Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

3 stars
View map of 45 Kai Ala Drive, Lahaina, HI 96761

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
263 reviews
Perfect Family Spot

We loved this hotel. We had a 1 BR suite (although the bedroom wasn't separated/enclosed, it's a... See full review

  • Bryan P.
  • Apr 22, 2015
Awesome place to stay

The moment we got to our room we loved it. The beach is beautiful and the pools where awesome. I... See full review

  • colleen d.
  • Apr 10, 2015
  • Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas is best enjoyed as a quiet slice of paradise, but when you're yearning for adventure, use the resort's complimentary shuttle to pick up souvenirs at the open-air Whalers Village shopping center.
  • The athletically-inclined can enjoy eighteen holes at one of the nearby championship golf courses, or limber up on one of the Royal Lahaina Tennis Ranch's 11 courts.
General
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas, Maui
Location
The Aston name is known for island hospitality across Hawaii, and the Aston Villas Hotel in Maui certainly fits the bill. The hotel's low-rise blocks overlook wooden walkways across seemingly infinite pools, fringed by the palm-laden shore of Kaanapali Beach. Suites and studios come equipped with a full kitchen and a private outdoor balcony. Down by the ocean, guests can sink their teeth into prime rib and sample the impressive wine list at the aptly-named Castaway Cafe, while enjoying the sunsets over Lanai and Molokai. Parents can play shuffleboard while the kids take ukulele lessons and learn how to make a lei at the Camp Kaanapali children's program (at nearby Aston Kaanapali  Shores). Guests visiting from November to April should bring their best binoculars for whale-watching season.
Dining
  • 260 guestrooms
  • 2 adult pools and a children's pool
  • Gym
  • Gift shop
  • Restaurants: Including Castaway Cafe
  • Day spa
  • ATM
  • Kids camp
  • Wi-Fi (fees may apply)
Rooms
Located among 11 acres of bright tropical greenery, the Aston Villas hotel sits on Kaanapali Beach in Lahaina, a former favorite of Hawaiian royalty and the heart of the lively West Maui region. Watersports, shops and restaurants are all located here, easily accessible from a tourist-friendly walkway running alongside the oceanfront resorts. Snorkel at northern Napili Bay, try kayaking and parasailing, or opt for the safe voyeurism of watching the graceful cliff divers at Puu Kekaa. Spend an afternoon wandering the old fishing port of Lahaina, five minutes away - stay until evening and you might see a more riotous side, plus copious amounts of feasting and entertainment at the Old Lahaina Luau on Front Street.
Highlights
  • 260 guestrooms
  • 2 adult pools and a children's pool
  • Gym
  • Gift shop
  • Restaurants: Including Castaway Cafe
  • Day spa
  • ATM
  • Kids camp
  • Wi-Fi (fees may apply)
Policies
  • Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas is best enjoyed as a quiet slice of paradise, but when you're yearning for adventure, use the resort's complimentary shuttle to pick up souvenirs at the open-air Whalers Village shopping center.
  • The athletically-inclined can enjoy eighteen holes at one of the nearby championship golf courses, or limber up on one of the Royal Lahaina Tennis Ranch's 11 courts.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas Rooms

One Bedroom Ocean Side Suite
1,260 avg. sq.ft.-One bedroom suite features king bed or queen and a sofabed. Includes central air conditioning, bathroom w/ tub or shower, sofabed, iron/board, hair dryer, kitchen, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, in-room safe, clock and cable TV. Located in Ocean Side building (Dolphin or Emerald).
Hotel Room
520 avg. sq.ft.-Hotel room features either a king or queen bed. Includes central air conditioning, iron/board, hair dryer, refrigerator, coffee maker, in-room safe, clock and cable TV.
One Bedroom Ocean View Suite
1,260 avg. sq. ft.-One bedroom suite features king bed, queen or sofabed and 2 double beds or sofabed. Includes central air conditioning, bathroom w/ tub or shower, sofabed, iron/board, hair dryer, kitchen, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, in-room safe, clock and cable TV.
Studio with Kitchen Ocean Side
660 avg. sq. ft.-Studio with queen bed or king bed, and a sofa bed. Located in Dolphin or Emerald Tower. Room name denotes location not view. Includes sofa bed, central air conditioning, bathroom with tub or shower, iron/ironing board, hairdryer, kitchen, refrigerator, microwave, stove, coffeemaker, dishes/cookware, and in-room safe.
One Bedroom Garden View Suite
1,260 avg. sq. ft.-One bedroom suite features king bed, queen or 2 double beds and a sofabed. Includes central air conditioning, bathroom w/ tub or shower, sofabed, iron/board, hair dryer, kitchen, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, in-room safe, clock and cable TV.
Studio with kitchen Ocean View
660 avg. sq. ft.-Studio with queen bed, king bed, or 2 double beds and a sofa bed. Central air conditioning, bathroom with tub or shower, iron/ironing board, hairdryer, kitchen, refrigerator, microwave, stove, coffeemaker, dishes/cookware, and in-room safe.
Studio with kitchen Garden View
660 avg. sq. ft.-Studio suite features king bed, queen or 2 double beds and a sofabed. Includes central air conditioning, bathroom w/ tub or shower, iron/board, hair dryer, kitchen, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, in-room safe, clock and cable TV.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities

