.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
TOWNSEND, WI
May 8, 2011

MAUI KAANAPALI

A MORE HELPFUL AND FRIENDLY PEOPLE YOU COULDN'T ASK FOR. ROOM WAS CLEAN, PEOPLE AT DESK WERE ALWAYS READY TO HELP.TRIP BY BUS AROUND MAUI WAS EXCELLANT ARRANGED BY LADY IN LOBBY. DEFINATLY GOING BACK TO 2 YEARS TO SAME HOTEL [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Columbus, Ohio
Apr 17, 2011

just perfect

The hotel was very attractive. The bed was comfortable. The staff was friendly. Abraham at the castaway bar was super nice, and the food there is quite good too! There was a really great pool and hot tub just steps away from the beach. The maid service was good too. Don't miss the Mai Tais on Thursday at 3:30 because they are delicious and free.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Go eat at Aloha Mixed Plate!!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mountain Dad
Denver, CO
Apr 15, 2011

Great family getaway

We lived in a 1B Garden View unit in the Aloha tower on the 2nd floor. The unit is well furnished with full kitchen, spacious living room, bedroom and bathroom. There was no bath tub, but we don't need it anyway. Maid service every day to keep the condo clean. The beach is excellent for swim. If you want to snorkeling, just work north for about 200 yards to the Kahekili Beach Park, which has beautiful corral and fish. The hotel staff is very nice. If you check out early, you still can use the shower (just downstairs of the lobby) for free.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Olivine Pool. It's my 2 young boys' favorite because of many cute, calm and warm pools, BUT, IMO, it is one of the most dangerous place in MAUI. Keep in mind the ocean wave is very deceptive. It can hit you HARD and even knock you into the ocean any time if you are too close to the shore. So if you will visit this beautiful but dangerous place, be very very careful.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
petersburg il
Mar 28, 2011

wonderful trip

our first night was below expectations. The room we were in was dated, and noise from the highway was not acceptable. I talked to the front desk and they moved us to a pool view room, 240. It was perfect, nice flat screen tvs, completely updated and very quiet and private. We had a nice balcony with a wonderful view of the pool. The restaurant had a great menu and prices were very reasonable. Bartenders poured a generous drink. The had a happy hour every day and beers were cheap. The beach was perfect. Nice sand and not too many people. The personnel throughout the facility were top notch. I would go back there in a heart beat. Our car rental went super, although Budget was understaffed and it took almost 40 minutes to get our car. The situation was better on return and we were out of there and on our way to the airport in less than 10 minutes. By the way, I'm getting sick of all the car rental places putting the pressure on me to add all of their extras. Enough is enough. While your there be sure to drive highway 30 north of the Villa. The views were unreal. We also drove to the top of the volcano. The worst part of the trip was leaving. You have to do this. Ma halo

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

shop the safeway, and eat a lot in your room. try Kimo'S at lunch time

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Victoria Regulars
Seattle
Mar 25, 2011

Seen better days

Like a former 1970's Hollywood star, this place has seen better days. The room needed painting, cabinets were chipped, formica countertops, shag carpeting, old appliances, etc. Definitely did not reflect the pictures posted on the web about this place. Was disappointed to say the least. On the plus side, the pool was nice and it is located on a very nice part of the beach. Overall, it was tolerable but wouldn't stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Santa Barbara
Mar 24, 2011

Great Vacation

Kids (19 and 22) said it was their best vacation ever. Great location, right on the beach. Exceptionally clean, very helpful staff. Enjoyed the beach, the pool, the sunsets.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Best snorkling about 75 yards to the north.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
VT starr
Vermont
Mar 23, 2011

Good value for money

We stayed in a studio condo - quite large, with full kitchen and sliding glass onto lanai. Sliders part of full glass wall. Garden view - perfectly pleasant. The unit was a bit tired - shag carpet, furniture in need of an upgrade. Hotel cleaners in every day with clean towels and vacuuming, change sheets every 3rd day. Location 3 hotels up from Black Rock - and next door to Kahekili Beach park. Important becase we went there to snorkel and both places are top Maui snorkel sites. Pool and hot tub on premises very nice, near beach with Cafe, shuffleboard, beach activity center. Could sun on the lawn adjacent to beach - no sand to cope with!! Hotel desk personnel very helpful and friendly. Coin laundry on premises (none in our studio). Parking not always convenient - couldn't always get close to the unit. Hotel charged activity fee of $13+/night - for parking, internet, local calls etc. Seems stiff, but apparently most hotels do it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Snorkeling great at Black Rock (Sheraton). Can take free shuttle to many hotels nearby to access their beaches. Short walk to snorkel at next door beach park. Super mall on the beach at Whalers Village - accessable by walking or free shuttle.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MtShastaFamily
Mt Shasta, Calif
Mar 23, 2011

Best beach ever

The property is older but has been remodeled and is very comfortable with large rooms well appointed. the beach in front of the hotel is excellent for relaxing and very close to great snorkeling. If you are quiet while your are under the water you can hear the whales in the channel. The food at the luau next door was pretty poor. The pork was from a previous luau and was dry. The entertainment was excellent, tho. Didn't like having to go to the main lobby for coffee. Even though we had coffee pots in the room it would have been nice to have daily coffee provided. Having the Whaler's Village so close was great and we didn't feel the need to go other places for shopping. We would absolutely go back to Maui and stay at the same property.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Snorkeling at the public beach next door was excellent.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search