Dining

Castaway Cafe
Cuisine Type Hawaii Regional and American, Casual Dress, Open Daily from 7am-9pm, Available for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
263 out of 263
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.3

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
The Cordovas
Las Vegas,Nv
Oct 6, 2012

Absolutely amazing

We travel very often and the most important thing for me is to have a clean room and we have that. They made up the room everyday, we got full apliances, plus microwave,oven, kitchenware. We didn't cook, because it was only a week, so we prefer to go out, but definitely we are going back so we know what to expect. The beach ( like a huge pool, neat and warm) is a short walking distance from the rooms, and they provide you with beach towels. We can't complain in general it was a good location and quiet, if you looking for relax.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

It was a good thing, that we rented a car in advance, so you can move everywhere at any time with a map,that all the car rentals give it to you. We did the road to Hana, it took us almost the whole day but it woith it. On the way you found water falls ,the forest and don't miss the black sand beach, pack some snacks, and something to drink for the road , don't recommend casual stops on the way, unless it is a restaurant. For dinner you have a lot of options, the price is almost the same in all, for two like us is about $150 daily with a couple of drinks. Of all of the places we like The Honu Restaurant seafood and Italian and Mala, one after another, same owner, food is good and I love the desserts.

Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rich and Alison
Business
Las Vegas
May 11, 2015

wedding

It was a nice clean hotel with great staff. It is dated and lack amenities. Room was nice. Wi-Fi was simply awful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bryan P.
Business
Glastonbury
Apr 22, 2015

Perfect Family Spot

We loved this hotel. We had a 1 BR suite (although the bedroom wasn't separated/enclosed, it's a loft area) for us and our teenage boys. The pools were well kept and it was right on the beach. We did a ton of sight seeing, so our hotel time was limited, but the kitchen was pretty much fully equipped, they had full size gas grills to use to cook meals, and compared to the prices of local places, was one of the least expensive around. Talk about a bang for the buck. The only 'negative' is that we did find a mouse in the kitchen one afternoon however the staff immediately came over and addressed it quickly. If I were to ever make it to Maui again, I wouldn't consider checking out any other hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
colleen d.
Business
N/A
Apr 10, 2015

Awesome place to stay

The moment we got to our room we loved it. The beach is beautiful and the pools where awesome. I would stay there again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mike00025
Business
Santa Monica
Apr 6, 2015

Enjoyable getaway

Great location, close to Lahaina town. Wonderful beach. We went in Feb. during whale season... loved watching the humpbacks breaching!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Laurie F.
Business
N/A
Mar 3, 2015

Very Relaxing

Excellent location right on the beach. Very helpful staff. Room had all the amenities and comforts of home. Would highly recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bob.920
Business
BOZEMAN
Jan 15, 2015

Ok place

The balcony is 2 foot wide which really makes it useless except for drying out clothes. Do not stay in room 520 as the bed sagged bad in the middle my back was really sore by the end of the week. Nice beach...there is no beach accessories in the room for you to use such as at least a beach chair. These can be rented on the beach at the hotel. Good location, close to Front St. where the shops are.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Roys is close and very good.

Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
BOZEMAN
Jan 15, 2015

Ok place

The balcony is 2 foot wide which really makes it useless except for drying out clothes. Do not stay in room 520 as the bed sagged bad in the middle my back was really sore by the end of the week. Nice beach...there is no beach accessories in the room for you to use such as at least a beach chair. These can be rented on the beach at the hotel. Good location, close to Front St. where the shops are.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Roys is close and very good.

Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Andrew 9505
Business
San Jose, California
Nov 20, 2014

Perfect place to stay

This is the best hotel in Maui in my opinion. Not too crowded, perfect Kaanapali beach, close to Lahaina, beachwalk, shops. On-site restaurant is pretty good too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try Castaway restaurant - it is located on the property, right on the beach.

Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jet jaguar
Business
Alaska
Nov 6, 2014

Off the Hook!

All the other hotels in the area are twice the price. This is a great hotel with a full kitchen, dishes, a sponge, & even dish soap. Cups, glasses, a full size coffee maker, full sized stove & refrigerator. 2 pools & jacuzzi's. 2 minute walk to the beach from even the furtherest room. Nice lanai. Like renting a full apartment with a maid. I walked over to the Sheraton & it's crazy crowded, and expensive. The beach isn't crowded in front of this place. Older people stay here but that's a good thing. No kids around. I'm 36, stayed with a girl, & it was great for adults who wanna drink and bone. Stay up!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ElijoSF
Business
San Franciso
Nov 5, 2014

Best for the beach lover

The staff at this resort is so nice and the location is the best on Kaanapali. Best stretch of beach for swimmers in front of the hotels and excellent snorkeling just 100 ft down the beach (better than Blackrock). The grounds are lovely and serene. This is one of the only hotels where you can see the beach from the beach chairs on the property. The rooms all include kitchens and are a great value. It's a condo hotel so each unit has it's own character (and some need some updating) but overall you always get excellent and free wireless connection, cable, and amenities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

The 7 pools of Oheo are amazing. I would skip the road to Hana unless you plan to stay in Hana and the bike ride down Haleakala.

Back to menu Return to top